Showing 11 reviews for Alpine CDA-117

Customer Review Summary for Alpine CDA-117
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 11 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
91%
4 star:
.
0%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
.
9%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.6
Features
4.6
Design
4.9
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
May 21, 2011 Not so pleased...
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
S KalaD from montreal, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ok, first, I install car audio for a living and I am a audio fidelity enthusiast. When I build a system, I want to create a sound experience, not just music playing in a car...

When my old Pioneer DEH-P8600MP died, I knew it wasn't going to be easy to replace it. It was such a GREAT head unit... So i went for the Alpine CDA-117 'cause of Alpine reputation for crystal clear sound prossesing and the units general features (5 band parametric EQ, time correction and 4 volt outputs).

Pros: Awsome time correction! It works great! You can hear the sound move as you tune it, Alpine really got it right. Quick and easy to reach subwoofer adjustment ( let's face it, that's what you'll be doing the most...) and easy to use, althought quite slow, USB and I-pod browsing ( remember, I install car audio for a living and let me tell you, this is not the fastest USB/I-pod browser around...!)

Cons: No matter how hard you try, you will never set that EQ right! It is far from intuitive ( nothing graphic here, it's all in frequencie values, Q factor and numbers... No spectrum vue, just plain numbers...) and due to VERY agressive sound processor, you always end up with sibilance in the 5khz-10khz. It's always to bright! Never natural sounding! ( might be cool for someone that want a flashy sounding kit, but far from good for anyone who want a "sound quality" setup). At first I tought it was my speakers so I went trought 5 differents componant kit, all brand known for their smooth, natural sounding highs, but I was still frustrated by that agressivness in the tweeters ( a little like when there is too much amplification on the sound of an electric guitar that rings in the ear, but ALL THE F***ING TIME)

So After a year or so trying in vain to fine tune my Alpine I changed it and my god what a delivrance to have some natural smooth (but detailed) highs again! If you want a cool looking HU, go ahead, it looks awsome! But if your really into SQ, belive me, don't buy this, you'll regret this, there are some far better HU for far less $$!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 14, 2011 boss unit
Review by
blackcereon from arouca, Trinidad and Tobago
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It is by far the best head unit out sound quality is far better than pioneer and it has true 4 volt out. A whole new experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 16, 2011 GREAT headunit!
Review by
Devin C from Buies Creek, North Carolina
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this thing in my 94 Explorer... this thing is amazing, the features are AWESOME. The EQ, the expandability, I have the AUX cable going into my glove box for mp3 players and I have the USB in the middle console for iPods/flash drives.


GREAT buy, Sonic always gets it to you fast, check out my channel to see the headunit or my setup!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 17, 2011 Excellent performance
Review by
Matthew from Lafayette, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed this unit in my 2009 F-150 with the FRST interface. I was not very pleased with the install instructions for the interface, but the Alpine was very easy to install and sounds great. I installed Polk Audio DB series door speakers as well as an MTX Thunderform with an MTX 10" subwoofer powered with an older model Alpine amp. It sounds great but the install was difficult with the FRST interface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 10, 2011 Amazing
Review by
Max from Québec, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this to replace my Clarion CZ200 in my 2010 Accent hatchback and the only word I can say is WOW!. The Sound quality is so good, The FM tuner now works properly. It reads my CD with no skips, the USB is very fast and if you have an IPod, the controls are perfect. Highly recommends the Alpine CDA-117.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 7, 2011 Best Head Unit. Periond.
Review by
Laukc7085 from Janesville WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amazing control of your music. This head unit allows you to critique and finesse every note your music plays. The background graphics are stunning and with 4 different options, you will never get bored. The Bio-Light display makes it really easy to see the screen in every light, even direct sunlight. CD player never skips. Alpines design for I-Pod controls is amazing. You can surf through all your playlists, artists, genres, etc.. right from the unit. Absolutly love it. Would recommend to anyone looking for more control of your music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 7, 2011 Awesome Head unit
Review by
estevan from Cathedral city
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have nothing to complain about this unit. It sounds amazing and the features that it has are awesome as well. I would recommend this head unit to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 7, 2011 A must for sound quality
Review by
Robert from Boston, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Right off the bat when I plugged this in to my car replacing my old Pioneer headunit the thing was louder and much cleaner and this was noticed by my friend who knows nothing about systems. I have a 4-channel amp for my speakers and a mono sub the 4v preouts make a day and night difference and the built in EQ is just amazing to fine tuning the system
Also the ease in which to navigate the iPod is the best I've seen so far just read the manual to learn the shortcuts.
Hands down best headunit I have ever owned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 12, 2010 great product
Review by
jason from burnaby, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Its amazing. The sound editing options are nearly endless and the amplification, when paired with the alpine power pack is incredible. Plays music from iphone 3gs w/o any problems, except for the occasional disconnection... However this could be due to my installation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 23, 2010 Alpine makes some of the best headunits
Review by
Chris from Montclair, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had many other brands of headunits over the years, but i am impressed with this one by Alpine, it is designed well, and does what it is supposed to. Play music, no fuss, no bother. I would purchase it again. Good damping so I don't get skipping on really rough pavement, my car has a stiff suspension. Just a good all around unit with nice features. You can't go wrong especially at SE's price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 27, 2010 Great head unit
Review by
ck from decatur ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First off i have owned only pioneer headunits mostly and wanted to try something new! This head unit compared to the pioneer deh-p610bt. Well the pioneer has more features when it comes to tuning and the asr on the pioneer but the alpine doesn't take as much tuning just to sound great! I have found that this alpine hu sound is very natural. if u get this hu leave off the mx level. i have this hu with a alpine pdx-f6 and this is an extremely nice combination along with 2 type r 15s. this hu really doesnt need a whole lot of tuning! Alpine did a fine job with this one definitely would recommend to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz