Showing 15 reviews for Grado Prestige Series SR80i

Customer Review Summary for Grado Prestige Series SR80i
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 24 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
63%
4 star:
.
.
29%
3 star:
.
.
8%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.3
Value
4.7
Features
4.2
Design
3.9
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
December 20, 2013 Great sound
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
e from Wilmington, DE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This set of headphones delivered exactly what was promised; great sound, superb clarity (IMHO), and good comfort. The only thing to keep in mind is that the open foam means others in the room will hear some...aka not the best choice for airplanes.

Really, really like them; and if they come with a case, an additional benefit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Can't do better
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Robert from Santa Cruz, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It isn't possible to get better sound than from these. Different, yes, but better is in the ear of the beholder and my very critical, and very experienced ears say they are perfectly balanced.
There are phones that sound different and might sound better to any given person depending on taste but the total absence of non-linear distortion with these makes them moldable to any other acoustic response and coloration exactly. i.e. season to taste.
I find them quite comfortable but that's a very personal issue. The retro design is almost funny. The cups themselves could probably be run over by a truck without damage but the band and attachment is laughable. I'm happy to sacrifice some aesthetics to get this quality of sound at almost any price but at the price of these it just doesn't matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 20, 2014 Amazing Sound Quality!!!
Review by
SB from Santa Clarita, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've used many headphones in the past and I always thought they sounded awesome. This was true until I bought the Grado SR80i. These sound amazing. Everything is crsytal clear to the ears and detailed. Bass is punchy but not overbearing and the highs and mids are excellent. Don't expect any noise isolation. I knew that when I bought these and so far I am more than happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 17, 2014 very happy
Review by
Rich from Reston VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The headset produces great sound for the price, is comfortable, and appears to be durably constructed. In other words, perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 21, 2014 Outstanding Performance
Review by
Deborah from Milton, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Grado SR80i headphones are the beat pair of headphones that I've ever owned, and I have owned many pairs of high-end headphones. These have by far the most superior sound quality available for this price range, and even look pretty cool too. Some people may find the ear cushions uncomfortable, but they can easily be replaced. Overall, I would say that the SR80i headphones are the best headphones available for the price range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Excellent Equipment
Review by
Quinton from Houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I grew very tired of the cheap quality of a 'Big Box' store $30 headphones. I researched different options and ran across the Grado SR80I. The quality of sound is very good. I had a minor issue with one of the ear piece's shaft. I emailed their support on a weekend, had a reply within the hour and ended it with the issue corrected, no muss, no fuss. Fantastic job of their support team. I do wish the cable was a bit longer. However, the cable is thick and easy to manage. There's a stocking stuffer in the missus' future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 4, 2013 Never Used a Better Headphone In My Life
Review by
Camilo from Miami, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have owned many headphones, but the Grado Prestige SR80i is the best by far of them all. It is also the Top Choice in it's category at Consumers Reports! Try it, and you will never let it go. Guaranteed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 15, 2011 My Grado SR80I
Review by
Pebe from Sherbrooke Qc Canada, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Really good and the best headphone for the price. I used it with my mp3 player and direct to the house music system. I will buy an another for a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 10, 2011 Sweet sound
Review by
Paul from Sydney, NSW, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Seriously sweet sound with fat round bass just like it was recorded.

No problems with comfort once adjusted and I've travelled with them and am happy with the durability, when boxed.

I didn't realise how much ambient noise they'd let in (a fair bit, when you're listening to dynamic audio) and was disappointed with how much noise they let out (lots - can't use them sitting in the office next to someone or they get annoyed!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 3, 2011 Grado SR80i
Review by
AC from Wichita, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works great with digital format players. Low static distortion and very precise with accurate beat and tone emulation. Works fairly well with DAC under low wattage. But tend to shine with .wav and .mp3~4. Nothing but good experience; drivers in unit open up a complex listening experience which is excellent for live recordings in large arena's. Low volume listening is great also with distinctive high and low pass. Do not confuse these with entry level Grado headphones in my opinion these were designed specifically for digital format players. Or at least they fulfill this role better than most. If looking for a mind tingling DAC amplified experience I would recommend the Grado 225i because they seem to handle the higher volumes better. But to sum up the SR80i, I was surprised and woo'ed by what I received in these units.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 17, 2011 Wonderful phones!
Review by
morrisoj from Winnipeg, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My son needed some decent headphones. He'd been going through earbuds at a rate of say $30 a month. I'd had a pair of SR60s for about five years and was very pleased with them. The SR80is looked like a good deal, so I got a pair for him and a pair for me. Wow! Beautiful sound. Very much like the SR60s, but the bass goes down deeper. It's not forced or overly emphasized, it's just there. These phones are an excellent choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 17, 2010 Good Headphones
Review by
Roy from Narragansett, RI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am 69 and somewhat hearing impaired. I wear the headphones over my hearing aid. They are useful for watching movies on my laptop, which has tiny speakers. I have no complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 2, 2010 WOW!
Review by
NeedleDR from Carrabelle, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ive always used grado cartridges for my turn tables cause they have the richest sound. I figured why not, and got the sr80i's the reviews looked good. Best decision ever! everyone said they didn't like the design but the sound is great... but I really like the retro design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 28, 2010 Still stunned
Review by
HanDlinIT4u from Phoenix, Arizona
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I want more Grado! i know i will never use another set of headphones, unless im going running haha! now i need to try the SR125i
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 24, 2010 Excellent Cans!!
Review by
SimplyStewie from Parma, Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
By far the best headphones in existence for under $150. I was not too impressed with the packaging on them or the way they look but I was baffled by the quality that came out. I was listening to music from my iPhone on apple lossless quality from a few CDs i transferred and I really felt like I was listening to the songs in a studio. the imagery is so distinct on them and the open air design really makes you feel like the sound is around you and being cupped over your ears. A MUST GET!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz