Showing 25 reviews for Boss P106DVC

Customer Review Summary for Boss P106DVC
Average Customer Rating is 3.4 out of 5 stars:
3.4
based on 25 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
3.2
Value
3.6
Features
3.4
Design
4.5
Usability
3.9
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
February 4, 2012 nice!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
jbarnes from macon ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought a 10" and have it hooked up to a 2000 watt monoblock boss amp and i have to say it sounds nice!! I agree with the guy below me. Cheapo amps aint gonna cut it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 18, 2012 Best 10" Sub I have ever heard.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Vic from Caguas, PR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently purchased the 10" Boss Subs on a package deal Sonic electronic offered. The package included two 10" Boss Subs, Autotek Mean Machine 4,000 watt mono amplifier, 2 gauge wiring and the enclosure for 300 and something dollars. First of all let me just say that I have bought some good sound packages before but this one tops them all. I have an answer for all the negative reviews on this product. If you want a Sub woofer to push the watts it advertises you have to buy a good amplifier at least 2,000 watts and up and wire the dual voice coil properly. Please don't try and bridge your 300 watt amp for these subs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 7, 2011 great buy
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
jay from bronx, ny
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It works very well, produces very heavy bass....I highly recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2014 boss 106
Review by
mr.crinape from oxnard California
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I like it the style the sound is kool and cheap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 8, 2014 Great Sound
Review by
George from Calgary, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
What great looking and sounding sub. I installed 2 of these and am very pleased with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 14, 2014 There good speakers
Review by
Lous from Fair Lawn, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Well I bought these 10s and 1 blew with in the first month but I have another set of 10s in my acord thts still hitting so 1 out of 4 10s ain't bad good speakers though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 11, 2014 Love the power of bass
Review by
Big lou from Newjersey
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These bosses I got hit perfect in my honda accord not to loud but not to low I recommend these to anybody with a little car
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Boss phantom
Review by
Brian from Arlington, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have one in my Car. A 10" Boss Phantom subwoofer. It sounds great and is a bad a**!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 26, 2012 High quality yet very affordable
Review by
BIG BOB from HAGERSTOWN MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have been professionaly installing car stereo systems for about ten years. To all the negative comments on these subs, maybe you all should have them installed professionally; you obviously did somthing wrong. These subs will compete with the best! They hit hard and deep. I have two of these in a sealed box with a Boss Phantom 3000 amp, and I was shocked at how good they sound! I have had just about all the top names, and these will hold their own against any of them for a quarter of the price. You will not find a better sub for the money! Boss is extremely underrated. I highly recommend these subs. But make sure you get an amp that will push out at least 800 watts to each sub if you want them to realy slam!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 24, 2012 Do not buy
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Rj from tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Do not buy do not buy had it for like 4 days at 2 ohms not bridged but on 2 channels. Did not last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 24, 2012 not bad
Review by
Adam from mt pleasant, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is ok, not the best has good sound on 2 ohms. I have 1 in my 89 Toyota Camry. It's good for the price, has a real good look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 26, 2011 Good sub for the price
Review by
Garrett from Fairfield, Iowa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For only 55 bucks you can't really complain about this sub. It looks sweet and does deliver the bass if you don't overpower it. Currently I have a 3 sub box, the Phantom in the middle (1 sq foot ported), run by a 500 watt rms legacy amp. On either side I've got two alpine type-r competitions powered by a 2800 watt monoblock boss amp. The phantom can't compare to the type-rs so I set it to a higher hz range.

Basically the boss looks good, but if you want a serious system, just spend the money and get alpine, kicker, mtx, or fosgates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 25, 2011 no
Review by
Dustin from Wausau, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Let's start off by saying that I would not recommend this subwoofer unless you want a little bass. I bought 2 12" of this subwoofer which actually has more wattage and within 20 minutes of use, hooked up to a Hifonics Brutus 1200.1D amplifier which has 1200 watts RMS @1 ohm and each subwoofer states it could handle 1150 watts RMS and one of the subwoofers locked up. They sounded pretty decent until than.

If you want a mediocore system I'd recommend this subwoofer, but just use a lightweight amplifier like possibly a BOSS amp or possibly a Sony. Stay away from the heavyweights like JL Audio, MTX, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 3, 2011 u get what u paid for
Review by
Stephen from Tampa, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got one of these in my 93 camry as my first system.. I have them on a Boss PH1500.1 amp..its not the best sub in the world but its an ok buy for the price.. I just recently dropped it to 2 ohms which the amp handles great to add more "boom" but it could be better..for a first system I'm proud of my purchases but looking for more..I've had to do A LOT of tuning on my EQ and my amp to get it to sound how I want it to because I guess the quality is catching up a little bit since ive had it since november but now that ive got it to 2 ohms its where i want it.. i recommend this to anyone who is looking for a first time sub for a cheap price but I dont recommend it for those who have been around the car audio world for awhile..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2011 Do not buy!
Review by
Tyler from Caney, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This was the worst purchase I have ever made. The power ratings are all fake. If you try pushing 1000w rms through this thing its going to blow. If your looking for a sub that looks good buy these. If your looking for a sub that pounds just hit your back button now. DO NOT BUY these!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 3, 2010 beattttt
Review by
t3 from baltimore md
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs are beat they just rattle a lot. so instead I bought two 12 inch alpine Type R those are the best subs I've ever bought the lip is so serious idk how to explain it u want quality buy type r
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 17, 2010 Pretty banging for a cheap beginning
Review by
Quinn from Norco, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So I bought these as my first system setup. I bought 2 of them all out for the price and size. all of the power ratings are way more than they actually state, but i also liked the way they looked. for the price, they're definitely worth it. only problem is that the spyder wears really quick so they start making a shaky noise after a few months. also if you get these subs i would recommend sticking to a boss amp that way the fake power ratings match up and you don't blow your subs. other than that, for cheap 10's these things shake my ride and are surprisingly clear and sound great, of course for what you paid for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 15, 2010 Great
Review by
Pierre-Philippe from Normandin, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Cheap and good sound, my first 10 inch and I would recommend 12 inch for better bass
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 9, 2010 Complete Junk!
Review by
Jack from South Bend, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered this sub after reading good reviews on the 12" model. This was the worst sub I have ever heard in my life. I have a Hifonics amp that puts out 1600 watts RMS, which should be plenty of power to make these subs pound. All these subs did was move a lot and make a lot of noise. The sub made more noise than bass it produced. My factory stereo sounded better in my Jeep Grand Cherokee with no subs than these did! I have hooked up many systems and know what I am doing, these subs are just junk. The only positive is their looks. I would not recommend these subs to anybody that is looking for bass. If you are looking for a noise maker these are what you are looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2010 Amazing sound for an even more amazing price
Review by
Gary from Chicora, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently purchased 2 of these subs and put the in my 03 lancer, along with a power acoustic amp, it shakes the windows in my house, everyone always looks at me when I'm driving by but I like the attention! If your looking for great value and amazing sound these are definitely the subs to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 31, 2010 Great woofer!
Review by
Austin from Arvada, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this Boss subwoofer to anyone out there. This is the first Boss woofer I've bought and i was extremely impressed with it. The subwoofer has incredible excursion! I have one of these subs and i just ordered another one about five minutes ago. Just one of these shakes my mirror more than my 12" jbl i had! There is only one downfall about these... the spider wears out kind of fast. I've had mine for about 3 months and the spider is really loose but it still hits extremely hard. I have people starring at me when i drive by
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 15, 2012 Not what it says
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
fellie from Bolckow, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers look nice and that is about it! We bought one and bought all the stuff the site recommended for proper installation. 2 days later it fried. So we tried again and bought another and made sure we hooked it up right, chalked the first one up to user error. My boyfriend is a professional with stereo systems and the RMS rating on these speakers said they would handle our amp...wrong. We had better luck with the cheapies from wal-mart. The price is great but you get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 22, 2012 Boss Phantom p106 dvc
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ken5 from Nashville, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've been a Boss soldier for over 10 years. Had my fare share of Fosgate's, Mtx's, Kicker's and Audiobahn's, etc. Boss is the best premium car audio supplier when it comes to the average joe. Rule #1 most Boss subs won't handle a 1ohm load, so wire it accordingly. Rule #2 use thick speaker wire, Period. Rule #3 use the right type box. Not all sealed or ported boxes are created equal. Rule #4 use a powerful amp. Rule #5 use the right gauge power & ground wire. Rule #6 buy a capacitor. If you fail to follow these 6 rules, then you won't succeed with anything Boss Car Audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 15, 2012 not a good sub
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Sound Decisions Proffesional Audio Installation from Aberdeen, SD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
DO NOT BUY. I had 2 of these hooked to my Brutus 1200.1 at 1-ohm (off of my 1 Fi SSD 12 at 1 ohm), and it blew both subs within 20 minutes. My buddy wanted them, but didn't have his amp yet. I hooked them to mine for the time being, and they both locked up within 20 minutes. And don't say, "oh, you wired them wrong," or something, 'cause I checked the ohms with my multimeter and turned down my amp before I turned them on, and they still blew. If you want a good system get Fi, KICKER, ALPINE, or ROCKFORD, or just wire them to a Boss amp so that they even out. You subtract 5-600 watts from anything Boss rates. Trust me, I've got a Chaos 3800D blown next to my bed from 2 L5's which it "overpowered."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 2, 2012 1050 rms
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
zack from bunnell, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Well i bought one a week ago. I have a kenwood 840 amp briged. This subwoofer says 1050rms but dont think for a minute it can handle any power. 2 and a half days later I'm buying a new sub. Melted it. Sounded good for a day but the first time i put any real power to it it locked up. To me this speaker is for a 500 watt amp or smaller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz