Showing 36 reviews for Boss P156DVC

Customer Review Summary for Boss P156DVC
Average Customer Rating is 3.9 out of 5 stars:
3.9
based on 36 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
3.8
Value
4.3
Features
3.9
Design
4.4
Usability
4.3
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Suprised Definately love it

I had never heard of boss before buying this. i'd always heard about kewwood jvc kicker etc but i saw these and figured i'd give it a shot, amazing sub, hit really hard although it did end up blowing after 3 weeks cuz im an idiot... don't push a 4000w on a 2500w sub ;) bad move there. none the less ordered another one because this sub is amazing! my only advice is when getting a new sub follow the setup instructions to a t. make sure your grounds posi's leads and everything are 100% perfect don't half ass it you will regret it later (nearly had a car fire) and seeing as it's new equiptment make sure u kinda break it in. get like 10 hours on it just smooth light to medium bass before beating the hell out of it

VS
This is a bad sub

I had this speacker for about 2 weeks and one day smoke started coming out of the sub. Now it wont work and im out 90 bucks. DO NOT BUY THIS.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
November 10, 2012 Suprised Definately love it
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
grayson from larimore, nd
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had never heard of boss before buying this. i'd always heard about kewwood jvc kicker etc but i saw these and figured i'd give it a shot,

amazing sub, hit really hard although it did end up blowing after 3 weeks cuz im an idiot...

don't push a 4000w on a 2500w sub ;) bad move there. none the less ordered another one because this sub is amazing!

my only advice is when getting a new sub follow the setup instructions to a t. make sure your grounds posi's leads and everything are 100% perfect don't half ass it you will regret it later (nearly had a car fire) and seeing as it's new equiptment make sure u kinda break it in. get like 10 hours on it just smooth light to medium bass before beating the hell out of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 27, 2011 Boss
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
skyler from ID
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works great haven't had a problem with it. Has good bass more than I expected for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 24, 2011 Boss P156DVC
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Juan from Rio Rico, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
these subs hit really hard it gets peoples attention :P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 4, 2011 BoSs PhAnToM
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Juan from UNITED STATES
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is cheap and hits hard lol i own 2 and im really impressed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 15, 2011 great sub
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Christopher from Robertsdale, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great subs I have 2 of them in my truck getting a 3rd and have no problem with them if ur looking for great bass for low price then this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2011 Great Sub & Design
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Brandon from McComb, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this sub 2 weeks ago along with the boss 2-channel 3000 watt amp and they fit together perfect everything has been working great so far it produces good bass frequencies and I'm very impressed so far. If you hook everything up correctly or recommended im sure this sub will last a LONG time. I'd recommend a ported enclosure instead of a sealed enclosure also. For the price this sub is top of the line!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2011 Very Good Sub
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Clark from McComb, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is a great purchase for the price. Not only does this sub produce good bass frequencies it also is a good competitor. From what I've seen it has a pretty big damn magnet and the cone and stitching are both made of durable material. If you wire this sub up correctly or get an audio retailer to do it you sure to not go wrong. Most people who complain on this site about there subs shorting out or quitting is because they were installed improperly. I've his 154 on the db with 2 of these in a custom box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 26, 2010 Awesome Sub
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Eric from Castro Valley, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is my first 15 inch sub and it hits hard. I had two Pioneer 12s 1200 watt each and the lights didnt dim but now with this sub they do dim im running 2 ohms with my boss cx1250 amp and it hits great. I ordered it on tuesday and I was surprised at how early it came because it came the next day and I didnt pay for overnight shipping. Great looking sub. hope it lasts long. So far I'm really glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 18, 2011 Killer!!
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Taylor from Mapleton, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ok first off I will start witht the fact the I had about twelve professionals tell me Boss was junk/bottom of the Barrel! I proceeded to buy theses, cuz of the price and i was short on cash, well lets just say these are top of the line for the price, would compete with kicker, rockford, MTX, and JL!!! i have two of these things in my trunk with the 2 channel boss phantom 3000W amp! I am very impressed, they hit extremely hard if tuned right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 12, 2014 2500 watt boss 15"
Review by
Dalesauce from Lexington, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub hits hardddddd. I have it in a crappy off brand box and it still out does all the others in the parking lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 18, 2014 do not go by power rating!
Review by
forrest from fitzgerald, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i ordered these subwoofers about 6 months ago, they are supposed to hold 1500 rms and 2500 peak watts. i have two of them in a box, they were professionally installed correct wiring capacitor the whole nine yards. i have a 1200 watt rockford fosgate prime series amp, the amp was turned ALL the way down as far as possible. its been about 6 months give or take so they were broke in, once again amp turned down as much as possible. i was driving yesterday with the song mercy playing. i started smelling that smell like no other lol looked in back mirror and the whole back of my suv was filling with smoke. got home took subs out and they were 100% MELTED. sounded decent just WONT HOLD ADVERTISED POWER. atleast not true pwer. thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 17, 2014 Boss P156DVC
Review by
josh from orangeville, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had a pair of these Handed down to me from my sister(I sold them cause i have a Atomic E.L.E 18")But they sounded pretty good for the price.Won't handle there rated maybe 800w max.But for the price they were pretty good.Hit pretty hard For what they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 15, 2014 Good Price! Great Look!
Review by
Daniel from Orlando, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have to say for the price they sound wonderful, with precision tuning. BASS ON!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 13, 2014 Great deal
Review by
2 real for fake poeple from Farwell , Mi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommond these for cheap good speakers there not the best but they do hit pretty hard for being so cheap i would buy these again if i had to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 junk
Review by
MOFO from Houston Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought 6 of these. At the very best they are 400 wattsRMS. I would not recommend this product to my worst enemy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 25, 2013 Completely Worth It
Review by
Young Polo from St Louis
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have these hooked up to 4500 watts and they rumble. Anything louder would literally be impossible to sit and listen to. Totally worth it, so cheap and you get more than what you pay for. I have two wired up at 1-ohm and they can be heard from hundreds of feet away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 8, 2013 best subs u can get if u are just starting for competitions promise
Review by
audio kid from atlanta GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have 2 of these on a 5000 watt amp and I haven't had any problems with them. The best thing is that I went to my first spl league competition and got 2nd out of 4 other cars in my class all because of these awesome subs. So don't believe what a so called professional will tell u because he is just used to the subs that he owns or the ones he is used to installing or just likes a certain sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 8, 2013 Bad
Review by
David from St Joseph, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I went and bought 2 of them and the voice coil started smoking. I do not recommend anyone to buy these subs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 13, 2013 Abdul Love
Review by
Dulo from Kansas City
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had these for a year now, and I've beat the hell out of em and they just sound amazing never blew or got hot even in the summer.i have a sealed box thinkn on going ported tho idk yet tho im gettn to more because i love em so much i truly recomend these..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2013 really surprised
Review by
Damian from Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am really surprised how good these speakers sound especially because I had two 15" kicker comp vr's and blew them. I bought the boss phantoms because of the price and I am surprised they sound the same as my vr's did. I would recommend these to anyone looking to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 1, 2012 Okay for the money
Review by
jimmy from santa fe, ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ive had two of these subs hooked up to a re audio 1000d for the past year and havent had any problems. They wont take your breath away but there decent for the money, lookin to upgrade to re audio se. I wouldnt put more than 600 rms to this boss sub or else it will probably blow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 21, 2012 Just get them
Review by
Kyle from Arkansas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these in my 95 cammaro. And wow. Let's just say nobody in my town can compete with these. These things are the best especially for the price. They will hit. I'm not maxing them out for stories about not handling the power so I'm running them at 2000 a piece. 4000 watt mono block amp running at one ohm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 20, 2012 Bang for the buck
Review by
Derrick h from Marinette, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought one of these about a year ago and now its just gathering dust, i wass feeding this sub 1000 watts and i never had a problem, it would get warm but i couldnt get it to blow, after 2 month i saved up enoough money to buy two kicker comp 15's and they blow boss away. if your on a budget get boss just know what your doing wire them up right and don't push them to hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 6, 2012 15 "BOSS SUBS
Review by
Q-BALL from BREVARD,FLORIDA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Man i had theses two months with a boss 5500 mono calss d amp they blew on me after bout a month playing them everyday.They are real nice 4 the price but the amp was too powerful 4 these subs.Never will i buy boss a cheap brand again....Switch back over to jbl/kickers/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 27, 2012 This is a bad sub
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Big daddy from Savannah Ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had this speacker for about 2 weeks and one day smoke started coming out of the sub. Now it wont work and im out 90 bucks. DO NOT BUY THIS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 9, 2012 it took 5500 watts to blow them out the box!
Review by
kennoris from MONTGOMERY, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had a 5500 SPL 1 channel, class D. I turned the amp 3/4 the way up and both speakers came out the box! They still work but the cone wires broke loose. So thier alright but I needed more, so I went with kicker L7's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 5, 2012 Blew @ 800 Watts
Review by
Brandon from McComb, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased two of these with a boss phantom 3000-watt 2 channel amp and took it to have the amp tested at 13.4 volts it produced 1,567 watts. (around 800 ea) So I hooked the sub up to 4ohms (bridged) and it blew within a couple weeks and filled my car with smoke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 27, 2011 great value
Review by
gbad from KENVIL nj
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The boss 15" subs work very well im quite pleased with their performance. I bought two 15" subs with subwoofer box and i matched them with a 3000 watt rms amp. The two together work very well. Thank you! GJ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 17, 2011 Nice product
Review by
Ben_Jam'in from Raymore MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This subwoofer rocks! Kickin base! Looks great! What more can I say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 15, 2011 Good buy
Review by
Matt from Roscoe, illinois
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Id definitely recomend these subs. I had 2 of these in a slot port box made to sub specs running them off a phantom d4000 amp i did blow them but they were much louder than my expectations comparable audio pipe 15s. Downfall.... is they are not true 2500 watt max subs and they are pretty much only good for half volume levels for extended playing. If u play at full volume mKe sure to only go for maybe a minute at most. Like i said i had a 4000 watt amp and still blew them, but for the price you will feel like steve meade for a while. O and fyi they can do very good windshield flex!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2011 goodbutnotgreat
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
basslord from roscoe,il
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had 2 in a 99 malibu. Ported box on a d4000 boss phantom amp thinking i couldnt blow them whith only 4000 watts.... i was wrong. about the 3rd week i had them blew. I had all gains down and volume not all the way up maybe a little over 3rd of the way. So i guess if ur wondering if u should buy these id say yes its a great buy they are just as loud as the cvr15s but beware u only need about 3000 watts for a pair of these or u will more than likely blow them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 10, 2011 Good deal
Review by
Josh from cincinnati, ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is awesome! I have in the back seat of my truck and it absolutely shakes my cab. Just one of these is enough it hits hard enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 2, 2011 bangers
Review by
Tope G from Houston, Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased these subs 6 months ago and they knock hard. good quality sound. but i blew one sub out and shortly after the other one went out also. not very long lasting unless your not pushing them hard. great begginer subs. i would reccomend them if your budget is tight, but i personally am upgrading to some power acoustiks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 31, 2011 Wow
Review by
Boss bass from Roscoe, il
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Title says it all I have 2 in a custom box with a 4000 watt phantom amp its louder than 2 audiopipes on a5000 watt gorilla amp I was amazed that I beat him idk for sure but I think im probably in the 130s or 140s well worth the money take my word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 23, 2012 Boss 15" subwoofer
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Peso82 from Philadelphia PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very bad product!!! Hooked my sub up it sounds very good, a lot of bass, but it blew out. Then I got one more & the same thing happened. I now have a kicker & have had it about 6 months now. I think kicker comp 15" is the best out there. You'll pay more but it is worth it. Boss is good if you have boss amps. I have an 1800 watt Kenwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 12, 2011 Very nice bang for your buck
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
DJ Psymosfear from montreal, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Its a good all round sub but not the best ..how ever for the price and manufactured quality of the sub its a great buy for the price ..if your looking for a aggressive speaker its not much of one on its own ..its good to use along with other better subs and fills in the bass levels ..its a good investment as a starter kit but if your gonna go big spend the extra cash and buy something better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz