Showing 9 reviews for Precision Power PPI S850.1D

Customer Review Summary for Precision Power PPI S850.1D
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 9 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
78%
4 star:
.
.
22%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.9
Features
4.9
Design
4.7
Usability
5.0
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
May 1, 2014 Budget Amp
Review by
Austin from Greenbrier, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've owned this amp for two different sets of subwoofer setups. The previous was for 2 12" Kicker CVRs wired at 2 ohms. I had that when I barely knew anything about a system. I gave that amp hell for an entire year, and it never quit. I even mixed up the ground wire and power wire once and turned the car on (blowing the inline fuse). It was still a trooper.
Now I have a single 12" Kicker L7. I have it wired down to 1 ohm. I had the sub lying around, and decided I wanted a cheap amp to throw on it. So I decided to go with this. And it'll definitely push it. I have the L7 in a ported ground shaker box, and it'll slap. I have a 4 door Tahoe so there's a lot of air it has to push. I tuned the amp with a digital multimeter, and I believe it can put out more than 850 watts RMS @ 1 ohm. It does get warm to the touch, but I also don't have it where it can optimally ventilate. The most I've ever played is about 2 hours straight at 3/4 of the max I tuned to.

PROS: Solid amp for the money. If you're on a tight budget, this is the amp for you. Does at least its rated amount. Nice exterior design.
CONS: A bit larger than I'd like it to be. It does get a bit warm, so just make sure it can ventilate a little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 20, 2014 amazing for the money!
Review by
Alex from Rogers, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is a great little amp!! Powers my sub with full potential and is cool to the touch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 3, 2014 Great Amplifier. Recommended.
Review by
AMIABLE from Raleigh, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros:
-High RMS power rating.
-1-Ohm stable.
-Runs cool to the touch, luke-warm when pushed hard.
-Relatively small footprint.
-Remote level control w/cable included! Yay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 great budget amp - does rated power
Review by
drftNV from WA, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
got this hooked up to a Alpine S 15" at and it PUMPS. Measured 34.6V into 2 ohm with no clipping, thats a true 600W at 2 Ohm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 25, 2013 Excellent Amp, Price, and Performance
Review by
Corey from Chandler, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this amp about a month ago. I installed myself and it's hooked to an older RF T1 Dual 4ohm sub (equivalent to the current RF model P3D4-12) and wired into a 2ohm load. I built my own 2.25 cu ft vented box. Man does it pound! It's in an Accord and I've never had anything perform better! I'm the kind of guy that always seems to push the limits of my equipment. For the first time in 15+ years I have an amp that I don't have to turn up all the way. With the bass knob set at 1/4 to 1/2 I can be heard up to a half mile away! I LOVE this amp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 31, 2013 Great Amp for the Price
Review by
Nigel from kingston, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just bought this amp, and so far am loving it. Have it hooked up to an RE Audio SEX 15 at 2 ohms running in a 2 cubic ft sealed enclosure, and it pounds.

Definitely impressed.

Bought it for the fact that it had the speaker level inputs and remote volume knob to integrate with the factory stereo in my wifes SUV (she is not into car audio at all...)

Was the perfect compromise for us (satisfied my obsession while not breaking the budget)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 26, 2013 Great Amp
Review by
J from San Jose,CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this amp a couple months ago.
I installed it myself.
I use it to run 1 JL 13tw5-3

It is enough power for my purposes, but I don't think it pushes my sub to its limits.

Great amp for the price though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 19, 2012 Don't let the off brand throw you off!
Review by
SAM from TIFTON, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was very scepticial about buying this amp for it being a class d mono block. After hearing good and bad things about them I went ahead and ordered it to power 2 12" kicker CVRs and let me just say that it supplies more then enough power to handle the 2 subs just fine and the extra bass knob really is handy for adjusting the subs amps output. It has gave me no problems at all and has never even over heated. The only small downside is that the amp does not receive the high frequency bass tones as well as normal mono blocks or 2 channel amps. Overall very satisfied!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2012 beast of an amp
Review by
king of bass from harlan ky
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is the beast of all amps. I've owned a lot of amps and this is the greatest. Pushes my JL Audio w12 perfect, great sound does not get hot, just a little warm. If you are looking for a great amp at a low buget this is the one that out performs all others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz