Showing 33 reviews for Rockford Fosgate PRIME R1000-1D

Customer Review Summary for Rockford Fosgate PRIME R1000-1D
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 33 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
79%
4 star:
.
.
15%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
.
6%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.6
Features
4.5
Design
4.4
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
October 18, 2011 This is an excellent amp.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jordan from Kingston, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp has been a pleasure to own. Very small for a true 1000w RMS CEA compliant amp. The birth sheet that comes with these Rockford amps said it was tested at 1043w RMS, and I believe them! It pushes my two JL 10W3V3 at 2 ohm to their max, and only have it set to 3/4 gain. It has enough juice the flex my windshield and side and rear panels slightly, the mirrors all shake, rear-view will not stay up. Impressive for two 10 inch SQ subs!

I have not been able to get this amp to heat up even after hours of pounding, great design! Crossover is great to cut out the higher freq bass so that you can blend with your front stage, and really get the clean low end punch. The Punch EQ is also great, I'd never buy an amp without it again now that I know what it can do! I find the punch on max allows you to turn the gains down for cleaner, better sounding signal amplification, and it helps to give less bassy songs like Rock some serious kick.

The remote is also awesome, allows you to dial in your amp as you cycle through songs that have different levels of bass. A must for me from now on for subs (unless you have an EQ already or listen to only one style of music.)

The only thing that you'll find on other amps that may make them preferable to you is the THD rating. Although this amp is still quite low at 1.0% Total Harmonic Distortion at rated RMS, the more expensive amps in this power range are .5 -.01% THD at rated power. But you are going to pay for that, and I personally doubt it matters because Rockford under-rates their amps whereas some of the companies advertising Low THD and Higher wattages are often not CEA Compliant and will not produce their rated power, therefore the THD cannot possibly be low at the rated power.

I recommend this amp to anyone looking in this RMS range. You will not be disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 1, 2011 greatest amp
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Brice from hammond, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had this amp for about 5 months and I got to say Rockford Fosgate did a great job. I had this amp pushing a 15" Kicker about 2 weeks later I blew the sub so I switched to a L7 15" kicker and its lasted me for awhile but it started to make a rattle noise so its Time to get a brand new l7 15" Kicker!!! Whoever is reading this the truth is this amp is the greatest has so much power
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2010 Great Amp
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Al from Arkansas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great amp I have this hooked up to my two Kicker cvr's and this amp is a beast doesn't get hot at all even with these hot summer months.!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 15, 2013 Good Buy
Review by
FatMat916 from Sacramento, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp to run 1 NVX VCW154 15 inch woofer... perfect matchup.. my birthsheet said 1093 watts!!!!! PERFECT...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 27, 2013 Great Amp
Review by
Leon from Jacksonville, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amp never gets hot and slams my 2 15" kicker cvr's great amp very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 25, 2012 Great PRODUCT
Review by
devin from grand rapids, michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product hits hard. For its a great price for a name brand item. Rockford products do not disappoint. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 13, 2012 Nice Amp!
Review by
Jrdubya from Bridge City Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Nice amp. I have this on one 10" Rockford Fosgate T1 in a ported box-in my boat. After alittle adjustment I thought the sub was gonna jump out of the box. It beats the block down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 10, 2012 No tan bueno como pensé
Review by
juan from Bavaro, Dominican Republic
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Tengo un sub P2 de 12", pero al subir el volumen en mi radio a 25 se apaga el sub.
EL tecnico me dice que este amplificador no da mucha potencia, que lo debo cambiar.
Dice hecho en china lo cual es de pobre calidad y lo convierte en un amp comun.
Me gusta que es pequeño pero no sirve para lo que lo necesito.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 23, 2012 Rockford
Review by
Antonio from Helena, MT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is one mean little amp. Not very big in size will fit in a ton of small places...in trunks...underseats etc and it does over 1000w rms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 29, 2011 Will it Push 2, 2011, kicker 15" L&'s?
Review by
Marcus from District Heights, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Im new to the whole "aftermarket sound system in the vehicle" thing, I have the Rockford Prime R1000-D hooked up to, two 2011, 15" kicker L7's.

I have had no issues out of the amplifier, as far as im concerned, the amplifier does what its suppose to do. I see instances online where ppl hook the same speakers up to 5000 watt plus/ better amps, and because of the loud, clean, bass, i get from the speakers while hooked to this Rockford Prime 1000-1D, i dont see a need for the mammoth amplifiers to power the 2 subwoofers.

The Prime R1000-1D is hooked to the subs, which are wired at 2ohms. I have the gain set half way up. They are all hooked to the Fahrenheit TID-8917. The bass settings on the head unit goes to 14 on bass and 14 on bass volume, while 50 on main volume. I have the both bass settings on 3. Treble on 7 since bass drowns out my door speakers which i changed also, and its plenty loud. Every now and then i will turn the volume up at the head unit and turn heads. I would upgrade amplifier if i felt a need to but i see no need to because this amp does what its suppose to do for a "Beginner Amp User," as well as Car Audio beginner like myself.
Price is fair, I bolt everything down to a wooden subfloor i placed in my vehicle under the carpet; so it wont get stolen and will slow intruders down if the alarm stickers and alarm doesnt slow them down enough. Last thing, its small enough to place amp wherever u want in your vehicle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 22, 2011 great
Review by
D from virginiabeach, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have my two 12" eclipse subs hitting hard, just cuts off when the boost is on max. Not sure if it works on 1 ohm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 7, 2011 8 pounds of power....
Review by
Devin from Schenectady, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just got this amp a couple days ago. It's hooked up to a 15" Kicker CVX and it pushes this thing for all its worth. Very nice amp. I have this thing peaked and it just wont get hot... hardly gets warm honestly. Great buy for the money, and a great match for my sub. Now i just need some serious Dynamat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 14, 2011 Rockford :)
Review by
Lizard lick from stem north carolina
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp was just right for my 2 alpine type-r's. They are the 1242 models and I love the sound. Wonderful amp backed by a strong name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 28, 2011 Amp is Amazing
Review by
Justin from Marlborough, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is so small and easy to place! I also love having it to push my 2 P3D212s because it pushes 1000 at 2 ohms just like advertised. Rockford fosgate makes the best products and this is easily one of them. Everyone askes where I got that amp and my local car audio shop always is saying they need to get some of this in because they are great! Thanks Sonic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 1, 2011 Great amp!!!
Review by
Tim from Fort Lewis Wa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this amp 6 months ago and it is still as good as it was the day I bought it. Can handle just about anything you put it to!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 22, 2011 Amazing amp
Review by
Sze from Waterford, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have this hooked up to an MTX 9500 15" dual 4 ohm sub in a 2002 grand prix. Bumps all day in 90 degree weather (but extremely hot to the touch). Damn clean sound for it's extremely low price. Rapes my headlights and interior lights with stock alt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 11, 2011 Works Great
Review by
Adam from Sioux Falls, SD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this product a little skeptical of the good deal. Great amp that combined with a capacitor pushes my two P3's great. All the products I have purchased from this site have worked very well. Only thing I have seen wrong with it at all is a few scratches and dents in the box, not on the products. Great Buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 2, 2011 Good Product
Review by
Hogan from Surrey, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Purchased this amp to power my Kicker CVT 10" and it does the job.
No issues, definitely recommend it.
Service from Sonic was good.
No complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 22, 2011 dead
Review by
James from Apopka, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've owned RF amps in the past. I have 2 punch amps I bought in 1999 and they work great. I bought this amp because of the power per dollar. I'm running one Pioneer 12" pro sub at 4Ohm. I installed this amp on Saturday and it is dead on Friday (six days).
I'm not trained to listen to heavy bass so I've had the gain turned way down and only barely pushed it during the week.
When it quit working I was maybe pushing 30watts out of it. Protection light never came on.
I installed my old (older than 1999) Boss amp to get me buy while I return this and decide if I want to give them another chance. BTY the Boss is working fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 18, 2011 This Amp is the TRUTH!!!
Review by
Big Ron from Newburgh,IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp and have it hooked to a 18" Re Audio SXD4 wired to 2 ohm, although its actually closer to 1.5 ohm, I was worried the amp may over heat since it was does not state that the amp is 1 ohm stable but I bet it would run a 1 Ohm load just fine. The amp and sub are destroying my car and I love it lol. I have a 2000 P71 Crown Vic with 175 amp alt and Interstate Megatron Plus II battery, I never lose power, have dimming lights, or drop voltage, this amp is amazing. In fact I mad that I wasted my money on a 4 farad cap that I do not use. The birth sheet actually rates this amp at closer to 1100 watts RMS(1079 to be exact), Great Value, Great buy well worth the money which wasn't to bad either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 22, 2011 Beast
Review by
King from Detroit, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is UH-MAY-ZING. I'm currently running 2 Kicker CVRs @ 2 ohms on it. I did however have the gain maxed, but I recently installed the remote gain control and now it's like halfway & it bumps literally just as hard as if it was maxed. My subs aren't even remotely close to broken in yet, but this amp bangs. After I upgrade my box, I'm going to bolt it into my trunk so nobody can jack my system without having to remove the subs first in order to pull the box & amp out. It may not sound like a thief-prevention, but at least it'll stall them until I step outside and beat their face in until it's concave.

Anyways, this amp is a monster. If you don't care about whether or not your neighbors hate you, I'd highly suggest purchasing this product.

1000 TRUE watts RMS @ 2 ohms for 260... Try finding that elsewhere. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 10, 2011 Great Amp
Review by
Andrew from Davenport, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp works great! You really can't go wrong with that price. Definitely get this amp if you are looking to buy a 1000 watt amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 4, 2011 Rockford is King!
Review by
Sir Jaime from Tulsa,OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Two 12"s and hit hard with no over heating and oh So... small for 1000 watts RMS "if I got that right" anyway u know what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 24, 2011 Pretty Good.
Review by
Rockford510 from Hayward,CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 P3D12 in a sealed box with this amp. It should be the perfect setup but it still clips when it is turned up at a certain level. The gain is turned up 9 out of 11 but if I have it any lower it doesn't sound loud at all. This amp shouldn't clip at all. Maybe I'm getting deaf and want more power for my car idk.
For the average user it'll be great to push any system. Very small amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2011 Very Nice Amp
Review by
J&J Audio from Huron, SD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This thing is TINY... I was BLOWN AWAY at the amount of power it had. I installed it in a friend's 2000 Jeep with 2 15" P3 subs at 2 ohms and the bass is crazy. Flexes the roof, bounces the rear wiper... was making the subs hit so hard snow was falling off my shop's roof. This amp very efficient, didn't have any light dimming (stock alt, 1000 cca battery).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 5, 2011 Surprizing
Review by
Ronster monster from wichita ks
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've never owned a small 1000rms amp before but rockford definately surpassed all expectations. This thing produces a true 1000 watts rms when wired to two ohms. Highly recommend this amp to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 1, 2011 Great Sub Amp, Good Value.
Review by
Jason from Hamilton, GA.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed amp 2 weeks ago. Very impressed! Pushing 2 Punch 12's in a 2005 Chevy Suburban. Consider a cap when you purchase. This is the 2nd or 3rd purchase from Sonic Electonix and I am very impressed with pricing and perfect delivery. Keep it up.

Pros: Compact, Perfect sound quality.
Cons: Nothing I have seen or heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 31, 2011 SOOO GOOD
Review by
Jay from MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
so small but so strong cant get over how much i love this amp! pushing 2 12 P3s like a champ!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 28, 2011 Really great
Review by
Judith from Saint-Hubert, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very powerfull and really good price. I like it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 26, 2011 INCREDIBLE!!
Review by
Justin from MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I absolutely love this amp! It pushes my 2 12 p3s at 2 ohms and they sound and hit great! Its a tiny amp that makes a lot a lot of power. Does not over heat at all and is overall high quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 31, 2010 small but powerful
Review by
Taylor from kent
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i was surprized of the power this amp has for its size. and it hardly takes any power [i have a good eletrical system] but its defanitly the best amp ive owned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 23, 2010 Best Amp for the Price!
Review by
Ken from Hammond, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp pushing my (1) Kicker CVX 15 and it bangs!! The amp isn't big, it doesn't get hot, it pushes 1000 rms at 2 ohms, and it doesn't require 0 gauge wire!! What more could you ask for? This is definitely the best amp in its price range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 24, 2011 defective product
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
bradley from patterson, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product was installed and 3 days later in went into protection mode and wont reset itself. Have good ground all fuses aren't blowes not over heated. And nothing has burned up in it just wont operate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz