Showing 15 reviews for Alpine PDX-F4

Customer Review Summary for Alpine PDX-F4
Average Customer Rating is 4.9 out of 5 stars:
4.9
based on 15 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
93%
4 star:
.
0%
3 star:
.
.
7%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.9
Value
4.6
Features
4.5
Design
4.9
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
December 18, 2011 Hold on
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Michael from Mount Juliet, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
At first I bought this amp because it was low profile, even though it good specs. I put under front seat so I could put processor next to it. Got everything in and redid front amp for components & rear amp for sub. Did this with VOM because my buddies Oscope was being fixed. I thought would be close enough. Alpine is driving Hertz mlk165 & cdt 2" front fills & DLS 226 coaxials in rear. My HU is Pioneer 4300dvd and I can not get it over 15 out of 40 volume. Amp will run you out of car and never gets hot, no distortion, plenty of power & rocks. Install was easy, using 4ga wire all around. If you are looking for great amp don't hesitate to check this baby out. All my SQ buddies are impressed and they run Sundown, ARC & Audison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2011 SOLID!!!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Trae from Summerdale, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I do not own this amp, but I do own the predecessor and can only say it's still a fine amp! For the footpint, power output, and efficiency, as well as the price, you cannot beat this amp! Alpine quality and sound reproduction is almost second to none except for the extreme high end amplifiers (Zappco, Stetsom, etc.) but you will pay WAYYY more than this little guy! Dont understimate it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 30, 2011 very nice amplifier
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
brian from moorefield, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sounding amplifier, the class d design sounds every bit as good as my former soundstream and phoenix gold titanium seriers class AB amps. also bought it for its effeciency which is superb, nice small size and the installatioin is the best yet that i have used and i have installed many different amps over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 7, 2011 WOW
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Bollard from Melbourne, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Powerful son of a gun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 1, 2011 Sweet Amp
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Daktoa from Kitchener, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Tons of clean, crisp power! Great product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 4, 2014 Better Than old school
Review by
Warlock from Burbs of Chicago Il.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Let me just start by saying I am very very picky..It take a great deal to impress me... okay... I was a custom installer for a high quality shop back in the 90's. I have done some very serious systems in my day. About 2 years ago I was looking to do a simple "low key" system in my new car. But I wanted it to hit hard and sound fantastic. Being I had been out of the Car audio loop for several years.. I was at a loss when I found out that ALL of the old school, high end, American car audio companies had bit the dust. Though some do still exist in name only... PPI, Phoenix Gold, Hi Fonics, ADS... ect...ect... But they are now Chinese made garbage. So on a recommendation from a friend. I took a look at the Alpine PDX series(Alpine has always made nice stuff). And let me tell you... These amps are BY FAR!!! The most musical, efficient, dynamic... And key word here... POWERFUL amps.. I have ever worked with. They are so far beyond anything I have ever seen... That even after 2 years... I am still amazed by these amps every time I fire them up. They are price wise.. In line with my "Old school favs" A PPI A600 and A404 I had in my 2 seat pick up back in the 90's.. But these amps are so far out of their league.. And that's saying A LOT!! If you are looking for state of the art... If you are wanting absolute car audio perfection. You will simply not find better. Alpine has really done something wonderful here. This line of amps are the simply the best the car audio world has to offer. Thank you Alpine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 27, 2014 Beast of an amp
Review by
Marcus from Lucedale, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is a beast compared to the cx300.4 kicker I had in my dodge dakota I can turn the volume really loud an it doesn't get hot at all not even after my four hour drive home from work would definitely reccomended buying this and I have it on two pair of jl audio evolution c2 600 x speakers and it plays really really lid and crystal clear although I have bushmeat for the speakers reccomended that too for better clarity of listening quality and rattles of door panels the bass is slamming for no subwoofer and the tweeters are bright at times may have to adjust your amp tuning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 14, 2014 Best 4 channel I've owned
Review by
Will from Palestine, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is by far the best 4 channel I've owned or maybe even seen. I've been doing car audio for about 8 years now and this thing is amazing. Best sound quality I've ever heard from an amp and puts out true power. This thing makes my surround speakers sound amazing and honestly puts out too much power for them almost need upgrade again for this amp but zero complaints at all. Would recommend to anyone looking to have a great system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 19, 2014 F4
Review by
Amir Designer from TEH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
small and beautiful design can install in any location in car,powerful amplifier that use for any component speaker and low energy consumption.
setup it with hertz 3way mille component.very good sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 11, 2014 better amps for the price
Review by
matt from York, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I really don't like giving products bad or somewhat bad reviews, but in this case I feel the need to. This amp has INCREDIBLE power. I truly love the sound of this amp; however, for the price, there are much better amps available. The biggest issue I have with this amp is the input sensitivity. The max input for this amp is 4v, which is decent for an above average system. If you have a stock head unit and want to run this amp, it requires an LOC like most other amps. For a little bit cheaper, I would recommend the Kicker 11IX500.4 simply because the FAIL safe integration and being able to run a high level input into the amp. Also the kicker has a pre-out for a separate amp incase you want to add a subwoofer. The kicker may only have 75 watts RMS @ 4 OHMs, but this is still PLENTY loud for someone looking for a clear, accurate amp. Of course these features and applications are not meant for everyone, but I just feel that if you pay this amount of money for an amp, there should be a lot more features. I do recommend this amp for anyone who is bias towards the Alpine brand, running this on an aftermarket head unit, and just wants a LOUD system. If that describes you then go with the Alpine. If you're like me and want to integrate with an OEM radio, then by all means look for a different amp like the example I gave of the Kicker IX500.4. Both amps are excellent, but the kicker has a lot more features and capability. I hope this helped someone out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 29, 2013 Great amplifier
Review by
Jay from Tallahassee, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I admit, I was skeptical when I bought this amp because I wasn't sure if Alpine still made the same quality products they were known for back in the late 80s and early 90s. I was driving Alpine 6.5" Components in the front and 6.5" Coax in the rear of my F150. This amp never had an issue at any volume level. Crystal clear at wide-open volumes. I love this amp and am installing it in my new truck. Trying to figure out which components to go with. have narrowed it down to MMATS Pro Audio, JL Audio, and Sundown Components. All 6.5" component sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 8, 2012 Awesome as Hell
Review by
SWF King ASAP from Denton, Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp powering a set of Alpine Type R SPR-60Cs and and a set of Alpine Type R SPR-69s on a 2006 Harley Electra Glide and I must tell you I am beyond impressed with the clarity and mid bass. I dont have alot of bass because the 6x9s are in saddlebag lids as opposed to inside the saddlebags but the sound is just awesome. There is no need for the bass because I ride my HOG i dont post up rolling at high speeds is louder than the stock or upgraded audio that Harley has to offer and for a whole hell of alot cheaper. The sound is better, clearer and louder than the Harley 8 speaker set up that cost $1900 PLUS the cost of the lower fairings ($650) and the saddle bag lids ($120 primed EACH or $230 - $280 painted to match). This amp is very easy to install. A rookie can do it ease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 25, 2012 Great power for the money
Review by
Kent from Fayetteville, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp a few months ago and absolutely love it. It's powering my mids and highs up front. The highs sound crisp and clear, the mids bang out some drum beats and they will get LOUD when I want them to. The space this amp uses is also a big plus as I have a truck. I've had no issues at all so far with the amp. I do wish you had slightly more adjustability, but I can't complain. Overall, a happy customer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 14, 2012 Alpine pdx-f4
Review by
Fann from Singapore, Singapore
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easy to install. It make my Radical Audio RF tweeter and AVI mid bass so perfect in term of sound. It's even better then my buddy running Bewith Amp using the same speaker. Totally rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 1, 2012 Great little amp
Review by
KC from Des Plaines, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this paired with JBL P650C 6.5" components in the front, and JBL P953 6x9's in the back. This amps pushes these speakers well enough to keep up acoustically with 2 JL 13w6v2's in the trunk. I'm planning on updating/upgrading my front stage to something better. I upgraded to this from the pdx 4.100 (old version, also a sweet amp). It does produce slightly better sound quality than the old amp, and seems to use less power while doing so. I don't think it would be worth upgrading from old pdx, unless you want to keep the old one for another car like me. In the past i've used lower wattage fosegate, jbl, (power series) and jl (slash series) amps in it's place, I like this amp far better than those based on footprint alone. SQ using my speaker setup is on par with the jbl and jl amps, fosegate was a little too boomy and muddy, but also cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz