Showing 14 reviews for JL Audio 12WX-4

Customer Review Summary for JL Audio 12WX-4
Average Customer Rating is 4.4 out of 5 stars:
4.4
based on 14 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
43%
4 star:
.
.
57%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.6
Features
4.4
Design
4.5
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
December 10, 2012 Great Subs For The Price
Review by
Mikey from Irmo, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My Setup:
-Lanzar Vibe 241 Pushing 200w RMS x 2 Channels @4Ohm
-Ported Box
-JL Audio 12WX-4 (2)

Let me say that I was really surprised how good these subs sound. 4 Ohm capacity subs usually are very clear, but these subs will hit the high notes like nothing else. The Mid and Low bass notes are also very good however with only 200w RMS its not gonna be the loudest sub in the world. I still own two of these for a year now, and they still sound as good as the day I set them up.

I would definitely recommend these to anyone who wants to stay on a budget, but wants some bump to go along with their system. Great buy, Sonic has always been the best when it comes to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 7, 2012 They are very good,love them!
Review by
Don Trini from Cuauhtemoc,chihuahua, Mexico
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I like them because they have the perfect bass not to much not to little there good I bought to of these and I'm satisfied stop searching and start buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2012 LOVE IT
Review by
david from largo, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
SATISFIED WITH THE PRODUCT FULLY. WILL CONTINUE TO PURCHASE MORE FROM SONIC ELECTRONIX.
THANKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 1, 2012 Great speaker for the price
Review by
Bhartsaw from Houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For an economical build, the woofers are great. They provide great punch and great amount of low end. I highly recommend these for anyone looking to improve the volume and dynamics of thier sound system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2012 great subs great price
Review by
reverand jim from holiday fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If your looking for the best deal on some good sounding subs your search is over. I'm using one in a 1.8 cu ft ported box from Sonic and i was surprised at how good this thing sounds for 50 bucks. I'm giving it 250 watts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 6, 2012 poundabal
Review by
TMM from NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recentally bought 2 of these little guys and put them in an enclosed box with a 400 watt rms amp generating together 400 rms and 1000 peak. Let me tell you this thing pounds it hits all bass and sounds awesome doing it definitely a JL for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 1, 2012 great sound
Review by
freddie from kodak, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sounding, bass is very clear, hits every note great. Beginer subs or if you want to add some more bump in your trunk i recommend these.
Pros: great bass and sound very cool looking and also look good in any ride
Cons: none
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 11, 2011 Overall good sub
Review by
weezy from charlotte
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I think this is one of the best entry level subs there is. I bought this with a low budget and was really suprised how hard one hits. I have a 1999 silverado 1500 ext. cab and it sounds really nice. Not somethin i would recommend if you plan on lettin the whole neighborhood hear you though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 3, 2011 Great Entry Sub
Review by
Josh C. from Birmingham, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased 1 of these and put it in the 1.8 vented box from this site. I paired a Polk Audio PA330 with it for a full 200 watts rms at 4 ohm mono. My car is Honda Civic so the trunk seals off more than a hatchback would but I still get great sound. My setup will not disturb the cars around me or flex my car but it can get plenty loud inside the car which is what matters most. My trunk only has a tad rattle with certain lower frequencies but is not obnoxiously loud by any means. I imagine a pair of 10's sealed or 12's sealed would provide plenty of bass for someone who does want a loud setup with competing. The quality is there and I highly recommend it for the price. I purchased mine the beginning of last month and am quite pleased with it so far. I do intend on getting some sound dampening for the trunk and car to increase the amount of sound staying in the car particularly on the highway since road noise is a pain.

My prior setups were a pair of underpowered MTX Thunder 4000 10's (over 10 years ago) and Kenwood Cyclone 10's (also over 10 years ago) so I have been out of the car audio world for a good while. I'm not a basshead as I grew out of that but still enjoy feeling the low end of the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 9, 2011 Bad ass deal r
Review by
joe from morenci az
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good stuff typical JL audio quality. I would definitely but it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 20, 2011 JL 12wx
Review by
Brian from clovis NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are great subs for the money... probably the best entry level woofers there is out there. Get a dual vented box with a monoblock JL 250 watt amp and they hit hard in a car or small SUV. Doubt they would sound to good under the seat of a truck but if thats wat u want feel free to try them out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 20, 2011 JL 12wx
Review by
none from Clovis NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are great subs for the money... probably the best entry level woofers there is out there. Get a dual vented box with a monoblock JL 250 watt amp and they hit hard in a car or small SUV. Doubt they would sound to good under the seat of a truck but if thats wat u want feel free to try them out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 22, 2011 Inexpensive model but great quality
Review by
Shanernater from Denver, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
JL has always been one of my favorites and this base model is amazing. I have just one in my Pt Cruiser and I thought that it wouldnt hit as hard since its not a 500rms or more sub but this one sub shakes the whole car when its just half power. Right now I have connected to it an Rockford fosgate R-150-2. I plan to put another one in so i would have 2 subs with a R500. I cant say this for sure but im pretty sure this sub pushes alot harder than some subs that are 500 or more rms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 29, 2010 Just like the old wo's we all loved
Review by
jacob from Butler, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
After purchasing I decided to write a review since there are none. I just bought one and hooked it up in a small suv. The sub sounds good and hits very clean for an entry level sub. These subs are made for small amp applications. If you put more than 150watts rms on this it will sound like garbage. The wx is exactly like the old wo's. The cone style, power handling, and most important the sound are equivalent to the old wo's. So if you liked the old wo's, you can feel confident in buying these. One small gripe is the lack of push terminals on the sub. Oh well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz