Showing 14 reviews for Alpine SPE-6090

Customer Review Summary for Alpine SPE-6090
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 14 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
71%
4 star:
.
.
14%
3 star:
.
.
14%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.2
Value
4.5
Features
4.1
Design
4.2
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
These speakers please me!

I chose these speakers to replace the OEM in my Dodge Caravan, first with a pair in the doors. This allowed me to fade front to rear and compare the new with the old. The OEM sounded sorta ok, but they didn't pull me into the music. Actually my attention tended to drift off into my own thoughts. The experience through the Alpine SPE-6090 was just the opposite. I become engaged in the flow of the music. There is good balance in the frequency response and much detail that I wasn't getting through the original speakers. I'm really pleased. So pleased that I also replaced the OEM in the rear side panels with the same Alpines. Perhaps this review will take on more meaning if I tell something of myself. I have sung in symphony choruses for much of my life. This places me in close proximity to instruments played in a concert setting. These Alpine speakers do a good job of getting the tonal colors right. When listening to symphonic music I can always tell which of the various instruments are performing, sorting out the oboe and the English horn, for example. Are these good rock speakers? Look to others for advice there. But I like these for classical, jazz and folk. After six months experience I'm very satisfied with my choice of these Alpine speakers. As for the five star rating system. My rating is based on my satisfaction, not on any comparison to other speakers that are available. I haven't heard them.

VS
Alpine SPE-6090

Alright, im going to shoot this straight because i like to have my music loud and i like it to bump. the bass on these leaves some to be desired. not up to par with what alpine should be putting out. and after a few weeks of playing these loud enough to get good solid bass out of them with my expensive headunit, these were all but blown, within the first few days they started to rattle and were not sounding great. bottom line if you want some powerful alpines to deliver that hear it outside the car bass bump, dont get these, buy the more top of the line alpines.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
January 11, 2012 These speakers please me!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
George from Dallas, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I chose these speakers to replace the OEM in my Dodge Caravan, first with a pair in the doors. This allowed me to fade front to rear and compare the new with the old. The OEM sounded sorta ok, but they didn't pull me into the music. Actually my attention tended to drift off into my own thoughts. The experience through the Alpine SPE-6090 was just the opposite. I become engaged in the flow of the music. There is good balance in the frequency response and much detail that I wasn't getting through the original speakers. I'm really pleased. So pleased that I also replaced the OEM in the rear side panels with the same Alpines.

Perhaps this review will take on more meaning if I tell something of myself. I have sung in symphony choruses for much of my life. This places me in close proximity to instruments played in a concert setting. These Alpine speakers do a good job of getting the tonal colors right. When listening to symphonic music I can always tell which of the various instruments are performing, sorting out the oboe and the English horn, for example.

Are these good rock speakers? Look to others for advice there. But I like these for classical, jazz and folk. After six months experience I'm very satisfied with my choice of these Alpine speakers.

As for the five star rating system. My rating is based on my satisfaction, not on any comparison to other speakers that are available. I haven't heard them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 25, 2014 Excellent
Review by
C from Yo., OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the money these 6x9's are very good. And from Sonic I saved tons of money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 15, 2014 Good sounding speaker, all around.
Review by
Bum4Life from Augusta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I don't usually write reviews on anything... But I installed these in the front doors of my 2007 Nissan Frontier Crew Cab, and they definitely perform quite well... They blew the stock door speakers away which had a nasty "wobble" in them at mid-high volumes. Now, I listen to a mix of music, from indie, to metal, to punk, rap, and even a little dubstep. And I can tell anyone this, these are door speakers... Not subwoofers. That much is cut and dry.. Now I do love bass, and honestly, it may just be from an improper installation why some reviewers say the lows are terrible. Or maybe they have higher expectations and just want BASS and rumble in their vehicles.. But as a fair-priced door speaker... These are quite well. I listened to tons of speakers when trying to find the right all-around speakers to satisfy all of my musical desires, and these were just it. They have great mids and highs, that don't overpower your ears, making you want to cringe and squint your eyes, and enough bass in them *when turned up* to even give a little bit of a rumble and feeling out. Don't expect a competition speakers that will blow a piece of paper in half, or the bass to even rattle your center rear-view mirror *though when sitting steady and with the right setup it kind of does mildly which surprised me*. But you cannn however expect a good product and all around speaker. These compare quite well to the Fosgate setup I had in my '06 Sentra. Turn them up a bit, and you'll drown out a fair bit of life's worries, and you can just enjoy yourself and your music. If you want added bass, then get a sub. I plan to at a later time, because realistically, that's what the sub was made for. Your lows, thumps, and bumps. I have seen too many reviews stating these aren't good speakers, or the lows aren't good, so on and so forth. So hopefully I can maybe bring in a little realism and honesty to the whole scene. All I'm trying to say is, if you want a reasonably priced, fair speaker, with clear sound and a nice mix of mids, highs, and even some lows, all without surrendering clarity and distorting the speaker, then these I would highly recommend. Hopefully this review will have a positive impact on anyone considering these as an upgrade for their vehicles in the future...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 10, 2013 Alpine SPE-6090
Review by
robbo from murfeesborough tn
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Alright, im going to shoot this straight because i like to have my music loud and i like it to bump. the bass on these leaves some to be desired. not up to par with what alpine should be putting out. and after a few weeks of playing these loud enough to get good solid bass out of them with my expensive headunit, these were all but blown, within the first few days they started to rattle and were not sounding great. bottom line if you want some powerful alpines to deliver that hear it outside the car bass bump, dont get these, buy the more top of the line alpines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 26, 2013 well
Review by
james from Lansing, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
my first set of E's iv had R's and S's, No bass, good vocals- on aftermarket alpine indash
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2013 Trust worthy
Review by
J from Oakforest, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Hooked these up to stock deck in Honda. There is bass and good highs now before I couldn't even hear anything from back there, now they almost over power the fronts! Great buy would do it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 14, 2013 Awesome Speaks
Review by
Henry from Virginia Beach, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speaks are great. I got these for my senior lounge at high school. Two of them in sonic's enclosures fill the room with sound. Bass response is awesome, vibrant and loud. the treble is very accurate and clear. Don't really like the plastic baskets tho it makes them loose integrity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 11, 2013 Great sound!
Review by
Ogive from Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed these speakers in my van. Great sounding at all ranges. Making my vacation travels enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 27, 2012 Great bang for the buck!
Review by
Johnson from Findlay, Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great fit, finish and functionality as expected by Alpine. Bought these as a replacement speaker for the rear deck in my girlfriends 2005 Pontiac G6. More than pleased with the output and improved sound quality over the factory speakers. Really satisfied considering these are Alpine's entry level speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 8, 2012 Amazing Speakers!!! WOW!!
Review by
DL from Atlanta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased these speakers after reading great reviews on SE. I installed these in my impala powered by a 2ch Eclipse amp(70RMSx2 @ 4ohms) and I, nor anyone else who I let hear these can come to realization that I only have one set of 6x9's! These speakers sound beyond incredible for the price! I wish I had room for more because I would order another set ASAP!! The BASS,MIDS, and HIGHS that these speakers produce is simply JAW DROPPING!! Everytime I start my car and turn the radio on I SMILE so hard because I still cant believe it!! You will not regret buying these ALPINE 6x9's!! Thanks Sonic Electronix, you are my HERO!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 5, 2012 Amazing speakers
Review by
Dylan from Plover, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased these for my rear deck and have them at 60W RMS. OMG these things sound great for the price. They definitively sound better than the more expensive set of kickers in my front doors ( which i'm thinking about replacing with Type R's). Mids are fantastic, highs are just right, and the bass these things make is just insane, it feels like i have a 10" sub in my trunk, which I don't ...

What's even better is Kicker didn't have the nice clips on the terminals and these do, all you have to do if you amp them is slip on the clips and connect the other side to the amp and your done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 4, 2012 Wasnt impressed
Review by
Andy from Wisconsin
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these speakers with the intention they would be great concidering they were alpine and i bought a type x sub from them and its amazing.. these speakers on the other hand i cant say the same about them. The highs are okay, but the bass seriously sounds like garbage.. just sayin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 21, 2011 Great speakers for a great price!!! Thanks Sonic
Review by
Christian from Conway, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Im not a speaker expert, but i have bought a lot of small speakers over the years. I personally find that you can't ever go wrong with alpine products. Crisp & Clear sound that does not break up if installed correctly. I purchased these speakers for my stock Alpine sterio 4X50 watts per channel and they sound Awesome. Price was very reasonable worth every penny. Shipping was free & fast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 12, 2010 WOW
Review by
mike from monterrey, Mexico
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i bought these to replace my factory 6x9 and dang they sound great, I am using a 900W crunch and they sound great, great bass and high, you can't go wrong with these!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz