Showing 19 reviews for RE Audio REX12D4

Customer Review Summary for RE Audio REX12D4
Average Customer Rating is 4.3 out of 5 stars:
4.3
based on 19 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
63%
4 star:
.
.
21%
3 star:
.
.
5%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
.
11%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.3
Value
4.6
Features
4.1
Design
4.5
Usability
4.4
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
July 15, 2011 decent
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
mike from port byron, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
sub is great, doesn't need a ton of power but, will take way more than the ratings show. the only con is that the lows aren't 100% of what i was looking for, however the mids are nuts!! all in all, great product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 25, 2013 re rex12d4
Review by
jdrake from aiken sc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a good subwoofer for those not looking for A lot of ground pounding bass. The sound quality is Very good. But for the price they do get down pretty good once broken in properly in the proper enclosure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 4, 2013 Great Entry Level Subwoofer
Review by
Erik from Livermore, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Started out with an 8" Kicker C88 which I connected to my stock Mark Levinson amp. I replaced it with the RE REX 12 and it was a huge upgrade. I mounted it in a Belva ported enclosure and it sounded great. I eventually powered it with a JL JX250/1 and it handled the extra wattage just fine, however because the magnet is so small, in addition to the cheap price for the sub, I recommend going with 2 of these. If you're worried about space, I'd recommend an Atrend Dual ported box with 2 REX's. The one thing I disliked the most about this sub are the terminal connections (as shown in pics).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2013 Unimpressed
Review by
Robert from Villas, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love RE Audio but these subs actually did not impress me at all. Didn't last long in my set-up. Replaced them with nvx nsw 12s. For the price I guess they are okay. Slacking RE audio, slacking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 8, 2012 Amazing subwoofer
Review by
lesser evil from Seattle
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Running this at 2ohms in a sealed trapezoid box with 1.5cubic feet.
powered by PPI amp rated at 240w.

using PPI's 'low pass x-over' set to 45hz, this little woofie gives me great bass, and low tones comparible to (but not equal to SPL) as my old school 15"phoenix gold DVC's. point here is that it provided very deep notes with silky smooth tones that make some normal songs sound AWESOME

granted, i tuned the trunk to act like a 5th order setup, but this speaker does perform much better then i expected after reading a poor review of it.

simply, if you have quality power pushing it, and know how to tune a box, and know how to tune your car, this itty bitty subwoofer will sound great.

now, i bought this subwoofer for a few reasons.
1. it doesn't need a big amp to perform correctly
2. its light, no frills, no stupid junk..just a dvc with great the right profile for my car
3. affordable
4. looks durable (again, no fancy crap, spring loaded junk, or whatever..just a solid speaker)


if i blow this woofer, i will buy another one...i am impressed with it
i wish i knew how large the voice coil is. but i cant say enough about what ive heard sofar, and now i want to test it with a direct battle with my other car that has twice as much power and 5 times as much $$ into it...i think its very very close

this also comes with a very thick rubber gasket to protect the outer ring and keep an airtight seal (that i didnt use) and will help the diy'ers that have imperfect mounting faces..(this is very important btw)

i will write another review after it gets broken in, and i can do some testing, and battling on it...also with a smaller enclouser too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 8, 2012 Reliable entry level subwoofer.
Review by
Pancho from Nevada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I initially purchased this subwoofer to replace my home theater subwoofer as it was no longer adequate for my needs. I understand that this product is directed towards automotive applications but it functions beyond my expectations reproducing window rattling home cinema bass. Overall this is a good product if you're looking for more "BOOM" at a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 7, 2012 ok
Review by
Jamey from Hartwell, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
They are not what i expected. They're ok for beginners but I did not like them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 30, 2012 IMPRESSIVE FOR PRICE, WELL MADE!!!
Review by
Bradley from Davison, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If your not lookin to spend hundreds on a sub but you want a quality product, RE is the way to go. This model is perfect if your wanting great sounding mid to low notes, if your lookin for boomier higher power sound RE has your back there too with their lineup all the way too the beast xxx. All in all a very well made sub, minus the hookup terminals, push terms would be nice, but that would be the only con.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 3, 2012 A++++
Review by
jerd from vancouver wa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had this for 6 months now, could not be happier with the quality for this price. Amazing product and great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 3, 2011 Very High Quality Sub for low power
Review by
Josh from McMinnville, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very nice low power sub sounded very good @115 watts 8ohms, I recently rewired it to 2ohms @over 300 watts rms and has no problems taking the power. I would recommend this sub to people who want good full clear bass you can feel, but not if you want shake to the neighborhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 14, 2011 Great in Ported box
Review by
JP from Huntington, WV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My friend, had this sub in the RE Jambox (ported sub enclosure), it made this "entry" level sub sound way louder than you would expect. He also only had a soundstream mini-amp to power the sub (175w rms) [placed/drilled on the side of the box] . Also the sub has been running for about 2 yrs now and he doesnt listen lightly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 22, 2011 A
Review by
ty74bulk from ut
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
All I can say is they are awsome! but I need a little more kick so I am upgrading to the SEX series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 10, 2011 Great econo sub!
Review by
Rod from Tooele, Utah
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I wanted some good bass in my 03 Chevy standard cab truck but didn't have the room for a very big box. My friends at Sonic hooked me up with an Absolute SAG 12 sub box. I had my doughts but the RE Audio REX12 sub woofer sounds great in that small box! Thanks Sonic Eletronix!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 30, 2011 RE Audio REX12
Review by
WICKED RICK from PEAR,MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I own two of these subs, being driven by us Amp d 1500 sub amp in my 328i BMW and I get stopped all the time by people wanting to know what subs are hitting that hard and so clear! They are great, don't be afraid to try them. I promise, you want be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 8, 2011 Great sub for below 100
Review by
daniel clarke from penang, Malaysia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It's the best sub for below 100 ..
Better than any entry level subs out there ..
installed it in my gf car ..
I've used before JL' , JBL , Rockford etc
accuracy as good as JL power as good as RF and JBL's..
tho I'm underpowering it with a small Hifonics 4 channel and running it on a 1.2 cubic feet sealed box I'm really happy with the sub ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 17, 2010 RE Audio=Amazing
Review by
usampsfan from Muncie, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased two of these with the Re XTv2 800.2 Amplifier and all i can say is wow! i have these in a regular cab S-10 with a 3.0 cu ft. ported box tuned to 45htz and I'm hitting 124DB!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 28, 2010 Honestly all i can say is wow
Review by
Jeff from Eastport, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i recently bought 6 of these and have them only on 1000 watts they don't even heat up and it's one of the more impressive set ups I've had. (i've had 4 15s, 21s, 18s) for the money you definitely can NOT go wrong with these, i've spent hundreds on other setups but this one was one of the cheaper yet loudest, you cannot beat these for the money. im planning on buying 6 more in the near future, great stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 22, 2012 amazing subs
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
none from Kenner, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i got 2 of these and for they sound amazing..,if your looking for just some bass with a little hit these will do but if your looking for more hit and rattle go with some higher powered subs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 3, 2012 BLOWN IN ONE DAY
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
BRAD from Davison,MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
WELL scratch my old review, I hooked up this sub to a rockford amp pushin about 200rms @ 2ohms. It sounded good I was liking it for such a cheap sub. Played music for a half hour and the sucker started smoking and its done for!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz