Showing 20 reviews for RE Audio SRX12D4

Customer Review Summary for RE Audio SRX12D4
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 20 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
80%
4 star:
.
.
15%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
.
5%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.7
Features
4.5
Design
4.7
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
June 3, 2011 Really good subs
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Adam shreve from Waukegan, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two on a a Autotec 2000. In a obcon transmission line box firing forward into the cabin with memory foam around the box sealing it from the trunk, sounds amazing almost to loud. I have had panels come loose and had it metered at 141.2 db's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 24, 2013 Awesome!
Review by
scalea from memphis, tn
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had 2 12 inch kicker comps before this and this one 12 showed those up with ease
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Awesome for the money !!
Review by
Puresound from Monroe, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought these to replace a pair of JL subs I'd had for six years. (surrounds tore) I had read good things about these on the web and thought I'd give them a try. Best decision ever. I haven't metered them yet but they sound louder than the JLs. Lovin' em!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 good buy for price point
Review by
will from ny
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good subwoofers dvc. Decent power handling worked well in pre fab enclosure minimal mounting modifications
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2013 Excellent performance
Review by
Ray from Murphysboro, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 4 of these and i beat them pretty hard. I abused them more than any system i have had and they took it pretty well. I like the way the sound in the enclosure and how loud they can be. Highly recommended for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 22, 2013 Kills the lows!!!
Review by
Dean from Murphysboro, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had 4 of these run off a sundown 3k and they took every bit of it. Walled in a s-10. They got loud and sounded even better than I would have thought. Highly recommended. Only con is the terminals, takes a real small Allen wrench and doesn't come with one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 15, 2013 Super performance
Review by
Double Bogie Blast Master from Niagara Falls NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I wanted a musical subwoofer that did not require a large enclosure.
The SRX12D4 fit with my plans. I matched it with a 500 watt amp and the results are stunning. Very musical, very accurate but when the volume is turned up the sound is powerful and in fact, it not only shakes the car it shakes you.
One 12" of this quality is all anyone needs and it is in a 1.2 cubic foot sealed enclosure. AWESOME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 19, 2013 Tinsel Lead Defects!!!
Review by
Juice from Baton Rouge, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got a bad batch of woofers. Hard black stuff on the leads right at the terminal created a weak point and broke the leads on all 3 woofers. Sounded good before they broke. I had to foot the shipping bill on the first return for something that was not my fault but Sonic took the other 2 back paid shipping after I proved my case. Overall they are a excellent woofer for cheap but I think they are cutting corners on the parts. Switched to Skar IVX 12's that have woven leads because that was pure hassle and a waste of time and money over silly tinsel leads. At least sow them in the spider. Also had cone slap and a felt material to deaden the sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 8, 2013 It takes a beating!!
Review by
Putter from Puckett, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I learned about RE Audio subs from a co-worker. He was running the base line model, which were nice but I ordered a model above his. These are some nice woofers. They look great and will take some abuse. I pound on this thing everyday during my commute to work. Never a bit of trouble. Deep bass from a sealed enclosure. I have bought the same SRX series in 10" as well which is just as nice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 20, 2013 Very Impressed
Review by
BuckTussa from Baton Rouge, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I picked up 3 of these and they slam. Have them in a custom box .90 cubes each sealed. For a "budget" sub I can tell you that this series will give you a good mix of SQ and SPL. You will easily pay more for some other brands to get the same performance. All 3 are powered by a Rockford Fosgate Power 1000bd @ 2.67 ohms and it gives them what they want. I heard on a forum somewhere to stay away from RE because these got outsourced to china but don't worry about that. The quality is solid with a beautiful chrome magnet. Out the box the suspension is very stiff. I think it will need a bit of a break in to get more excursion. This is a good buy and I recommend this sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 21, 2013 RE SRX
Review by
Kevin from Jacksonville, Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've been in car audio for over 15 years and these are great subs. Sound quality is comparable to JL and slam better than Kicker. Can't beat it it for the price. 2 of them on a RE DTS 1000.1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 31, 2013 Solid Subwoofer
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Brian from Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was looking for a budget friendly solution to adding some bass to the factory Mach 460 system in 2001 Mustang GT. Normally I deal with only SSA, Sundown, Fi, or Skar "boutique" type subwoofers, but since fitting any kind of aftermarket sub/amp combo in the miniscule trunk space a Mustang afford you, I decided to go with less power, but more cone surface and ordered 4 of these RE Audio SRX12D4 12's.

Porting them was out of the question without a rear seat delete, which I did not want to do, so I instead went with a sealed enclosure with 1 cube per sub setup. Thus far, these subwoofers have not disappointed. Clean punchy bass for rock, and they also hit the lows well for hiphop/rap. Very pleased thus far with these subwoofers performance. I would definitely recommend them for anyone who is tight on space, doesn't want to spend a ton of cash, and can power them without having to do the big 3(although recommended). Right now I am only pushing 1000 rms @ 2 ohms to all 4(250 per), and they really have outperformed my expectations. Very pleased, and would recommend this subwoofer.

Always smart with these budget subs to take it easy on them for a couple weeks as the suspension softens. I suspect as the suspension softens the output will increase. 18mm of xmax on a 300 rms sub is quite an impressive number. These subs do not disappoint in a properly sized sealed enclosure. I can only imagine their output in a vented enclosure would be equally as impressive, if not more.

I cannot comment on durability as I've only used them for a week or so. One negative on the design is the voice coil terminals. They are a screw type, not the push terminal. A minor inconvenience that really doesn't affect performance, but would rather not have to break out the allen wrench to wire the coils, so I knocked a star off of Features and Ease of Use. All in all, very pleased with this budget subwoofer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 13, 2013 Disappointed
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Erick from Fort Worth, Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought these to replace a Rockford Fosgate R2D4 12" sub that sounded great, but didn't last more than 6 weeks. Thought that by cheaping out on a sub with all great reviews that I couldn't go wrong and I'd get something that sounded great and would last. First off, the Fosgate sub sounds far better musically speaking than the RE. Second, the Fosgate sub hit way harder. The RE sub sounds loud, but just doesn't move enough air I guess, because I can feel the bass from my midbass drivers in the door stronger than I can feel the RE sub. I will say the RE sub seems to pick up the lower notes a little better than the Fosgate sub, Thats the only strong point I can name from my experience.

The RE sub was installed in a .7cubic ft sealed box, right inside the .5-.75 range listed on the specs for optimal performance. I tried it first just in the box. After the unimpressive performance, I took it out and put a thin layer of polyfill around the inside of the box. Reinstalled and it did sound a little cleaner, but not really louder.
If you are doing a ported box, it might be a different story, but for a small sealed enclosure, I wouldn't recommend this sub to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 11, 2012 BEST BANG FOR YOUR BUCK
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
durbenpoison from Hanapepe, HI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend the RE Audio SRX 12D4 because of its affordability and power handling. It really is the best bang for your buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 11, 2012 Good bang for your buck
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Zach153db from Hanska, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Hey, these subs are very impressive for their size and price. I had 2 in my cavalier on a sundown audio saz-1500d amp and they worked amazing. They had clean, rich bass and I would definitely buy these again. I recommend these to anyone looking for cheap bass that will not dissapoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 20, 2012 Talk about sneaking up on ya'
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Putter's Custom Concepts from Puckett, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Recommended by a friend, I bought a single dual voice coil SRX12" to replace a bulky box and a pair of 10's. Installed it in a custom box in a Chevy HHR.

Talk about sneaking up on ya' and kicking you in the head. This speaker is very VERY impressive. Hard deep bass notes, and crisp cannon-like kick drums. I have owned Kicker, Fosgate, and a few others and the RE really holds it's place in the ranks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 22, 2011 A good budget subwoofer
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jacob from TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros: Lots of pleasing, tight, punchy, deep, loud bass.
Cons: None.

Disclaimer: this is my first ever subwoofer, so my points of reference are very limited.

My setup is the following. I run this one in a 1.15 cu. ft hatchback style sealed "Sonic Sub Box" that you can buy here from Sonicelectronix. Almost 1.5 pounds of polyfill were stuffed into the box to enhance the sound. The voice coils are wired in parallel and I am pushing 300watts to it using a 2ohm stable amplifier. I set the crossover point on my head unit at 80Hz, with a 24dB per octave slope. The box is in the trunk of a midsized car.

My impressions so far are very positive. I listen a little bit of everything, but for the most part all sorts of rock music (alternative, classic, american, latin, etc), and also some latin music, like regueton. In my opinion my setup (box type, crossover, etc) is near optimal for the kind of music I listen. This subwoofer playes tight deep loud bass without distortions. The bass is tight as opposed to being boomy. The volume can be very loud, yet at the same time soft on your ears. Bass guitars and other bass heavy instruments sound excellent. It's unbelievable how much music you miss without a subwoofer. Given the cost of under $150 (including the box and accessories), this product is a steal. All in all I am very pleased I went with a Re Audio instead of subwoofer bargain basement cheapies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 20, 2010 killer subs!!
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
ssmobile electronics from , NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have used every sub u can think of I have a little moble electronic buss for th past 4 yrs. These SUBS POUND!!! They are getting 500 watts RMS each at 2 oms n sound GREAT!!!!!!! They replaced my orions n they blow them out th water. I think they can handle even more power..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 8, 2012 re bangs
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
jermiah aka"the turd" treasure piont car audio from anderson, indiana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought 1 12 and its taking 10k from my opti 12001 stupid loud wow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 31, 2012 stupid not to buy...
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Chris from Wichita,ks
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These things are ridiculous. I put four of d2s in a 6cuft box stuffed them down into a 95 Integra and they get down. Got them powered by a Memphis pr1000d @ 1 ohm. Best subs I've owned so far. No one expects them to be so loud. Wont buy anything but re from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz