Showing 29 reviews for RE Audio SEX15D4

Customer Review Summary for RE Audio SEX15D4
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 29 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
83%
4 star:
.
.
14%
3 star:
.
3%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
5.0
Features
4.5
Design
4.8
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
March 2, 2012 Redefines 'bang for your buck'
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Sam from Gold Coast, 0, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
On a budget considering the price of shipping and installing these are near best you can get for the price. Bought a pair of them powered with a Hifonics Brutus brz1200 wired down to 1ohm and they slam so hard. People hear it before I even drive into the street. Everytime the bass drops it makes me smile and think how its worth every single cent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2013 Built very well.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
James from New york
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These woofers can handle a lot of power if you know what your doing. I built a custom 12 cubic foot box ported at 32 hz drivers and port are on the same plan. These are very good sounding drivers they will produce some serious spl if you do your research and testing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 16, 2014 Great Sub...
Review by
BigBull from Indianapolis, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend anyone to buy this subwoofer...It perform wonderful and it hits hard when you put the rite power to them....I have 2..and plan on buying 2 more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 4, 2014 Awesome sub!!!
Review by
Robert from Alexandria, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had it for two weeks and love it. Ran my Rockford Fosgate P600.1bd at 2 ohms 600 watts from the get go and no issues. People think that you need to "break them in". I didn't and no probs. Slams like crazy in a 4 cubic ft. box at 34hz. Had to build the box in my trunk though, but you'll have that with a Mustang GT. I will be getting the Hifonics BRX1100.1 soon so we'll see if this thing can handle 800 watts at 2 ohms!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 20, 2014 Un Real Output in Proper AirSpace
Review by
Brandon from rancho santa margarita, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you want to do "hair tricks" just buy two of these sub's, Build a 12 cubic foot rectangle box with one port about 8 inches wide and 20 inches tall 14. 5 deep Use the RE AUDIO BOX CALCULATOR .Then add your speakers and you will end up with just over 8 cubic feet of airspace tuned at 32hz witch I promise Is what you want!!! Add at least 1200 watts rms and make sure your electrical system is up to par..I;E correct wire size/big 3 upgrade and second battery,alternator upgrade..Pick any two of those at least then sit back and enjoy the sound of your truck or car trying to peel sheet metal of and your windshield making sounds that you thought glass could not make and be happy..You just purchased the best subwoofer for the money that can be found on planet Earth...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 3, 2014 WOAH. BASS.
Review by
Eric from Spring Hill, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just installed two of these bad boys in the trunk of my Altima. These things scream. Loud, clear, crisp. Those three adjectives perfectly describe these subwoofers! But what they don't tell you is what else comes in the box. Not one, but TWO allan keys. TWO. These TWO allan keys make installs a breeze. With their chrome finish, you will not find better allan keys at your local Home Depot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 3, 2013 good subs
Review by
doug from paris tn
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good subs that can take a lot of pounding watts from the amplifiers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 24, 2013 Great Subs on awesome price
Review by
Rafael from Yuma, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just got two of these and you just cannot beat the price. They have a very large triple stacked magnet and you just cant tell how big they are unless you see them in person. Like always, got to my doorstep in two days! With free shipping, you cant beat that. Will be writing an update once they are placed in a proper enclosure. Im sure I will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 14, 2013 sex15d4 review
Review by
Mat from Reynoldsburg, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is awesome for the price. I did a 150.2db with four of these on 2600rms and won Ohio state championship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 RE audio sex15D4
Review by
travis from ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Absolutely love the speakers, arrived just as expected, on time, and packaged very well! Great job Sonic! Customer service is as good as it gets!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 31, 2013 Great
Review by
Alexander Supertramp from Virginia, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First sub I've ever owned, awesome and hammers hard. Think it's a great price for the quality of it. My friend got a 15 P3 and this thing out does it by a great deal. I've got it running at 2ohm 34hz and it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 31, 2013 Loving the Output
Review by
Nigel from kingston, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have this running off of 600 watts in a 2 cubic foot sealed enclosure right now, and it definitely hammers. Nice sturdy built driver, tons of linear excursion, good output, perhaps down the road when I have more money I will be building a nice ported enclosure for it but for now, it more that meets and exceeds my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 29, 2013 yes
Review by
eddie from El Paso, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 4 of these in my 2001 suburban hooked up to 2 power acoustic bamf 4000watts amps I been running this set up for four years now love the bass ive won alot of bass comps featured in car auto mag I say re makes a great sub the highest ive hit so far was 154
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 18, 2013 Gets low and still sounds great!
Review by
Andy C from Tulsa, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sometimes people have different opinions on 15" subs, whether it be they're too sloppy or don't hit the higher notes quite as well. I don't really have that problem with this sub as long as its enclosure and power supply are in check. I have mine in a 3.0 cubic foot box port tuned to 34hz, and 650w @ 2ohms. It's fairly clean and is loud enough to wake the neighbors. Having owned the previous SE15 with the narrow spoked basket, that's about the only change I can tell. RE products seem to still be dependable! Give it a go, or go for its bigger brother, the SXX. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 26, 2012 Great value for money
Review by
Adam from Nagoya, Japan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
On a tight budget, so I did my research and went with one 15D4 on a Hifonics GLX 1001.1 at 750ish watts RMS @ 2ohms in my hatchback.

Very pleased with the accuracy and tone of this sub in a 52 litre sealed rear-facing setup. "Bass, I love you" will flap a shirt in my drivers window, musical enough to please me and my wife while listening to classical music, great accuracy. Great for Jazz, classical, house, dubstep, electro, you name it.

This sub represents excellent value for money and I'd be buying another one or three if space wasn't an issue (^ ^)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 26, 2012 very great value
Review by
harris from montgomery, al
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are the best subwoofers I have purchased so far... they hit lows very good...I'm talking about ground shaking lows...I currently have three of them in my truck now thinking about getting a fourth one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 19, 2012 love it
Review by
alex from apple valley, Minnesota
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have it at 500rms. Could take 650 700 daily. With your gain set right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 14, 2012 great value
Review by
brendan from Minneapolis, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great subs for the price. Make sure you have at least 8 cubes b4 woofer and port displacement. Not the loudest subs but great sq even for 15s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2012 RE is still decent
Review by
the car audio nerd from bass space,
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It was either have a choice between this here re sex, audioque sd or the americanbass tnt line. After trying hard to see if anybody had any of them I located a pair of tnt 15s, they forsure sound good play lows good and everything, i will say i only heard 1 of these sexs but just the 1 sound really really nice, played lows way better than what it thought it would for a 600rms sub, this thing forsure handle more than 600rms, it might burn up at 1k tho, for about 360 a pair with 3 year warrenty its a good deal, yes they make some money but the only reason im buying them is becuase i know Sonic is loyal to their warranty's. All the stuff on these are decent, nothing like a high leval sub but i know sombody who had an se model for 4 years. The surround is good, the spiders seem good, the coils are quilty, the motor has a nice charge to it and the metal is good quality, the only thing im worried about are the leads, if u wanna run around 1200 rms id find something else, i mean it might take it for a little. If your thinking about a solid 15 and want to have clean low bass, i would say this is a good choice. 2 of these in a box with clean power will sound pretty darn good. And yes these are louder than sundown sa series subs too, i will be reviewing these again in couple days ill give you as much info as i can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 26, 2012 great cheap sub
Review by
kyle from Bonner Springs, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had a 15" Alpine type-r before this. SQ wise this sub wins hands down. In spl the alpine type-r has it by a little bit. Overall i like this better than the type-r.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 14, 2011 good product
Review by
Nathan from Brantford, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this sub to put in my fiance's 05 Xterra, hooked up to a hiphonics hfi1000.1d 750rms @ 2ohm on a stock battery and alternator. The sub is very responsive, and hits hard. Very good for a budget build but I think I will buy the sxx model next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 3, 2011 awsome
Review by
TROLL from Tyler, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have one of these in a 1.75 sealed down fire that me and a friend built in a Dodge Dakota extra cab. Im running 2 orion cobalt 800x1. One on each VC. Freaking ridiculous!!! That's all I have to say. Definitely recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 17, 2011 stupid loud!!!
Review by
yorkstyle from Spring Creek, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So I have a 04 crew cab dodge ram with two of these in a 8 cub foot box ported to 34hrtz an just breaking them in is intense! The bang an have everyone in shock, I can't wait to get the matching xtx 3000 for em, ill really turn some heads!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 11, 2011 awesome sub buuttttt
Review by
pablo from Fairfax, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is great awesome sub i bought mine a week ago and i killed it the sound is great i recommend it but be careful not cuz it doesnt show the peak power doesnt mean that it wont blow

i thin i put it to 800w rms n the voice coil got so hot that it burned and melted the damn cone lol it almost light my car on fire so careful just run it at 600w rms oh it last me a week n thats cuz i put it to extreme its great aweosme sub tho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 15, 2011 RE Audio SE-X 15
Review by
BigPimpin from Washinton
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sub for $150 bucks, just dont use a POS box you buy off the internet. Get one from someone who built one to RE Audio specs or make one yourself. I had it running at 900 RMS from a hifonics brutus amp at 2 ohms which worked great in a 4 cubic feet box with a 4 inch port tuned to 36hz which was loud as s*** but when i sold the box and started using a smaller one my friend gave me, i toasted the coil so now i'm out a subwoofer due to my own stupidity. Just keep in mind when buying a system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 6, 2011 RE THE BEAST
Review by
Demeitric from Grovetown, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I agree this is a bad subwoofer i have 4 of them in a 2001 Impala and it has my car banging... I would recommend these subs to anyone who loves deep bass an good sound quality at the same time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 2, 2011 best bang for the buck
Review by
rob diesel from williamsburg , va
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amazing sub, I just installed one in a 4 cubic foot vent ported box and this thing bangs..!!!! I have owned some high end products from Memhis, Jl audio, and Alpine and RE audio by far tops them all in quality of sound and sound output....I highly recommend this product. will be buying another in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 28, 2011 Good Lookin
Review by
abert from san benito,tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is bad*** it easily compares to the Kicker CVX 15 and in my opinion is better. Better lookin better sounding better at the low bass, I got this running with a RF t1000 at 2 ohms giving it about 750 RMS and it slams and sounds great I'm an RE Audio fan from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 28, 2010 Awesome
Review by
Brandon from Columbia, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this a couple weeks ago and spent the longest modeling a box that would fit in a 1990 Chevy K1500 Regular cab, finally put the box together which took a loooong time, like 2 days non stop cuz there was alotta wood to cut and stuff and alot of problems i had to find ways to get around. I put it in and hooked it up at 2 ohms to a Sundown SAE-1200Dv1 after i did all the wiring and big 3 upgrade, and let me tell you, THIS THING POUNDS. It absolutely destroys deep bass and in a smaller cab its even louder. I would recommend this product to anyone for its price and quality. Overall an amazing product, i will definitely be buying RE Audio again. Only thing i didnt like was that the terminals required an allen wrench, which isnt a problem because it comes with one that fits, but it would be nicer to see spring terminals in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz