Showing 89 reviews for RE Audio SEX12D4

Customer Review Summary for RE Audio SEX12D4
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 89 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
85%
4 star:
.
.
11%
3 star:
.
3%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.8
Features
4.8
Design
4.9
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
September 7, 2010 One of the BEST Subs I’ve Ever Heard
23 of 28 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Owen from Santa Clarita, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The RE Audio SEX12D4 is one of the best sounding subwoofers I have ever heard. Seriously, this sub is incredible. At first I was a little skeptical about it. I had heard really good reviews about the sub, but I couldn’t get over the low price. I guess this subwoofer is in the same class as the Alpine Type-R, Kicker CVX, Rockford Fosgate P3, Pioneer Champion Pro, MTX Thunder 8500, etc… BUT I think it sound SO much better! The RE Audio SEX woofer plays LOUD. Right now I have it in a vented enclosure tuned at approximately 32 Hz and it is hands down the best sounding subwoofer I have had in my car. No matter what type of music I am listening to, it sounds great. When I’m testing my system with some Eagles – Hotel California (live version of course), the bass is the perfect amount to compliment the speakers. Not too overbearing, but just enough punch. When I put on some Hip Hop, the bass notes hit deep and I can feel the bass. This sub will sound great with all genres of music.

It has some serious excursion too. I put on the Bass Mekanik – Sonic Overload CD and really tested the bass. I was really impressed. The sub was flying all over the place! Sounded much better than the several subwoofers that have been in the car before it. Don’t want to say specifically which subs it sounded better than (hint: read above), but this is definitely sounded better, and not just for SPL. I have found that the RE Audio SEX 12” sub is great for SQ as well. Currently, I have it hooked up to a Kicker 750.1 amp that stated 925 watts RMS on the birth sheet. So even if the amp is just giving the sub 750 watts RMS, this sub is still running smooth. Even though they state 600 RMS, just bring the gains down and you can hook it up to amp that put out a lot more power. Probably the safest bet to hook it up to a perfectly matched 600-watt car amplifier.

Overall, I am 100% impressed and converted to RE Audio subs. For the price that Sonic Electronix has, you can’t go wrong. This is bass that I would expect to spend $400-500. Plus, I love the look of the cone. Just a simple black inverted dome with the RE logo. Simple and cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 10, 2011 Amazing subwoofer
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Josh from Iowa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is great, I own two of them in a ported box 1.75cu for each sub. I have them running on a Hifonics Brutus 1200.1 @ 1 ohm. These sound great in my suburban they hit the lows very well and get loud. Not to mention the sound quality is amazing. They are very power hungry I wish I would have gone with the 1700.1 amp. Ive pounded these subs very hard and clipped them for long periods of time to see what they can handle and they still hit hard. Amazing sub amazing service from Sonic Electronix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 20, 2010 Hits low
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Christian from Kingsburg, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have this sub in a ported box with a hitron 1000 it hits hard and sounds clean but im going to upgrade the amp its alread speechless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 6, 2011 Best Bang for the Buck
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Eric123 from Quitman, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First of all I've owned two RE XXX 12" dual 2 ohm subs now for 10 years, yes that's 10 years; and I've never had a problem with them. Second I've owned two RE SEX 10" dual 4 ohm subs for 5 years and never had a problem with them. These people are using the wrong box size and the wrong port size when applicable. These subs will handle more than 600 watts rms if they're put in the right box. They are ear splitting loud too. I let my nephew borrow my 10's and all his friends wanted to know what kind they were because you could hear him from 6 blocks away. I installed them in his Dodge Dakota Club Cab in 1.0 cubic foot boxes with 2" ports. I suggest going to reaudio.com and look at their recommendations for box and port sizes. They slammed until he had a wreck and his truck burned up, thank GOD he was ok. For this Christmas I'm installing 2 of these in a 2.50 cubic foot box with 3" ports at 34 Hz. The amp I'm going to use is a Hifonics HFi1500D. Note that the amp is 300 watts too high. However if you calculate a class "d" amp you only get 90% wattage output. One more thing I HAVE BEEN A PROFESSIONAL INSTALLER FOR 20 YEARS. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 25, 2010 True Sleeper!!
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jay Frank from Pittsburgh Pa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 of these installed in my 03 Acura Cl. I have them hooked up to a Hifonics Amp @ 1ohm 2000 rms. Let me tell you it feels like my eye lids are flapping when i crank it. Highly recommended! All my friends have a puzzled look when i tell them RE Audio aka True Sleepers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 1, 2014 Awesome sub!
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Michael from Tulsa, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I replaced 2 Kicker comp vr 12's in a ported box with one of these in a sealed box. This one blows the kickers away! Sound quality is so much better, and bass is just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 3, 2011 Damn
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Sze from Detroit, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Running two off a Soundstream DTR1700.1d @ 1 ohm in 5.5 cubes to 25 hz with two 4" aeros.

Where my backseat should be, I have my box with my subs inverted in a Grand Prix.

Eventually doubling the system and doing a wall.

Anyways, by-far cleanest subs I have EVER heard and loudest for it's power rating. Annihilates the lows causing my cab to feel like a wind tunnel and still being cleaner than anything.
Going from an MTX 9515, I've VERY pleased with how much better these hit the lows and are much more articulate while doing so. I really hated how "punchy" my 9500 was, where these are smooth and instantly transfer note-to-note without any transition noise, but rather just a clean sine wave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 9, 2010 Wow, Nice sub!!
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Greyson from Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is the best sub that I have ever owned! I love it! It doesn't hit like a SPL sub but I'm fine with that because this baby has tone, and lots of it!! I am planning on buying another one because I want the best of both worlds, Tone and Destruction of my car!! I recommend this sub to anyone that loves tone! I will never buy JL audio subs because these are way better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 3, 2014 Simply amazing
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
joshua from Leesburgleesburg, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 of these monsters in a custom ported box tuned to 34hz and have a Hifonics brx1600 powering them at 1 ohm. And they SLAM!!! I would definitely recommend these to anyone wanting subs at a good price that will still shake any building you drive by!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 1, 2014 wow amazing wooofers
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
purple sage cowboy from Denver Co
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought 2 of these and bought a dual enclosed did not fit ended finding are very well built ported box 1.5 thick MDF .They are being powered by a Rockfort Fosgate 1500 -1 bd amp that the birth certificate says 1946 watts I like that they give 40 %more power free.. to get back to sub woofers they are great I based my purchase on the testimony of these prodcuts the rest the system everything purchsed at sonic my head unit is the Pioneeer DEH -PRS wow incredible front door RE XXX compo and in the rear helix comps running om Rock fort 800 *4 that puts out 97 watts .ALL THESE INSTAED IN 20008 TOYOTA Siena it rocks in very big way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 14, 2014 THESE ARE A MUST BUY
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
AllMightyDollaz from los angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had two 12 kicker L3's I blew them in 3 months the RE sex 12d4 SUBS HIT HARD I set off everyone's alarm at work I have 2 of them in a ported ground shaker box with a hifonics Brutus 1800 watts at 1ohm I swear you can feel every note in your chest the bass makes the hair on my arms move it swear GET THESE there built for brutality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 13, 2012 Some of the best sounding subs ever
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Robert from Maryland
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these after seeing how much people on Youtube liked them, and I will agree. They are the loudest and cleanest sounding subs I have ever heard with extreme amounts of excursion. I have two of these wired to 1 ohm in a sealed box powered by an 1800w Kenwood amp and I just simply blows me away. I had two Kicker CVR's previously but these blow them out of the park. I can't wait to get my RE Audio Amp that pushes 2400w on these guys. These are a must buy item!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 16, 2014 Bumpin' Sub
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
TheBreeze from Georgia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm no audio pro, but I am an enthusiast. Purchasing this sub was definitely no mistake. Thanks to Sonic for the AWESOME prices, truly can't beat it. I got everything for $350. And I blow everyone else in the area out of the water! I have this in the back of my '03 Tiburon facing the front in a Belva 1.8 cu. ft. ported box hooked to a Boss AR3000D (wasn't gonna spend a whole lot of money on an amp) with a full fledged 4 ga wiring kit wired at 4 ohms and this thing HITS. My mirrors go nuts, the lows this thing produces is unreal and you can hear it from at least a 1/4 mile away, and the thing is... it's not even turned half way up! The excursion is great. I love everything about this sub. I listen to country, old rock and rap. I listen to literally everything and it sounds great with it all. If you're thinking about buying this sub... buy it. You won't regret it. The people who think they have something with their 2 Kicker Comp 12s or their Type R.... they don't stand a chance against this. Everyone is amazed when i tell them I only have one sub for it to be so loud and so clear. I'm gonna keep pushing this one a little more here and there. I love it. If you love bass and want a lot and clear sounding, and like the lows and want to feel your hair move and feel it in your chest... and on a budget, buy this sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2014 SLAMMIN!!!
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
James from Owensboro, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought two of these subs mostly by review only. Worth every penny. They hit like higher class subs. I have them hooked up to a Belva 2000 watt max Mono Block amp, perfect match. I would suggest these to anyone. Infact im trying to get my friend to get a set of RE Audio SEX 10's... Buy these they are built for brutality.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 5, 2011 SQ Sub
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
K from Pontiac
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought these subs solely based off their T/S parameters. I'm truly disappointed as I was going for an SQL build. These are definitely SQ subs and nothing more. Running a DTR3400.1d to two subs in 5.2 cubes (before ports and bracing) tuned to ~32 hz with two 4" aeros.

Not going to win any contests but the sound quality is is absolutely amazing. They definitely annihilate the lows and are able to easily and accurately reproduce them. Seeing 1100 before rise, they get a little stinky.

If I were to consider a SQ build in a future, I'll definitely use these, but until then, not for me. Sold them to a buddy for and ordered an 18" SX. Maybe I'll have better luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 28, 2010 SE subwoofer by RE Audio
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Harb from GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My buddy has two of these and I have 2 of the REX in my 2003 quad cab truck. I was a little hesitant to buy them because I haven't heard of them in person but wow. they sound great. it blows kicker out of the water. the SE sounds great. I can't wait to try out the start of the competition line. Definitely a must buy. even though I didn't buy from here. I got my 2 12" REX and an 800.2 watt amp by RE at my sub shop for around $500. wasn't too bad at all but you always want more and I have had them for 2 months now and I already want more. lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 20, 2014 wow
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jeff from Warsaw, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought a pair of these, and they met and exceeded all my expectations. CLEAN sound, incredible lows, and excellent excursion for a sub of its size. They put out big big sound and have very good frequency response, but like I said the lows are where these subs really shine. I am running these in a dual chamber sealed enclosure. I know it's been stated, but if you're looking to spend a lot on a sub, it would be crazy not to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 17, 2014 I love it!
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
JP133 from Fort Worth, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The subwoofer, in my opinion is one of the best you can get in the price range. It's beefy looking and sounds amazing. At the moment i have it in a pre. fab box, and it still sounds great. once i get a custom box, which are kind of price.. i expect this to sound like heaven.
i would recommend this to anyone who is starting out or looking for an inexpensive subwoofer to have in a small car. I only have one in my suzuki forenza and it shakes that trunk quite well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 29, 2013 Slams
Review by
Swifty from New york
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is amazing i have it in my 2000 jeep cherokee sport running off a kicker dx 1000.1 amp even tho it says 600 rms this thing takes the 1000 rms wired at 2 ohms like a champ and out bangs my buddys mtx terminator 12s type rs and also 2 kicker comp 15s people are amazed when i say its only one 12 deffinetly one of the best hitting and sounding sub for the price re did a great job with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 24, 2013 Excellent Woofer
Review by
Jacob from Louisville
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
When I originally purchased this sub, I was skeptical because I thought RE Audio wasn't as good as it used to be. Boy was i wrong, this sub can hit any note and sound good doing it. Just try not to go too much over the rms rating, around 750 watts is perfect. I fed mine 900 watts from a Hifonics Brz 1200.1 for around 6 months and it did fine. I upgraded to a Crescendo BC2000d and it couldn't take the 1,100 watts of power at 2 ohms and it finally blew. For what it's made for, it's an excellent woofer at a great price, sonic FTW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 24, 2013 The best 12 hands down!!!!
Review by
larry from Mt. Vernon, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The re audio SE-x 12d4 is the best sub I have ever owned. I'm only running 600 watts to it for now in a custom box and it's already too loud and it's not even broken in yet. When it time I will put my bigger amp on it and can't wait to hear how much louder it can get. I researched and watched videos and I had to get this beast of a sub loved the sr line so I know I was getting a good sub. I recommend this sub highly stop paying high cash for jl you can put more power in these and drop the ohms lower than 2 aswell. And the price can't be beat here at sonic and the service is top knotch here too. So buy one or two and feel the bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 10, 2013 BOOOOOOOOM!!!
Review by
TEETURNONE from NYC, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got this because of the price, but the sub is leaps and bounds above what I expected. If you can buy only one sub... You are nuts if you don't get this one.
The lows are low enough that you feel it in your soul.
Super-satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 2, 2013 Absolutely Solid Subs!!! cant go wrong!
Review by
Tiburon from Parkers Prairie MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Get 2 of these bad boys and you are set for all the bass in the world, If you do get 2, whatever you do, DO NOT put 2 of these subs in a open box and make sure there is a divider between otherwise you will have issues in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 29, 2013 RE SEX
Review by
Chicodestn from Az
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sub. It does exactly what I want. I may possibly order another very soon. Currently in a sealed box. May switch to ported soon, just to see the difference
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 24, 2013 tinsle leads
Review by
ty from lancaster ma
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
own 2 of these running on a hifonics brutus 1200 rms giving them both 600 rms. the tinsle leads break often. ive repaired them close to 15 times in a matter of 8 months not so satisfied but i do love these subs, i just wish they would last and not have to re solder the leads every month
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 15, 2013 amazing sub
Review by
bennyjay from glasgow ky
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub kicks harder then more expensive brands I've owned I'm beating harder then most guys I know with two of other brands and I only got one and 500 watts pushing it amazing quality and durability
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 7, 2013 Don't think, Just buy.
Review by
Seth from hudson, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Hands down, these have to be some of the best subwoofers i have installed and have had the pleasure of owning. When in the proper enclosure they are the most precise subs i have ever heard, the highs are brilliant, the mids are stunningly clear and the lows pound hard. The build quality great and they feel and look well made. I have 2 in a sealed box a tad larger than the optimal size, powered by a Pioneer GM-D9601 and they are amazing. at a normal volume they are precise and accurate, but when you turn them up, all i can say is wow. Simply, they are loud. The pound your chest with keeping sound quality in check. There is no way you can go wrong with any RE product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 7, 2013 (3) RE SEX12 on HiFonics 2000 RMS
Review by
Piree1 from Charlotte, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have been into car & home audio for a good 20 years & I have heard soooo many different subs its impossible to remember all of them but RE Audio subs are by far the BEST I have ever heard in my life. I will never buy any other sub besides RE audios from now on. I couldn't be happier. Slams so hard & the lows are amazing. I have three 12s in a custom down firing sealed box @ 1 cube per sub after displacement. Im moving up from 2000 RMS to 2400 RMS though because they can handle the power all day & plus I have them wired at 1.33 ohms each so on 2000 RMS Im really only getting about 1800 @ 14.4 volts which is a perfect matchup on paper (600 rms each sub). BUT, you also have to calculate in 90% efficiency and voltage drops. Make sure to always upgrade your electrical system. With three sex12's & 3000 watts +/- (including 2nd amp for mids/highs) you want to upgrade alt/ 2- AGM/big 3 wiring & all 1/0 ga wires. So, now Im thinking of throwing some extra juice on them & considering putting the 2000 watt amp on a 18" XX sub just for the heck of it. Three 12s & one 18" (RE audio XX or XXX) would satisfy any super bass hungry audiophile out there bc just the 12s slam so hard that my escalade is already rattling apart. Yes I have them in a full size escalade & in a SEALED box (for space saving purposes & SQ) and they beat the living crap out of the SUV. I can only imagine if I would have had a ported box built instead, giving me much more output. By the way, I would recommend HiFonics BRUTUS amps all day. Some of there others aren't as good. Brutus series amps match up perfect with RE's & they do rated power. There CEA compliant. Buy RE's & you will NOT be disappointed. Buy them from sonic too because not only are they the place you can usually always find the best prices on car audio, but the customer service is excellent! I have been buying from sonic for a couple years now & always shop with them first when buying anything car audio. RE AUDIO, HiFonics BRUTUS amps and SONIC ELECTRONICS = FDMFW!!! 5 STARS ON EVERY CATEGORY FOR SONIC & RE SUBS!!! BTW, Thanks sonicelectronics for giving me a chance to own the best subs I ever have bought for the best price I have ever paid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 Best bang for the buck sub I've ever had
Review by
Jamison from Spokane Valley, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Was running the SSA DCON 12" in a ported enclosure already. Have always wanted to try out the RE subs. For $135 shipped I couldn't pass it up. Couldn't be happier. I am only pushing 500W RMS to it unfortunately. But it sounds amazing. I bet it can take a whole lot more. Definitely took some different tuning compared to the DCON but all in all, this thing is flat amazing. Would love to get it metered one day. I have it in my WRX wagon and of all systems I've had, I'd put this up against my 2 RF subs which hit 134db. BUT the best part is, this thing hits near all ranges of lows. It truly comes alive on hip/hop, dub songs, but does a very solid job on metal as well. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a sub in the less than $200 range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2013 Just like every other review
Review by
Robert from Villas, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the price these subs are outstanding. Two of these things ported are intense in any vehicle. Powered by a xtx3000.1 and combination was flawless. Took up too much room though and had to remove it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 6, 2013 quality purchase
Review by
Tony from Derby, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
After hearing great things about RE, i finally purchased 2 12" subs. Man was that a great idea. From bass to rock, no matter what kind of music you're listening to, these subs will not let you down. They can handle easy 800w rms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 4, 2013 Excellent Subwoofer
Review by
Maksym from Naperville, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I own 2 RE Audio SEX12D4's and I absolutely love them. Ive play them at high volumes and they handle great. If you turn up the volume all the way up you will hear clipping, but even then its not bad. They are very durable and can play for long hours in a day. Now that im so used to them Im considering of buying the same subs but in 15".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 30, 2013 Great speaker most definitely!
Review by
Cody from Grand Rapids
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I must say I am more than impressed with this subwoofer, it surpassed my expectations and more than meet my desires. For the price I paid, it's too good to have passed up. I haven't owned my subwoofers and from what I've owned and others I've heard this 12" goes lower than I ever thought a 12" speaker could go, and it's plenty loud. I absolutely love it and would certainly recommend anyone buy this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 27, 2013 Awesome product
Review by
Brad from New port richey, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs are amazing. They slam so hard. If I blow this which I don't think will ever happen they are so tough. I would Definitely buy them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 30, 2013 Great buy!
Review by
Eddie from Hobbs, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this sub a few months ago for my 2010 Tahoe. One of the best subs I've owned! Don't let the price fool you, it is a very good sub!! Everyone that's hears my system thinks they are 2 12"s or 1 15"... All I have it has is the 1 RE Audio12" and 1000 RE Audio Amp!!! Looking to buy one more of each for my other vehicles or possibly adding to the Tahoe....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 13, 2013 Definiately Worth The Price and Much More
Review by
Brandon E from Decatur, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have been to car audio competitions and local shops all the time. On the competition note you see all kinds of subwoofers from Pure Sound Quality to Pure SPL. This Sub is More towards Sound Quality. But at the same time can get LOUD but not Extremely Loud. I Have 2 RE Audio SEX12D4s in a Ported Box tuned to 38 Hz. Even Though it is tuned pretty high they still sound Amazing. I Have them in a big 4 door car which is one reason why they aren't the loudest. If they were in a little smaller car they would be a little louder. Im Hitting the Mid 120s on DB Term-Lab. Now that's not much to the 150+ SPL systems in competition but these sound extremely good at that volume which anything above 125 Db is hard to get and still sound as good as these.

Im powering these with a Hifonics Gladiator GLX1400.1D wired to 1 ohm at 1200 watts rms.

ALL IN ALL these are pretty amazing...not the best if you want straight SPL but they are not made for it. Sound Quality Wise. Best I have ever heard outside of Competition. But then most competition cars have more than 2 subwoofers.

Buy these if you like any type of music from Hip-Hop and Rap, to Country and Rock.

Yes they are made in china and a lot of people say they are junk. People say get the ALpine Type Rs over these but people don't realize that ALpine Type Rs are made in china too...Even JL Audio is made in china Except their W7.

With the Box I have them in a ported tuned to 38 Hz. 1.7 Cubic Feet Per Sub..... RE Specs say to tune to 32 Hz with 2.0 Cubic Feet for Optimum.

I am Very Picky when it comes to Subs and how they sound. And These Even Impress Me

If you want Amazing Sound and still have the potential to get Decently Loud then these are for you. and for the price YOU CANT BEAT IT. These are easily worth twice this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 7, 2013 Epic
Review by
jfslay from Ocean Shores
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Way better than kicker or any other 12 I've heard so far. I have them in a sealed box 3 cubic feet at 2000rms in a Chevy Malibu and they hit really low and super hard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2013 Be careful with RE Audio subs
Review by
GB from Stony Brook, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Note: Sonic Electronics has been excellent in this whole mess, so this review is not about them.

I purchased (2) RE Audio SEX12D4 units. I am powering with a RF 1200.1 (600w each @ 1ohm). The speakers were broken in for about 2 weeks. They sounded great! I am not in comp and I am NOT a ground pounder. Just like my music to be loud at speed.

Within 5 months one unit blew a voice coil. Since unit was under warranty, RE replaced it (or repaired it), no charge.

New one came - had it installed. Let it break in 1.5 - 2 weeks. 3 months later, another V/C blew. Same amp, same box. Nothing else changed. I do not listen to distortion, more for SQ. Not sure what's going on. Sonic REPLACED this unit with a brand new unit. 2 weeks ago, blown V/C!! Now RE wants me to send it back, however, apparently they DO NOT cover blown V/Cs!

I am purchasing (2) Alpine Type R 12 Dual 4s. These are a very good sub for the money, and seem much more reliable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 30, 2012 Awesome Subwoofer
Review by
Xanderman from Sacramento, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
BUY THIS WOOFER! so i found this d4 and was skeptical about buying it but I saw some cool videos on youtube and read some reviews and sprang for it because it was a great deal. It went out of stock as I was buying it so sonic got one from a warehouse back east and shipped it to cali for me for free. I had to make minor cuts to fit it in my existing box (a sonic original box) because i forgot to check mounting specs, but once it was in I knew it would rock. Everyone asks if I have multiple subs or if I have 15's and they are so surprised when i tell them It's only one 12. She hits the lows that know one knows and can really handle what the specs say. Mine is hooked up with 600rms and 12oo peak and the coil does warm up after a lot of slumping, but it takes it all so well. I will always support sonic and RE audio because their support and products have served me amazingly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 18, 2012 exceptional bass
Review by
durbenpoison from Hanapepe, HI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
you can get exceptional bass from RE Audios SEX12D4 by going to their website and using the RE Audio box calculator to make a box that is perfect for this sub. I would recommend this sub to any car audio enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 19, 2012 RE Audio SEX12D4
Review by
Andy from Geagua, Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this sub about a year ago as a gift, and let me just say... This thing blows my mind every time. I have it hooked up to an MB quart Ref 1.800 that puts out 650 watts rms @ 2ohms. It absolutely slams! The lows are ridiculous!!! Definitely an RE audio fan for good now! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 18, 2012 sex12d4 raddles inside box
Review by
gary from escondido, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a bad ass sub better then the 2 15' kicker comps I had.

But the only issue I am coming across is that when I installed the sub into my ported box. There is a weird like metal hitting rattle noise coming from inside of the box. Its very annoying. And i have the gain at 500watts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 16, 2012 RE Audio 12" Sub Review in Full
Review by
GBPLUS from Long Island, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I went to Daytona Beach in 2009 for our 20th anniversary of going to the show (SBN). We ran into the RE rep, who had a small car laid out nicely. I heard good things about the subs and amps, and gave these a shot. I was running (2) SEX 12s on Rockford power (about 250w RMS to each). These subs sounded okay, but I blew a voice coil twice. RE Audio reconed the first time, and the cone fried again.

I then purchased a higher power RF amp (1358RMS x1 @ 1ohm). Sonic replaced the sub the second time around (thank you), and I just had it installed last night. Boy, with the right power - which I have now, these RE Audio subs hit very hard!! Low, deep bass. I am still breaking them in, so I am taking it easy. But night and day with the power upgrade.

If you buy these subs, feed them CLEAN POWER. Rockford 1200 / 1300 x1 @ 1ohm amps kill it. And they can handle it too, just be careful of your clipping. RE customer service was not that great.

Sonic was VERY GOOD to EXCELLENT at all levels; price, shipping, product selection, customer service, etc. WILL deal with again.

Great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2012 I reviewed too early...
Review by
Charlie from Kennesaw,GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub has a break in period for sure. I think it took me like 1-2 weeks and that was 3 different amps. The first amplifier I had on them was a Hifonics BRZ1200.2, the right channel got messed up so I sent it back. Next I put a poor quality amplifier on them, it was the Lanzar 1100 watt monoblock, it says it pushed 1100 watts at 2 ohms meaning these subwoofers were being underpowered by 50 watts. They sounded okay for the time being. Then I got my Hifonics 1700.1D and oh my god! These boys shine! So loud they shake my sunroof and they are only in a sealed box at .75 cft per chamber. If you want SPL and SQ this is the subwoofer to go with, 1 is pretty good, but 2 is amazing. A must own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 28, 2012 Loud, loud, loud! and Clear!
Review by
Charlie from Kennesaw, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this subwoofer! I have 2 in 1.5 cu ft box (.75 cu ft per section). And omg they are so loud, clear too. I have it hooked up with a Hifonics ZRX1200.2 amp so they are getting 600 watts which is their rms. Sometimes I can't even hear the singing in my songs, just straight up bass :) perfect for bass heads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 28, 2012 Amazing subs when setup properly
Review by
Alex from Weyburn, SK, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a pair of these hooked up to a Hifonics BRZ1200 @ 1 ohm in a box built to spec(4 cubes @33hz) and it sounds amazing! Seriously, for the price, you really can't go wrong with these subs, just make sure to set it all up properly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 3, 2012 spl and sql at da same time...
Review by
Daniel from Miami, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a sub with a conbination of kicker cvx and pioneer 3002 d2 and jl audio...... Nice clear subs but can gyet loud when the volume is turned up...the tinsel leads can't take the beating sumtimes...but the sub can....this is 1 sub I can say I would upgrade in the same line
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 22, 2012 Great Subs
Review by
chevyknockin from barksdale afb
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have 2 of these in a vented box with hifonics brutus 1200.1d. Best subs i've ever had. I need more power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 26, 2012 Overall great sub
Review by
Loteck from Millville nj
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sub for the price. It handles lows very well. I feed it a hifonics brz1200.1d at two ohm. I owned a kicker cvr before I got my re. I would recommend the re becuase the power output and coil handling is better then the kicker at a lower hz. The sub will put out 600 rms but I haven't played it long enough to see how the sub deals with the heat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 23, 2012 re kicks a**
Review by
nigs from topeka
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
these r awsome subs. i suggest them for everybody. they are still pounding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 21, 2012 awesome product!
Review by
Sky from Kentucky
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The product is awesome!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 2, 2012 amazing
Review by
Denny from Kutztown, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best brand I have ever seen for the price. Great for amatuers looking to aww people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 29, 2012 BANGIN!
Review by
Sean from Coldstream, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Simple, these subs bump, and at a great price! I have a 1961 beetle with 2 of these subs in them and it's insane how loud and accurate these subs are, they sound great listening to rock or metal and especially dubstep. I highly recommend these subwoofers to anyone looking to get any, and they take way more watts than the manufacturer says.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 3, 2012 Bang!!!
Review by
Pistol p from Winnemucca, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recomend this sub to anyone who loves good deep lows. I have one of these subs in a ported box with an mtx 1200 watt amp and it slaps! Its a pretty beefy sub if you ask me, its good looking and a quality woofer. RE makes great subs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 13, 2012 awesome!
Review by
ronny ry from huntersville, nc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of them with a Hifonics 1200.1 amp and they POUND. They broke my rear view mirror off! Broke the metal bracket. Buy them, you wont be disappointed, they dont just pound they sound amazing too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 9, 2012 sweet
Review by
jerry from troy, mo
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am very pleased. It is loud and clean, I need more power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 30, 2012 Awesome
Review by
Joscott1546 from Cornfields, Indiana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love these subs they hit every note and are very clear. Best subs ive ever bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2012 SEX 12's
Review by
basshead from CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 4 of these subs in a cut through hooked up to 2 XTX 3000.1 amps and they straight pound, whenever i do a demo id say a good 95% of the ppl have to jump out within the first 10 seconds but not only do they hammer but sq wise they are very clean. I highly recommend these subs especially for the price that Sonic is selling them at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 5, 2012 Best 12's I've herd
Review by
jake from Zephyrhills, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have 2 of these 12's and it blows away all the systems at my school and i only have 1000 watts rms going to them and they can handle a lot more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 5, 2012 good for the price
Review by
calvin from union
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The sub is great it does everything my son expected it would. We would recommend it to whoever is looking for a good sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 30, 2011 Great Sub
Review by
Lil P from Rossville, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this six months ago and I've loved every minute, I recomend this sub for anyone!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 25, 2011 Sick Nasty!
Review by
Zach from Tullahoma, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
RE Audio has to be the best sub manufacturer ever. I have a RE Sex12, and it is crazy loud! I put it in a custom box for it. I found it on eBay by Zenclosures and with a JL Audio 500w amp. People can't believe how loud it is! Great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 16, 2011 High quality
Review by
Farid from Nogales, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers have a really great performance and sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 6, 2011 Great Everything
Review by
JoseCA,AZ from peotia,az
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So I have had these subs for about a year know, and I have no complaints. These subs have such great sound all the low bass you need for your rap and all the solid fast punching bass for your rock. I do recommend these to all people looking to have some lound ass subs that have great sound quality at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 1, 2011 Great value starter for a new bass knocker
Review by
Jordan from Toledo, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great quality for the price of unit. Easy to install and wire. Very straight forward with sound tuning and limiting on distortion. Quick break-in time and ability to hold its maximum watt input. Minor convex (bubble) on surface of speaker though after 5th month of use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2011 great BANG! for buck
Review by
andro from randle, wa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Makes my head hurt and my ears tickle ;) sounds guud, looks guud, IS guuuud!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 21, 2011 Quality Sound
Review by
Bryan from Pittsburgh, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is my first sub, I bought it well over 6 months ago and it's still going strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 17, 2011 Great subs!
Review by
soxfan2546 from Chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I loved these subs! and apparently other people did too because they got stolen... anyway they were awesome subs and definitely better than my old kicker cvrs. Loud and clean. Buy them now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 8, 2011 Awesome
Review by
RICHARD from UKIAH, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought one of these subs and sounds great. Its in a ported box which i recommend to get. The bass on this thing is amazing. I bought it for a great price, and a great deal. You wont find a sub that sounds that good anywhere else. Shipped in one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 25, 2011 Pretty good
Review by
Big bear from Endicott, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Descent speakers. The Rockford p3's are louder and cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 24, 2011 awesome!!!
Review by
brian from Auburn, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
High quality sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 14, 2011 Much better than expected
Review by
Wayne from Lincolnton, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
As a die hard JL Audio fan for over 14 years I was very skeptical and worried about going outside of my favorite brand when ordering a subwoofer. I have this RE 12" SEX D4 sub in a 1.5cu ft ported box tuned at 33 hz and this thing absolutely slams and plays clean and low. I am very impressed with the quality at this price point. I am running JL HD900/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 10, 2011 Supurb Subwoofer
Review by
Mike from Grants Pass, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Dont hesitate about buying this Subwoofer, it performs great. Had a Memphis M-Class proir to buying this sub, it blew in 4months, Memphis is not even close to the RE, it hits so hard and deep too, I am running a RF 500watt amp with this sub and my roof is already flexing, It is a power hungry MONSTER so much so that I already ordered a Hifonics 1500 watt amp rms 1000 @ 2ohm to feed it more. Don't be shy it is a performer!! I still can not give it a 5star for reliability but I have heard RE stands behind there products..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 5, 2011 Nice sound!
Review by
Dan from Havre, MT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've owned this woofer for a few months now, and have it hooked up to a Hifonics amp wired to 750 watts RMS. This sub handles it no problem, and has way better sound quality than my other subs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2011 Amazing
Review by
Hamilton from Birmingham, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amazing! This sub moves some serious air. I have owned Kicker, MTX, and Alpine’s. RE Audio is far superior. One of these will shake your vehicle apart. Only bad part is the sub basket is too big and you will most likely have to cut the opening of your box so it will fit in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 1, 2011 great product
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
matthew from peachtree City, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is the best ive owned yet! It slams. it is very comparable to the Alpine Type-r but this woofer sounds twice as clean!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 20, 2011 She go bang
Review by
Hernan from Indiana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My girlfriend bought one of this as her first set, powered by a hifonics brutus 1600.1 ...and of course the gains arent up all the way but the sub is dropped to 1 ohm...and it is a great combo. Def wish i made a purchase like this for my first set up instead of going with audiobahn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 21, 2011 Couldnt be happier!!!
Review by
Brian from Auburn, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sounds better and deeper than rockford fosgate p3s i had. Awesome...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 7, 2011 the cleanest sub around
Review by
big T from New Roads, Louisiana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is excellent. I have it hooked to an audioque 1200. Its getting around 800 watts and I've had it for months without any problems. sounds great with all music. basically a perfect sub, don't have second thoughts about this sub. well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2010 Good Subs
Review by
IvyBoy from Wedgefield, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First let me say sonic electronix is a awesome store to buy products from they ship quick and usally have the best price.. I ordered these subs from them and let me tell you I was kinda skeptical when I heard them.. I replaced 2 12 punch p2 that I blew with the MTX thunder 1000xd.. but the reason i was skeptical is because they didn't sound the same I never had such good quality sound that these produce. So it was odd to me.. no distortion clear as whislte hard hitting bass.. I gave them full power with mtx 1000xd and its not enough for these 12's.. I highly recommend theses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 2, 2010 great sub
Review by
bobby from colchester
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
good sub absolutely murders the lows. it is not an spl sub but it will get loud the only downside to them is that they are very power hungry. if you are running two i would recommend 17 2000W rms they will take it no problem! Buy from Sonic Electronix, you can trust them. I love them and will buy again and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 29, 2014 Really dont want to write this but have to
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
EdeeeW from George Town, Cayman Islands
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I own 2 of the 10'' subs and believe me the hit very hard and sound very good, but sadly after just 8 months on a hifonics brutus 800x1 @ 2ohms like one of the other reviewers wrote the wires to the voice coils on both tore off, im gonna miss them but i doubt i will buy them again, excelent price, awesome sound and fits in very small enclosures but the voice coil wires are weak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2014 They Rock
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
daniel from bronx, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Love these Subs. I have owned two pairs. the first pair were stolen so i went back and bought another pair. Bass is deep and clean. Love the rumble. Cant complain about this sub at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 1, 2014 Great sound
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
G from Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These things are pretty good for what you pay for them. They look great and sound awesome. I have 2 of these with a Hifonics 1500 and it pounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 5, 2011 Slamming.
6 of 13 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Josh from fishers, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is the only sub I've ever purchased, but from hearing friends' systems, I can tell you that this is for sure the cleanest sub I've heard, while still hitting nice and hard.

If only the LPF on my HU was better, I wouldn't have to worry about blowing out the two stock mids I have yet to replace!

*only thing to look out for* make sure the box that you buy has a big enough diameter hole to fit this sub. If you call support, they will tell you that they have a certain box that will fit it. For me it was too late, but trust me, it's easier in the long run to just give them a ring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 19, 2010 amazing sub!!
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tyler from Ventress, Louisiana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
if you have $150 and you are looking for a great sub, you would be CRAZY to get anything but this. great sub! beats up and has amazing sound quality. even on heavy metal, it keeps up with double bass flawlessly, but yet pounds its a** off when told to. I was a firm alpine believer, but now i think i'll stick with RE :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 27, 2014 re sex
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
tracy from hammond la
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have of 4 of the on two hifinocis 3000 watts amps and they get it take everything the amps give them getting 2 more and another amp soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 3, 2011 Meh
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Sze from Detroit, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So I guess I expected a lot more nor do I understand the hype. I also messed up by doing my build with 12s instead of 18s. With four running on 8 cubes @ 28 hz on 3400 watts walled in a grand prix, I'm barely hitting 138 @ 31 hz on the dash. These get absolutely pooped on by a single 15 (Ive had an MTX 9515 and an AQ HDC3) or even two SA 12s on less power. Definitely a SQ sub. By far the best sound I've ever heard out of any sub, period. Might ditch these for two 18s SXs, tune them higher, and see how that goes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2011 Great Sound!!
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
gman from lithia springs, ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs sound great but I don't recommend them!! Although the sound is amazing, they don't hold up. I have a hifonics Brutus amp pushing 1000 Watts to both subs in a ported 3.0 cft box. They lasted about 4 months. The weak point on this sub is the voice coils; they are too small and don't hold up to prolonged beatings. I called Sonic Electronix and they told me they couldn't warranty a blown speaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz