Showing 26 reviews for RE Audio SEX10D2

Customer Review Summary for RE Audio SEX10D2
Average Customer Rating is 4.9 out of 5 stars:
4.9
based on 26 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
92%
4 star:
.
.
8%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.9
Value
4.9
Features
4.8
Design
4.8
Usability
5.0
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
May 27, 2012 awsome speakers
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
code from newark,ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
They are one of the best speakers I've owned. Sound great and can handle some power, now I just wish I could find an amp that can power them without over heating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 11, 2012 RE Audio SEx10D2
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Derek from APO, AP
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Hi, I am stationed overseas in Japan and I was reluctant to order since I THOUGHT shipping would take forever, but I was wrong. I ordered this sub on a Thursday (along with other things) and the entire shippment was in my mail box by the following Tuesday. I built my box according to the Specs (RE Audio Box Calculator) and finished installing everything. This speaker is awesome, I was surprised as h**l by the bass this speaker produces. I am a huge JL Audio fan, but RE Audio (in my opinion) sounds just as good for half the price. I would definitely recommend this speaker to all my friends. Thanks SonicElectonix for such fast shipping and great quality products. I will be back for more items to fix up my girl's truck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 5, 2012 Awesome Product!!!
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Dj from Mena, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these subs for use in a 03 mustang and they sound amazing! The value was great as well! I have owned many subs in the past and was looking for smaller ones when i bought my car. These 10" subs hang with the best of them and have amazing sound quality I would highly recommend them to anyone who have any doubts you will not be disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 24, 2013 Simply amazing sub!!!!
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
zbezzyyyyy from Houma, Louisiana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants good sounding bass with a 10" sub this thing slams hard in my mini truck, sounds very good when there's a sound with very low bass, this speakers really amazing, I'm very satisfied with this speaker, I have it hooked up to a 500 watt amp in a Superbass pro box, in a extended cab gmc sonoma, perfect for my truck, I would recommend this to anyone who definitely wants a bad ass sound system in the vehicle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 Best sub
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
MImoshi from Scarborough, Trinidad and Tobago
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Simply put. This this absolutely the best 10" sub. There is no comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Nice
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
from Boulder, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs pound. I've got three in a truck in a sealed box hooked to a 1500w amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 28, 2013 Amazing for the price
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jon from Prairieville, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got this sub about a month ago with my hifonics brutus 1600w amp and I am simply amazed with the quality for the price. I am used to hearing JL w3s and honestly this in my opinion is one of the best subs for the price the build is great quality installing is simple. I would reccomend this product to a beginner that wants quality without spending 300 plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 8, 2013 Nice 10's
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ohiodish from Canton, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have used 12 SEX12's in three other installs and I own 2 myself. I put these 10's in my wife's jeep and since my airspace in the box I wanted to build was less than the required for the 12's I used the 10's. Real surprised how low they play and sound fantastic. Happy with the subs and would not hesitate to use the 10's again. Running them off the sub output on a JL HD 900/1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 7, 2013 Best Sub on the Market
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
rechsanwald from Houston, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am an audiophile. I own B&W 802D's. 'nuff said. I have owned JL subs. I have owned, installed and heard dozens of subs. Before I started this install, I listened to a lot of subs with my, not their, test cd.

I could not find anything that came close to RE subs in sound quality. Even if any of them could have come close, they cannot beat the price of these subs. Using 28 gauge plate steel, I mounted the SEX10D2 to the frame of my wife's 645ci Convertible BMW in the 10" by 10" ski port between the trunk and center portion of the back seat. I also installed sound dampening material on either side of the sub and both sides of the frame.

With a 12 year old JL 500/1, the sub doesn't just cause the rear view mirror to vibrate. It shakes the entire frame of the car. Yes, I have to install additional sound dampening material as far as it takes to bring the resonant frequency below that of the frame of the car. But, this is an install problem that I am all too happy to have.

As you know, you have to set your amps correctly and loosen subs up over the first month to truly hear and, more importantly, feel what they can do. The power and clarity of this sub, and this is not RE's top of the line, shocked me. Unless you are competing, the SEX line is all you need.

By the way, I am in no way affiliated with RE or any marketing company working on RE's behalf. I am simply a consumer that has been pleasantly surprised by coming across one of the few companies out there that deliver more than what the consumer expects for a LOT less money. Try RE. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 1, 2013 Worth the money
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Yelladawg from J-ville
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent subwoofer for limited space. I purchased three from Sonic and I am very pleased with them. I currently have them in a 2.25 cu.ft. net shared chamber in a sealed enclosure. Bass is clean and very responsive. I listen to rap but was very surprised that they play rock music well also. If you want detailed bass out of a small sub then this one is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 5, 2013 ok subs
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
redneckracer from newark,ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
these are good subs love them but they just don't have the punch that I was looking for hold a lot of power and sound amazing but like I said just don't have the straight out punch that I was looking for got 2 of on a lanzar opti2001d at .5ohms. I will recommend this to anybody that just want good sound quality and don't want that just loud big punch hit you in the chest bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 26, 2011 great subwoofers!
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Josh from Sheridan , WY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
One of my favorite line of subwoofers. RE Audio, they deliver what they promise, and at Sonic's great prices, it is the best choice!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 25, 2011 Great Sound!
6 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
chavez from winfield, ks
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The RE SE.X 10" Dvc sub is a dream for the quality it exhibits and the price is wonderful, next year there is a big chance im going to buy another one. While not an SPL banger at its size the bass hits good and ive ran more than tha suggested rms wattage and it keeps on pumping. I would definitely reccommend this sub (as well as brand) to anyone wanting to start out while not hurting their wallets too much.

One thing to look out for is that standard 10" boxes will need to be modified a bit around the subhole as the diameter is a tad bigger than normal 10" openings and while im no expert ive read that these subs could take a little bit bigger box than the manufacture suggestion, in any event I enjoy mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 22, 2010 NICE!!!!!!
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tony from Jefferson, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Holy Crap! Great quality. Great shipping. Outstanding customer ervice and product. This is the best 10" Sub I have ever heard. Have it in a Custom built fiberglass enclosure and it pounds. Feels like it makes your heart stop..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 16, 2014 really great!
6 of 13 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
justin from austin, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub does a great job. I have it in the belva sealed box and it pounds for a 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2014 Amazing Subs
5 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Buckshot87 from Pembroke va
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got two of these for my truck and love them I can honestly say they hit harder than most twelves I have had I would highly recommend these to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 4, 2013 Poundtown
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
iBeatguts from Viriginia Beach, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have owned this sub for a while now, it sounds great and people are always asking me " you got 12s in there?" "Na man, they 10s." "for real?" Then I show them and they are shocked. Its amazing. I beat 2 Kicker CVR 12s in a competition and wasn't even all the way up. Great subs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 7, 2013 BEST BRAND SUBWOOFER
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
ty from raleigh,nc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is great its loud and smooth. Its Basicly the JL but cheaper and louder with the same smoothness. I have two of these bad boys in a sealed box matched with a mb quart 1500 and they are handiling 750 a piece easily. These things are so loud they broke my rearview mirror off lol. I would definetly recommend any re audio subs or higher. Excelent subwoofer and thanks to Sonic i got it for 115.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 9, 2012 Great Sub
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Alexander from Auburn, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just purchased this sub. I find it similar in sound to my previous JL subs. I have had the foam surround crack but Sonic Electronix is in the process of fixing this issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2011 Bang!
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mark and J from Norfolk, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I brought this item as a gift for my little brother to go in his toyota tercel. We were both amazed at how well they sound. To be honest the power is underrated for this sub, were are pushing 1000 watts rms and it handles it so well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 23, 2014 Great Condition
5 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
LJ from Colorado Springs
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This was a "refurbished" item, but looked and sounds brand new.
Great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 1, 2013 :RE Haters
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Wes from Brampton, ON, Canada, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This right here is a top of the line Chinese build quality material that BUMPS, everyones talking **** about how they sold the company and how RE officially sucks D*** that's not true! F*** what people think go with something that that looks/ sounds top of the line for a fraction of the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 17, 2012 Amazing
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
SK from Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this sub for 2 months now. I have had HUGE systems in the past, I bought this looking to downsize and get clean quality bass. I am surprised what it can do for a single 10. It is powered by a jbl pb600.1 600rms ran at 1 ohm slightly under-rated. It is in a 1 cu.ft. ported to 35hz built to specs box. I am amazed how clean it still is being ported. It bangs pretty good, more than most people would want or need. It fills my yukon XL with bass which is a huge vehicle and hard to do with small systems. My previous systems go from 2 8's up to 4 12s to 2 15s at 148.7db.

I would definitely buy one of these again for sound quality. Its right on par with a W6 with sound quality for way less. Don't expect to be heard from miles away though. Be realistic. I listen to country, rock, and rap and it performs great on anything I have thrown at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 29, 2012 BUY THESE NOW. WONT DISSAPPOINT. RE 4 LIFE
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Travis from Kalamazoo, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best sub ive ever owned, louder than all my other prievious 10" systems. 2 kicker CVRs, 2 JL3s, and Audiobahn Alumq's all ran on the same Hifonics Zues 600 watt 2 channel amp bridged, Kicker 4 gauge kit and wires. Louder than all of my friends' systems with 12s, and beats way harder. Plays Anything. Bubbles my windshield and roof in my Stratus. Running the sub in a 1.5 cubic box at 46hz (looking for something bigger and lower tuned). Can't beat the price. RE 4 Life now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 6, 2011 Solid Sub Woofer
5 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Slappy from Wisconsin
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I initially bought a Pioneer Sub, but it arrived defective. I was paranoid about getting another Pioneer and having the same result, so I jumped on the RE bandwagon, as I had read some really good reviews. So far, I'm glad I did. I have it in a run fo the mill ported enclosure, and it does quite well for a 10. I don't know how it really can do on the deep lows, as the box is tuned higher, but it does hit pretty hard getting 480 RMS from a Kenwood amp. They are solid subs- my single 10 in a ported is definitely as loud as 2 in a sealed. You won't go wrong if you treat it right. Nice quality sub, and an extra special "thanks" to Sonic for helping out on my exchange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 25, 2011 Great sub
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
David from Springtown, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sub awesome value I have this installed in my 93 Cavilier with a Boss CX2500D powering it with 750w x1@4 ohm's in a self built box 1.250 cf slot ported to 34 hz and it pounds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz