Showing 23 reviews for RE Audio SXX12D2

Customer Review Summary for RE Audio SXX12D2
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 23 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
87%
4 star:
.
.
9%
3 star:
.
.
4%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.9
Value
4.7
Features
4.8
Design
4.8
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
SSX12

This sub is so loud and durable, this sub is in a 2 cu. Ft box tuned to 34 hz this sub blows all others out of the water. It is the loudest sub I've ever owned, I set off car alarms every time I go out, definitely a good buy

VS
Could be better for sure!

This sub had great excursion but not as loud as others in the 1000rms range. Underrated at 1000rms i was giving it around 1300-1400 just fine shook my whole car but if you want a truely amazing subwoofer keep looking because if your a bass head like me you will be disappointed but not bad for RE but nothing compared to the older models. Great sq woofer clean bass. You will find louder if your looking for SPL setup.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
July 27, 2010 SSX12
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jimmy from Sedona,az
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is so loud and durable, this sub is in a 2 cu. Ft box tuned to 34 hz this sub blows all others out of the water. It is the loudest sub I've ever owned, I set off car alarms every time I go out, definitely a good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 11, 2010 The right Sub
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Isaac from Henderson, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Sub would advise anyone to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 12, 2011 THE TOP OF THE LINE SUB!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
BIG T from CHESAPEAKE,VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was in a bass off and won first place with one 12 from 0-1000 watts. Jl audio better watch out!! I think they r better jl audio w6! I own them 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 3, 2011 Pure Awesomeness
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Newberry87 from Hutchinson kansas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
WOW!!!!!!! I have one of these in a 2 cu ft pre fab on a rockford t1000.1bd I replaced my two mtx 7500s and wowi its crazy loud. re for life.............you wont be disapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 11, 2012 Best I've Ever Owned
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Michael from Endicott, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros: Loud. Clean. Power-Hungry (a plus in my book). Best subwoofer for the price.

Cons: Needs a break-in period before hearing it's full potential.

Just installed it in my 2003 Ford Mustang GT. It sounds amazing. I'm using a BRZ1200.1D to power it with a 3.5 farad Abosolute cap in a custom 2.2ft^3 tuned to 32Hz. Had it professionally installed. It sounds great and just like RE's caption says "Built for brutality", they mean it. I am pushing true 1,200 watts into this and it handles it nicely. I upgraded Big 3 and a YellowTop, running 0AWG to cap and 4AWG to amp (Knu for cabling). Even at maximum volume, voltage never fell below 14.0 volts averaging at 14.3. I can't push it too much for at least 2-3 weeks as I can feel the sub heating up. After it's been broken in, I will re-tune it and be able to hear it's full potential. She doesn't like extreme lows, but that may because she's not broken in yet. For those who want the best bass, this is it. For those that want 20Hz burps, either get the 15" version of this or go RE XXX model. And as long as your electrical can power this power hungry beast, it will be your best friend in the car for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 31, 2014 this sub is worth more than the $$ i spent
Review by
J.barber from Phoenix Arizona
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best subwoofer I've owned, I just got my 2nd pair two weeks ago. This subwoofer won't let you down I just need a bigger battery on my ride, maybe two batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2013 This woofer pounds!!
Review by
Kell from sterling hghts, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a 1989 Pontiac Trand Am with a hatchback so, I started doing research on 12 inch woofers. I wanted a 1 sub setup and felt this woofer was the best woofer available. I'm only sending 900 rms but, it sounds incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 25, 2013 RE Audio SXX12d2
Review by
Paolo from Manila Philippines, Philippines
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
All i can say about this sub is WOW!!!! after bout a week it got twice as loud and i get windshield flex, all my doors flex, and my rearview mirror falls off on certain song (Big krit - Country S***) I love how i can feel my hair moving and my shirt is always moving also! there isn't anything i dont like about this subwoofer - good quality build, super stiff when i first received it, heavy sub, good cooling by the looks of it solid flat wound voice coil, love the terminals vs. standard spring loaded. makes a solid connection. right now its in a L ported box thats only thats only 1.8 cubes tunes to 35 hz so its not even close to what i actually want it in. gonna get a 2.5 cu. ft. box tuned to 32hz using aero ports this time and cant wait for the beast to come to life. this set up is ran by and RE DTX 2000, Pioneer DEH-X3500SD, RE Audio 0 Gauge wiring, the sub is wired in parallel @ 1 ohm. the is nothing i am disappointed about with this bud except it doesn't really shine in the 50-55hz area though but i can deal with that i loves the lows!!! Don't hesitate buying this sub its well worth it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 13, 2013 Beast!!
Review by
bobby jo from Tri-cities, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had many subs and by far the loudest single 12 I've had.
Have 1100 rms running this in a obcon hidden chamber box with longer ports and this pounds like no other
If your looking for pretty good bass get this instead of 2 12's and save the space & 2 cu ft for a box is ok but in a bigger box like the obcon is unbelievable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2013 ooooh yeah!
Review by
Salvatore from Charleston, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i took a leap of faith buying this sub. wanted to free up some trunk space by eliminating using 2 12's. So i bought this one and i must say i am extreeeeeemely impressed. I have an old 1000 watt eclipse amp pushing it and i have it wired to 1 ohm. RE audio has a website with a box calculator (USE IT!!!) that i used to get the box built correctly because that has a whole lot to do with it. but all in all well worth the money. i think 2 would have been too much for my little car
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 3, 2013 HOLY $&1+
Review by
Sean from Alliance, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is pretty amazing.... give it maybe a week and a half of break in before you really slam it though. I got an SPL gorilla 2400D running about 1000 of 1300 rms on this thing, its power hungry, but I'm going to wait a bit longer before I turn it up more. I love RE... sound quality is great, and do get a bigger box than 2.0. It sounds better. When I'm bumping' I can't keep my rear view mirror in place, and my sunroof flexes big time... All in all this is thing is a beast, defiantly out preforms an alpine type-r I would recommend this sub over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 14, 2012 BEST SUB I'VE OWNED
Review by
Chris from Albany, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have only had this sub for about a week or so, so its not even quite broken in yet. I have it hooked up to an MTX 1501D, old school 1st gen. I have the HC2000 with the Big 3 upgrade running in my 2001 Lincoln LS with stock alt and its in about a 2.6 cubic foot ported box. I know that RE says 2 cu.ft. max, but all I have heard from everywhere and everybody that has purchased this sub is that it sound much better in a 2.5-3 cu. ft. box. So I listened and man, THIS THING "POUNDS!!!" I cant wait till it is a bit more broken in, but it sounds like there is 2-4 10" or 12" subs in my trunk, and there is only "one." I will never buy anything but RE for the rest of my life!!! I highly recommend this sub, if the box and power are right, it will blow you away!!!! Thanks again Sonic Electronix!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2012 wow!!!
Review by
emanlbc from long beach, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had 2 infinity kappa series in a dual vented box. I loved them but wanted more room. Was deciding between this n the alpine type x. After reading the review it seems like this hits lower n had more range. So i bought 1 wired to 1ohm powered by a hifonics brutus 1200.1d. and WOW its louder than alot of 2 sub setups. Invest n dynamat or fat mat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 6, 2012 BUMPS HARD!!!!
Review by
YSTER from LOS ANGELES CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Worth the money!! I got one 12' in a custom made to specs ported box wired down to 1 ohm with a re audio xt-2000de pushing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 16, 2012 It hammers
Review by
Dglosser from Sylvan Lake, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got one of these on a VLX RE amp, and what a great combo. It digs deep for the bass, and it really breathes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 1, 2012 RE Audio what!
Review by
Big Steve from Charleston SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For a while I was skeptical I couldn't decide I was back n forth for the longest! I use to have 3 Rockford P3 12s n that was knocking. I bought one RE Audio SXX 12 2ohm this is amazing! Have the hifonics Brutus 1200 watt amp. I just got it install Friday in my 08 charger I see ppl gettin 2 3 n 4 12s man that's for the birds all you need is one of these I promise you wont be disappointed! Just make sure you get a box for the cubic ft I recommend upgrading the big 3 for the highest performance but if you can't then you'll be ok! This knocks I have ppl thinkin I have 2 or 3 12s!! BUY this sub! Thanks Sonic Elextronix!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 26, 2012 Anything but Average
Review by
Aaron from Wilmington, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got the sxx 12 yesterday and wow this thing pounds. I have it in a 3.0 cubic foot box tuned to 34 hz on a kicker zx1000 and I must say it is ridiculous. With the trunk closed my hood does the wave. It is amazing.The bass is phenomenal. No cons from this sub. Excellent job Re.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 21, 2012 Re audio vs JL audio
Review by
Dk from Roseville, mi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub slaps!!! It hits so low, and sounds amazing with crisp clear bass, get a bigger box though. Like 2.5-3 cu feet. All i gotta say is i heard jl 12w7 and this thing is easily just as good, and its so much cheaper. Don't hesistate to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 10, 2011 Awesome
Review by
Na Money from Philadelphia, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best sub I have ever owned. It has unlimited potential good for both SQ & SPL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 10, 2011 Awesome sub
Review by
Drake from Franklin, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this sub six months ago in a re sub and re 2000 watt amp combo deal. I highly recommend this sub. I have no complaints on the sub at all, except for the manufacturer recommended vented enclosure size. I recommends Between 1.5 and 2.0 cubic feet but I put it in a 1.75 pro box and it didn't sound right, so I got a custom box built with 3.25 cubic feet vented box and it sounds awesome. I have owned a alpine type r 12 and a jl w3 12 and this re blows them out of the water! Good product and highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 19, 2011 re super sub
Review by
Zeke from Las Vegas,NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sub so far I would buy many more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 27, 2011 Could be better for sure!
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
LilJ from Denver, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub had great excursion but not as loud as others in the 1000rms range. Underrated at 1000rms i was giving it around 1300-1400 just fine shook my whole car but if you want a truely amazing subwoofer keep looking because if your a bass head like me you will be disappointed but not bad for RE but nothing compared to the older models. Great sq woofer clean bass. You will find louder if your looking for SPL setup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 16, 2010 not bad....
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
brick from south bend, in
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had 2 SXX12 in a 4.5 cu ft box at 32hz ran off a t2000 birth-sheet rated at 2470rms at 1ohm. They hit pretty good, got low, sounded good, and hit pretty hard. But I dropped these after 2 months and went with 2 dc sounds lvl 4 same box and amp and the dc annihilates these re. but still not bad subs, you can do better for sure, but definitely do worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz