Showing 20 reviews for RE Audio XXX12D2

Customer Review Summary for RE Audio XXX12D2
Average Customer Rating is 5.0 out of 5 stars:
5.0
based on 21 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
95%
4 star:
.
.
5%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.6
Features
5.0
Design
5.0
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
November 17, 2010 One crazy loud 12"
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jay from Saint Augustine, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this sub!! I'm powering it with a JL audio 1000/1v2 and it's louder than two MTX 9500 15"s on a Mmats pro audio 3000.1!!!! I have some videos of this thing moving the windshield of my car. Just look up (size matters to Re Audio) and you can see what I'm talking about. This thing is a must have hands down!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 30, 2014 Amazing subwoofer!
Review by
Mikell from Central, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I originally bought 2 of these only to realize upon receiving them that there was no logical way to fit both into my car, and that may be a good thing! Just one by itself is louder than any other system I have ever had. Truly blew me away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 9, 2013 Lots of boom for your buck!
Review by
Jeremy from Melita, Mb., Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought these to replace 2 x 12W7AE subs I was currently running. Got drawn to them by the massive excursion 4's!!! There things hit lows like crazy, way harder and louder then the W7's. I started to get excited, and ordered another amp so I could feed them more power. I made the mistake of not setting up my gains with SMD distortion detector, and got one a little hot. This ended up leading to a burnt out tinsel lead after about 15 hrs of pounding away @ 2400W RMS on one. Make sure they have a clean signal with minimal clippage to maintain durability as with any sub. I ordered another one, but this time am getting the SMD product as well. I have the other one in a sealed box, and it does not do the sub justice - put this sub in a ported box for sure! Also the one that I heated up and have not been running is still sitting in my box inverted in my truck - it was -25F the other night, and I noticed that all the pie magnets are now cracked...? I'm planning on pulling the sealed one out to see if they are too, pretty disappointed in this. It's not like I'm going to take them inside with me every night during the winter! But over all - a lot louder than the W7 for half the price, and sonic was very good to deal with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2013 Slams!! But for a price.
Review by
Jimmy from Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this sub with the re ztx 5000.1 and it hits hard! I do tend to forget I only have one sub. I also had to put a battery in the back to keep up with it. And if you built a box don't be shy to go heavy duty. All and all a good sub. Have no complaints yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 10, 2013 Great mix of SQ and SPL
Review by
Aqwut from Kingsville, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I initially purchased 2 of these giant ice cream cones. Loved them so much, I ended up buy two more. Please break these in properly and have a custom enclosure made. Or make one yourself, I stuck two in a store bought enclosure, and it sounded like a $20 woofer. Made my big box with 1 1/2" MDF and she sounds great. The box is heavy the the sound clarity/accuracy is well worth it. Plus she is powerful. Best mix of SQ/SPL of many subs which I have own/heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2013 Bigwoo47
Review by
Bigwoo from Alabama ,Selma al
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you realllllly like bass than you need this sub. RE Audio for the win!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 18, 2012 Great sub
Review by
Gilly from Geraldton, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I owned one of these for a year and one month after warranty expired. The tinsel lead in wire broke and left me with nothing on 1 coil. I'm very unhappy with this but otherwise its a great sub. 5000.1 very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 6, 2012 wow
Review by
vic from lorain,oh
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The best sub I ever purchased. Worth every dollar. If you wanna be heard from blocks away, then this sub is def the one you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 13, 2012 BEAST A** SUBBBB
Review by
trevor from limerick, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just got this sub-woofer today and i am in love. This thing is amazingly huge, weighs like 85 pounds and sonic electronix shipped it so dang fast. I still have to install this but i highly recommend this sub, and get a box from fatbox USA they have 2 really great sub boxes for this sub. When i install this sub and buy my amp, wiring, and head unit from sonic electronix as well ( because of the great prices and the really fast shipping) i will write another comment and tell you guy how frickin great this sub sounds. Really btw you can get this sub up to 3000watts easy.
PS: i am putting this loud sub running 3000watts everyday in a KIA SOUL, hahaha the hamsters don't got anything on me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 13, 2012 Sick A## Sub
Review by
Spry Boy from Coon Rapids, Mn
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had so many subs, by pretty much every major sub line. I will have to say that, this sub is an excellent balance of sound quality (bass up front and clear) and spl. I origianally built a slot ported 2.8cu ft box at 34hz (actual size including woofer, bracing, port, was 3.5 cu ft) incredible spl!!! Then I tried a 2.8 cu ft (after everything), with the Earthquake 15" slap radiator. Excelllent bass response, and impecibale sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 29, 2012 Best Sub.
Review by
Anthony from San Ramon, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is the best sub I have ever owned. I have it in a 5.11 cube box tuned to 27 hz and it slaps HARD. It is so clean and plays every note perfect running on 2500 RMS. Nothing more to say but if you want the best of the best buy this. Be sure to build your own box or you won't get your money put into the sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 18, 2012 The Best Decision I have Ever Made!!
Review by
nick from Hampton, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Well I bought the RE Audio XXX12D2 because of all the great reviews I have heard about it. I was looking for a subwoofer that would sound great and still be able to pump oout some serious bass when needed without having to have a multiple subwoofer system. The RE Audio XXX12D2 does all of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 13, 2011 Monster Sub
Review by
Carlos from Fresno, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
RE XXX. Need I say more? This sub is awsome in every sense, it has those lows coverd all day and all night, this sub is not for everyone, just because you can afford it does not mean this sub is for you, this sub is built of very high quality and uses some pretty one of a kind design and technology to be able to deliver the kind of sound quality that no other sub of this size and powering can deliver. This sub is really for someone that is looking for really in my eyes the best of both worlds, first off sound quality is amazing, I listen to alot of differnt genre's of music and the XXX RE 12 that i have picks up all, and of course the SPL side of it is awsome as well i cant complain there, but word to the wise, be willing to give up any free space in your trunk or suv, this one is a big one, this sub is gonna need a custom enclosure, please do not put this is a pre fab box. and just as a lil note... when i first started using this sub, it will have an odor more like a stinky smell but this is normal, your sub is not bad, it is part of the break in process, but once you smell it turn it down or off, great product and great price, thank you SONIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 28, 2011 Best sub in the world for SQ and SPL
Review by
Matt from Geraldton, WA, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The XXX sounds awesome, if you get one of these, make sure you call the guys at RE audio to help you design the best enclosure for you.

I only have it running off 400-500w RMS for now, and it hits harder than 3 type R's on 1000w RMS.

As for quality, it sounds beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 14, 2011 Amazing sub!
Review by
Ben from Atlanta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I won this sub in the March Crazy Caption contest they had and it is just amazing! It requires some serious power to keep it moving!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 3, 2011 um.....WOW!!!!!!!!!
Review by
Rob from Lima, Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this sub is absolutely ridiculous. i got mine about a week ago and i love it. i have it powered by the hifonics brutus 1700.1d and in a lil mazda sedan and it literally vibrates the screws in my body panels out. next thing on my list is to dynamat my car and get a bigger alternater. if you ever get the chance to get this sub dont pass it up trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 10, 2011 THIS IS BEAST
Review by
bostonharris from Bradley, Maine
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I do not own this BEAST, but have seen and heard two of them in a Chevy Suburban, each powered by an RE Audio 2400 watt mono block amp. They were installed in a 4.1 cubic foot tri-port custom made box. IN THE NAME OF ALL THAT IS HOLY!! This is the most powerful set up I have ever seen and heard. Two high output alternators, 4 extra batteries and true 0 gauge. Very expensive set up. Not for the faint of heart. Look out JL Audio, MTX and the rest, RE Audio is for real. I wish I could afford this set up!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 16, 2011 Holy ******* ****!!!
Review by
spuds from luxemburg, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is loud! if you have the money, it wouldn't pay to spend it anywhere else. This sub will blow away anything in its path. It is a little power hungry though. If you don't have an amp large enough to power it, your amp will continuously overheat. I have a Power Acoustik BAMF 4001D and the sub is slightly underpowered, but it still pounds like crazy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2010 The best subwoofer ever made.
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Eric123 from Quitman, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Hey people listen up. The dude above me isn't telling all there is about this sub. It IS undoubtedly the most powerful 12" sub in the world. As the guy mentioned other subs this one beats by a landslide. If you don't believe me go to youtube and look it up. It'll whoop Kicker's SoloX, Fi BTL's, and all others. This thing weighs in at a hefty 75 lbs. I've owned two for 10 years now and they aren't even worn in well. I'm running each sub off of a Hifonics BXi 2006d amp smoking at 2000 rms watts each sub. I've got 4 Optima batteries and two alternators so I know what I'm talking about. I have replaced two windshields (front and back) in my car. When I put in my Bass Mekanik cd I can vibrate cars four lanes over. You can't beat the price here, the msrp is $1,099 at the home page. So get this sub because, First is more powerful. Second it's tough as nails. Third it's cheaper by a lot. They can go in a small sealed box to a large ported box. This is a very versatile sub to own. One last thought, I've awed the crowds just showing them the back magnet of the subwoofer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 25, 2010 Loud as Hell
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Austin from Omaha, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Dude, want to go loud and shake everything apart this sub is the best of the best of doing it, compare the Kicker Solo X, and Orion HCCA 12 inch, this sub don't suck at all, also be sure to check out the RE MT series that is another sick as sub. The XXX have more sound quality built into it that's for sure, MT series more of Sound press level, that thing is on the same level as Fi audio BTL, a lot of people don't know the power of the MT series, one of my friend brought one and he told me it only says on the manuel or the hand book, is 2000 watts RMS and 4000 watts peak. can't go wrong, one more thing if you like the subwoofer around 2000 watts RMS, be sure to check out the Sundown audio nightshade series, that thing will rock the crap out of your world, just like Kicker warhorse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz