Showing 33 reviews for Sony DSX-S100

Customer Review Summary for Sony DSX-S100
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 33 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
67%
4 star:
.
.
30%
3 star:
.
3%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.7
Features
4.2
Design
4.7
Usability
4.5
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
September 16, 2010 Sweet Deal!
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mike from Tucson, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This head unit is great, I love that it hides and charges my ipod. Its very easy to use and install. Everyone I show it too thinks its a cd player, the looks on there faces when I pull out my ipod are classic. I would recommend this head unit to anyone and the price is great compared to the other digital head units. But I do wish sony included a carry case with the unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 7, 2011 Good stuff
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Vintony from Pueblo, Co
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a good system. I bought it because I bought a subwoofer and needed a new head unit. It is very cool looking and I love the ipod attachment. My ipod touch fits perfectly and does not bounce around.

The only con is that it takes a long time to find a specific song on your ipod, I have 600. Also the volume knob is a little cheap.

I would definetly buy this product again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 25, 2011 amazing
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
ryanboygolfyoutube from SMTCX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So i got this unit to replace my stolen alpine i got it installed both amps hooked up but if i turn it up too loud my sub stops. Other than that amazing alot of different thing u can do with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 20, 2011 DSX-100, a great buy!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Peter from Buffalo, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product was great! Plugged in quick and easy, works just as it says. Would buy this product again in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 5, 2014 Thank You
Review by
Raftmaster48 from Boise, Idaho
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Product and fast delivery. I look forward to our next transaction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 21, 2014 Sony DSX-S100
Review by
William from Toronto, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had this system before...but due to ill sprayed cleaning product the system had a bit of a short circuit. Since my car was set up with this Stereo it was easy to take out the old and place in the new....I also bought the adapter plates and wiring harness just in case there was damage during removal....The wiring Harness that I got from Sonic Electronix was far superior then the old one so it was replaced. Now the car sound even better then it ever has ......The price was the thing that really got me to buy.
best deal here if you own an Ipod...Iphone or anther such device and you do not want wires hanging out.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 12, 2013 Amazing!
Review by
Brent from Fairfield, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The shipping and price are great! this product works pretty good as well, except I got it stolen thanks to Oakland, the only problem was that I liked to keep my ipod touch inside of it 24/7 and if it was warm outside the ipod would over heat. Sonic is the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 14, 2013 Motorcycle Sound
Review by
mcdaniel from montgomery, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I brought this unit. For my motorcycle. Wow I was totally surprise in the quality sound. My friend. Ant told this was the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 25, 2012 Great Product
Review by
DeVontaye from Pembroke Pines, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent head unit. Have had for about 6 months and it has only had minor faults (nothing extraordinary) only thing is sometimes I randomly want to play a cd but forget I don't have a CD player ha. Overall a really good product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 4, 2012 Great Looks and Sound!
Review by
Atomic Ant from lake havasu city, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First off the sound on this thing blows my old receiver away. I am very impressed with this unit. I was nervous because this was my first purchase with Sonic, but I couldn't be happier. And no more messing with wires hanging off my dash since my iPhone sits inside it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 12, 2012 I LOVE IT
Review by
JAIME from Colton, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am in love with it, looks good and sounds good thank you. The ipod get hot inside the stereo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 17, 2012 Great little head unit
Review by
tyler from Poolesville, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This head unit has brought my six year old stock speakers to life! I can imagine what the music would sound like once I upgrade from paper cones. The interface is simple once you are used to it. Just make sure to pay attention to the road or wait till a light to fool around with it. The options for fine tuning are perfect for a non-audiophile such as myself.
The best part is being able to stuff a 32GB thumb drive full o' music and go. Great price and great product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 12, 2012 Great
Review by
Robert from Shady Shores, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product, great service. Installed a few days ago, love the features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 9, 2012 Amazing Head Unit!
Review by
Justin from Saint Marys, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this head unit 12/16/2011 to use specifically for using and charging my iPod touch and the fact that it hides it out of plain site is absolutely wonderful! It was an amazing deal for everything it does and I couldn't beat the price!! It was a breeze to hook up and get everything set. I'm not one for fumbling around with changing CD's so it does more than serve its purpose.

Like others have said if you are looking for a specific song on your iPod then it can be a little difficult and time consuming depending on amount of songs but I just put it on shuffle and let it go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 5, 2012 Great radio
Review by
Nicolas from Trois-rivieres, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great radio for the price, perfect for iPod touch. Easy installation but for Jeep with sub speaker between the front seats, you need to use the amp or power antenna Sony DSX-S100 wire. Sold my jeep with the radio and i think i will by an other for my Ram 1500....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 10, 2012 Great Product!
Review by
JC from Houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent product. I bought and installed it for my mother's vehicle. She absolutely loves it. Uses it primarily with her iPod. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 16, 2012 Great Sony Product!
Review by
Lamand S. from Tracy, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Product. I am a big Fan of Sony items. I am still happy with this new product now. Thanks again for the great deal and service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 2, 2012 Gonna buy another.
Review by
Alex from North Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had bought one of these back a few months ago for my ranger. The included kit was cheaply made but DEFINITELY did the job. Sold my ranger now gonna buy one for my wrangler. BUY IT NOT. atm its onsale for 89.99
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 18, 2012 great
Review by
Ryan from martindale, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this head unit for about 6 months and works great. How ever be easy on the iPod adaptor is now not staying in as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 8, 2012 Sony DSX-S100
Review by
Eddie from Frostburg, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed this stereo myself in a Ford Explorer. The install was easy enough given the wiring harness and mounting kit. The stereo worked better than I expected. The hidden iPod tray inside was really nice for charging my iPod while i was listening to it and the controls on the face of the unit were really easy to use. This stereo was also very easy to hook up to an amp and subs. It also works great in below freezing temperatures. I have had other stereos where the display would not work in the cold but this one was fine. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2012 GREAT BUY!!!!!
Review by
cowboy424 from Lubbock,TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For a first time installer on a radio it was very simple and wasnt hard at all for me, i really enjoy it, i have had no complications with it yet except that on some of its sound choices like Xplode space ect if i turn it up too loud it gets kinda crackly but if you keep it off for that it works great and you can mess with it and it does great its so easy a caveman can do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 30, 2012 LOVE IT
Review by
car audio freak from Mimi Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Its awesome i have it hooked up just have to get used to the controls but after that this thing is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 15, 2012 Very good!
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Fredy from Taylor, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I said this is a good choice to whoever likes to play their music all day long without stop. Great sound and nice look for the value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 16, 2011 another Quality Product from Sony
Review by
Daniel P. from Millersburg, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sounding Stereo, the iPod storage works just as advertized. Would not change a thing !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 26, 2011 awsome deck.
Review by
jarrod from chowchilla, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed this head unit in my jeep so i could listen to my tunes while on the trail without a skipping cd. works great i can now pound the hardest trails or hardcore rocks with the system maxed out and never miss a beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 9, 2011 Very Useful
Review by
Deaner from St. Catharines, ONTARIO, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I like this deck very much so far. I find that it is a better choice than a CD deck because no one uses CDs anymore. It is very easy to use - once you play around with it and figure out what buttons do what. I remember reading that some people didnt like the big blue light behind the control knob. At first it was kind of annoying, but i quickly got used to it. all in all no complaints so far and i have been showing it off to friends since i installed it. Very good review, would recommend for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 10, 2011 Great deal for the money!!!
Review by
Michael from Wheeling, WV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It works great, But in my case I used it on a Harley FLHTC and it needs more power to over come all of the road noise.I may have to get an amp to boost the power a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 14, 2011 Great Player!
Review by
Mike from Alhambra, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this Sony DSX-100 to mount on my Honda VTX motorcycle to use my iPod instead of using bulky CDs. It has plenty of power for the 5 1/2" Pyle speakers and sounds great at 80 mph! I just leave the iPod in it and have no power cord or cable from the iPod to dangle around while riding. The AM/FM tuner gets fair distance reception and would buy this unit again if I had to do over-Great Unit!--Mike Z
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 12, 2011 Great inexpensive stereo!
Review by
James from North Richland Hills, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm always behind the time when it comes to car stereo, but this is a fine choice if you don't have a smart phone.... saying that, get the model with the Bluetooth connectivity if you DO have a smart phone so you don't have to deal with the aux cord. I use the aux mostly for my phone, but i have my ipod with plenty of hours of mp3's to listen to...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 30, 2011 Good Stereo for a small truck
Review by
Effran from Olympia, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros: Price, Sound, easy to use, beautiful highs and mid-range sound, excellent usb features, mp3 playback, mp3 search
Cons: low - average base sound, no digital radio, analog radio has sub par reception.

Overall, I am pleased with the purchase. This Digital Media Receiver was a hit! I purchased another one for my 2000 Nissan Altima
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 30, 2011 Great Deal
Review by
MICHAEL from NEWTON, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put it in my daughters car. She likes the way the MP3 goes inside the radio and it works well too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 13, 2011 Worth it.
Review by
Marcus from Montgomery, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought two for both of my cars. Was going to get them online from W**-M*** but this site had them cheaper. Have had no problems at all out of both. Think they will only read around 6 gb. Tried a full 8 gb and it wouldn't read some of the last albums. Would be nice to be able to use any size. I use a 4 gb to make sure it will read all of it when full. That is still plenty of room for mp3's in a car. Display is large, bright, and multi lined. Have aftermarket speakers in one car and factory in the other. Sounds good in both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 24, 2011 misconception
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Andrew from Tucson, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The description says that there are 3 preamp inputs but on the device there are actually 2 preamp outputs and 1 bus input. I bought this thinking I could hook it all up and now I have to send it back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz