Showing 28 reviews for Tsunami HCAP-10

Customer Review Summary for Tsunami HCAP-10
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 28 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
75%
4 star:
.
.
18%
3 star:
.
.
4%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
.
4%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.5
Features
4.8
Design
5.0
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Cap 10

Great product!

VS
Tsunami-HCAP-10

Awesome, but not quite strong enough.I have A MECHMAN 270 AMP ALTERNATOR GROUP 34 ODYYSEY BATTERY UNDER THE HOOD,1/0 KNUKONCEPTS FOR POWER AND GROUND.AND 4400 WATTS TOTAL, 3000WATTS TO MY 1 SUBWOOFER. In a whole looks good not enought reserve. SO I BOUGHT A BATCAP 3000 AND IT IS BAD ASS.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
January 28, 2012 Cap 10
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Audio freak from Vegas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 7, 2012 Very nice
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Marcel from Amarillo, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a very nice cap and is built very good. One of my concerns were if it felt cheap and it does not. It is heavy not light and made of metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 1, 2011 Best performance for the price
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Steven from Winter Springs, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Incredible improvement over a former "brandname" 2 Farad cap. No more lights dimming or low voltage problems w/ amps. It's almost like having a separate power supply just for my stereo. Design of unit makes for a very clean install look and is very well built.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 6, 2013 Gerat product
Review by
tanya from brighton, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I own three of thees HCAP10 they do what there suppose to and no problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 26, 2013 Reliable!
Review by
Roberto from S.F. Bay Area
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have nothing but good things to say about this cap. I Replaced this capacitor from a 1 farad. It was easy to install & the display is a cool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 9, 2013 tsunami hcap-10 GREAT PRODUCT
Review by
sexpedition from chesapeake va
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this is great highly recommended if you want to do it big. it really makes a difference. i have three 800 watt amps in my expedition and it took it to a whole new level. it also helped with the lights. i have of course headlights but i also have 7 kc lights that dont get effected because i have the tsunami hcap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 31, 2013 Tsunami-HCAP-10
Review by
Loud from tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Awesome, but not quite strong enough.I have A MECHMAN 270 AMP ALTERNATOR GROUP 34 ODYYSEY BATTERY UNDER THE HOOD,1/0 KNUKONCEPTS FOR POWER AND GROUND.AND 4400 WATTS TOTAL, 3000WATTS TO MY 1 SUBWOOFER.
In a whole looks good not enought reserve. SO I BOUGHT A BATCAP 3000 AND IT IS BAD ASS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2012 great
Review by
garry from byron center, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
works well and have no issues to date. Did help with the dimming of the lights but not completely. would buy it again, just a higher farad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 27, 2012 Great power cap !!!!!
Review by
SALCEDO PRO SOUND from Orlando, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great power cap with extra outputs. Really helps out the power source in the vehicle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 14, 2012 High Quality Product
Review by
Lawson from Farmington, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This cap is extremely simple to install and works perfectly, supplying the amp with the extra stiffening amps it needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 12, 2012 Wow!
Review by
brady from Damascus, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This helped my system out tremendously! Couldn't be happier with the sound improvement by this impressive cap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 8, 2012 as advertised...
Review by
corie from chippewa falls, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This cap works well... the owners manual could be more helpful in explaining installation. There are covers that flip back on the sides that reveal the screw holes. There's a button to turn on the display. I love that the terminals are the perfect size for 0/1 guage or leave the sleave in and its perfect for 4 gauge. It is also very nice looking mounted next to my hifonics BRZ 2100. They match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 16, 2012 Super Cap!!
Review by
DODGE KNOCKIN!! from EUREKA, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This cap works excellent!! 8 months later still rocking loudly and crisp!!! Highly reccomend this one to anyone that beefs up there stereo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 5, 2012 Tsunami HCAP-10
Review by
roc from Houston TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works, my lights still dim when the bass from my 1000 watt alpine hits, but not as much as without the Tsunami cap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 29, 2011 excellent
Review by
fabian from miami florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm running two amps so far 1800 wat kenwood mono and pioneer 1500 wats no shutdown issues really powerfull unit thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2011 Tsunami HCAP-10
Review by
Who Cares? from half moon bay, california
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Not too impressed with this fancy cap. Headlights and dash lights still dim when the bass hits, and not even that hard. I installed everything up to standards, and used the maximum size wires to power the cap, amplifiers, and speakers. The amp is the correct wattage to speaker ratio, not straining the amp.

I do not recommend this capacitor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 15, 2011 Nice cap
Review by
Kyle from Kansas City, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
High farad cap that is also a distro block. Has inserts in the distro block for 4 gauge wire that can be taken out for larger gauge wire. Very low profile and great mounting which hides the screws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 19, 2011 Great Value
Review by
Raul from North Plainfield, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product! Received it new and spotless. Came right away and works perfectly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 19, 2011 love it
Review by
drivedrodrag97 from va
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 2, 2011 Tsunami HCAP - 10
Review by
FrankBcool from Albuquerque, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this capacitor for six months and I've had it wired two 3 different systems in the time I've owned it. I also haven't any problems or issues with it. It takes some time to charge correctly but no worse than most other caps. It greatly reduces the annoying headlight dimming when I'm running my BRUTUS at 1 ohm and 2400 W RMS feeding two 15's, It ALMOST COMPLETELY stops the headlight dimming when I'm running my amp at 2 ohms and 1700 W RMS feeding two PIONEER Champ series 10's. Every time I install a new system I sell my old stuff on line, I've sold two nice systems in the past few months but I always keep my TSUNAMI cap. This cap has been the best cap I've owned since getting into car audio. Sure, there are probably better caps out there, but you can't find one of this quality for this price. TSUNAMI is also a well known name, you wont be disappointed with this cap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 11, 2011 BUY THIS PRODUCT if you are running or plan on setting up a serious system
Review by
20SuperchargedIMPALA00 from Troy, Michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 3 Alpine amps totalling 2500 true watts of power (alpine MRD-M1000, MRP-M1000, FRP-F550) all running off this capacitor. I have a 1/0 guage wire from my battery (Yellow top deep cycle Ultima) and a 220amp alternator and 4 gauge wire run off the capacitor to each amp and I see absolutely no headlight dimming, no starvation of power to my amps (the MRD has a digital readout that will display current and amp draw in real time). It is small so you can mount it about anywhere unlike the cylinder type which are large and are difficult to find a mounting location.
It looks great, very user friendly, easy to mount, and does it's job well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 22, 2011 Cap
Review by
Brandon from Homer, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It's a cap it does what it says. Readout is pretty nice and sides pop off where u screw it down to hide the screws
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 7, 2011 Exactly what was missing!
Review by
Gazzychaz from Raleigh, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My amp (MTX Jackhammer 2400W) was taking a toll on my car battery, etc. With two 15" RF P3s the dmming and power shut off on the amp were going off quite regularly. This cap did the job and more-since the install-bever once have I had a problem (knock on wood) and the dial for the volts comes in handy as well. Definitely recommend for those who need a boost, but don't want the hassle of an added battery. Hope that helps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 4, 2011 bang for you buck
Review by
redgorilla209 from modesto CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had it for six months it still works its still doing what it was meant for it to do. I'm really happy with its performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 3, 2011 Store that extra juice!
Review by
Beau from Ashland City, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this capacitor from Sonic a few months back. It has worked very well and seemed to limit the voltage drop at the amplifier. Having a good deep cycle or AGM battery up front will certainly help for systems with over 800 continuous watts. When using amps this large, the Tsunami cap will give you extra headroom to make sure distortion is at a minimum at louder listening levels. Of course the proper gauge wiring should be used, along with the correct amperage ANL (slow blowing) fuse. This cap's terminals are very solid and made well... it serves as a distribution block also having 3 pos. & 3 neg. allen-head terminals. I have my Tsumani 10 farad cap running with my Fosgate T1500-1bdCp amp... Go ahead and click the add to cart button and order safely from Sonic, then feel assured that you are installing a quality piece of equipment when it arrives ; )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 20, 2010 Starvation mode
Review by
Johnny from Canada, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Its okay, There is still a little dim in the headlights. But not too noticeable. I was only using a 1,000 RMS amp. There all the same no matter what farad rating you have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 7, 2010 Tsunami is the Bomb!
Review by
Ace from Canada, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Without Tsunami I got dimming headlights at volume #16, Battery Volts at amp was 14.1v Engine running & volt drops as low as 10.5v. Now With Tsunami NO headlights dimming at all times. Battery Volts at amp is 14.6v Engine running & volt drops as low as 13.8v. Now I'm looking in to getting a newer more stronger 1,500 watt to 2,000 watt amp!

Specs for 5/10 Farad:
Capacitance Tolerance : 10%
Rated Voltage: 20.0 Volts
Surge Voltage: 24.0 volts
Maximum Internal Resistance:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 24, 2012 Decent CAP
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ahodge from Okc, Ok
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this product to go with my CVX 12's 2 ohms. Got it all hooked up but my voltage meter doesn't display, or the light doesnt come on. Obviously its working or my amps wouldnt be playing. Not sure why the voltage display doesnt show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz