Showing 33 reviews for Stinger RKX36B

Customer Review Summary for Stinger RKX36B
Average Customer Rating is 4.9 out of 5 stars:
4.9
based on 33 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
94%
4 star:
.
.
6%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.9
Value
4.9
Features
4.8
Design
4.9
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
April 7, 2014 simply awesome
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
DJ RU from Morristown, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
by far superior to most. works better then dynamat. and price is much better. very thick, very sticky, and does what its advertised to do.. good size for doing the doors on a 4 door G8!!!! i will be ordering another kit in next 3 weeks to finish my car! also love the raised logos on it.! to sonic PLEASE DO NOT STOP SELLING THIS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 10, 2014 Worked for me! 2010 Silverado CrewCab
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Denton from Oologah, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very happy so far. So far I have only applied the sound deadener to all four doors of my Crew Cab Silverado. I have yet to cover the back wall or the roof, it is my understanding that most of the road noise from my truck comes from the vents in the back wall. Now that the doors are deadened I would say that is true. I can really tell a difference on gravel roads.
The smell is very, very minimal. There was a slight oder on the first day that the weather got warm, but It was not a problem. I have not used any other brand of deadener, so I can not do a comparison. Based on what I have done and read so far, I do recommend this product over the others. I originally thought one big roll would be better, I am happy this came in multiple large sheets. I was able to cut this and the aluminum backing very easily with scissors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 22, 2013 Works as promised
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Danno from Manitou Springs, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The material is very easy to install. It is forgiving if you don't press too hard as you are adjusting its' position. It bends easily and therefore it is no problem to apply to curved areas. I put this in all of the doors, reaching into the void of the door so as to be just behind the outside of the panel. It made a huge difference in the sound produced by my door mounted Infinity coaxial speakers...less tinny sound, punchier mids and lows. When I tap on the outside panel of the doors they went from "ting, ting, ting" to "thud, thud, thud. Closing the doors now has a nice solid feel. I also removed all of the seats and carpet and covered the entire floor. Next will be over the headliner. So my 2000 Jeep Cherokee is now really quite quiet inside. It seems to have good insulating properties as well. As an added bonus the quality of Bluetooth phone conversations through the head unit's microphone is very much improved. I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a high quality, sound/vibration deadening material that is easy to install. Definitely buy and use the roller made by the same company to get the best reults that are sure to last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 20, 2014 Best in sound damping
Review by
Ray from San Felipe Pueblo, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've have bought couple of stinger sound damping materials an they are great to use did a whole car once an now working on a SUV definetly worth buying little cheaper then others but worth your buck would like to buy more to finish off bottom floor then the foam next but it's worth it I recommend to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 13, 2014 great product, great value
Review by
Josh from Virginia Beach, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I used this kit to line the cab of my 4 door tacoma for my install of two 12" Kicker Comp VRs and I was amazed at the results. At mid volume you cannot hear the music outside of the truck at all. It was very easy to apply and feels like better quality than dynamat at a better price. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a quieter interior and Better sounding audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 1, 2014 Worked great
Review by
William from blaine, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Was easy to lay down and work with.with a proper roller it was just 2 hours to do whole car.made a huge diff in a c3 vette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 31, 2013 Good Product, Good Price
Review by
Piper Dude from Hughson, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product in comparison to DynaMat is substantially the same. The price is outstanding and the service/shipping from Sonic was great. A local upholstery shop owner was surprised by the price and asked me for the web page for Sonic. I used Road-Kill from a different supplier some time back. I will now go with Sonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 Not as bloody as some people say.
Review by
Randy from Abilene, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I mention that only because some claim to have issues cutting themselves on the aluminum backing which I have done only once because of my own foolishness. As long as you don't run your fingers or hand across the edges there is nothing to be concerned about. I used a pair of household scissors to cut the material and a rubber stamp roller to smooth it out. I didn't wear gloves because they kept me from applying enough pressure and I just needed the agility without them to get the material in place. I'm more into complete coverage than what is recommend by a few others so it's going to take about 3 bulk packages to finish my car if I don't add a layer to the underneath. As far as how the sound after installation it is almost night and day but so far I've only done the trunk and doors so only time will tell. I still have a few sheets left from my 2nd bulk kit and next up will be to do the roof but I'm a little busy at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Excellent product
Review by
Christoffer from Calgary, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i own a nissan 350z and i did my whole car with this kit.

it has excellent adhesion and dampens better than any dynamat products i've used.

i would recommend this product to anyone looking to quiet their ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 7, 2013 Stinger RKX36B
Review by
Bradley from Springfield, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product works wonderfully! To owners of larger vehicles(mine is a '94 Grand Marquis): this 36 sq ft JUST covers the entire trunk, including trunk lid ;) :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 19, 2013 Easy adhering!!!
Review by
A.T.M. from West Terre Haute, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm currently working on putting a wall in my 1996 Chevy Blazer and i was having trouble deciding on which brand to choose. Finally I chose this Stinger bulk pack and I am very satisfied with how well it adheres to the surface after cleaning. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking for a good quality and reliable deadener. Thanks Sonicelectronix and Stinger for the awsome products and great shipping time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 5, 2013 Great product at a great price
Review by
Erick from Keller, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I give this product 5 stars not because it is necessarily any better than other brands, but just because it is every bit as good as any other I've used and its way cheaper than some of the other brands. I honestly thought it might be lower quality with the price being so low so I started out with the door kit so I could try it without comitting to a large amount of it. Worked beautifully! Worked so well that I bought the 36 sq ft bulk pack and another 20 sq ft bulk pack which ended up being plenty to do both my car and my wife's car (2013 Sonata and 2011 Elantra).

One thing I noticed is that I did not cut my hands up on it like I have in the past on other brands, probably due to the thickness of the aluminum. It sticks to the surfaces great. Just clean the surface if needed, then apply. If the temps are warm, you can even do it without heating and really feel it adhering just fine. I typically still heat up any odd shaped areas with a hair dryer and roll it good just to be sure.

No doubt about it, this product is every bit as good as those costing way more. I've used them all and from now on I will choose Stinger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 6, 2012 As expected
Review by
aldo from austin, tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Looking around i believe this is a very fair price. this was the first time ive used a product like this and it was very easy even for a beginner. easy to apply and easy to cut and manipulate onto surfaces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 6, 2012 Sound Dampening
Review by
Buckethead from Cherry Hill, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have purchased Dynamat before and have had good results. I decided to try Stinger's product because it was significantly cheaper when compared to Dynamat Xtreme. The application of the Stinger dampening was comparable to Dynamat Xtreme but found that Stinger was more difficult to cut. The two products are almost identical in specifications but theres a big difference in price. So if you want to save a good amount of cash, Stinger is the product for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 1, 2012 Best Value for the Money
Review by
EJ from Maine
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Way cheaper than Dynamat and just as good, if not better quality. Def. recommend this product and SonicElectronix for great deals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 15, 2012 Good Stuff
Review by
Richard from Graham, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is the first and only sound dampening material that I have used so I have nothing to compare it to, but for me it worked great. Easy to cut and apply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 1, 2012 just as good as Dynamat
Review by
Trevor from Oshawa,Ontario, CANADA, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
the stinger roadkill is just as good as dynamat, installed this in the trunk of my 96 Capice, i also have a bit of dynamat in my trunk too, and they are pretty much the same thickness, i covered over the dynamat i had with the roadkill, this stuff works great so if you want to save some money get the stinger roadkill, there is no rattles in my trunk. very good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 21, 2012 Product review
Review by
me from Sacramento
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It was easy to install and easy to manipulate. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 4, 2012 Better Than Dynamat
Review by
Mike from Brooklyn, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Honestly, i was a bit weary of getting away from dynamat which is what i put in my girlfriends scion tc (entire car is done). i have stinger in my dodge caliber and its just as good, IF NOT BETTER than dynamat, without the dynamat price. i purchased just on "full car kit" (36 square) and it was just enough to do the trunk area by the subs and about 3/4 of the roof. Need to buy more for the floor. But already with just this amount completed i can already tell this is better. i have an aftermarket exhaust on my car and cant tell the difference between stock and aftermarket. Also the clarity of my subs is night and day. Had the local stereo shop mic my car before and after and i went from 128.6 db to 133.8 db. So for just over 100 bucks about 5 db???? ill take that anyday of the week. Sonic you never disappoint. Will be back shortly for more =]

Con: (the only one. its a pain to work with but youre going to get that with any sound dampening material with a tar backing and foil that cuts up ur fingers if ur not using a roller.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 3, 2012 Amazing
Review by
trevor from limerick, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is an amazing product. That's all you need to know. A lot cheaper than any other brands, and works just as well. I got 2000W running out of my sub, and wow it made it sound 10 times louder after installing this. Great buy and will buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 25, 2012 Definitely worth it
Review by
86 Dime from 'bama
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Figured it would help with road noise, make the stereo sound quality better, ect. Anyway, this package covered the entire floor, the roof, and the back wall of the truck (standard cab). Took it out for a spin and could definately tell the difference. Should have done it a long time ago. Installation was easy. Would buy again for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 7, 2012 Works better than intended
Review by
Jay from Mountain Home, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Did my entire truck with this and another kit, bass stays inside, SPL increases as well as sound clarity, it is much cooler and sounds better. Gonna win this years SPL competition!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 1, 2012 Stinger!!!!!!
Review by
Michael from Pima, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great stuff! Works as intended! Can be a pain to install but i found it best to lay it in the sun and get it warm before installing. A little dissapointed with the shipping though. Took Sonic over a week to get it shipped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 27, 2011 Worth every penny
Review by
Ron from Lakewood, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great item. Had just enough to cover some trunk space and all doors. Would recommend purchasing these over Dynamat which is more costly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 21, 2011 Stinger roadkill
Review by
TC from Plainfield IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Happy with the stinger roadkill, good performance and value. Same as dynamat without dynamat price. Peel and stuck application is easy to work with I would use a small roller to work out any trapped air for a better install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 21, 2011 Great for the price
Review by
Crystal from Billings, MT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product and does what is says. Be sure to measure to see if you need more. I had to get 3 the do the whole trunk and doors in a 01 Buick century. It took 2 just for the trunk. Easy to install but be sure to get a roller, it makes life much easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 1, 2011 AS GOOD AS DYNAMAT FOR LESS $$$$$$$$$$$$
Review by
cesar from las vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I went to local shops in Las Vegas and i found dynamat and stingers brand, both of these were expensive, plus tax! but i was able to compare both of these products side by side and they both weigh the same and are the same thickness. I knew that sonic carried both of these products but i wasn't sure what was best... in the end I looked at the price difference and stinger is sold for 109.00 for 36sq ft when dynamat is 150.00 for the same amount. I chose stinger, and so far it did what it was made for, to stop trunk rattle and make your sytem sound like its supossed to do! I have a pontiac G5 2009 and i was able to aplly this to my 2 doors and my trunk. Im getting another bulk pack to cover up my back dash and floor of my car just to have a silent ride. This pack would NOT be enough too do a huge suv or truck unless all you want to do is cover doors. You must get a roller and were gloves when installing this product, the foil can cut your hands. Once again SonicelEctronix has the best prices and fast shipping. I received it in 2 days !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 29, 2011 Great Buy!
Review by
K-Ill from Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I triple layered all of my doors with Dynamat Extreme and then covered with Dynaliner. For the floor and back of the cab in my truck I used Stinger's bulk pack. I can honestly say that there is no difference at all between Stinger and Dynamat but the prices. If you are having a difficult time deciding just go with Stinger because it's a lot cheaper and performs just as well as Dynamat. I wish I would have saved some cash and put Stinger on my doors as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 19, 2011 Smart Buy.
Review by
Marty from Baker, Mt
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have purchased and used this kit from Sonic several times. It's value is unparalleled in any brand and performs as well as any other also. If you do the math, this kit comes out to just a shade over $3 sq/ft. All others are in the $4 to $6 dollar range. No brainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 21, 2011 works great
Review by
james from columbia, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
works just as good as dynamat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 13, 2011 Stinger rocks!
Review by
Birdman from boston ma
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The stinger bulk pack is a great deal on Sonic! The stinger expert roadkill does everything as advertised. It's very pliable...sticks without prep and makes your car cool and quiet and is easy to install! Great product and every bit as good as dynamat and a better bang for the buck!! Go buy some now if want a rattle free car for your booming system!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 16, 2010 Great Product at a Great price
Review by
Ultimateherts from MASS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I use this in my car and for the price currently of $109.99 with free shipping it can't be beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 1, 2012 Should've Bought This Sooner
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Younggg Yuh from Riverside, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this to install in my 2008 Yaris (tin can kinda car). This product is unbelievable. I had enough of this to cover the entire backside of my car, the side walls, wheel wells, and the doors (i covered the doors completely on the inside and out). My speakers sound ridiculously better and my car is a LOT quieter. I've used dynamat products before but this beats it, no joke. Stinger is thicker and easier to work with. I couldn't have asked for a better product.

Oh, wear gloves when you work with this. I like working with my bare hands and ended up slicing my fingers and hands a total of 17 times. Almost passed out cause of so much blood loss LOL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz