Showing 10 reviews for JL Audio XD700/5

Customer Review Summary for JL Audio XD700/5
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 10 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
80%
4 star:
.
.
10%
3 star:
.
.
10%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.4
Value
4.5
Features
4.8
Design
4.7
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
September 8, 2012 Nice power amp but it didn't make it a year...
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
JR from Dallas, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros: Good power output, decent warm sound for class D, clean solid design. Everything we have come to know and love about JL Audio is there.

Cons: No built in fuse (so more parts to buy), Mine didn't last a year and just sent it back for warranty replacement. Sound started cutting out intermittantly and then back to normal volume a few minutes later, then cut out. Replaced amp with my Kappa Five while I'm waiting for warranty replacement. Sonic's Service agent said it was defective after testing. (Here's to hoping the new one is better)

Overall: I bought it for the power and it seems to have plenty for my setup ( listed below). The design is not flashy it's a clean conservative look, and the size is perfect for stealth installs. The XD700/5's sound is pretty good although my Infinity Kappa Five has more clarity on the high end frequencies. Kappa Five lacks the power on the Sub channel even though the XD700/5 and Kappa Five are rated roughly the same power-wise.

I will be installing my replacement XD700/5 for sure, I just hope my first one was just one of those things and the new one is what I would expect from JL Audio.

Thanks Sonic Electronics for the easy return / exchange process. I've spent some $$$ with you guys over the years and you haven't let me down.

KW-AVX840 Head, Infinity Kappa 63.9c, Infinity Kappa 693.9I, JL Audio CP212-W0v3 Subs.... Cruisin' in my Impala, Just waiting on more power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 30, 2013 Tight!
Review by
Jason from Penticton, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is easier to install as all the inputs are on the same side and the adjustments are all on top. The guide to set the preset levels were easy to follow. This amp is small and fits easily behind the seat of my chevy crew cab. I powers Infinity reference components x4 and a10" Rockford Fosgate shallow sub. I would recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 24, 2013 Good Product
Review by
JR from Bartlett, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Used this amp to add Alpine SPR-60c (front) and SPR60 (rear) to 2013 GMC with factory HU. Speakers needed more power and this amp worked just fine but doors were deaden to enhance the mid bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 20, 2012 Beware of this Amp
Review by
SLIM from Henderson, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Purchased this amp late last year new from Sonic. It made it only a few months before I started having problems with it, same issues posted by JR on 09/08/12. I sent the amp back to Sonic for repair and got it back 2.5 months later only for them to say "could not duplicate problem". Prior to the return, I did extensive testing on RCA's, Speakers, Passive Crossovers, etc and it is definitely the amp. On a positive note, the amp was pretty darn impressive while it lasted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 23, 2012 JL Audio "KICKS"
Review by
E from AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is awesome, compact & very clean. Thought about buying another one for wife's car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 30, 2012 JL AUDIO XD700/5
Review by
mihail from melbourne victoria, 0, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
What a great amp!!! It is small, but more than able to back it up with ample punch!!! I`m driving 4 Focal splits and two JL 10" subs and it is more than up to the task of powering them all in a small package. Being a full class D, with more efficiency and runs cool. It deifinately has to be one of the best 5-channel amps out there A++++.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 23, 2012 Rod Cooke
Review by
Rod from Sydney, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Beautifully designed & featured amplifier. Performs magnificantly. Would recommend this amp to any one who needs a compact amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 7, 2012 JL AUDIO XD700/5
Review by
JP from Pierre, SD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have had this amp installed for about 6 months now with zero problems. It has done everything it advertised it would do and was small enough to easily hide. I would buy this again!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 19, 2011 Powerful little amp
Review by
Exavier from Deltona, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is not only beautiful but powerful. The amp size is equal to a Nintendo Wii. Yes it is that small but its built tough. I only had it for a couple of days but I love the amp features. I love that the amp is a class d and won't draw a lot of current. The music is nice, clean and very detailed. I have this amp powering (4) rockford fosgate speakers and a Boston acoustics 12 g2 in a sealed box. I look for excuses to drive my car so I can play my music. I have no regrets I am satisfied customer. Great job JL audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 31, 2010 A+ amp
Review by
Jason from MI, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ok this amp is great. I bought mine to replace my huge kicker amp. There is no alt. whine or, hiss from the speakers while the volume is low. Very good signal to noise ratio. This amp pushes my entire system with out any distoration, even at very high volume. But the very BEST part of the amp is its size. My kicker amp was 3 times the size. The JL amp fit under my front seat along with a 1 Fared Cap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz