Showing 19 reviews for The Install Bay IB500

Customer Review Summary for The Install Bay IB500
Average Customer Rating is 5.0 out of 5 stars:
5.0
based on 19 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
100%
4 star:
.
0%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.9
Value
5.0
Features
4.9
Design
4.9
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
June 2, 2011 Does Exactly What I Needed It To Do
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Woofers74 from Sedro Woolley, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My experience is professional. This 500 amp continuous duty relay does not have the voltage drop that a solid state battery isolator has and does a much better job of charging auxiliary batteries through. This one had the highest amperage rating for the price. It clicks on with a very heavy and solid "thunk" like you would expect from a heavy duty solenoid.

You will need to use an AND gate with this relay, or any other such device so that it isn't energized when you have your ignition switch in the start position or the accessories position. I chose this one for its high capacity to insure a much longer contact life.

I will definitely be buying more of these for future RV and high power sound system needs and would most certainly recommend it to a friend or relative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 15, 2014 Install Bay IB500
Review by
PCNut from Layton UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good Product worked great best price online I could find for a relay with 500 amp capacity. Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2014 works great
Review by
J from NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easy install great black shiny color and like all other reviews u can hear a good click when turned on. Makes me feel its of high quality and it obviously is because it works great gave had NO problems since the 5 months its been installed theres no point in buying a 200 when the 500 is like $5 more? Overall great product and website. Definitely recommend both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 13, 2014 works like it should!
Review by
Fraz from BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Keeps my 2000w system running on stinger deep cycles from dipping into the van 's power supply, a nice heavy 'thunk' is heard when the isolator turns on. Bang for your buck and a simple solution for headlight dimming. Only con could be the lack of installation instructions and terminal indication symbols for the first timer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 16, 2014 Great for use with extra battery
Review by
Clarence from Hyattsville, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This worked perfectly for my setup with an extra battery! I use this with a switch when I have my car turned off so I don't drain my main car battery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 11, 2014 excellent product
Review by
Carlos from Springfield, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this product about your gall still work fine what's good about it even before I purchase my baby alternator but it looks good still work fine so I left it in the cart still using it in today recommend it to anybody to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 9, 2013 super battery relay
Review by
mar'key from hawthorne ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased one that wasn't as good as this one from another distributor
and it caused a lot of problems when it shorted. it took me a while to find out. I recommended that when installing this item you put in the best to avoid problems in the future and make sure the person that works on your car knows what he is doing because you'll regret it. also the price was great and free shipping can't beat that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 A++
Review by
Boss from Washington, DC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works great. You can't even hear it activate. I use it with a relatively low power system but I love to bump my music with the engine off so I installed one of these to make sure I don't kill my main battery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 29, 2013 Keep Ya Batts From Fighting!
Review by
Walter from Omaha, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this 500 amp isolator keep all my batteries from killing each other...don't listen to so-called pros that tell you not to use a isolator! its a must for daily driver systems with this three batteries a 6 farad cap big 3 and a stock 120 amp alternator I never drop below 14 volts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 28, 2013 solid product
Review by
Michael from Arlington, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
1400 watts of sound system with 250 amp alt with optima yellow top and kinetic batt in trunk. this handles both with ease. really a must for higher powered electronics. Heavy duty unit. Great price for large power handling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 31, 2013 Great Buy!!
Review by
spillz from atl,Ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I Installed this product in my car 6 months ago and it works great my batterys get more than enough juice to charge them and fast...this is a great add on to multiple battery banks for any application that serves it..I love it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 14, 2013 Isolator
Review by
Tyler from Prior Lake, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Nice and durable. Feels solid. Haven't actually got it to charge my second battery yet but it does isolate them. I think it's because my car's alternator isn't strong enough. Has good connections and the ring terminals I used fit nice and snug. Had some trouble installing it myself due to a slight flaw in it's design (couldn't put bolts as close as I wanted them to be due to the cylinder being a bit too wide). Otherwise no problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 28, 2013 Great Buy
Review by
Minor in Bassology from Baton Rouge, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very sturdy, and easy installation. Have been using this for about 6 months without a relay and i have abused it and still have not had any problems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 28, 2013 very solid:
Review by
DARKSTAR from NEWELL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed one of these on my 1997 k1500 last year and i have had. On trouble at all. I installed a backup battery and have had the main battery go dead but with this ib500 it kicked the backup battery in
and the truck started right up. These relays DO NOT FAIL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 23, 2012 isolater/relay
Review by
Barry from manteca, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The isolater relay has worked flawlessly for me since i have put it in my pathfinder and it was very easy to install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 9, 2012 Best priced high quality
Review by
Rick from Queens, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
After 2 years of using this it still works! Best relay isolator I ever used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 25, 2011 Good product
Review by
Tim from Tucson, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've only had it for a couple days, but it works great so for. I tested it and lets the volts go through like I need to charge the other battery. When I turn the car on you hear a heavy click, witch I have to say I like to hear. For the price and the amp of the relay it's a good buy. I bought this one, because I want to upgrade the alternator on my car. I wish Sonic sold that too, but maybe some day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 21, 2011 Great product
Review by
Jake from Fishers, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Cheap and does what it needs to... Isolates the batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 16, 2011 Good isolator
Review by
Jacob from Fishers, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Does exactly what it should
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz