Showing 10 reviews for Kicker DS6.2 (11DS6.2)

Customer Review Summary for Kicker DS6.2 (11DS6.2)
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 14 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
71%
4 star:
.
.
14%
3 star:
.
.
7%
2 star:
.
.
7%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.4
Value
4.7
Features
4.6
Design
4.9
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
March 29, 2011 Very very good, not perfect
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Scott from Boston Area
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had an installer put these in a 2011 Subaru Impreza Sedan with what they called premium sound. Front fit with baffles was good, tweeter went in the side mirror. Backs were mounted coaxially by cutting down the grill to two opposing supports only and using spacers to raise up the tweeter so it doesn't hit the mids.

A good upgrade over stock. Tweeters are clear without harshness. Mids have good mid-bass which covers most music. I think I'm missing something between the drivers. It probably requires equalization to fix. I also suspect that the relative speed of the drivers are mismatched. The mid magnet has good heft. Overall construction quality is more than you should expect at this price point. Piano reproduction isn't perfect, but that's an acid test.

They come alive at higher volume settings. Definitely excellent for pop. The tweeters in the back doors, with the crossover switch to high actually don't get lost down there. It probably helps that they had to be pushed out to fit. The DS6.2 makes the most of stock low-wattage radios.

Refinement could be better. Definition too. Unfair to ask at this price. That's why focals get the big bux. At 5+ instruments there's some loss of timbre, though you still can hear each one. Orchestras aren't mud, but aren't high def either. Sara Barelles has excellent presence through the tweets. Sarah Brightman, in Anytime Anywhere, distorts the mids at the intro. Double bass pizzicato just is out of range for the mids. Infair, since they make transients under 100 hz, but still, so you know. You probably also lose kick drum. Get a sub-woofer if that's important, and don't try to let the mids handle all that.

I'd check Polk at this price range. They have this advanced computer modeling which has really done wonders for small speaker design. Very coherent. I've used them for patio speakers and they're excellent. Unimaginable quality for just a few years ago.

I got Kickers for the fit. No regrets. The Kicker sound is not harsh, very livable and lively. I was afraid since they made their name in thumpers, but no. They're basically honest and musical within their limits. Other than asking them to be sub-woofers, they would not distort at volume levels that should provoke ear damage out of 8W a channel. Quite an achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 3, 2013 awesome
Review by
Christopher from jena, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
these speakers are awesome, have them in the door of my 99 silverado and they fit perfect no mods needed. people have told me they have never heard a system as good as mine when it comes to quality. have kicker 4x6s in the rear all are running off a kenwood headunit with two kicker 10s under the back seat running off 500watt amp and all the sound stage is nice and balanced. kicker rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Great Component set!!
Review by
Ken from Burlington, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I originally purchased a set of the MB Quart Formula Series 6.5" Components. Upon install I found that one of the woofers was blown. (scratchy noise with bass) Sonic Electronix came through for me with a full refund! I applied this to the Kicker set and have never looked back! These sound sooo much better than the MB's ever did! Great sound for not alot of money!! I plan to buy one more set for my rear doors. Thanks Sonic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2013 GREAT BUY!
Review by
Adam from Bolton, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just installed these in my 95 bronco. not the best fit, but i knew that when buying them. the hardest part was the pillar because i didn't already have a spot for the tweeters.
the speakers themselves, great sound, good bass and an incredible range or frequencies. never was a fan of kicker but with the right price i had to buy them and i wasn't disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 17, 2013 Awesome Speakers
Review by
jason from Berwick, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put these bad boys in my truck and had them running off of the pioneer deck for about 3 months and I was really happy with them but then i came across a good deal on an amp and hooked these up to it and wow is all I can say. The highs came alive and was really clear even at extremely loud volumes after amping them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 15, 2013 Nice sound
Review by
Gee from Miami
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Real nice sound capable of being clear at a high volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 22, 2012 Excellent Sound
Review by
Steelerskickass from Malvern Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I actually put these speakers in my golf cart. Have never owned a better sounding set of speakers in my life. I am very pleased with the way they look and sound. I used no amp and these things crank. Will never buy nothing but KICKERS again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 10, 2012 great value
Review by
smily from fort myers, florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are good. They perform at a very well standard. There really isn't anything bad about these speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 23, 2011 Kick a** speakers
Review by
1 Mosin from Dekalb, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed these in my 2011 Kia Sorento LX. The factory speakers were crap. $5 speakers at best.
Livin loud is right on. These speakers do not need an aftermarket amp. If I turn up the volume they will vibrate the rear view mirror. Well done, Kicker. I will buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 2, 2011 A+
Review by
mitchell from mequon, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are great speakers for the price. I have them custom fitted into my car in between my back seat in a sedan. they are clean and have good midbass. Great speaker to have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz