Showing 38 reviews for Kicker DS65 (11DS65)

Customer Review Summary for Kicker DS65 (11DS65)
Average Customer Rating is 4.4 out of 5 stars:
4.4
based on 38 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.2
Value
4.7
Features
4.3
Design
4.7
Usability
4.5
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
September 17, 2013 Clear sound
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mario from San Lorenzo, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These Kicker 6 1/2 are loud & clear sounding. But lack of bass. Still an ok buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 12, 2011 Great Deal !!!
9 of 15 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Troy from Athens, Alabama
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put these in my Durango that has an Infinity system. The installation was a breeze after changing the connectors. The 6.75 inch speakers fit the stock spacer rings, NO MODIFICATIONS. Everything went back together and looks just like it did. The speakers sounded a little flat at first but the more we play them, the better they sound. The bass has really gotten stronger and vibrates the doors. I recommend these so much I am going to install some in my Ram.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 12, 2012 great
7 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ed from Raleigh, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Speakers are great replacements for factory speakers. I like them a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 11, 2012 Kicker DS65 REVIEW
7 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Copper 50 from Chicago, Il
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had these speakers for about six months now and they have not failed to impress me. Great sound for an awesome price. Sonic's customer service is great too!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 12, 2014 For the price I couldn't be happier!
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Kyle from Maple Valley, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got these for my 93 Corolla, for the back.
The sound output on them is fantastic just running off my Kenwood deck. They don't make much bass but they do make pretty decent midbass to go with the 10 in my trunk. I highly recommend these to anyone looking for cheap pretty balanced sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 5, 2013 Best bang for you buck
7 of 13 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
El Jefe from Las Vegas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very good voice clarity , bass is ok, I would expect a bit more bass from this product. Installed in 2010 accord, for the front doors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 30, 2013 Kinda Sorta Pretty Good
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Scooter from Cleveland, Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
They're great speakers for the money, can handle the volume.. but they dont really have any mids.. at all.. cant seem to find them whenever I change the bass and treble settings... thats the only bad I have to say about these
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2013 Poor Quality
7 of 13 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Black Panther from Arvada, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Kickeró I have heard different stories about Kicker and have seen other stores say kicker are good. So I decided to try kicker and see what all the hype was I bought these 6-1/2 speakers. Since these speakers were 6-1/2 oversize they did not fit correctly in my doors, I knew that when I bought then so that was my fault. Then once I got them installed they sounded good but then once I started to increases the volume straight from my head unit low and behold they started to have a buzz sound in them, so I took them out and come to find out one of the speaker leads to the tweeter were lose. Right then and there proved to me the type of craftsman ship and quality that kicker has. They have one of the worst craftsmen for speakers I have ever seen. In my mind Kicker products are cheap and overpriced. I will never buy any Kicker product knowing what I know now. If you are looking at Kicker look at other high quality brands for the price, you will get a better quality product that will last a long time for your hard earned money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 18, 2012 Nice little kickers
7 of 13 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Evan from Racine, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend these to anyone on a budget that wants clear punchy sound. They drop off big time on the low end but that's normal for a 6.5" coaxial driver. I would recommend you throw a 100hz bass blocker to prevent over-driving the woofer as its VERY easy to blow these little guys with any amount of bass. For the price and what they are I am very happy with these drivers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 23, 2012 sounding good!
7 of 13 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
JESSE from HARTSELLE, ALABAMA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
these speakers sound really and made a big difference to the sound coming out my truck's door panels. I'M SATISFIED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 18, 2012 Kicker 11DS65
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ssirren from Magna
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered these speakers six months ago and I totally love them. I put them in my '95 Camaro, and the sound quality is awesome! I would definitely recommend them to anyone and everyone. I actually plan on buying another pair in the near future. Kicker Rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 10, 2012 Kicker DS65 (11DS65)
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Vision358 from Filer, Idaho
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these speakers for the front stage in my '96 GMC Sierra. The installation was kind of a pain, but that's because Chevy/GMC make doors a pain. The fit was perfect though. While they were in, running off the HU, they sounded great for the price, really crisp and clear, not the best bass, but the subs took care of that. I have them in my room now in a box that I made, and they are SO crisp and tight, they really brightened the sound in my room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 29, 2012 Awesome Kicker speakers!
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Chuck Scar from Chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I replaced the speakers in my 04 chevy tahoe with 6X9's in the front doors and 6 1/2's in the back doors. The sounds is awesome! They really take the abuse too! I have an upgraded GPS DVD unit in the dash and it pumps out some really great power. The Kicker speakers were very reasonably priced. The name and the price is what tempted me to buy them, I would buy again if these ever fail but the speaker is so tough that I dont see them failing. Kicker makes a fantastic speaker and I couldn't be happier!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 15, 2012 Great Buy!
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
joel from westport, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have these speakers hooked up in my 99 Chevy s-10 along with another set of comp speakers and let me tell you they are awesome. These paired up with my kicker comp 15Ē make a good system that is super clean and hitís hard. These components put out clear crisp highs and midís while the sub takes care of the lows, WOULD RECCOMEND!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 18, 2012 very cheap speakers...maybe too cheap
6 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Carlos from Wittmann, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought a pair of Kicker DS65 and installed them in my car. The installation was very simple and easy, and the speakers sound very clear at low to mid volume, but not very good at high volume. One of my speakers just quit working after just 5 months though, and I am not very happy with them at all. I replaced these cheap speakers with the more pricey KS60, and have not had any problems with them so far. In my opinion, invest a little more money and get the KS60; it's worth the extra money you pay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2012 Kicker 6.5"
7 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Timothy from Spring, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I used this speaker to replace the 6.5" subwoofer in my 1997 Lincoln Town Car and used two to replace the factory rear door speakers in my 2004 Trailblazer. It works well in the Town Car, good crisp bass, pops appropriately without a lot of static resonance wher it just "buzzes" out the tone. Not a lot of noise bleed into the trunk or outside the car.
In the Trailblazer the speakers are not amped very well and the ohms drain the system so you have to keep the volume much higher. This speaker is built as a two way but I find the mids lacking but would definitely recommend this speaker for an affordable bass/subwoofer alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 6, 2012 GREAT VALUE
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Brandon from glendale, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased a complete system, head unit, speakers subs, 2 amps etc and these were pretty much one of the cheapest things I purchased and I have to say, NOT BAD. They sound pretty great and didn't break the bank. Thanks again Sonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2012 Fred
7 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Fred from conway
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers do not fit a Dodge Dakota with out modifing instalation!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 1, 2011 Great sound
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Casey from Louisville, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These sounded great, put them in my SUV (Montero Sport XLS 2000). Installation was fairly easy, had to cut the old wires and splice them with these but that was easy enough although I was sure I'd mess it up at first.

The sound: Low bass, nice highs, all around great. The bass actually hits real nice, I had an aftermarket head unit, no aftermarket amp. If you want to get the full experience I'd get an amp, at high volumes there is distortion but thats to be expected, aftermarket speakers should need a stronger amp.

I drive a 2010 Focus now, and these speakers sound better than the stock ones in it.

Negatives: If it were coupled with an adapter to connect to the old speakers terminals I would have been alot more pleased, but hey can't complain.

My delivery took 2 days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 23, 2011 Kicker Ds65
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
robert from corona, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Arrived very quickly, these fit into my Mitsubishi Montero Sport. I had to screw in new holes but no big deal. For the money, these are great speakers. Not as boomy as I was hoping but these are not Subwoofers. All in All I am very happy with these. Now I can crank up the tunes with no distortion or cracking, popping from my old factory speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 28, 2011 Wow
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Bigsam from LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would so recommend these. There are Kicker for crying out load so yes very load good mid bass and the high end is great love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 crackling
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
TY from Phoenix, Az
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
purchased a set and with in a month one is already making crackling noise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 great buy
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Steven from Tehachapi, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed these speakers and love them. I would recommend these to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 8, 2013 Failed Speakers
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Gene from Aberdeen, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
At first these were great. After a few months I started hearing distortion then one of them blew and only the tweeter works now. Looks good, but I should have spent the extra for the ks65 set. I figured 50 watts rms was enough but I forgot to factor in the fact that I have an after market deck ( Pioneer Premier) plus have this deck interested into my factory amplifier setup (Infiniti G20). I probably blew them up by overpowering them but they took abuse for months prior to blowing up but I just ordered the Precision Power 652 set with crossover so maybe they will hold up better than these under high power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2012 Great speakers
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Cali_Life from SB,CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good price and fast delivery is what made me buy these speakers. Installation was easy and they are way better than stock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 20, 2012 omg 47$ i put a 50 watt rms amp on them all i can say is go kicker
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
nathan from oxford, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased them for my back deck in a '98 Golf with a 50 watt RMS amp on them. The bass is good and crisp. I would buy them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 16, 2012 Great bass in a small package, but clarity could be better
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mike Fish from Orlando, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These installed in a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee, in the rear doors, replacing the stock speakers (not a simple install; had to drill). Immediately, of course, the sound was much better than factory. I was impressed with how much more bass these pumped out, especially for their relatively small size. The highs are definitely clearer than stock, but not quite as good as I expected. Vocals sound good, but not really any better than stock. I listen mostly to classic rock and rock, and they do a good job playing these styles of music. They seem well built and able to handle high power. Distortion levels at high volumes are notably low. Since these are rear speakers for me, they work great as "fill", adding ambience to my listening experience. I can't say how they would work as front speakers, but, my guess is they would work pretty well, provide good bass, good highs and average mids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 31, 2012 Best Bang for the Buck!!!!!!
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Scott from Willis, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I replaced the factory speakers in my 2008 Impala and what a difference. They have a great sound. They beg for MORE POWER. I purchased a Kicker 200watt 4 channel amp, and cant wait to listen to them through that bad boy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 23, 2012 replaced my factory speakers
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Randy from Greenville, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these to replace my factory speakers in my 03 Chevy Silverado. They are much better sounding than stock. I have them hooked to a Kenwood BT848U head unit, and if you turn them up real loud they can distort, but I mean they have to be very loud to cause any problems. Overall I am very happy with them as a stock replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 30, 2011 great speakers!
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
murph from Champlin, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just put these in my car and i am very satisfied with them, these speakers complement my 12" sub very nicely, great highs along with solid lows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 15, 2011 KICKER DS65
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
PINKBUNNY from HOUSTON TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just got these put into my car and absolutely love them! The sound is awesome and the price was very reasonable. I would recommend anyone looking for good quality speakers at a nice price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 22, 2013 When factory just won't do...
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ken from Chandler, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased a set of DS65, DS693, and DS35 speakers to replace my son's worn-out factory speakers. The DS65 is not an exact fit for the door panels, but it was easy enough to secure with my drill and it hides behind the factory grille so thieves won't be tempted. There was a vast improvement over the factory setup, the speaker can easily handle anything a factory radio dishes out and feels right at home with the 22w RMS that my Pioneer head unit supplies. So far, the price is right and they exceed his expectations for a first system. Sonic is the fastest, I ordered on Tuesday and had them installed by Thursday. From jazz to hip hop, these speakers do a great job - for the price I don't expect swivel tweeters but that's the only thing missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 6, 2012 A VERY BEAUTIFIL DEAL
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
CATCHUP from NEW ORLEANS, LA.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the little money I spent, I Feel I gotten the deal of a lifetime, the sound is so good that every time I turn on my car Stereo I can't help but think how gald I found you online, you guy really saved me a lot of money, I will keep doing business with you when it come to my car needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2012 awesome buy
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
rodeo man from pearson,wi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
the price was good and the sound is even better.i didnt replace the stock stereo in my 99 chevy silverado and with these speakers it changed the whole way i think about speakers.i would buy them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 24, 2012 Nice Speakers
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Lee from Missouri
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Used to replace damaged front door speakers in 1999 suburban six months ago. Sound fine with 8 speaker factory system. Good value ($48). No complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 28, 2012 Good Speaker and Good Price
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ian from Kansas City, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
You can not beat the sound these speakers produce for the price you pay for them. I installed them in my truck and used the stock stereo to power them. 100% better than the stock speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 21, 2011 Great for the price!
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jake from Collinsville, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I desperately needed new speakers for my '95 grand cherokee and these did the job. I'm still powering them off of my kenwood deck at the moment and they still get pretty loud. Excellent sound quality! No cons at the moment. I'm hoping to get an amp to power then shortly! Def recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2011 slightly disappointed
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Kingmax from Chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got these expecting them to live up to the Kicker hype, or to rattle my door panels at least a little bit, but the bass wasn't a whole lot better than my stock speakers. and that's not off of a stock headunit, i have a nice Sony head that can keep up with these but no. that's my 1 complaint, these are NOT bass heavy which is what I was looking for, but they are loud as heck! you can turn these things up until your ears hurt and they stay crystal clear with the highs and mid's, but still the lows aren't overly impressing, i've seen Sonys with better bass so... It would probably help to hook these up to an amp to get all the bass out of them, otherwise they are solid speakers but for bass lovers i would look at a different pair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz