Showing 18 reviews for Sony XNV-660BT

Customer Review Summary for Sony XNV-660BT
Average Customer Rating is 3.7 out of 5 stars:
3.7
based on 18 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
33%
4 star:
.
.
33%
3 star:
.
.
11%
2 star:
.
.
11%
1 star:
.
.
11%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.0
Value
3.8
Features
3.8
Design
3.7
Usability
3.5
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
June 13, 2011 Sony XNV-660BT
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Bernie from Alexandria VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered this unit for my wife's 2004 Pathfinder. She LOVES the Bluetooth integration with her phone. I also added a XM tuner and a steering wheel kit. The steering control adapter seems to "blip" once every time I turn the car off - typically this means that it will change the station that you are listening to down one - so every time you start the car you have to reset the station - need to trouble shoot this issue further but it's pretty clear that the problem is with the steering wheel controls adapter.

Navigation by Garmin - great when it works... for some reason it has started to take FOREVER (like 30 min+) to find a satellite on a clear day near a major city. This means that the unit hangs on "finding satalite" and renders the GPS useless. I am hoping that a software update of the GPS unit clears this up.

GUI - honestly its kind of pedestrian. For all the real estate that the large screen provides none of the "skins" are very attractive. My personal annoyance is that when I am in XM mode I can only see 1 line of text surrounded by 80% empty screen - I have no idea why it doesn't display stantion # & name on 1 line then artist / song title on one or 2 more lines. It's really pretty annoying, my years old 4 line Alpine in another car gives me at least 3 lines of information on 1 screen with out having to toggle the "display" button.

I would love to have Sony release a GUI update - the hardware itself is nice but the visuals are pretty lacking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 6, 2011 Sony GPS
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Steve from Fountain Hills, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm very happy with the Sony features. The sound is great! The included Tom-Tom GPS is fine but I still wish Microsoft Street & Trips would team up with a GPS unit like this Sony so trip planning and routing could all be done on my PC. There is a small removable Tom-Tom device that can be updated and multiple maps installed but without the ability to work like Streets & Trips.

This is the second Sony XNV-66oBT I've bought. It's a nice unit and using the same make and model unit in both my car and my wife's car makes life a little easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 18, 2011 Great system! Thieves stole it, so I ordered another one!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Karen from Metairie, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great system, good sound and clarity. It was just stolen from my car so I've ordered another one just like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 18, 2012 Great Customer Service
Review by
Dan from Oshawa, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Head Unit does what it says. Cable to the TomTom unit is about 6 feet long. USB cable is about 6 feet long. There is a very cool swipe feature for moving to the next track on the touch screen. I haven't figured out how to turn off the intro screens- there must be a way as the current practice of running the intro loop ad nauseum is an annoyance. Sonic was great when the price moved around.I am very pleased with their responsiveness. They were also willing to work through some complications with my credit card since I live in Canada and Mastercard was being difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 16, 2012 Sony XNV 660BT
Review by
Christine from Whistler, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this last October and my son installed it without any difficulty, I have waited to review to make sure everything is A OK and it is. The Radio works great, the ipod connection is great as well and the sync to iPhone through Bluetooth is great. Now this being said the quality of voice through cell phone is not good I have been told but the quality in car is really good. This unit was and is the best value for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 10, 2012 Not for me. It just doesn't produce a good sound.
Review by
Michael from Smyrna, DE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A GREAT unit if you do not require good audio. I am not an audiophile by any stretch, but having paired my current amp with this unit as well as two others, I just cannot get a good clear sound out of the Sony, even after hours of adjustment, at all different setting (both amp and head unit). The NAV is great, the Bluetooth is very adequate. I just feel that they had to sacrifice audio at the expense of other bells and whistles, i.e., only one sub out connection. I replaced this unit with a Pioneer without NAV. It was then that I realized how the Sony touchscreen was also sub par.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2012 Installed easily in a Ford Explorer with Backup Camera
Review by
Rodger from Timberon, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The unit looks great and functions nicely. The problem with this unit is the "screen saver" or what I call the "passive screen". When listening to the CD or Radio, there are no options for a real impacting screen to play. Then there is the clock, that is so SMALL in the bottom corner of the screen that you can't find it to tell the time. I think at the price, SONY would have updateable firmware that would allow you to customize the display and what is shown. I think I would look for a different unit after owning this one. The price was normal for SONY, higher than the competition. The installation instructions are very hard to understand and are NOT for the DIY installer. I had experience, and it was not clear for me. I installed the HD unit as well as a backup camera. It does have a GREAT display for DVD movies and photos, if you can get them converted to the right format. Think hard. I also installed the steering wheel control by PAC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 6, 2012 Great Sound but with some challenges
Review by
William from Prince George, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have the Satellite radio controller option which works great since it allows you to use a portable satellite radio tuner (in my glove box). Sound quality is fantastic and I was amazed how much better my stock speakers sounded (2003 VW Jetta). The Satellite radio interface on this Sony is terrible though. It displays only one song item at a time (channel, song, artist etc.) despite the large screen. The control interface is very primitive really (black and white only), and seems like an afterthought. Dimming the screen is impossible (either too dark or too light). So if Sony could update the control interface, this radio would be brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2012 Not a ggod product
Review by
Jeffrey from Murrells Inlet, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Radio stations wil not stay selected. GPS goes in and out. I will never buy a Sony GPS unit again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 21, 2011 Just OK
Review by
Jack from Thayer, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Navigation through the Sirius Radio leaves a little bit to desire. TomTom has to be reset every couple of weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 31, 2011 Nice
Review by
John from New Lenox, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great features and built-in GPS. Only negative is the GPS needs to be updated via computer regularly or else the unit will not work for directions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 17, 2011 It's O K
Review by
Benoit from Delta, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The GPS does not always respond. It has to be reset and then you are able to use it. Not completely satisfied with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 4, 2011 Wave experience
Review by
Jay from kent. Wa.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
We needed some music in our kitchen. We got the wave and it sounds better than my TV surround sound. I couldn't be happier with it. Thanks Sony
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 28, 2011 THIS IS A NICE PRODUCT
Review by
Phillip from St Louis, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Stereo! LOVE IT. Priced right, and was easy to install. I recommend it HIGHLY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 21, 2011 Great Value, Some Annoying Features
Review by
Ken from Houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Better features and quality than anything else i looked at in the price range. I was looking at a kenwood, but realized i would have to spend another $400 to get one with a2dp. I do not regret my purchase and would recommend it, especially as the price continues to drop. However, having said that, here are my gripes:
Bluetooth led on the front is so bright that i painted over it.
Eq is hard to get to and hard to adjust while driving. (but works well.)
With the dual screen on (nav & audio), to use nav you have to press the screen once to get the audio screen to disappear and second time to use the map functions. At first, i complained about the touch screen being no where near as sensitive as my phone, but it actually makes it easier to use if you are trying to hold your hand steady while driving by lightly touching the screen.
Tomtom seems comparable to garmin, and both seem much better than companies that make their own nav, but it doesn't seem like they make use of the full resolution of the screen and street names rarely show up on north/south streets. Google maps on my phone are much better, but if you lose 3g, you lose the map and it's too hard to read while driving - each has it's place. The zoom function in drive view is +/- buttons across the top. In map view it is a slider on the right side. The slider lags and it is very hard to zoom in on a map and keep it centered where you want it. They should borrow an idea from phones and zoom in at the point where you double tab.
My biggest gripe, that isn't mentioned in any review i've seen, is the usb flash drive is limited to 2000 songs. My 32g flash drive hit the sony limit at about 10g. The unit says it will play mp4 videos, but i think they have to be on disk, not usb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 30, 2011 It Looks Good and it sounds GREAT!!!!!!
Review by
Scott of Valencia from Valencia, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put this unit in my 02 Mercedes C320 and it surprised me, The screen is bright and very easy to read even in direct sunlight. Pairing with the phone and use of the IPod was easy and is easily controlled through the unit. I was really happy with the TomTom GPS. I had a Garmin and this TomTom beats all of its functionalities hands down. I especially like the TomTom Photo Enforcement Alert for camera controlled intersections. It Looks Good and it also sounds GREAT !!!!!! You cant beat Sonix's price!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 15, 2011 Horrible
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Andrew from Seattle, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is the absolute worst GPS device I have ever used. This is including "GPS watches" from 2004.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 29, 2011 Do not use while driving
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Not a fan from San Diego, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The warning that reminds me not to use it while driving needs to be cleared by pressing the slow to respond "ok", I offer the following review.

To sum it up, the warning says it all about the functions of this deck. The pathways for the functions used by a person that takes audio seriously are a terrible design that are crippled by a very slow "computer".

The GPS, I will take my Garmin stuck to my window any day. Yes, it's still stuck to my window. Bummer. Don't buy it, you probably will not like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz