Showing 24 reviews for Pioneer TS-A1604C

Customer Review Summary for Pioneer TS-A1604C
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 24 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
63%
4 star:
.
.
29%
3 star:
.
.
4%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
.
4%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.3
Value
4.6
Features
4.3
Design
4.6
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Very nice for the price

Good speaker with clarity and accuracy, especially good treble. Bass is only adequate, but decent with a JVC head unit with about 20 watts rms per channel. I do not think I could have purchased better for the money.

VS
cant handle the power!!

I had purchased these speakers on sale for a very cheap price so wasnt expecting too much. When installed they were getting about 60 watts rms and sounded horible. I added another speaker on both speaker channels so that in the end these speaker got about 40watts rms and they sounded much better. The woofers in this set are very muddy sounding but the tweeters can sure shine through!!

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
May 13, 2013 Very nice for the price
Review by
jeffryred from Moss Point, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good speaker with clarity and accuracy, especially good treble. Bass is only adequate, but decent with a JVC head unit with about 20 watts rms per channel. I do not think I could have purchased better for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 5, 2013 STRICTLY PIONEER
Review by
EDDIE from El Paso, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
REALLY GOOD SOUNDING SPEAKERS. CLEAR AND PRECISE SOUND. EASY INSTALL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2012 great value
Review by
glct from westminster,CA92683
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sounds good. Would recommend to friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 27, 2012 Great speakers
Review by
Tonto from Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The speakers have great sound quality especially hooked up to a pioneer head unit, and the tweeters compliment them beautifully, if your looking for deep bass I would suggest a bigger speaker but if you have a low pass filter with a sub these speakers will play louder than you would want to listen to them and still be crystal clear, great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 23, 2012 great for the money
Review by
thakid287565 from joliet, il
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have 2 sets of these components in a 2001 celica. they sound good off the head unit, but since i am running them with an amp, they are much louder. properly dialing in the gain helped a ton. the highs are good, but not over the top, mids are punchy and clear. i run no extra bass through these speakers. i let my subs do that. allowing me to turn it up high. an added tip, pick the right amp power (40-45 rms), and a clean amp (jl audio, alpine, kenwood excelon) and youll have a good setup thats easy on the wallet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 7, 2012 Killer speakers for the price!!
Review by
Foghead from Lockport, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Absolutely a fantastic deal! Hard hitting bass, a slim in-line crossover and nice clean highs! It would be hard to beat this pair of separates for the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 6, 2012 cant handle the power!!
Review by
scuba steve from massapequa park, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had purchased these speakers on sale for a very cheap price so wasnt expecting too much. When installed they were getting about 60 watts rms and sounded horible. I added another speaker on both speaker channels so that in the end these speaker got about 40watts rms and they sounded much better. The woofers in this set are very muddy sounding but the tweeters can sure shine through!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2012 Good purchase
Review by
Mageelin from Kingstown, Saint Vincent and The Grenadines
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased two pairs of these pioneer TS-A1604C speakers for my 1996 rav 4 and they fitted very well. The only issue I have with the tweeters is that they rattle even when the volume is moderate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 5, 2012 great value
Review by
Damaso from San Jose, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great speaker, fast shipping will buy and recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 29, 2012 Great speakers/ great price
Review by
Timothy from Travelers Rest, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers sound great and the price of the speakers for the quality is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 27, 2012 A steal at this price.
Review by
JAAK from Waco, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two sets of these that will soon go into my car. I hooked them up today on a nice 4 x 90 in parallel at 2 ohms so each woofer/tweeter was getting about 45 watts each. It wasn't bad, but it didn't impress me. So I switched some things around and was able to run them at about 80 watts each and they woke up like you would never believe.

They have a nice airy, wispy sound which I like. They did fine on low power, but they liked the juice and took it just fine. I played them for just over an hour at 80 watts each and they handled it fine. For this price, I have to say I am very impressed and certainly surprised. The mids are clear, the highs are detailed and airy and what little midbass I had (running them in free air, remember) was decent. The upper mids can get a little... edgy, but that's the case for most sets at this price range. Get these if you need budget components.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 17, 2012 no what i expected
Review by
Jombowe from alpharetta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i Do not recommend this speaker, they are overrated, could not turn up the sound because they smell like burning rubber. My right tweeter burned out within the first few weeks. Pioneer is one of my favorite brands but these speakers are just overrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 8, 2012 High Quality, Great Value
Review by
Maxnimrod from Tucson, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pioneer is a top quality product. The installation went very smoothly. I had to modify the mount for the tweeters only slightly to fit in the factory openings in the upper door panel. Fit great, sound awesome!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 18, 2011 Pretty decent for the price
Review by
Justin from Cedar Rapids, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These sound good overall! Clean and crisp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 11, 2011 Great set of speakers!
Review by
astan from Portland, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Recommend this set of speakers for anyone looking to upgrade your current setup. Sure its not a thousand dollar speakers but they definitely do the job, and quite well in my opinion. The acoustics are heard loud and clear and the tweeters also have a good sound. They have not crackled or blow and I have had them for about a year now. Great product from Pioneer. I went with a full pioneer setup along with a Sound Ordinance sub and amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 9, 2011 Incredible sound for the price!
Review by
Foghead from Lockport, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed a pair of these in an 05 Chrysler town n country using plastic 6x9 to 6 1/2" round adapter plates. Speakers are in the front doors and are powered by a Kenwood in dash only. Clarity is exceptional; SOLID bass response too! I surface mounted the tweeters to give nice directionality and these speakers truly sing. An incredible value for the price. I've auditioned many speakers in various price ranges and these have been competitive with the best that Focal/MB quart has to offer. Once again, for the money, these are extremely hard to beat!! Just be patient with them as they require some time to break in fully!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 17, 2011 great buy
Review by
philip from milwaukee, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought two sets of these speakers to replace the pioneer 4 ways i have in my Tahoe. These new components are AWESOME... a must have.. just make sure you use the wiring that's included in the box cause it has an inline crossover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 1, 2011 Awesome value!
Review by
JohnnyG from Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Smooth rich open and detailed sound. Amazing at this price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 6, 2011 Cool speakers with nice trebbles
Review by
Leo from Georgia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
One of the best quality per value, love Pionner as a trademark and the quality is all what we want for my wife's new car. The stock speakers provided were extremely poor. We hook them up with a 4 channels Alpine amp and they drive good powerful sound for the whole family, without distortion, highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 29, 2011 GREAT PRODUCT!!!!!!!!
Review by
LURCH from EL PASO, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product for less than half the retail store price!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 6, 2011 awesome!
Review by
rob from detroit , michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have had in my Ford escape since April and love them. They are wired to an Alpine MRP-F300 4-channel amp and sound powerful and clear. The tweets are mounted in the sail panels on the door custom fabricated and sounds very lifelike and natural. Also have Pioneer 6x8s in the rear and 2 JL 12W0 subs and overall my system is a very nice sq setup. I would recommend these components .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 1, 2011 Okey Dokey
Review by
peacefrogdave from Denver, Co
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
sounds good plastic cover rattles when cranked otherwise works good not near the quality Pioneer put out in the late 70's but then again there is nothing of that quality made anymore by anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 16, 2011 Good Speakers, great value!
Review by
Mike from St. Louis, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Used these to replace factory equipment in 2011 Kia Sportage. Thanks to Kia's weird woofer mounting system, install was a bit difficult, but the tweeter was a perfect replacement fit. Sound with the factory radio is spectacular compared to original equipment. Tweeter is bright, but not overly-so. Very happy, especially when factoring in the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 5, 2011 Great Speakers!!!!
Review by
Brian from winston salem, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was a little hesitant buying these speakers coming from Infinity 2-way full range speakers, but I am impressed. They are defiantly better then my full ranges, and they are wired up with monster wiring, which is another recommendation. The mid-bass is clear, accurate, nice, and the tweets are nice, accurate, I don't think they are really any better then the infinity's tweeter, but because they are located up towards my ears better I hear more detail better. Still a very good buy, and I would do it again!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz