Showing 20 reviews for Clarion VX401

Customer Review Summary for Clarion VX401
Average Customer Rating is 3.0 out of 5 stars:
3.0
based on 20 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
15%
4 star:
.
.
25%
3 star:
.
.
20%
2 star:
.
.
25%
1 star:
.
.
15%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
3.5
Value
3.3
Features
3.5
Design
3.8
Usability
3.2
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
January 31, 2011 VX401 - Mitsubishi Outlander
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Dennis from Dover, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed the VX401 in my 2008 Outlander, and thus far I am pleased. At the price it has one of the best combination of features available. The Bluetooth, iPod, DVD, SIRIUS all work well. Installation is pretty straightforward, with a couple caveats. First, save your mounting screws from your factory radio, you'll need them. The ones supplied are too short if you use the brackets with the aftermarket kit. My factory ones were just right. Also, if you tie-in the parking brake interlock, don't use the Clarion connector, it's junk. Go to Lowes or Walmart and buy some, or just cut the wire and crimp or solder it. Also, if you have steering wheel controls, spend the money for the PAC instead of the cheaper Axxess Universal unit. I tried the latter, and couldn't get it to work, and I'm waiting on the PAC as a replacement, I hope it works. But overall, I'm pleased, and it looks great in the dash. Hope it lasts for as long as I own the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 31, 2014 great deck
Review by
Joey from tulsa, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I custom made a dash in an s10 and this was a great choice. Works great, sounds great, would definitely buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 14, 2013 clarion vx401
Review by
Robert from Nampa Idaho
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought the vx401 about 6 months ago. It just started switching from tuner to digital. When it does this you cannot do anything with it except turn it off. When you turn it back on it continues switching. Called service department. They said to push reset button. Didn't fix it. Also blue tooth only works part of time when receiving a call on iPhone.. would not recommend this stereo....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 20, 2013 so so
Review by
Raspeed from Brandon Mb, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The sound quality is great and it looks nice. The menu navigation is frustrating and somewhat counterintuitive. I guess you get what you pay for and this was cheap. Thanks China. A good head unit to buy if you are planning to sell your car right away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 frustrating
Review by
Ken from Ottawa, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Not a bad product.
Wife thought the sound wasn't as good as the OEM radio...not sure.
wanted it for the video for backup camera, but the delay in booting up makes it mostly useless
The survey itself needs some review for usefulness...are the instructions valid/good, is the hardware good....look to how the user uses it,rather than a consumer project.

For ratings, there should be a non applicability, or non-response icon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Dont Buy
Review by
Jordan from Butte, MT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Device malfunctioned and would not work properly after 2 months of use. Would continuously flash back to tuner function and keep flashing. This deck also isn't the best way to go because the way it processes information and switching functions from CD to iPod takes forever. I would definitely go with a JL touch screen deck. Ended up paying 60 dollars for a repair and went without music for a month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 12, 2013 VX401
Review by
Pix2.0 from Toronto, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought the stereo and in less than a year i've been having problems with it. Digtal tuner keeps popping up going back and forth, can't listen to anything. Not a great buy for me. Would not recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 19, 2013 Not a Good Buy
Review by
05ve from Biloxi MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this unit and in less than a year the screen starts freezing, lines going all across it. screen goes blank white, lights up my car at night. its just useless to me now, I wanna throw it out so bad. going to buy something cheaper so if it goes bad I wont regret spending the money I paid for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 14, 2012 not so good
Review by
alexandr from edison, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
sometime loos connection with iphone3 bay BT. steering wheel interface not working with this radio
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 1, 2012 Clarion VX401
Review by
ernie from Chalmette, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I 100% recommend this radio. The iPod interface is severely easy to use and is very sleek. The main reason I bought the radio is for the iPod capabilities and I'm not disappointed. The DVD option is very nice and the picture is clear. I never use the am fm radio so I can't comment on that but CDs play well on the radio. I have the radio in my 03 Lexus is300. Well worth the price if you want a nice, sleek radio. Didn't care to have navi so this radio was perfect for the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 7, 2012 OK
Review by
Michael from Swansboro, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
8 months ago, I went for a cheaper model and that is what I got. The sound is different. I immediately thought it inferior to the factory unit's sound. I have gotten used to it though, and now I think the sound is good but not great. The Bluetooth works great for calls except some times it has trouble doing phone functions and seizes up. The only way to fix it is to turn the unit off. I don't like the GPS. No free map upgrade when it was first purchased, and you have to go to another company's website to upgrade at all. It interrupts the music as many as 4 times for each turn which gets a little anoying. I don't like the way it searches for POIs or adresses either. Overall, I am not particularly happy with the unit, although I won't be replacing it any time soon. It serves its purpose and there are things I like about it. I do wish I would have spent a little more and purchased a better unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 18, 2012 Stay Away From This One
Review by
Dominic from Gilbert, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This head unit is seriously annoying. I'll list a few of the things that make me want to tear it out of my dash and introduce it to the business end of my Winchester. Each time you change sources (iPod, cd, stereo) the thing has to restart. When you access the list of music on your iPod there is a serious lack of intuition on the part of the interface, after you spend 5 minutes slowly scrolling through your songs and pick one you like, you need to start all the way over at songs beginning with "A" and scroll again to pick the next one instead of the unit remembering your place. If you go through artists, for example, pick an album and decide to go back to the list of albums within that artist... There is no "back" button for that. Oh no you have to go all the way back to the beginning and start again by choosing whether you wish to select from artists, or songs. One cannot adjust the volume when changing audio settings. For example, if you want to change the bass or loudness, and turn the volume down to balance the changes you are making, you must back out of the audio settings to do it. When you are playing a CD and you get to the end, the player doesn't start the album over it just stops, thats only slightly annoying but perhaps just plain dumb is that you can't skip from the last track forward to the first track. There is other issues too but I'm getting tired of complaining. Clarion mailed in their performance on this one, its a piece of trash, don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 8, 2012 Calrion VX401
Review by
Sherpa from SCOTTSDALE, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Issues with iPod getting stuck and needing to reset the stereo numerous times. Also, the stereo sometimes does not power on when I turn the car on and I need to reset the deck again.. Overall not to happy with deck and switched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 11, 2012 Dark picture when watching DVD's
Review by
jake from Waynesboro ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Overall the radio and navigation are great however when playing DVDís the picture is dark and some movies very dark. Already adjust the brightness to 20 which is the highest it goes. Not a good purchase if you plan to watch DVDís.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2012 Great price
Review by
Brandon from Fortson, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit is great for the price lots of power I would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 26, 2011 Completely unimpressed.
Review by
SlowPoke from Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased the VX401 online based on Clarion's reputation and the specifications. I was not mislead by any means, just completely unimpressed with the user interface. It is anything but intuitive and it seems they have gone out of their way to make it difficult for everyday adjustments. I'm not taking about crossover settings, I'm taking about tuning the AM/FM radio. You can't just punch in a station on the keypad or quickly advance up or down the dial with the click of a button. You must use seek, scan or click one station at a time. The USB interface is completely frustrating. The front auxillery input only outputs sound to the rear channels by design. The remote is laughable and anything but 'full function'. The tuner is adequate.
The DVD playback is as good as can be expected from an in-dash. Sound quality is acceptable. I've been using this deck in my work truck for 4 months and I'm thinking of upgrading out of pure frustration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 14, 2011 Decent unit for the price
Review by
kirk from rogers, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very nice looking unit with some very nice options, the only problem i have encountered is the Blue Tooth is not very good, you have to re-sync everytime you use it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 3, 2011 Great Product! Looks Great!
Review by
Steve from Bradford, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have owned this product for 6 months now and have had no issues. It has tons of features for alot less than some of the other name brand competitors. Touchscreen, Built in Bluetooth, Rear USB input, optional Navigation feature and optional back up camera etc etc. I really like the way the Clarion DVD reciever looks and performs. I would recommend this anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 29, 2011 Great stereo!
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Camille from Spartanburg, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This stereo is great! I haven't learned all the features with it yet. I would recommend it to anyone. However, the radio signals are not that great and I haven't been able to play a DVD....it stops when it starts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 12, 2011 Great Unit
Review by
John from Gilbert, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recommend the VX401. I was on the fence between the Pioneer 3200BT and this and I chose this unit because my iPod connector would be in the back. The 2 things I find fault with is there is no album art from the ipod and it only has bass and treble as your only basic sound controls. It would be nice if it would allow the mid range to be changed also. Other than that it is easy to use has great sound and I wouldn't change it for any reason. BTW I also have the PAC Jack as my steering wheel control interface and it is also great and controls this unit flawlessly. I bought the unit from Sonic and it was a great experience also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz