Showing 16 reviews for Pioneer AVIC-Z130BT

Customer Review Summary for Pioneer AVIC-Z130BT
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 21 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
76%
4 star:
.
.
19%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
.
5%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.4
Features
4.6
Design
4.8
Usability
4.2
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
April 5, 2012 Best Deck Out There!!
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
TheRealMostDope from milwaukee, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
-After looking at a few competitors such as the INA-W900 Alpine I eventually came to buy the Pioneer. I liked the Alpines look more than the Pioneer but I would rather have buttons like the Pioneers, these probably wont break seeing as they are built in. The gloss black also looks very sleek, when compared to the gray of the alpine.

-The HD radio tuner makes a big difference. Forget the background noise from normal radio stations; with the HD radio tuner you wont hear that at all. The sound is nearly as good as a CD, and speaking of CD use, that is very good as well. Although not all CDs will show album information such as song name and album artist.

-The video playback is also very good, I have had a few Double DINs before this and this is my best unit so far. It's also blown me away with the resolution and colors of the screen. You can also bring up the controls of the deck while the video is playing which does not stop the video so that is nice to not have to start up the video again.

-I also have this deck hooked up with the USB going into the glovebox. The controls for the iPod are easy to use and understand. The only thing is though, the deck will upon startup re-create a voice recognition library of your iPods songs, and until that is done you cannot do anything but go to the next song or go to the last song, you cannot search for a different song until it is updated. This is somewhat annoying as it happens every time the unit is turned on. Sometimes it takes up to 5 minutes before the VR is updated.

-The GPS is also very easy to use if you know the full address. It looks great when it is running and you can change the view of the GPS to several different orientations. Also when you type in a destination the deck will give you several different routes to get there as well as what time you will get there.

-I have two amplifiers and a back up camera hooked up to this unit as well. The operation of the back up camera is great. The controls on the deck also work very well with controlling the e.q. levels and hi/lo pass filters of the external amplifiers.

-Probably the only things I do not like about this deck is that voice recognition does not always seem to work. The Bluetooth during phone calls is great and the people on the other end of the call always say they can hear me clearly, I have my mic right above my rearview mirror. The voice recognition thought like I said is sketchy at best. Many times when you ask the deck to "play artist ____" the deck will say it did not understand. Keep in mind this does not always happen, but I don't really use the voice controls a lot either. Also the music sphere application does not work with the deck unless you have a Windows computer, otherwise the application will not work. The App radio app will also not work unless you have a iPhone, but I have heard from several audio shop friends that Pioneer is in the works with making these apps Android friendly.

-Overall, it's a great deck and I would recommend it. Go out and buy it. It does it all, and you can match the button colors to the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 3, 2011 Pretty nice head unit
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
jay sean from Housatlantavegas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this installed on my Nissan 370Z and I must say that this head unit is one of best out there. It may be pricey but the features are ridiculous on this thing. I've had it for about 2 weeks and I still have fun with it. I like that I can keep an SD card in there and not worry about having bad music on the radio. Which brings me to another point, it has HD radio, you get radio stations "regular" people don't have. I hooked it up to Alpine type-R speakers and a JL sub, sounds incredible. You want nice? Get this head unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 13, 2011 Worth every penny
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
J-wealth from San Diego, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This was worth every penny that I spent on it. It makes your car look classy and has a lot of features that you wont get in any other navigation system. I plan to buy another for my other car also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2011 Best of the Best
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ricky from Jamaica, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have been through almost all the car indash players including all the top brands such as alpine and kenwood. I must say this is one of the best indash i have ever used. Pioneer really stand up for their name for this unit. Everything works perfect. No issues at all. Has so much features and its so easy to setup and use including the navigation. No cons to complain about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 22, 2011 Amazing Product!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Pablo from Artesia, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ive had this product for 3 months now and i absolutly love this stereo. I have it hooked up to two 10' kicker cvr's and it made an incredible difference. The bluetooth is great and comes in handy since its going to be lawed being on the phone while driving. And the navigation gets me where i need to be. Thank you sonic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 3, 2012 Great Overall Unit with a few Small Issues.
Review by
Nick from VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The biggest problem is the lack of bluetooth kicking in consistently. If bluetooth doesn't automatically connect to your phone, you need to go in to the bluetooth settings, click on your phone, then select a button that tells it to reconnect. If they had a shortcut on the main screen to toggle your primary phone this wouldn't be a problem, but this is a major headache when you're driving. The only other negative I can think of is that the display doesn't handle well in sunlight for movies. With that said, I've only tried to watch movies with it once or twice.

Now to the positives. The Navigation is surprisingly good. It may not be Garmin, but it's better than every other GPS that I've seen. Most of the button placement was done well, and the bluetooth sounds great both for phone calls, and for streaming audio. The movie/music formats that it can handle are expansive.

The bluetooth issues is a big headache, but everything else about it is great so I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 29, 2012 Awesome Head Unit
Review by
NimbleTitan from Plano, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Expensive but it's big and has ALOT of features. I've had this for almost a year and it's really amazing.

The screen is huge, it looks flush and stock with my 07 Nissan Altima

Pros:
-Good user interface
-Touchscreen
-HD Radio, aha radio, musicsphere
-Lots of equalizers and adjustments you can make to improve your speakers
-GPS never got me wrong
-FREE LIFETIME TRAFFIC UPDATES AMAZING (you'll see major highways and constructions blink different colors it's really cool)
-SD Card input, Ipod adapter is amazing connecting to my iphone and synching bluetooth

Cons:
-Slow loadup from start
-VR a little laggy
-GPS Maps don't show all the street names, however it does get you from point A to B
-Bluetooth Audio does not work no matter what I've tried for Iphone 4S
-It feels as if the touchscreen doesn't respond as quickly as you want it to; you really need to put some elbow grease and press harder to change things. So it's not really sensitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 28, 2012 Excellent Functions
Review by
Joe from Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The GPS is excellent as is the sound and being able to add XM Radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 15, 2012 Very Pleased
Review by
Raymond from Collierville, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A great unit. Works as advertized in my Nissan Titan. People can not believe the quality of the sound and I am using the factory speakers. Handsfree Bluetooth is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 15, 2012 Pioneer AVIC-Z130BT
Review by
ian from Bowen island, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed this in our E350 ford van with a 15" tv in the back. Great unit. Start up is a bit slow sometimes but otherwise it is great. Was able to hook up the x-box to it and went on a 3000 km road trip around Christmas and had no complaints with the kids. Rear view camera unit also works well. Color during the day and night vision at night. Hard to imagine buying this much tech for so little. Manual is a little daunting at 320 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 5, 2012 Great
Review by
Alexandro from jesup, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Everything on this unit works great minus the voice recognition. It is worth the money but if you get it don't get the scosche harness go somewhere else and buy a metra or a PAC because those will give the reverse and parking brake signals and the scosche won't. Also don't connect the mute wire because you may have some problems with it muting itself. I have hoked up to a 2011 Silverado with onstar and it still works without the mute wire hooked up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 3, 2012 Love pioneers!!!
Review by
Shaun from Little Elm, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I started off with the avic-910bt and I upgraded to this model for the screen size and the other great features. It's not cheap but worth the extra $$$ if you have it.

Pros- fast loading, screen size, 3d mapping, netflix

Cons- I'm not sure on this one but the day/night lighting doesn't work. I think it's the position of the nav cord or the little blk box at the end of it. Pretty much I haven't had any issues with it "knock on wood". I would recommend this to any Pioneer fan!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 26, 2012 Powerful product
Review by
JF from Montreal, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have been reading and waiting for a long time to get a good overall product. I used to have a Pioneer Premier DEH-940MP HU with a 13band EQ and 6V preout which I liked very much.

- This unit provides 7band EQ which is less than what I used to have but more than any other similar product, plus a 4V preout vs 2V for most of the navigation units. The only EQ I truly miss is the 12Khz one since the Z130BT stops at 10KHz. The High Pass Filter option covers all speakers; no HPFF and HPFR. Sound settings also provides interesting options for the subwoofer control, more than I expected, loudness control and other interesting options to help calibrate and set the unit like you want.

- There is a lot more options to configure and control the unit like you want from Bluetooth phone, to iPhone, Pandora (only works for USA). GPS unit is good, but I miss my Garmin. We'll see next upgrade if they revamp it a bit but it's not a show stopper. Unit still works in tunnels or where GPS can't see the sats if you plug the VSS wire.

- Bypass mod available on youtube. Works well, but never use Movie player while driving. Stay safe. Microphone is excellent for phone or voice command; just make sure you don't cover the side if you do an "integrated" and discreet installation in your dash.

In all, this unit is very powerful, I am pretty sure there still plenty of power to be used giving more functionality over future software upgrade.

There are 2 things I don't like with this unit:
- Scrolling pages either when browsing MP3 on your favorite media or when using XM Radio, scrolling through chanels.
- They need to make file browsing easier and safer. Adding a scrollbar on the side would be a start.

About Sonic:
As I am a Canadian customer, I am very pleased with their excellent service and fast shipping. I had the unit in less than 4 days, considering my unit had to go through customs. Hats off to you guys, I'll be looking to do business with you again for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 5, 2012 Great Unit
Review by
Ryan from Brampton, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit has tons of great features every option you will ever need and it doens't take forever to load. Everything is really responsive. Only con is the GPS which can be confusing to use at first but once you get used to it, its not really a problem. 7" Screen and really clean looks good in any car not too flashy more classy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 27, 2011 sweet
Review by
roger from Rosedale, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great unit!!! Installation was a breeze did it for myself. Screen is great. Response is perfect. No problems, love all options. Can't beat the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 10, 2011 Best I've ever had
Review by
Bryan from Deer Park, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this system, it has so many features that are easy to use compared to my last one (different brand). I love it so much, I'd rather that this car out because of the easy of use on the navigator as compared to the truck. The touch screen is large, easy to clean, and is sensitive enough to pick up very subtle touches. This in turn makes me believe that is will last longer. It has a very crisp sound to it also, even with the factor speakers in my car, and lots of ways to adjust the sound for anyone's liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz