Showing 9 reviews for MB Quart PVL 268

Customer Review Summary for MB Quart PVL 268
Average Customer Rating is 3.8 out of 5 stars:
3.8
based on 9 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
33%
4 star:
.
.
44%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
.
11%
1 star:
.
.
11%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
3.8
Value
3.9
Features
4.2
Design
4.3
Usability
4.2
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
surprisingly good

i read on forums that modern mb is no good. i have been using them since the mid 90's when they were reputed to be great. had several sets in several vehicles. cant tell much difference between then and now. made well sound well. just wish they were still made in germany.

VS
Sorry MB Quart

I have been an MB Quart fan for a long time. I purchased a pair of these for the front and a pair of the Reference models for the back. I have them paired with an MB Quart 5 channel amp. I am was very methodical with my installs, ran completely new wire all the way around. First they sounded ok, quite a bit bright but I set them at 0 on the crossover and took care of that. I tuned the system, I've been doing stereo installs for at least 25 years and they had a lot of static at low volume. Sounded blown. I reworked everything still the same. Ordered another pair and install the new ones. Same thing sounded good. On my way home I was listen to music, not even halve volume and I notice the sound started to degrade rapidly. I got home went through the system again, switched wires, channels, everything and same result, sounded blow. Do yourself a favor and stay away from these speakers.. MB Quart, you have a problem. The "lower grade" models I installed in the back still sound good, no issues what so ever. Sorry MB Quart, not good.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
April 1, 2011 Sorry MB Quart
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Sean from Tulsa, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have been an MB Quart fan for a long time. I purchased a pair of these for the front and a pair of the Reference models for the back. I have them paired with an MB Quart 5 channel amp. I am was very methodical with my installs, ran completely new wire all the way around. First they sounded ok, quite a bit bright but I set them at 0 on the crossover and took care of that. I tuned the system, I've been doing stereo installs for at least 25 years and they had a lot of static at low volume. Sounded blown. I reworked everything still the same. Ordered another pair and install the new ones. Same thing sounded good. On my way home I was listen to music, not even halve volume and I notice the sound started to degrade rapidly. I got home went through the system again, switched wires, channels, everything and same result, sounded blow.

Do yourself a favor and stay away from these speakers.. MB Quart, you have a problem. The "lower grade" models I installed in the back still sound good, no issues what so ever.

Sorry MB Quart, not good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 27, 2014 surprisingly good
Review by
Dustin from Boulder Creek, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i read on forums that modern mb is no good. i have been using them since the mid 90's when they were reputed to be great. had several sets in several vehicles. cant tell much difference between then and now. made well sound well. just wish they were still made in germany.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 13, 2014 MB Quart PVL 268
Review by
Russ from Dallas OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakes sound awesome, they work well with deck power, and even better with an amplifier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 5, 2013 Update on My Last Review of the PVL 268's
Review by
thefowlerfam from Holiday, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I did a review on these before. They are very smooth sounding speakers. My only complaint was they were lacking midbass. Well it was my mistake. There was a xover setting on my Kenwood DDX319 that was cutting the bass out. Now they are not the best at midbass, but they are definitely alot better than my last review. For budget component speakers you definitely can't go wrong!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 8, 2013 Not bad for the $$
Review by
Jeremy from Holiday, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered these for a budget system I was doing in my Ford Escape. I went with MB Quarts because I had a set of the older Q series in my old Nissan Sentra. I knew these were not going to be on the level as my old ones, but these surprised me especially considering the price. My only complaint is they lack midbass. I set the tweeters at -6db on the xover and they are nice and smooth sounding. I also like that you can either use them as components or coaxial speakers. I highly recommend these if your on a budget. I'm running them on a MB Quart ONX2.100 & it's a good combination. They seem to handle the extra power with no problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 19, 2012 Awesome buy
Review by
Dmoney from Thibodaux La.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these and the sound was amazing, they were professionally installed in my Harley Davidson F150 and they sound great, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 23, 2012 What happened to the quality of MB Quarts?
Review by
Roger Lee from Boca Raton, Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The tweeters are terrible compared to the 218's that I used to buy. I found out the hard way that you can't go buy by the name brand anymore. Go with JL Audio's if you want good car speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 19, 2012 Installed in F150
Review by
OldManTruck from Dallas, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
There are 3 components per door. We had to drill a hole in the door for the tweeters, and the placement of the crossovers was awkward. The sound is considerably better than the 4way-Pioneer 6x8 that I removed. The tweeters are very hot, so start with -6 which is what I stayed with. The clarity on vocals is night and day. Much improved anything else I've owned, even for a pickup. The setup does require more power than an all-in-one speaker solution. I'm using radio power for now, but an amp is on the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 15, 2012 Take this guy^^^^^ with a gain of salt.
Review by
PLC from Michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A speaker is nothing more than a electromechanical device that receives voltage and current input. Distortion only at low volumes could only be caused by poor harmonics on the incoming feed. High volume distortion can be caused by lack of BL or loosely spaced magnetic lines of flux, physical cone distortion, poor quality spiders, ect. Other causes for his issues could be improper volume in the doors resulting in peaks in the resonant fq of the speaker. Bottom line I would hate to see a good product be undersold because of an ill informed person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz