Showing 12 reviews for Autotek M12D4

Customer Review Summary for Autotek M12D4
Average Customer Rating is 4.0 out of 5 stars:
4.0
based on 12 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
67%
4 star:
.
.
8%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
.
8%
1 star:
.
.
17%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
3.8
Value
4.2
Features
3.9
Design
4.3
Usability
3.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
February 12, 2012 Boom Boom Boom
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
JPoon from Coraopolis, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this sub woofer. Very powerful and great bang for the buck. Hits the low frequencies without drowning out the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 16, 2011 great subs
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
scuba from shelton ct
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i bought two of these and put them in a box made for two jack hammer subs and let me tell you the bass is nice and low but at the same time loud. i love how in my full size four door pontiac i could feel it in my seat like as if someone was giving me a back rub. i have them powered by an audio pipe 15001d amp at a little less then 1/4 of gain and these things make me happy for the price i paid which was i think $99 bucks. i have two kicker comps cvr 12s and they are great but for the price these has style and class and the blue led glow from the logo is always a crowd looker bottom line you want something that hits like a kicker cvr but dont have the money to pay then these are a great entry level sub for you enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 19, 2013 Pretty darn good
Review by
matt from grand forks, nd
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have one of these in a ported homemade box about 1.5-1.8 cu/ft, which is a little bit bigger than required. It hits pretty hard and has a good deep bass to it. I have it hooked to a Boston Acoustics gt2125 amp bridged and wired to 2 ohms. At first I had a little bit of a burning smell, but it has since gone away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 11, 2012 Never again
Review by
Dhope205719 from Chiefland FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Speakers are wired to 1 ohm and only last a couple months at best. Have already sent one back and already am getting ready to send them both back again. It'd have been more cost effective to have bought better subs. Learned my lesson. Never gonna buy this brand of sub again. Doesn't matter if the neon is glowing if they sound like garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 2, 2012 Perfect
Review by
douglas from Chiefland, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A pair of these with the autotek 2500D is the perfect match. I have two in a custom box and the blue neon makes it stand out more than the next guys. Great buy for the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 26, 2012 AWESOME SO IMPRESSED!!
Review by
steve! from melbourne, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought 2 of these subs as they were recommended to me by a friend over in the USA, and I was a bit skeptical because of the pricing, but let me say this, I have NEVER heard a sub so clear at thumping bass!!! I paid for an Option Audio subwoofer which is a brand in Australia, and it was 500W RMS, but that was $150, but the Autotek sub blows it out of the water! It doesn't drain out the lows, and it's still really powerful. I love it! I'd so recommend this; you won't be disappointed. The sound quality is amazing, and it's VERY LOUD! Thanks Autotek!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 5, 2012 Ha
Review by
Rangel from Phoenix, Az
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So, I have this in my Grand Marquis (land boat) and it hits hard, but I notice that with some songs, I have to turn the epicenter down or I get this burning smell, but other than that it's good for what you pay for.

DUAL XHD7714->AUDIO CONTROL EPICENTER->FLI AMP-> (2) AUTOTEK M12D4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 11, 2011 Autotek M12D4
Review by
peter from Angleton, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these with an old Autotek 1000 watt amp in an 05 Impala. These speakers hit hard and sound nice. These subs make my hood move like im poundin on it. These are great subs and the price is great, also the LED light up logo is a real kick at night time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 28, 2011 Totally worth it
Review by
Danny from El Paso, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this sub in my truck for about a week and its sitting behind my seat. I can really feel it and its a lot better sounding than I expected for the price. Its also very lightweight. The illumination is supposed to be wired separately to a 12v power wire and a ground. So youre in for some extra wiring if you want it to light up. Overall, its a great buy if you're building a budget system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 12, 2011 BANG FOR BUCK
Review by
lu from Springville, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are nice subs for the price sound just as good as my old kicker comps did. Love the blu lettering. I would recommend these for someone who wants a okay system for okay price. power handling is right on got 1000 watt amp pushing them in ported enclosure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 7, 2013 Do Not Believe the RMS Ratings...
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Kevin from Lufkin, Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I paired this amp with a Fusion PP-AM100010 D-Class Amplifier. Here are the stats:

Frequency Response: 20Hz - 320Hz
Subsonic Filter
Bass Boost 0-12db
Remote Bass Level Controller Included
Protection: Thermal, Short Circuit, Output Short, DC Offset.
RMS Power: 620w RMS x 1 @ 2ohm (Subwoofer wired to 2ohm)
Max Power: 1000w

With the amp at half gain and half boost, and my radio on 1/3 volume listening to Metallica "One", I heard a pop... before I could turn the radio off I smelled smoke and electrical burning. I immediately killed power to everything and pulled the box. It was a custom built (by me) sealed enclosure that was exactly 1.00 cubic feet with 2.5 inches of space between the back of the box and speaker, as required in the instructions, for the speaker to vent heat. When I pulled the speaker from the box it looked like a Grateful Dead concert inside the box... I couldn't believe that much smoke could come out of a speaker. The M12D4 is rated for 500w RMS and 1000w Max. It was getting about half of that rated power. It lasted halfway through the song. Very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 20, 2012 Not true RMS
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Derek from wooster, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had this sub for about 2 weeks. I had it powered by a RF p300-1 wired to 2 ohms. Even though that amp will do about twice as much as it says, i know i only had it putting out 300-400 rms and this sub fried so quick. This sub is probily only good for 250-300 rms. Not 500 like it says. Just because your amp says it does 500 doesnt mean it does. Get a true 500 watts and it will blow. The golden rule for car audio "You get what you pay for"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz