Showing 8 reviews for JL Audio 12W7AE-3

Customer Review Summary for JL Audio 12W7AE-3
Average Customer Rating is 5.0 out of 5 stars:
5.0
based on 8 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
100%
4 star:
.
0%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.9
Value
4.9
Features
4.8
Design
5.0
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
March 22, 2014 Best sub ever
Review by
steven from Minot, ND
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great products, good customer service. Very pleased overall. I will def shop this site many more times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 21, 2014 w7 AE
Review by
yang from brooklyn park, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sub is awesome. I bought a jl 1000 watt amp to bump to this and it sucked. My kicker zx500 bump my w7 pretty nice in my honda fit. Still have plenty of room to bump even harder but my 500 watt gets the job done nicely. Best sub I owned and a bit pricey but well worth it if you have extra cash to spend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 18, 2014 Update on W7
Review by
Jason pt2 from Wisconsin
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had my box made for 2 jlW7s by Fatbox USA. They did a great job and my SPL went way up. I drive a Tahoe, now that I have a ported box the dash actually jumps up and down lol. I dynamited my truck with the NVX sound dampener and it worked awesome! I'm putting realistically 900watts to ea W7 and they love it! If the subs were cheaper I'd build a wall for 6 of these pigs and do second skin application. Be advised you will need a powerful 4ch amp to drive your surround speakers. I have 2 sets of JLC5-650 components and 2 sets of Focal PC690 6x9s to keep up when the bass is cranking. These are great OVERALL subs, if you want big sloppy sounding SPL go buy Kickers,Sundown,DC audio,earthquake ect. If you want pure clean bass you can tweak to your taste, go buy a W7 and get a custom vented box. I promise you won't be disappointed folks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 10, 2013 Great Value
Review by
Ron from Tampa, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent customer service. Fast shipping! Trustworthy! I definitely will recommend this website to friends & family members. Thank You very much (S.E.) for great deals on the sound system (JL Audio12w7ae & amps, etc..) I'd ordered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2012 Oh My Bass
Review by
Alex from Sacramento, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A lot of people say that JL Audio is overpriced, and it kind of is, but we all know that good things don't come cheap. I got this sub to replace my W3's and DAMN, this thing pounds. It handles whatever you throw at it. Lows, highs, anything. You can not only hear the bass, but you can feel it too. If you say that JL sucks or whatever, then why do you think they still get top dollar for this dub7? Or any other sub made by them.. It's the quality. And I pushed my W3's to the max and slapped the hell out of them and they never gave up on me. Never smelt a burnt coil or anything. JL Audio is quality, you get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 20, 2012 JL for life!
Review by
JL fan from Lafayette, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I thought I was impressed with the JL 12W6 until it crapped out (due to the eq curve that I didn't know about because it was purchased used.) My plan was to reuse the ported enclosure for the 12W7 but the woofer is damn near larger than the enclosure so I had no choice but to have an enclosure built to specs. There's a note that accompanies the woofer that says to tune your system without an eq curve (had I know that, my 12W6 may still be alive) The SQ of this woofer is excellent yet the 12W7 has SPL like multipe woofers. A ported enclosure is the only way to maximize the performance of this woofer. I have the JL HD 600/4 on my interior speakers and I'm pairing the woofer with the JL HD 750/1 and it's a match made in audio heaven. I have two blue top Optima's without any capacitors (capacitors are worthless) and the amps have no problems getting the power they need even with the ignition being in the accessory only position.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 25, 2012 W7 subwoofer
Review by
Jason from Wisconsin
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought 2 of these in a sealed box that sells here at sonic. I have a fosgate amp pushing around 1800 watts (supposed to be 1900 but being realistic). They are heavy and durabile as a tank! One thing i wanted to point out is these are loud in sealed but you want a ported box if you want windows to blow out. These in sealed boxes need alot of power. I have 2 optima batteries,a 2 farad cap, and a 270amp DC power alternator. It still wants more power! Im gona switch to ported custom box because i heard some W6s that were as loud or louder than mine on 1000 watts,stock alternator and a 50$ battery (come on im mad cuz i spent alot and expected more) once i get them in ported custom box il write another review. These are the best overall subs you can buy bar none! I dont care what anyone says for SQ,SPL, and range these are the king! JUST MAKE SURE TO PUT THEM IN PORTED BOXES OR YOU MIGHT BE DISSAPOINTED?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 22, 2012 Only the Best
Review by
Spencer from Los AngelesLos, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I heard of this beast for years and i finally got up and got one. Wow is all i can say, this thing hits like no other sub. The SPL is intense while it still maintains incredible SQ. This thing is a beast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz