Showing 9 reviews for JL Audio 13W7AE-D1.5

Customer Review Summary for JL Audio 13W7AE-D1.5
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 9 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
89%
4 star:
.
0%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
.
11%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
3.8
Features
4.3
Design
4.7
Usability
4.4
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
good buy

These subs are beasts they are probably the loudest and best sounding sub for the money. they have a well rounded range of bass and the clarity of it is amazing.

VS
I dont't get what all the hype is about JL ! ! !

SQ sound quality subwoofer made. This makes me laugh as I have competed since 1994 and if this is sound quality then im Santa Clause! I have had the 13W6 and the 13W7 and have to say that I have found many better subs for way less. I switched to the RE Audio XXX and am much happier and payed less than my W7. I feel JL is just living off the reputation they built as the subs have not changed in about 7 years. 500 to 1100 dollars for these subs is robbery but if you just have to have JL then have at it.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
August 10, 2011 good buy
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
alonzo from seattle, wa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs are beasts they are probably the loudest and best sounding sub for the money. they have a well rounded range of bass and the clarity of it is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 10, 2011 Great sound!!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Luis from Miam, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Would recommend this to whoever wants bass. looks good and sounds good. i am thinking of getting another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 20, 2014 W7 Rocks
Review by
Larry from New Brunswick, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is my second review of this sub. I now have it "broken in" and have switched up my amp to a JL 1000/1 amp from an Alpine PDX1.1000. There is a noticeable difference, but not a drastic difference. The difference is only in the fact that the JL amp maintains its 1000 watts over a range of voltage(from 11.6 to 14.4) whereas the Alpine amp puts out its 1000 watts at 14.4 volts and starts to drop as your voltage drains(which it will unless you have multiple batteries AND a cap). I have come to the conclusion that JL has a wicked good marketing department, and is very much like Apple Inc. They both charge TOP dollar for their products, which are top notch, but you can find a comparable product for a fraction of the price. In hindsight, if I had the room, I would have gotten an RE Audio XXX15 or a Skar Audio TXL15 for less money and had extra cash to beef up my electrical system more(Mechman Alternator, 3rd Battery). But, I didn't have the room for the box requirements for the RE or Skar subs. That being said, it still amazes me of the output of this 13w7 in only 2.375 ft3 vented. There is no other sub that can come close to the output of the 13w7 AND do it in less than 2 and half cubes. If your looking for extreme output and have limited space, then this is most definitely the best choice out there, but if you have the room for 5 or 6 cubes of sub box, I would go with the Skar TXL18 for half the money, twice the power handling and more output. But, that is comparing an 18" competition woofer to a 13.5"(more like 15" because of the way the surround goes all the way to the edge of the frame, instead of having a visible frame using up what could have been another inch of cone area). So, with that said, to the people that say"I wish JL made a 15w7", they pretty much are a 15" woofer. After using this sub and after having owned two 10w3v3's and using countless other brands of subs, this one is one of the most musical sounding I have ever used. It hits lows effortlessly and doesn't sound like a "giant bass hum or buzz" as a lot of other woofers sound. Plays music with authority and accuracy. I would recommend this sub to anyone looking for extreme output with a moderate sized enclosure(vented) and SMALL enclosure(sealed). I just wish JL would come down on their price a little. If this sub was in the $500-$700 range, I would have 2 of them in a sealed enclosure and still be at only 3.6 ft3 total box volume. To sum this up, great sub. Works awesome in Small enclosure sizes. A bit overpriced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2014 damn fine sounding sub
Review by
Larry from New Brunswick, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is pricey, but is extremely loud and sounds good too. Paired with a spec vented enclosure, this thing rocks any type of music. A single 13w7 with a true 1000 watts rms will make your windows flex and I still don't have mine set up properly yet nor is it even broken in. Expensive, but well worth it. It's money you won't regret spending. Gave 4 stars for value because of price, and 4 stars for features and ease of use because of the odd dual 1.5 ohm voice coils.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 3, 2012 13W7 review
Review by
Jstall7543 from Oly,WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased a 13W7 and a ported box tuned to jl specs and this one sub hits very hard! In a 01 civic the 13 hits pretty tight when needed and super low and very deep. The sound quality is pretty remarkable! I'm running a JL 1000 on it and it loves it. I previously was running two MTX thunder 12 7500's and this one sub destroys them on the same amp. However on some music I still miss the MTX's sound. The only real drawback to the 13w7 would be the weight in a good box is close to 100 pounds, I would recommend a high output alternator and a XS Power battery and 1 gauge wire to maximize the full potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 24, 2012 This Speaker Knocks Hard
Review by
Wesley from Carson City, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this thing in a custom 13w7 box in the back of my Toyota Land Cruiser, and it is ridiculous!!! That truck has a lot of air space inside, and that speaker fills it up and then some. It's just small enough to keep up with the double bass drums in metal (and it sounds like a machine gun), but so deep that it sounds like an earthquake from down the street when I'm listening to rap or whatever thumps. I would buy another but I dont want to go deaf and shatter my windows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2012 wow
Review by
mcds from abq nm
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 3 of these subs in my yukon running on a rf bd1500 1 at .75 ohms. Each sub is getting a lil over 2100 watts absolutely clean and loud. there is a reason JL has not changed theses subs in 10 years there is no need i play at full volume all the time an for the first time in 6 years i blew one. 365$ to jl and i get re-coned back in business all i can say is this sub is the best sub ive ever heard. There are alot of other subs out there that claim to be louder an most of them are 18's an need 6000 watts. I promise 3 jls running on 2000 watts each is gonna be louder then any 18.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 19, 2011 Awesome
Review by
rajs from kasson, mn
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is one of the best subwoofers ive ever heard. I have one hooked up in my car with a 1000/1v2 and it bangs hard! ive never heard anything like it. The only down side is they are a little spendy and are really heavy. But are definatly worth the money. If you can get your hands on one of these, they sound great and bump hard. Plus it will make everyone in your neighborhood jealous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 9, 2011 I dont't get what all the hype is about JL ! ! !
3 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
MACS from Buffalo NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
SQ sound quality subwoofer made. This makes me laugh as I have competed since 1994 and if this is sound quality then im Santa Clause! I have had the 13W6 and the 13W7 and have to say that I have found many better subs for way less. I switched to the RE Audio XXX and am much happier and payed less than my W7. I feel JL is just living off the reputation they built as the subs have not changed in about 7 years. 500 to 1100 dollars for these subs is robbery but if you just have to have JL then have at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz