Showing 22 reviews for Power Acoustik MOFO-124X

Customer Review Summary for Power Acoustik MOFO-124X
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 22 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
68%
4 star:
.
.
32%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.7
Features
4.5
Design
4.7
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
February 20, 2012 Good Deal
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
AJ from Omaha
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a good sub for the price. I dont think there is a better deal out there. I have 2 hooked up to a 1500 amp (hifonics) running at 1 ohm. Before they were broken in I could smell them burning up a little bit so id turn em down but now they run pretty good. I think the RMS on them is not something to go by, I had a 122x mofo on this amp turned about 3/4 the way up and it blew in a few weeks. I am comfortable running the pair at 1500 watts RMS. I think 1500 watts is plenty, and at that level these subs KNOCK. I turn plenty of heads. I have played them loud and for long periods of time. If your on the fence about these subs I would buy them, get a hifonics 1500 and a you will need a charging cap or extra battery. You could easily spend twice the price and not get as much of a bang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 27, 2014 cool woofer
Review by
Rocky Marshall from Kansas City, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub hits hard, I have it on a Brutus 2000 at 2 ohms, supposedly pushin 1400 watts and it thumps hard. The back of the sub is cool looking.
The tabs that cover the screw holes on the front would be cool if they fit
perfectly, mine don't. Wish I would of got the 122x so I could get down to
one ohm and give it even more power. Anyway it's a good buy my mofo is just now getting broke in, it seems to be a thumpin beast, just remember
what brand it is and how much it costs its not a JL, Sundown, or a DD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 7, 2014 Black&Blue Power X
Review by
Calvin from Monroe, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought a pair of these subs and haven't had much playin time with them but I tried them a sealed box at 1.6cuft per chamber,with a line of polyfil with 2000watts at 1ohm and they don't sound too bad but I took the polyfil out and noticed they sound better and responded better and I did notice a. Burning smell in the box when I removed the polyfil so the next box I put them in will be 1.25cuft per chamber and I'm expecting better results,and for the price they're worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 22, 2014 bass stops your heart
Review by
luv bass from lagrange, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Hits hard and loud! If you like loud lots of bass?this is the sub. I was very surprised. I have a gmc Sierra ext cab and people are shock to hear that much bass from a truck. the only complaint I had to order deep mounted sub box on line...most audio places don't have deep box in stock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 22, 2014 hits hard
Review by
will from lagrange, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent subs for the money. The subs hits hard and sound good.

pros: GOOD SUBS AT A GOOD PRICE....
cons: can't use standard truck box for ext cab truck. have to make or order custom box. which is not a problem...lots of web sites sell deep mounted sub boxes now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 11, 2014 serious speakers!
Review by
jimbo from Brookfield, ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are heavy duty speakers and they hit really hard too I have two wired up to a Brutus 2400 watt mono. Great setup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 28, 2014 great subs for price
Review by
seth from gray, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these on a hifonics brx 2400 and these mfers bang. I have had 12s,15, and many other setups and none of them have even come close to the bass i get out of these things. I knocked my rearview mirror off of my windshield and still havent broken them in yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 15, 2013 unsure
Review by
Aron from Grand Ledge, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Well i still haven't actually gotten to hear these things yet. I bought a prefab box to go with them because i didn't feel like building one yet. The box i ordered broke apart within the first week. They sound like they are going to slam tho. I am actually finishing my new box today and I am really excited to hear what these things can do. but so far they seem like they great subs especially for the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 20, 2013 Best bass for the money!!!!!
Review by
Sookie from Kaufman, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these mofos wired to 1 ohm running 2200 watts. They slam so hard in a ported box my windshield wipers bounce off my window like no tomorrow. But I would definitely recommend breaking them in before really cranking them. And I'm not too sure about 1500 watt rms per sub I'm running 1100 watt per sub and they get a little warm. Just be careful but these are great subs!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 20, 2012 power acustic mofo
Review by
rob from pasadena,md
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
the mofo sub is one of the best i have ever owened. great excursion.great sound. heavy bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 11, 2012 great buy
Review by
Johncwhatitb from Parma, Oh
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs sound great, it sound better with the 5500 bamf amp. If you love music these subs are great for the price & hit hard, so grab some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 2, 2012 The Best Subs!!!!
Review by
Mario from Saint John, NB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are hands down the best subs I've ever heard personally!! I have two of these powered by a Power Acoustik Demon 6000D. They sound unbelievable. I have them wired down to 1ohm so the amp is pushing out 3500 watt RMS, which is sick... If you are debating on weather to by the 2 or 4ohm ones, i'd go with the 4 ohm....they are a bit cheaper and you can wire it down one of them to 2 ohm, or if you have two, you can wire them down to 1 ohm, but make sure your amp is 1 ohm stable. Thanks Sonic!! I would recommend this sub to everyone. I already set 3 car alarms off :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 2, 2012 Best Subwoofer So Far!!
Review by
Mario from Saint John. N.B, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are by far the best subs I've ever heard in my own car before or in anyone elses actually!! I Am running two of these babys on a "Power Acoustik Demon 6000 watt " I think this is the best amp for these subs and best subns for this amp. If you are contumplation on weather you should buy the 2 ohm or 4 ohm, I would buy the the 4ohm becuase if you are running only one of them, you can wire down to 2 ohm, and if you are running two of them, you can wire both of them down to 1 ohm, which is awesome for me because my amp is 1 ohm stable and puts out 3500 watt rms at 1ohm!! Thank you so much Sonic!! I would totally recommend these subs to everyone!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 29, 2012 Mofo's baby
Review by
Eric from Wakefield, Va
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got 2 mofo's on a power acoustik 3000db running in my 2006 jetta running off the factory deck and they do work they will give you the bang for your buck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 16, 2012 super value
Review by
punisher from camden n.j
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The mofo are bad*ss subwoofers. Great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 7, 2012 Definate big bang for the bucks
Review by
Cavalier from Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've owned this beast for a year now and I'd say if you want to save some money but not sacrifice big bass this subwoofer is the sub. I've had it in a spec box and people think I'm running 2 of these and are susprised when I pop the trunk and I only have 1. This sub is a bargain for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 3, 2012 Suprisingly good subwoofer
Review by
Thatguy from Rochester, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Suprisingly good subwoofer. I am usually a Rockford or Kicker person but wanted to go from dual to a single 12" subwoofer for space reasons. This was at least 5x cheaper for the same or more power handling than the brands I usually look at and I have to say I am glad I bought it. Very loud for a single 12" with the proper enclosure and very powerful and hard hitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 26, 2011 wow
Review by
outcold from midland michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got these after my Audiobahn 1200J's popped so I tried these hooked em up to my brutus 2400 watt super class d mono block and I was breath taken. Can't believe they're handling every thing I throw at them for a small price and a big bang. Any 1 who purches these shalll not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 23, 2011 Perform like an Orion HCCA =)
Review by
BOSS from St. Maries, ID
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought two power accoustics mofos 124's and hooked em up to my Audiobahn 1300 at a 1 ohm load in an absolute dual ported box and these things will make your ears bleed. I have them in my nissan king cab pickup and they r rattling basically everything loose. I keep telling my dad to switch from his rockfords but he is too stern. He thinks they are better than mine =p lol anyways i am looking to get two more along with a soundstream little wonder 5400 =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 25, 2011 wtff
Review by
basshead1994 from bethel springs, tennessee
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought two of these from a shop and have them on a ssl force d monoblock 3600watt amp turnd as low as it goes and i have had them for 3 weeks and have already shook my glass loss. I FREAKIN loves these things. They get good lows and very clean highs. If you have the cash get them. People say you can put them thru heck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 3, 2011 MOFO 12 WOW!
Review by
cornflake from Providenciales, Turks and Caicos Islands
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this sub looking to test it out, WOW, its awesome, if you can handle earth shattering bass get two in 3.00 cu ft each and hold your breath, there will be an earthquake in your car
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 7, 2011 Holy s*** what the heck!
Review by
Eric from Moore, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you are on a budget and you want subs that are ridiculously loud, these are the subs for you. I have two in a slot ported box powered by a Hifonics 2000d and these things slam extremely hard. I have to rev up my car when I turn them up because my car bogs down and my lights go dim. They arent even broken in yet and my amp is only turned up halfway and these things quake. I do wish they would make the wiring a little easier like the alpine type rs, but for $150 you cant get anything as good looking and as loud as these things are. I hope they hold up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz