Showing 42 reviews for Clarion CX501

Customer Review Summary for Clarion CX501
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 42 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
55%
4 star:
.
.
40%
3 star:
.
.
5%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.7
Features
4.5
Design
4.6
Usability
4.2
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
July 28, 2012 Great Experience
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Phillip from Dallas, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ordered this head unit on Saturday and it was delivered the next Wednesday (free shipping). I can't ask for a better start than that.

The install did require that I use a side bracket off of my factory radio but that was because the kit that I got from the auto shop had a design flaw.

I previously had a 6 year old half-din Sony X-Plod deck but needed something with a third pre-out and iphone compatibility but I got a whole lot more. The Clarion sounds better, has many more options to customize my sound and allows for custom color settings to match your interior. The audio is a lot richer than my Sony which I felt did not produce a "warm" enough full sound. Maybe it is partially due to the 4V output but this thing sounds a heck of a lot better already. Many previous reviewers noted that Clarion was known for great sound.

The iphone setup was pretty easy but I had to search the web to find the pin (1234) to pair my phone to the Clarion. To this point I have streamed music over bluetooth (which was easy and sounds good enough for me) and made a test call to my wife while sitting in the drive way. She could hear me fine but I think that we'll have problems when I'm on the highway and leaning back in my seat - my vehicle produces quite a bit of road noise - we'll see. I still need to test out the sound quality and controls using the iphone cable but I expect it to only be better. Finally, I also think my FM radio quality is improved.

That's it. If you are looking for a double-din car stereo with a lot of features built in for a low price then this is the way to go. You can pay a lot more and get less. My only concern is the lack of an external bluetooth mic but not having it keeps the purchase and install cost down for me so I was ok with this from the start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 20, 2012 Installed to 2008 Nissan Altima
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Franky from Milford, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I really like this radio! My 1st Clarion!! Clear, loud sound better than factory radio. One of the main reasons of purchasing this head unit because it looks so much like the factory radio. Big volume knob in the middle!! The aftermarket kit the Sonic Electronics provided was all perfect! Scosche wire harness, power antenna and dash kit....It totally looks factory!! Still using the factory speaker which plan to upgrade soon. Also purchased and installed the Axxess ASWC and it works better than factory controls! I can now shut off the radio from the steering wheel just by holding down the source button. Can REW/FF songs from my phone via Bluetooth also from the steering wheel controls!
Reading the many reviews before purchasing this and the most complain is display not bright enough and ease use. Which I can agree to a very little degree. Night time illumination is perfect, daytime I just adjusted the contrast to highest brightness.... and with direct sunlight on the unit it's very readable!
Now, navigation of menu and options is some getting used too but it will become familiar very soon. Moderate learning curve but not hard at all! I definitely recommend this product if using double din size because all of it's great features and price value! I believe that speaks in volumes on how much this product is very well liked in the radio aftermarket community!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 23, 2012 Cheap for a reason
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
che from burnaby, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed in a Honda Ridgeline. Not a bad unit, sounds ok but has a low rent feel and look.
Pro: Lots of options, plays usb, bluetooth very easy install.
Con: Display looks like 80s VCR, Bluetooth sync problems, Does not play Mp4 files.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 7, 2011 Excellent
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Christopher from LA, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great headunit for the price. The iPod/iPhone USB support is great. Charges my iPhone 4 properly and plays great quality audio. Bluetooth Phone and Audio connect are also superb. I've had the unit a week now and all my calls incoming and outgoing are clear and of great quality. I've been streaming Pandora and the MLB at Bat App and the audio is just great.

I have installed a Sirius SCC1 with this as well. Also very easy to hook up (just a single wire to the headunit from the SCC1. Sound quality is okay, but that is the SCC1's fault, NOT THE CX501's.

My only gripe is, the USB port is in the front. Would've loved for it to be in the back for easy routing of the iPhone cable to my glove box, but I can live with it.

I have a 2009 Toyota Corolla and the install was easy with wiring harness. Did the wiring harness at my kitchen table night before the install. Install took me total of about 25 min to get in the car, take out old radio and install the new one.

If you're looking for a headunit without the GPS/DVD(besides who needs that stuff when you have iPhone and iPads and Droid's and such) then get this headunit. I can't rave enough about it. The only thing i dislike so far is the front USB, just wish it was in the back! 4.5/5 Stars from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 30, 2014 Good Upgrade for Toyota Rav4
Review by
TW from Robins, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed this unit in my daughter Rav4 (2004). Sound quality is much better and with more bass than stock radio. Handsfree phone pair works well. Best is streaming music from her iphone 5 to play over the stereo, and the next button on radio changes iphone to the next song.

I liked this unit as it has one large round volume control and 6 preset buttons much like an OEM stereo would have. So it looks good in the dash.

I set the illumination to red/orange to match the OEM dash colors. It also has a setting to change colors on the radio every 5 seconds. My daughter likes this.

Great expandability with subwoofer out, and frequency tuning of the lows, mids, and hi's.

Adjusting simple bass and treble controls is a bit cumbersome and slow advancing through the menus...

Overall, I'd buy this again and again. Streaming radio and songs via iphone is soooooooooo cooooooooooool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 22, 2013 attractive unit
Review by
Vix from Streator, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
all in all...I am fairly pleased with the unit. My only knock would be that it does not have a true channel scan on the radio. When you push the forward arrow it will only advance to he next channel. So while you are driving you have to continually push the button a million times to locate a station.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 27, 2013 Great product
Review by
w.l. larry from aubrey, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great radio. Installed in 2001 Ford F-250. Also got the speakers. Clarion products are a major difference in the sound in the truck. The only negative thing to say is the volume control is very easy to turn. Sonic was great in all dealings getting this setup. Absolutely the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 10, 2013 awesome product for the money
Review by
game pro dad from douglasville, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It was what my daughter was looking for, for features. It turned out to be a great product with a lot of extras! I especially like the blue tooth for her phone using the car speakers, this way she can pay attention to the road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 27, 2013 great deck
Review by
metalcowboy from sheridan, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this deck is awesome has lots of features, clean design, and fits pretty good into the stock double din location in my 06 chevy truck. front usb and aux are awesome. i would recommend getting a small usb stick if you plan on leaving the stick in there, i found a 16gb stick thats not much bigger then the dongle for my laptops mouse.

all in all the if you are not looking for a touch screen double din then i highly recommend this deck, it has a good amount of sound tuning options and a wide array of media options
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 5, 2013 Nice Unit...
Review by
FX4MAN from Charlotte, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just installed this unit into my f150 and it looks great. I like that the layout is simple and easy to use. The Bluetooth works great and because the mic is inside the unit you do not have to go crazy trying to wire the mic. I have a simple set of speakers that are not expensive and the unit sounds nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2013 Great buy for an almost factory look.
Review by
Brad from Edmonton, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am really pleased with the features, capabilities and reasonable price.

I installed mine in a leased 2010 Corolla and it looks great, matches the factory illumination colour well and is a good size for the space.

Some of the menus are not intuitive for me so I had to keep the manual handy for the initial learning period and I would have preferred the USB connection was at the rear but I'll get over it.

I was also really happy with the experience buying from Sonic Electrnix, keep up the great work guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 25, 2013 Good Unit
Review by
Andrew from Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got this unit for my 01 Pathfinder. Did a complete speaker install with 12" sub. Paired it with an alpine 50w x 4 amp for the four speakers and a 600w alpine amp for my sub. Sounds great even using the factory tweeters with the aftermarket crossovers. Now to the Deck. Does exactly what it needs to, and does that well. Only down sides are these: Sub volume control doesn't go to "off" only from -6 - +6. Setting up my blackberry was a bit of a pain but works good once it's paired. Because it comes with sirius, cd, aux, and all the rest the source menu is a bit to scroll through. It has been a rock solid deck so far. I would recommend it if you're looking for a cheaper double din with cd, without the giant screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 19, 2013 AWESOME head unit
Review by
scott from mt airy nc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Picked this out as a gift from my wife for my bday. They had the BEST price compared to amazon and crutch field plus included free install kit and wiring kit. Shipped quickly. Everything was as described and works perfect in my 04 f150 lariat. Looks OEM in my truck. Bluetooth is awesome. Wife could not tell she was talking to me on it. It connects every time to my phone. Auto connect works great too. The color choices are limitless. I love this head unit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 16, 2012 Good choice for a Nissan
Review by
Kelley from Athens, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this unit about a week ago and recieved it on Friday. I installed it Saturday in an 05 Xterra because the factory unit quit working. So far I am very pleased with it. I had a couple of fears after reading other reviews but went ahead with the purchase. I have heard a lot about the screen being too dim but if you turn the contrast all the way up to 16 it might take care of the problem. It worked for me. I wanted something that would be iPhone compatible, match my dash lights, and have pre-amp outputs for front, rear, and sub. this also has the bonus of being 4v outputs too. The menu is easy to navigate but it is not as easy to set once you find what you are trying to adjust. If you set it and leave it this wont be an issue but if you are a tweaker it could be very frustrating till you get the hang of it. They other thing I really like is that the style was similar to my factory look. It has round preset buttons and I like the Center volume knob. The transaction with Sonic Electronix was great. I saved about $35 or $40 over C********* price. The only strange things were I got a free Metra dash kit that wasn't required for the install and I payed an extra $4 for an antenna adapter that was also not required. The 05 Xterra is the first year of the second generation so I think that maybe a few things are different between them and the newer models or something. Anyway, I have a couple of things left after the install that were not required. Other than that everything was perfect. Thanks Sonic for making my Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 11, 2012 Great at this price point
Review by
Kelly from Strathmore, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I wanted a deck that had Bluetooth, USB, and was double DIN. This has worked great for me. Being able to adjust the colour is a handy feature.

Only downside is the Bluetooth is not perfect. At times it cuts in and out, not all the time though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 19, 2012 Clarion CX501 - Sounds excellent!
Review by
Ed from Aurora, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The CX501 has a long list of nice features. It looks and sounds great. I gave up my Mercury Monterey van Ford in dash 6 disc to get the USB and input jack and was rewarded with a significant upgrade in sound and features overall. This unit (plus two new front speakers) changed the sound of the stock unit to a much fuller sound, VERY similar in depth to the great sounding Ford "Premium Sound System." The wide range of colors it displays is handy as you can match it to any car instrument light colors. The one button that overrides everything and takes you to your favorite radio station has proven useful when I get the thought, "Hey, the Rockies are playing tonight!". The display showing complete data about your CD is something I've never had before and it is great. Only odd thing was the error message I started to get the second day saying "AMP GRD." It stands for "amp guard." The unit worked fine for a day then this error code started coming up off and on. When it comes up, the amplifiers in the CX501 are completely disabled. After checking and rechecking, adding additional ground wires, etc., three tries later I discovered I had the polarity of the right front speaker reversed. That finally cured it and I am as now very happy with the CX501. While I was frustrated sorting it out, I presume that AMP GRD feature protects my investment in the Clarion radio so I can't be too upset about it. This is an excellent value in a great sounding double DIN car stereo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 6, 2012 Good electronics, Lousy interface
Review by
Frank from Nyack, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got this primarily so I could use my bluetooth phone in a hands-free mode in the car. Works like a charm. It auto connects when I start up, calls come through very well, the car speaker transmits the sound at good volume, and the built-in mic picks up my voice without problems. AM and FM reception is good (have trouble with some fringe FM stations, but I know they have lousy signals). The USB and CD functions work well - don't have Satellite radio, so have no idea how that works.

The problem is the interface is so complicated, I have to roll out the manual every time I want to do something new (or something I haven't used in a long time) - and some things (like some BT setups) are hard to figure out even with the manual.

I installed it myself in my Subaru (in place of the Subaru multl-CD unit) - took a little time, but found good instructions on the web.

I'm not a big fan of its appearance (sort of cyclops like look), but that's not important to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 23, 2012 Awesome stereo for the money
Review by
Mike from Moorpark, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great stereo for the money. Close to stock but with many more options. Sound is even better than the stock head unit. Glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 6, 2012 Great device
Review by
Ohad from East dulwich, 0, Great Britain
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I think and experienced only good things about this product, it connected very well to my iphone and my wifes iphone and all the features are working smoothly.

What can i say, very quality product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 3, 2012 The Clarion CX501 met my expectations!
Review by
Karen from Surrey, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this unit for about 2 months now and I've been extremely happy with it. It's installed in a 2002 Toyota Sienna van (no JBL system) if that helps any drivers of that vehicle out.

The bluetooth connectivity is great and it automatically connects to my iPhone4 and my husbands Android cell without issue. The built in mic (i.e. no wire and microphone to run!) works very well and the sounds coming from phone calls is perfect.

We were originally going to use it for music playback as well, but bluetooth quality is meh (this is not the units problem they all suffer from quality loss!) for music and found just throwing all our music on to a mini usb stick and plugging it in the front was the better option. The nice thing about the USB is it has very easy to use navigation between folders and songs. When you shut off the car, it picks right up from where you left which is great if you are listening to an audio book or anything where you don't' want to lose your position.

The controls are fairly intuitive but we did need to consult the manual a couple of times at first (and the manual is great!!). I do wish the "auto connect bluetooth" was enabled by default so if you don't think your phone, ipod, etc are not automatically connecting, make sure you set the "bluetooth connection" to "auto" in the bluetooth settings. The big volume now is great as it's easy to reach for and the ability to change the color to match the rest of your vehicles interior lighting is great. It has a anti theft blinking red light that you have to enable which hopefully acts as a deterrent. The song names scrolling across the front is nice although it does have a semi VCR like appearance but I'm not complaining given the price!

AM/FM tuning was great with no issues at all. I don't have a Sirius satellite account so can't comment on that, although I may be tempted now that I have this head unit.

EQ controls were good and the unit really brought the Polk Audio DB651s we purchased previously to life when compared to the stock head unit.

So if you need a reasonably priced double din blue tooth head unit, I would recommend this one in a heart beat. Well done Clarion on this product and thanks Sonic for a great purchase experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 15, 2012 Jasman
Review by
james from Dansville, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit rocks pretty darn good. For the money you can't go wrong. Only thing I've seen is the color on the screen malfunctioned after a month of use, but still effective. Very easy to navigate thru and set up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 7, 2012 Good Unit
Review by
GATruck from Atlanta GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed this 6 months ago. Works good, have the HD and sat radio installed as well. A few times the unit has locked up, but corrects when key is turned off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 7, 2012 Great head unit. Simple and still has all features.
Review by
Pablo from Dover, DE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this head unit for a few months now and I have nothing but good things to say about it. The display is simple to hopefully prevent any unwanted thieves. Yet it retains all features. Colors can be adjusted to match the rest of the interior.

It contains Bluetooth, iPod connectivity, extra inputs out back, etc. Great sound quality for all features.

About the only thing that is sort of weak is the mic on the front of the head unit. I have to almost shout for someone to hear me, but that is not the head units fault, just simple physics of the mic being away from your seat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 6, 2012 Clarion cx501
Review by
Johnny from CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great replacement for my stock Subaru radio. Nice fit and finish, able to change the color to match the rest of the gauges (red). Made my stock speakers come to life. Bass boost really works. Integrated Bluetooth works well. Excellent bang for the buck. I recommend this unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 29, 2012 Not great
Review by
Wharfe from Newfoundland, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Wanted a basic good sounding unit with a volume knob so I bought this based on the reviews, wondering if something is wrong with my unit, because I'm somewhat disappointed.. Maybe its just mine but there are some annoying quirks.

1) No separate function buttons, only one, so you have to press it a number of times to go between Radio, USB, etc. I'd rather them be separate for quick access. 2) Bluetooth is terrible. I'd like to use BT for audio so then when I get a phone call it automatically comes through, but the track change over bluetooth is so slow I can't use it, and noticed bad audio quality too. So I've been using USB for my iPhone, which causes a couple of problems. If I leave BT enabled on the phone the audio goes out there by default so I have to change it everytime or I hear silence. And then when I do get a phone call, I need to change the stereo to BT mode to talk. Also even on USB pressing the next track button usually forwards 2-3 tracks on the iPhone instead of just 1.

Looking to replace this one. It sounds good but it's getting on my nerves. Might as well own something I'm happy with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 15, 2012 Outstanding product
Review by
Peter from satellite Beach, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I replaced the unit in my wife's expedition with this new radio. My largest concern was installing the unit and purchased the closes replacement as possible for ease of installation. The unit works perfectly, The wife is very , very happy with the upgraded unit and I couldn't believe how simple it was to install. I think the whole swap out of the radios took 8 minutes!
Outstanding! Thank you very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 14, 2012 Great stereo, but really really crappy random function
Review by
Cassidy from Calgary, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Overall it's been really great, using the BT hands free is the biggest bonus, especially since it has a built in mic. FM reception has been good, and overall audio quality is good. However, if you want to use this for only an iPod, there are a few major issues.

The biggest problem with this unit is that the random function is really crappy and highly predictable. No matter what you are listening to, it will play the same order each time even when you are in random. If you have an iPod or multiple folders on a USB disk, forget about any sort of expectation of random. It picks the first folder alphabetically, plays the songs in there in a sort of random way, then moves on to the next folder in alphabetical order, and sort of plays those randomly. Overall, it's the same order each time. Usually each of those folders is the same album or artist, so no random at all. You will get more random plays using the original playlist order.

Next biggest problem is how hard it is to use the iPod with this deck. If you have large numbers of playlist/artists/albums, you have to scroll one at a time through them. It would have been nice to just use the forward or back buttons beside the dial to skip through to the next alphabetical item, rather than do nothing. Since the deck takes control of the iPod, you can't use the iPod itself to scroll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 26, 2012 Clarion Cx501
Review by
Jemandari from Wheeling Wv
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This has been a great headunit over the past six months and I would recommend it to anyone. This headunit has all of the adjustment to make your speakers sound great and also to make your sub bump! Plenty of RCAs for external amps and even one for your sub. Another big selling point I loved was Sirius satellite ready. I also enjoy the ability to change the colors of the headunit to match the color of the dashboard lights. Have no complaints here...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 24, 2012 Excellent Headunit, but not without a few issues.
Review by
William from Winchester, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The headunit is excellently functional and almost everything works great. My only plight with it is the extremely difficult to use and frustrating bluetooth connectivity. It refuses to connect to my phone to this day. (however has worked with several others) (HTC Inspire 4g). Other than that excellent headunit and I would highly reccomend it to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 29, 2012 Just what I wanted!
Review by
Jeffrey from Council Bluffs, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This stereo fits and sounds great, and with Bluetooth I can stream radio from my phone and get calls as well. The USB makes it easy to play all my music. I didn't need a super fancy unit so it fits my needs perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 25, 2012 great value!
Review by
cat from limassol, Cyprus
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent, very good, works perfect!!! I love it
and it has great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 15, 2012 Super kind
Review by
Diana from Tashkent, 0, Uzbekistan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Hello! In our country, banned car radios to monitor that plays video. So I bought a Clarion CX501. Clarion CX501 has the best appearance in its class, very cool looks and day and night! But the sound quality is average, very faint sound settings. Bottom line: if you're a family man, do not listen to loud music, and you need a radio without a video monitor and probably the best view in its class, then the Clarion CX501 for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 3, 2012 Good car deck
Review by
Sebastien from Quebec, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good car deck overall but display should be brighter in day time. The deck is conneted to a 4 channel amp and the sound is very good. Another bad thing is that you have to choose time display or track name, you can't see both at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 5, 2012 perfect radio
Review by
james from middletown, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great product, it has everything you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 22, 2011 Factory look
Review by
Stephen from Mooresville, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit is great for many reasons. I like how it manages to look somewhat factory, but with so many more features. The amplifier in this thing is one of the cleanest I've heard with plenty of power to even power component speakers with decent volume. I agree with many of the others on the placement of the USB, but for me it's easy to make use of with flash drives (using a Staple's 16 GB drive.) I haven't used the Bluetooth yet so I can't really say much; as far as that feature goes. The only issue I have is it's somewhat slow response when changing radio stations or selecting songs to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 29, 2011 Great unit, easy install
Review by
Clarion reviewer from Toronto, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit is my favorite of all the 2 din systems I have had so far. It was easy to install in my 98 F150 lariat. Sound is beauty for my purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 16, 2011 Great Receiver!
Review by
Jarrod from Lancaster, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Clarion CX501 is a great receiver. I have had no problems with it.

Pros: A lot of features: Bluetooth, front usb port, front aux port. Great for hooking up your Ipod or smart phone.

Cons: Can be a little tough to figure out how to use all the features. Menus can be somewhat confusing to navigate.

Once you figure it out it is well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 7, 2011 Good Head Unit
Review by
James from Odessa, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Reasonably priced with all the features I wanted. iPhone/iPod interface functions as advertised. The USB flash drive interface works just as I expected, with decent sound quality. The bluetooth hands-free interface works very well thus far. Note that if I connect my iPhone and start playing music before the blue-tooth connection is established, the audio disappears but the display still indicates that the song is playing once the blue-tooth connection is complete. This is easily remedied by either waiting until the blue-tooth connection is complete to plug in the iPhone or disconnecting and reconnecting the usb/dock connector. Please note that this head unit is primarily being used with and iPhone 3GS, firmware version 4.3.5. The display color adjustment is a nice touch as I was able to tweak the settings to match my dashboard illumination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 15, 2011 Did not dissapoint
Review by
Henry from Philadelphia, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just got this for my 2005 Chevy Equinox. Even with the stock speaker set there is an incredible and very noticeable change in the quality of audio, no matter what the source. I purchased this unit primarily for the bluetooth capability to stream Pandora from my Droid, and it works flawlessly. The phone and HU pair up every time I enter the car without a problem. All in all not a thing I do not like about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 14, 2011 Really Like It!
Review by
builderbond from Apex, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just put this in my daughters 2001 Pathfinder that had a defective Bose factory system. I got this one because it has an extra set of preamps out for a future sub-woofer.

Anyway, wired it with a Metra 70-7551 harness and just color code matched the wires. Connected the RCA plugs in the harness to the preamp outputs on the back (White - Left front, Grey - Right front, Green - Left rear, Violet - Right.... is the harness configuration....they didn't send directions but I found some on the internet!) Plugged it in and it worked like a charm. I was worried because I had read that it was hard to integrate with the Bose factory power amp but it sounds great. Line out output is 4 volts which is supposedly correct for the Bose power amp.

The thing has 12 different lighting colors to match your dash or you can make it scroll through them continuously like disco lights. (didn't expect that) It has a nice classy factory look installed. The ipod controls work great.
Another plus is that it used the factory mounting brackets in the Pathfinder and fit perfect. Lastly...Sounds Good! So far so good. Very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 17, 2011 works great. easy to use
Review by
ismael from east elmhurst, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
works great, easy to install. sounds great.looks good with the color changing screen. only problem is not been able to tranfer my phone book to the data in the radio, trying to fix that issue
n by the way fix perfect in a mitsubishi 2004 autlander, even the page says it wont fit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 13, 2011 Great product, good sound and design for the price.
Review by
DEVEN from Minneapolis, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First of all, the guys at Sonic are awesome. I had to return a Sony HU in exchange for this Clarion CX501. With the Sony HU, the fluorescent screen was difficult to see during daylight but at nights ok.

I've always driven a Nissan Maxima and they either comes with Clarion HU or Bose from the factory. This is how I know about Clarion. They are not the most popular brand out there, but they made good replacement HU that looks just like factory. I love everything about this unit except the Bluetooth range is not too far. I also added the HD radio adapter and plan to add XM Sirius soon too.

Pros: The Clarion CX501 is a beautiful and awesome product. Streaming Bluetooth audio, phone calls, 21RMS per channel, HD radio and much more…..I couldn’t ask for better for less than $250. Unit sounds great with JBL’s 6.5 and Polk Audio 6.5 speakers. Sound is great without a need for additional amplifier.

Cons: I was streaming music from my iPhone and went to my car trunk with the phone in my hands and was losing sound quality. This is only a minor issue because the phone supposes to be in the car any ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz