Showing 31 reviews for Clarion VZ401

Customer Review Summary for Clarion VZ401
Average Customer Rating is 4.2 out of 5 stars:
4.2
based on 31 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.3
Value
4.5
Features
4.3
Design
4.3
Usability
4.3
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
December 8, 2014 Very pleased
9 of 15 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jr from Comox valley, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great deal and shipping was fast, I would defffinety order through these guys again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Good Value
9 of 15 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jake from Grand Rapids,MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would say this deck is a great deck for the price. I have it installed in my Firebird. I would say it would be much nicer if it displayed the song title, artist name, album, & cover art through bluetooth but it does not. It connects pretty well to bluetooth but sometimes it does not and has errors connecting. I have it hooked up to two Kenwood 12" 2400W Subwoofers and two 3000W Kenwood amps and I can say this deck handles it greatly. It hits very hard, flexing the back window. I would recommend this deck for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 2, 2012 Waist of Money!!
9 of 15 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
chris from evans, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Worst dvd player ever! Had a Power Acoustics and thought the tuner was bad so spent more to get this stereo. Only to find out the antenna adapter had a broken center pin. At least the Power Acoustics dvd player worked till i got into the foothills. The Clarion's tuner wouldn't even work in my garage. Not easy to use. Bluetooth only goes to one speaker instead of all like my Power Acoustics. Need an amp to power speakers. Dvd screen not great. All in All this was a disappointment. Buyer beware!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 1, 2014 Great Unit
8 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tom from Ajax, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent unit for the price. Easy to install.

Cons: The screen does not automatically close when ignition is turned off. Not a big deal as you just have to get used to powering off before turning the ignition key off. Also, it is too bad it does not have an interface for newer iPhones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 16, 2014 Great deal
7 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
matt from Asheville, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Does what it says great TV it's worth every penny great durability, tons of add ons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 20, 2014 awesome
8 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
lisa from chesapeake, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easy to use, easy navigate, good sound and clear picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 27, 2012 A must have
12 of 22 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
David from Bronx, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this unit for at least 5 months and let me tell you is the best unit i have owned so far. The picture is crystal clear, and the capabilities of the unit are extensive. There are options for GPS and a rear view camera. These are excellent extras to have available. I have a small car with a small dashboard and regular screen radios did not fit. This flip out radio works seamlessly. There is no stutter, pause, or noise when the screen comes out. The bluetooth option is amazing. Once my iPhone was connected I am able to play music without connecting it via USB. The option to make and recieve calls through the radio is also wonderful while driving. This radio far surpassed my expectations and I would recommend this to anyone who wants a screen but has no space for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 9, 2012 working
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
johnel from gresham, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It works fine not the best of the best but put an eq on it and it bangs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 11, 2014 Cool starter screen
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Rudy from Cincinnati, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This flip out is cool for someone starting off or (like me) old school and don't require a whole lot of flash. It does what it's supposed to do for the most part. Had a few headaches getting the DVD screen to engage because of the pesky parking brake issue but that's easily fixed via (relay). Oh yea make sure you have hella room behind your dash cause this lil monster has a stack and a half of wires and rca's that will normally keep you from getting the radio docked into position. Had to cut out the middle of the inner decking to just get the beast in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 12, 2014 awesome head unit
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jacob from florence, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Awesome product, great value, and the best customer service i have received in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 3, 2014 Nice Single Din Option
8 of 15 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
K-Dub from San Antonio, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Used as a replacement head unit in my 2001 Sierra and I'm very happy with the fuctions. Only issue is that the shift lever is in the way of the flip out screen when in park.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 18, 2013 Great Buy
10 of 19 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tammy from Cable, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great product! The price was perfect. I am very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 6, 2014 rattna
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
sokkim from montreal, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
vz401 good i am use this one a lot thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 1, 2014 Great Radio Big bang for the buck.
8 of 16 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
David from N. WIlkesboro, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This radio is very nice and affordable. Lots of options to add as well, monitors, backup cameras, Sirius radio. Great quality too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 29, 2013 Easy install
10 of 20 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Terry from Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Nice unit. Instructions clear. Everything fit first time installed.LED clean,Bluetooth connects fast .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 23, 2013 VZ401
10 of 20 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
frogdog from lawton,ok
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
if you're looking for a good deck but not wanting to spend a lot of money, this is it. all the features you need sirius ready, navi ready, bluetooth.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 23, 2012 Excellent
7 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jose from san lorenzo, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is one of the most excellent products I have bought in my life. It's easy to use and a very nice stereo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 29, 2011 clarion vz401 indash monitor
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
steve from east taunton, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought the TV looking for a bargain. I got what I paid for. I also bought the receiver looking for sound quality. I did not get that. The unit doesn't have high pass filters or a low pass filter so subwoofer quality and control is poor. As far as the screen resolution it was exceptionable. I recomend this tv for someone looking for JUST a TV because the equalizer and subwoofer control are poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 21, 2014 Great price
6 of 13 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Hugo from Portland, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit is very nice and for the price you can't complain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 18, 2014 clarion
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
that guy from muskegon mi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this receiver about a month ago and it sounds great and the expandability is awsome. I got an old school mtx four channel hooked up for the high and a optidrive amp for the subwoofer. The only thing I dont like about this deck is the screen dont go down when I shut my vechile off other than that it great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 20, 2014 Very Suprised and Pleased!!!
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ryan from Las vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I heard mixed reviews on this model, and I just gotta say with ALL the features for the price it's really hard to beat, when I showed it to my co-workers they could not believe it was under $300. quite functional the Bluetooth works great, love the hands free. iPod video's play and sound great. did I mention options, options and more options? I installed it myself in about an hour and a half. Replaced a Kenwood kdc-mp2035, and right away I noticed a difference in sound quality, even though the same ole stock speakers! I recommend it to all my friends and co-workers. By far the best dollar 4 dollar value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 17, 2014 not impressed
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Nicholas from hamilto, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Well its loaded with issues for one, ranging from the auto screen open not working,
To the fact that ipod wont work on it, and that's why I bought it.
Its my fault tho I should have learned that clarion is garbage the last time I bought from them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 1, 2013 Love this player!
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tyson from Lehi, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this because it was on sale and I like Clarion products. It has not disappointed. It is very easy to use and install was a breeze thanks to the kit. The only downside I have is that the reverse camera doesn't automatically pull up when I put it in reverse, my friends truck does. Other than that, I love this player!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 11, 2013 great radio and good price
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Francisco from Puerto Rico
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For me is the best radio I never have in my Live ,Im very happy wiht my Clariůn VZ401 period .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 4, 2013 Awesome amp!
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Keith from Victoria, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Would recommend this amp to anyone has loads of power
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 3, 2012 AMAZING!
5 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Brandon from Yellowknife, NWT, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've seen a lot of decks, and out of them all, this is my favorite. Nice clean sound, big bold display, easy to use. Installation was a bit complicated but nothing I couldn't figure out, the face plate required some trimming but nothing major. I installed it into my 2007 dodge Dakota. I was amazed when i found that i could play music over Bluetooth connectivity, I've seen decks with half these features for double the price. I would recommend this product to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 18, 2012 Frank
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Frank from Pineville, nc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit is a good unit for the money. Screen should be brighter. All icons are nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 11, 2012 great value
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
tavares e from ft myers, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 17, 2012 VZ401
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Derek from Birmingham, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The VZ401 is a nice head unit. A con though: it doesn't have a 3 band EQ. You can only adjust the treble and bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 27, 2011 Not bad- Not GREAT either...
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Isaac from Huntington, WV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I originally owned a clarion VZ509. But it shorted out right out of warranty so I bought this one as a replacement. Sonic really hooked me up with a deal on this unit.

Pros- Itís got A LOT of features. More than youíd ever want or need. When it comes to setting up the audio itís got plenty of features and an easy interface. Itís got a ďLOUDí feature which really is an equalizer. The screen adjustment is nice- you can move it back or forth about 3 inches easy. Anyways, back to the features, you can adjust the treble quite a bit, also the bass. But thatís about it. The picture quality is superb for movies. The volume goes up to 40 on it which isnít bad. Once set up correctly with the right system- Itíll ROCK and looks AMAZING!! Just be sure to call about buying it, sonic will hook you up!
Cons- Oh man I canít remember all of them- Iíll admit they took time to make the unit look nice and all. But its performance is lacking. At a red light say someone pulls up by you rappiní out, with all the things on this you have to go to and turn on you wonít be able to shut them down. It actually takes a few seconds to go to whatever your hitting on the screen which will show that the chip in it is lacking. The screen calibration sucks, youíll have to grow out fingernails to use it better. Unless you have amps running your speakers and subs- this isnít the unit to use. Itís mainly great for video not high end audio like the VZ509 was. There are also so many wires in the back youíll find it hard placing it in your car.
Yes there are some cons, but the pros make up for it. Itís a great unit for video and just flat looking good. Itís worth the price but I still wish they had the VZ509 around. :\
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 23, 2011 Keeper.
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
C-1 from Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
All i could say is wow !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz