Showing 24 reviews for Rockford Fosgate P2D4-12

Customer Review Summary for Rockford Fosgate P2D4-12
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 24 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
83%
4 star:
.
.
8%
3 star:
.
.
8%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.8
Features
4.5
Design
4.5
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
July 9, 2014 Decent sub
Review by
KB from Westminster md
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this woofer to put in my boat and as soon as I got it I put it in a ported box I had from a previous woofer and plugged it into the zx750.1 I have powering my JL w3v3 13.5. The sub didn't hit quite as hard as the w3 which I expected. It also seemed to really struggle on some of the higher frequency bass notes that sounded clean on the w3 which suprised me because of the smaller size. I'm wondering if the box I have is a little too big for this woofer because overall I was pretty bummed with its performance, especially because I have heard plenty of good sounding Rockford woofers before. Listen to it before you buy it and make sure whatever box you are putting it in compares to the box you are listening to it in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 3, 2014 Great Sound!!!
Review by
HECTOR from GREEN VALLEY AZ, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easy to Install, very customizable and looks great, the sound with the amp is worht the extra weight on it. Recommended !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 26, 2014 Thumper
Review by
Maurice from Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have one of these in a 2.50 cubic foot ported box with a punch 400x1 at 2 ohm this thing hits hard and low great sub and even better price! Thanks sonic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 22, 2013 I want 2 more!!!
Review by
mar from richmond, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I currently own 2 of these in a sealed box. Loud, clean, clear and efficient. The really do pack a PUNCH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 19, 2013 big bang for the bucks
Review by
Rick from Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered a single Rockford P2D4 12 inch to add some punch in the existing stock Bose system for my daughters mazda 3 hatch. And i cannot be more then thrilled i made the best purchase for the price. I know its the 2nd generation P series but this sub hits hard. Its connected in parallel from 4ohm to 2ohm load so i can get 480rms power from old school Punch800 a2. I can bridge amp to 800 rms but really don't have to. This set up shakes the inside of the vehicle. This sub can take more abuse. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 24, 2013 Best sub I have ever heard!
Review by
Seth from jackson, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this sub in my mustang. And WOW. Does this thing hit. I love this sub and never want to get rid of it! This sub is almost to the point of its too loud. I told my friend I was ordering this sub and he told me to get two. glad I didnt. theres no need for anything else for bass. I have it in a belva ported enclosure with a rockford fosgate 500 amp and I am more than happy with my purchase. way more powerful than I thought it would be! buy this product!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 22, 2013 Great product
Review by
Pops from WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This Rockford Sub hits hard as fuck.. Rockford is the best sub you can buy hands down, so much power behind these things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 3, 2013 RF P2D4
Review by
Kris from Lower Alabama
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sounds great in my extended cab chevy. I'm glad I bought it!! Have it powered by a punch 300!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 17, 2013 Big improvement over the RE Audio sub it replaced
Review by
Erick from Fort Worth, Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I took a gamble on the RE Audio SRX 12 with dual 4 voice coils after reading tons of great reviews on them. I was unimpressed as it just didn't sound as musical as previous Fosgate subs, even cheaper ones. Also, the stitched tinsel leads broke loose and it wasn't even a month old. Sonic let me return it and upgrade to the Punch P2D4. Very glad I did, this sub hits way harder and sound far more musical than the RE. Its well worth the extra cash. I've been driving it hard with 300 watts no problems at all, even with the bass boost set at 40hz and cranked high.
If you've owned Fosgate products before and are considering saving a few bucks to go with a budget brand, save yourself the trouble and get the real deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 16, 2012 Great Sub
Review by
Graham from Baltimore, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
No complaints with the sub. Sounds great and can hit hard if desired. In a ported box with a 400W amp. Works great for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 28, 2012 Incredible Sound!
Review by
SCOTT from Masontown, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a pair of the p2d4-12s where my backseat used to sit. Not that I need that much space because they only require 1cu ft of air. But I have them in custom ported enclosures which are consideribly larger. But with just these powered by a Punch T600 you can literally see the air pushing the quarter panels on my car. Stick your head next to the window and you can feel your hair moving. My car is all black so the smooth clean black look with the machined trim ring was a perfect compliment to the "blacked out" look I was trying to keep. They are so much better than the old school 15s I had back in the day which took up so much mor space! I recommend these to anyone looking to upgrade to a great sounding system but doesn't want to lose every inch of you trunk space...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 18, 2012 great subs
Review by
primo from Denver Co
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I currently have three of these subs in my car. I run 2 of them off of kicker 1000.1 dx amp and 1 off of the kenwood 9105d amp. Kicker amp puts out 1000 watts rms and the kenwood at 2 ohms is 900. I love these subs I still have one of the older generation p2's with the plastic cone which is broken and it still bumps. The two newer generation subs definitely look better and im sure the cone holds up better then the older one. Im currently saving up to buy 2 p3's to replace the busted p2. Make sure you buy a good amp to power these subs. The kenwood amp is the 3rd amp i had with the p2's and the kicker amp is the 4th. These subs sucked the life outta the cheaper amps. I recommend the grill with these subs because they bump so hard if anything touches the cone it's either gonna tear up the cone of what ever is touching it from experience. Oh and last with a good amp its gonna suck alot of power so make sure to get a cap. I have 50 farad cap and with the 3 amps my lights still dim a little bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 14, 2012 great sub
Review by
Cody from Atkins, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub hits really good and looks great. I have been running it hard non-stop from day one. It sounds powerful, tight and clean. I have also pushed 500W RMS for awhile with no problems, this sub is tough. My only concern is why the basket is designed with plastic (or thin metal). A little cheap, but I don't see any issues arising from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 12, 2012 great sub
Review by
zmore from oakley, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
first subwoofer i ever bought and i have absolutely no complaints whatsoever!!this sub is a great starter sub and it slaps HARD!!!rockford fosgate is a high quality product that will sound amazing and last you for a long time dont think twice about getting this sub
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 8, 2012 Rockford Fosgate
Review by
James from West Yellowstone, MT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had bought 2 of these RF P2D4 about six months ago it sound's good i had it wired to 2 ohm and 1 ohm and a few minutes into the song i started smelling burnt glue. My friend owns the P3's he also could smell the burnt glue on his they hit hard but smell after a song or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 30, 2012 Lives up to its name
Review by
Donte from Lafayette, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subwoofers most definitely live up to their name. I have these running on a CRUNCH PZA 1400.2 in a SEALED, that's right, SEALED box and they slams harder than my dads ported setup with two 12's that are just as powerful. Shaking garage doors and knocking cans off shelves in my pantry! These subs are most def worth it and they EASILY live up to their name! You feel the bass in your chest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 7, 2012 SLAPS!!
Review by
zmore from oakley ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just installed this beast of a sub into a vented enclosure and right off the bat it was pounding away!!! For this price there is absolutely no other brand that can make a better sub. This sub is outstanding!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 20, 2012 Awesome
Review by
Tyler from Canyon Country, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sub! When powered and tuned correctly, this sub hits every tone you could hope for a sub to hit. responds well to rock, but also hits hard for those bass lovers. Demolishes all my competition, which always consists of multiple twelves and fifteens. This is a great sub for anyone looking for good clean bass across the spectrum, and its fosgate, its gonna last. A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 15, 2012 Amazing "punch" for your buck!
Review by
Tom from 203, CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put 2 of these in my friends buick, and let me tell you, just getting through the break in period, they hit hard, and we were watching them in his trunk and they are barely moving! These things are going to be champ status! Great sound quality, Great price, what more do you need?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 4, 2011 Good subs great value
Review by
P from Colorado
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put two of these subs in a dual bandpass box powered by 1800 wat kenwood and man do they hit hard but i do recomend at least 4 guage power wire with a good battery. If you have a small car with a small battery you should invest in a capasitor these use alot of power and can overwork your alternator and drain batteries and dont go buy your amp at walmart they need real power for the optimum sound experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 26, 2011 AMAZING!
Review by
Fly Like A G6 from Waterford, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just picked two of these up yesterday and man do they pound and they are not even broken in yet! I also bought a 2 year warranty for each sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 13, 2011 great deal
Review by
Eric from Kalamazoo,mi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I thought the subs handle good in my chevy 6 was great but 8 or more, made my day in short my back injury went away after the music started to play... two thumbs-up!!!!! You should feel the bass now. I broke a window or two from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 21, 2011 powerfull and affordable!
Review by
will from west virginia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
as with any properly made speaker these speaker have the potential to destroy the silence. If your wire them correctly and understand how the load is distributed you will love these speakers (go to their website and view diagrams). I would not recommend these speakers to you if you bought your amp at a flea market as they will suck the power out and fry your board. Remember big speakers need lots of constant power to perform as needed so don't cheap out on your wires and amps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 21, 2011 slammin
Review by
soopa villian from saukville, wi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got 2 of these hooked up to 1800 watt kenwood class d in my 89 honda prelude, it hits so hard i gotta hold my breath sometimes because i cant breath when there whammi. These subs are definitly worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz