Showing 10 reviews for Alpine SPR-60C

Customer Review Summary for Alpine SPR-60C
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 42 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
74%
4 star:
.
.
24%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
2%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.7
Features
4.7
Design
4.7
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 4 star Customer Reviews:
September 24, 2014 Great sound
Review by
John from Little Falls, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Purchased to replace 9 year old Infinity's. Are hooked to same Alpine PDX-F4 amp. What a difference. They play louder and a bit cleaner. Highs are not quit as crisp as a hard doom tweeter but do not have the occasional ring as a hard doom. Is a fair trade off. Sonic's price is definitely a plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 20, 2014 AWSOME!!!
Review by
josh from Marietta ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very loud, clean sound, looks great awesome bass..would recommend to others to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 19, 2014 good deal
Review by
john from conroe tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
great speakers highs are tight and clear mid bass a littel weak but for the price its great deal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 17, 2014 Most bang for the buck.
Review by
J- 3 from Cornwall ny
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just installed them in the front doors of my tundra. AWSOME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 28, 2013 Good value on upgrade
Review by
Rico from New York, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Both the site and product was recommended to me by my security/audio installer. This speaker with tweeter set is a nice entry level upgrade compared to the stock counter parts. The sound is a lot clearer and louder at a lower volume setting. Now music and navigation commands are audible with the top down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 top drawer speaker at a great price, get some!
Review by
Ztech from Hydesville CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This component speaker sounds great and has top notch build quality. The crossovers are small and will fit in tight places. I agree with the other reviewers that the tweeters are a tad bright but nothing that the tweeter level control can't tame. I set them at -4db. I am driving these with a 60w per channel MB Quart amp and they sound great. The bass goes lower than I thought they would. They sound is very detailed. I think they do best with Rock and modern Jazz. They sound like they could handle a lot more power pretty easy too. If you are looking for some quality, clean sounding component speakers without breaking the bank, you found them. Sonic is the best place to buy them too. They package well and ship fast. They are a professional company without a doubt. I will be back in the future to do business with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 23, 2013 Much better than the previous generation!
Review by
Jared from St. Louis, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had the previous version of these speakers installed in my last vehicle... They were VERY bright, but with very little midrange or bass. When I saw Alpine had released a new model, I was hesitant to pick them up due to the previous version, but with the awesome price here I decided to give them a try.

I'm VERY glad I did. The speakers are still incredibly bright (and I would recommend a -4db or more selection on the crossovers), but once tweaked to your liking these speakers sound awesome. The midrange and bass are back in full-force, and the sound is clear and crisp (no muddy tones here).

Without an amp, the speakers are still impressive, but for full-effect a 4-channel amp really is needed. I'm currently running them through a Kenwood KAC-8405, also picked up through Sonic Electronix, and I'm incredibly happy with the combination.

I would certainly recommend these speakers to anyone remotely interested in them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 26, 2011 Sound Great!
Review by
Aaron from Danvers, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the money these speakers sound bright and clear when amplified.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 25, 2011 Great sound but need power
Review by
hcarba from Houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are power hungry components. I like the fact that the tweeters aren't shrill. The midbass is not as good as some of the other audiophile expensive options, but these Alpines are superior to most of your common speakers. I highly recommend if you can get them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 24, 2011 Excellent Speakers
Review by
supramkivtt2jz from Huntsville, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Im very impressed with these speakers. Ive been toying with about 5 different sets over the last 4-5 months, and I have finally found something I am happy with. Theyre rated at 110 rms, but I am pushing 160 to them. They are more than happy with anything you can throw at them. When I first threw them in I adjusted the gain on the amp like you would with any new purchase - but get this: they did not distort at all. I could not hear my brother sitting in the car with me regardless how loud we were screaming at each other.

Let me tell you more about these bad boys.

The highs are not as crystal clear as I have found with other sets ive toyed with. I think kappas have more clear tweeters, but the kappa tweeter's metallic highs will cause severe listening fatigue. On the other hand, I can listen to these puppies at retarded volume levels all day long. I found that -2 to -4 db on the crossover is in the best listening range. -2 provides crisp highs but might be over powering with certain genres. -4 is not as crisp, but still provides excellent detail.

Now, Ive found that spr-60c's LOVE power. I originally ran 50 rms to them and they were decent. I was not disappointed at all. Midbass was alright, but I felt they needed a little more. 110 extra RMS later, I have a smile ear to ear from these guys. The 6.5 woofers have AMAZING midbass. Maybe it was the quality of the lossless tracks I was testing this set with, but I am now on a mission to deaden every panel possible trying to reduce vibrations on the doors. It's been a long time since I've felt this much bass at my legs.

Between a single 10" type r sub running 400 rms and this set running 160 at each corner, I've never been happier with an audio purchase. It's a great set for the money. Sure theres something lacking in the clarity department, but the mellow tone the set emits is very tolerable at all levels. They're not perfect, but you cannot complain about much a set this decent at such a reasonable price.

If you can afford them, look no further. I doubt there is any other set out there that can deliver the same performance as these guys. At 50 rms they're decent. At 160, they absolutely sing. Im only giving 4 overall stars because they could be a little more clear for this price point, but dont let this deter you from a great listening experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz