Showing 29 reviews for Alpine SPR-60C

Customer Review Summary for Alpine SPR-60C
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 39 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
74%
4 star:
.
.
23%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
3%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.7
Features
4.7
Design
4.7
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
May 11, 2011 Alpine Type R 6.5 inch component speakers
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Christopher from United States
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had a set of these in the front and reguler 6.5's in the back and they rocked and sounded great. If you want a good system for a good price these are a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 12, 2014 Exceeds Expectations
Review by
PMR from Winston-Salem, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sound quality is excellent. Note that the previous comments about the powerful tweeters are accurate. I set my tweeters to -4 and I may turn them down further to balance the sound.

Running a sound quality setup with 100 RMS per channel from an Alpine amp. Took my time with the install to properly sound dampen the doors. Couldn't be happier with the results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 23, 2014 A++
Review by
Sam from upper marlboro, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers pack a lot of punch for their size. They are receiving 110RMS and love it, crystal clear highs and a surprising amount of bass and mid range as well. It almost sounds like little subs are mounted in the doors, very nice !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 19, 2014 alpine spr60c
Review by
Randy from Magnolia, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers sound really good. I am running them off a power acoustic ps800 that puts out about 150 watts rms. The speakers handle it with ease. They have great minds and highs. You can hear every detail. For lows I have a single swr10d4 that is 1000 watts rms being pushed by a Hifonics Brutus BRX 1600.1D and fine tuned with a clarion eqs746 equalizer. Needless to say my system sounds awesome. I highly recommend the spr60c component speakers. I don't know of any cons about these speakers. If you want good clear sound at a fantastic price then buy these from SONIC ELECTRONIX you will be pleased. Thanks Sonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 26, 2014 Great product....great site
Review by
Freddrick from Dallas TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have these in kick panels on a silverado....they are ideal for my needs of miss and highs....these do not disappoint...have them on 115 watts each approx and they get real loud....not to mention the price is outstanding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 25, 2014 Best Type R Set i have owned so far
Review by
vishaal from surrey, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had the last 2 generations of type r speakers in my dodge ram they where amazing i bought 3 sets of these bad boys for my Infinti g37 coupe i have them paired up with two pdx m4's best sounding to me by far tweeter are super crisp the mid driver hit very hard if hpf is set correctly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2014 Best price by far!!!
Review by
Luke from Winnipeg, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I gotta say that Alpine for me is on a 1 place for years. Type R speakers are great, the sound quality is very good! I would recommend alpine anything to anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 7, 2013 Good sound at a reasonable price
Review by
Christopher from Fountain Hills, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I went from a set of Infinity Kappa Perfect 6.1s which were ear bleedingly bright. They Kappas were so harsh both my wife and I couldn't even listen to them (after 5 minutes we were in pain). The Kappas were twice the cost of these Alpines.

These Alpines provide a nice overall smooth sound. They are a little lacking on the mid-bass, but I have the rears set as subs so it is not an issue in the least. We really enjoy these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2013 They work!
Review by
Nate, from Fresno CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
2008 GMC Sierra no bose system . Audiobahn 100 watt 4 channel cold air intake amp added the alpine 6.5 type r sounds great . Tweeters are great they can handle all the power. Mids are hitting nicely great product takes the rms very good. Pro's need amp to make them Hump!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 29, 2013 Great Speakers
Review by
Anthony from Saugus, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a lot of bass in my car to where it drowns out the music but after replacing my factory speakers with these there is so much more clarity and volume...Also the mid bass is amazing compared to the stock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 29, 2013 Great Speakers
Review by
Chris from Bend, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would definitely recommend these speakers. I like the component style speakers and these work great. I'm running them at their full 125 watts rms and they're killing it to say the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 23, 2013 Best ever
Review by
erik from Durham, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have jl c5s in my car, these are in my work van and out do them for the $ and sound I will do my next car in these. I like the small x over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 9, 2013 Highly Recommended
Review by
RYP-S2K from Montebello, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this component system to replace the previous Polk Audio DB6501 installed in my Honda S2000. These Alpines have good mid bass and crisp highs. I'm running a Polk Audio PA 4000.4 amplifier to power them. For S2000 owners you need a speaker bracket for the speakers to fit.

HU: Alpine CDA 9886
Speakers: Alpine SPR 60C
Subwoofer: Alpine SWA-10S4
Amplifier: Polk Audio PA 4000.4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 24, 2013 Great speakers
Review by
JR from Bartlett, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed in front doors of 2013 GMC Sierra. They pound so the door was deaden before the install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 25, 2013 Great Speakers
Review by
Sergio from Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are definitely great speakers, especially when powered properly with an amp. My headunit eq is set to flat and the music sounds rich and full. The highs and mids blend perfectly and they output a good amount of bass considering their size. Absolutely no regrets on buying these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 3, 2013 Great fidelity and range!
Review by
TactileSound from Toronto, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
While Alpine 6.5" have always been crystal clear, but in the past, some of their 6.5" woofers lacked in the lower registers. These SPR-60Cs have so much more depth at lower frequencies than the older and slightly cheaper SPR-17C. In fact after my pops heard my 60Cs, he has since decided to put his 17Cs in the rear and upgrade his fronts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 20, 2013 The Best Component Speakers I've Ever Heard!
Review by
Wade C from Westerly, RI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Absolutely love these speakers! This was my first experience with Alpine component speakers and I couldn't be happier. When I was in the testing phase of the install I listened briefly to them and thought they were alright but when I dialed in the amps and the head unit EQ these speakers really came alive and rocked my world. Great bass response (I almost regretted buying a sub...almost) crisp and clear highs. The aim-able tweeter is a nice feature allowing you to control the sound direction. I would recommend these to anyone with a car in which these will fit and recommend cutting a bigger hole for the others. Alpine has really hit a home run with these unbelievable speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 21, 2013 Wow!
Review by
Jared from Atlanta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers have a great sound. The woofers sound very clear and the tweeters are super clean. Crossovers are small and easy to install. Overall an amazing set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 22, 2013 Great Speakers
Review by
MIKE from LANGLEY, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sound Great. Powered by NVX JAD800.4. They have a decent amount of midbass too. The tweeters arent harsh to me. I also have the cross over set at 0. So sound fine. Tweeters swivel which is good. The 6x8 brackets that came with them were easy for install. Crossovers are tiny and easy to hide as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 3, 2013 great value
Review by
shane from Mitchell, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had many different kind of 6 1/2's and i found that the alpine have a good sound and some good bass too. The price isn't bad and plus they last longer than any other kind i have had any other kind out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 17, 2012 Alpine Hits Hard!
Review by
Hit'n Hard from Salinas, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just installed 3 SWR-12D2's and 2 sets of the Alpine 610 component speakers in my Infinity QX56. The subs are wired down to 1.33 ohms running off a Hiphonics 2400 RMS mono D amp and the components have a Hiphonics GLX amp each and man this thing THUMPS!!!! It's crystal clear with the amps on the components, but the subs KNOCK for real!!!! Seriously satisfied! You need to have a good amp to make these things kick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 19, 2012 Great buy great sound
Review by
robert from springfield, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Put these in a friends car. Bought 3 sets and amped two of them. Sounds amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 15, 2012 Alpine SPR-60C
Review by
Devestator from Somebigcity, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had them for about a week, powered by a Soundstream Reference 500SX, 250W x 2, at 4 ohms. At first they were VERY bright, but about a week later, the tweeters are finally starting the break in a little, and a lot of the harshness is now gone. No big deal, I have no reduction on the tweeters at all right now, and the "crossovers" that came with them have 3 levels of reduction for the tweeters.

I mounted them on 2 stacked 3/4" thick MDF rings, with a foam baffle at the back, and polyfill stuffed behind the woofers.

Very happy with them. Obviously a huge improvement over the "premium" system that came with the car.

Way more bass than Alpines have been known for in this size of speaker, i.e. compared to the SPR-17C. Much more oomph with the 60Cs. Same crystal clear mids and uppers. Definitely shows off really high bit rate music.

Since I have not been running them very long, I cannot really accurately assess durability, but previous Alpine speakers have proven to be durable barring user error.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 2, 2012 What my stereo has been missing!
Review by
Mike from Hudson, Wi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just installed these in my 06 F150. They can can be made to fit with a little trimming of the door pockets and using the included adapters. I was running some Kicker coaxial's in the front and difference is amazing! With the Kickers I would get some listening fatigue after some time and these can stay cranking! The mid's are exactly what I had been longing for! With the others the tweeters seemed to be too harsh and drown out any mid bass I might have been getting. Still have the Kickers, but they have been delegated to the back doors on the smaller amp. Giving the Alpines 100W each side and they sound wonderful!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 23, 2012 Loud and clear
Review by
Mr.Audiophile from hamilton, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
MUST be used with an amplifier! Give them as much power as you want and they will take it. Im pushing 130 watts to each side and there is no distortion att all. The tweeters arent harsh or tinny if you set the crossover right and the vocals and midbass dont even get drowned out by 2 10" HCCAs! Nothing but good things to say about these speakers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2012 spr-60c
Review by
chris from howell,mi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This component set is a great value. They have great sound quality. Very bright and fulfilling. When amplified properly they will get louder than you want them to and have no distortion. I have nothing bad to say about these speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 28, 2011 Best Speakers to buy
Review by
Anthony from Setauket, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If your looing for reasonably priced speakers with amazing quality these are the speakers. At max volume there is no popping and still sounds amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 14, 2011 Components worth the bank
Review by
Mario from Camp Pendleton, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am a fan of the Alpine products when it comes to the highs in my system. Component systems is my choice for the overall clarity. The deciding factor for alpine is low cost for high power output. I have a 2003 chevy silverado extended cab LS. Power feeding my highs is a 4 channel, alpine pdx-f4. 100 watt rms x 4. Originally I started with the spr-17s 6.5 components up front, 4 x 6 infinity reference in rear doors. Sounded good, crisp, clear. I liked it so much i wanted more. I removed my 4 x 6's, cutout the opening to fit a 6.5 component system. Installed the spr-60c's. Factory door speaker/grilles remain stock, only major change is the tweeter flush mounted next to it. That change brought the highs out even more and also looked good. The 60c's have same power output, are slimmer, look better, and woofer has more freeplay. I just recently ordered another spr- 60c component system for the front. You will not be disappointed with the product and love the sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 26, 2011 Great components
Review by
Alexander from Chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I upgraded from some 6x8 coaxial pioneers and the difference was night and day in clarity. The sound quality is superb, the tweet was a bit harsh at first on the 0 db setting but after i adjusted the crossover to -2db it was just right. I highly recommend them. I have them on deck power now and they get super loud i cant even imagine them on 110rms. They also come with adapter plates which came in handy. Don't let the magnet size fool you because they the new neodymium magnets. 5/5 product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz