Showing 11 reviews for Alpine SPS-517

Customer Review Summary for Alpine SPS-517
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 11 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
55%
4 star:
.
.
45%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.8
Features
4.5
Design
4.6
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
February 1, 2014 Good factory replacement to cover mids and highs.
Review by
Zeek from Sanford, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these for the rear of my '02 F-250 (Crew Cab) and have had them for a few months. These fit the factory location, but I did have to drill a few holes, the mounting holes did not line-up perfectly with the factory holes. My rear seats partially block the speakers, but the sound is still acceptable. The highs are great, but these don't get quite as low as I expected. I thought that they would cover the low end a bit more than they do. Without adding a subwoofer, I would be somewhat disappointed in the overall performance. They work well covering the mid and high frequencies.
The speakers look good, but I do not like the new plastic frame.
I have these connected directly to an Alpine CDE-147BT head unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 20, 2014 2 hr commuter
Review by
2busy from Warrensburg, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Speakers cover a broad range. It is a great speaker for the price. I have four of them in a focus as a gift for my wife. I would definitely recommend adding a sub though! I'm using two polk dbl 10s with an older 6 channel soundstream amp. Just make sure you have a good deck! I have a Sony GT620IP (I think) that makes the highs almost too much with the DSPs and different music makes adjustments necessary. My wife said she gets headaches with certain music, like Rhianna, but this is due to the deck and her not wanting to mess with the settings. Sony decks typically seem to push higher sounds that a comparable Pioneer decks in my opinion. There are other decks with deeper sounds too. I wouldn't use these speakers with decks that tip heavy toward high sounds... my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 9, 2014 Alpine SPS-517
Review by
Smuck from Des Moines, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are good speakers for the money. They are a little above entry level, but regardless sound good. I don't know if they can take 75 watts RMS though. I have them hooked to my Alpine KTP-445U, which is 45 watts RMS to four channels, and I can't turn the gain up past about half without hearing distortion. But with a small amp, these speakers sound good. I would recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 15, 2013 alpine speakers
Review by
zap from two harbors mn
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
decent speaker for the money should have a amp to fully appreciate the sound quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 28, 2013 Great product for the money
Review by
Alex from Lisbon Falls, ME
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are priced well and are worth the money. Great quality speaker and I would recommend them to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 16, 2012 2002 lincoln ls
Review by
james from Lansing, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got 4 of them on an alpine 4ch amp. Sounds amazing, getting 80w rms. Alpine headunit, Knukoncepts wiring.No distortion, not the BEST bass, but the mids.Vocals are absolutly beautiful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 4, 2012 Great speakers at low price
Review by
Coleman from Czar, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have four of these hooked up to a Clarion amp running 90 rms and these speakers sound great. They don't distort at all even at max volume which with my setup is quite loud. They also sound very good when just powered by the deck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 2, 2011 Awesome speakers
Review by
Justin from Rolla, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers went in to my 2001 Ranger. I previously had the SPS 507's for 6 years of abuse and they held up beautifully. I expect these speakers will hold up just as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 28, 2011 Great Value Upgrade with Alpine Quality
Review by
Midwest Convertible from Kansas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just finished installing a set of Alpine SPS-517 speakers in a 1995 Mustang convertible as replacements to the stock 5x7/6x8 “premium sound” Ford speakers. They are driven by a 16 watt per channel Alpine iDA-x303 head unit without an external amplifier.

The SPS-517s were mounted vertically in the stock rear speaker locations. After getting the top 2 screw holes to line up with this speaker, the bottom screw holes were off just enough to not fit nor allow for new holes. Thankfully, these speakers have extra tabs on each end which I was able to use after drilling a new hole through the stock bracket. The three screw mount is very solid. Alpine DOES include the pigtails to connect the SPS-517 speakers to the stock wiring or you can buy one of the various stock speaker connector wires specific to your vehicle and avoid splicing completely.

The stock front speakers were also replaced with Alpine SPS-610C Component speakers.

The sound created by the SPS-517 speakers is a tremendous upgrade over stock even with the internal 16 watt per channel head unit. The performance of these speakers is excellent for the cost. Paired up with the SPS-610C’s in the front there is ample sound to enjoy music on the highway with the top down. For a bit more oomph, an Alpine KTP-445 head unit amp would provide a clean 45 watts per channel. However, if you are considering a high power external amplifier for your car you should probably spring for a Type-R or Type-X speaker set instead of the Type-S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 25, 2011 good leans towards great speaker!
Review by
Ryan from Michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great High's! My treble is set a lot lower than with factory speakers. Could use some more low's/bass but for the price I can't complain. These replaced the front door speakers in my 2012 Mustang with the base stereo. Before, if I turned the stereo power up more than 1/3 of the way, I would get fuzz and bad distortion. Not anymore! I'm going to buy a second set for the rears very soon and maybe add a small sub to compliment the great high range these put out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 8, 2011 best price on the Internet
Review by
Rennie from Orlando, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have always trusted the Alpine name and they did not disappoint on these new SPS517 Speakers. Ordered four speakers w/ vehicle specific adaptors and arrived as promised from SE. They were no delivery issues.

The speaker adaptors for my 2008 F150 SC, made installation a snap (45 min), including removing and re-installing the rear door panels. They sound awesome w/ factory head unit.

Better all around sound quality than the stock paper speakers. The SPS 517 are tight on the lows and I am very pleased. I would recommend Sonic Electronix and these speakers, hands down!

Next upgrade planned: In-dash GPS, DVD Head unit, and a small sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz