Showing 13 reviews for PAC SWI-RC

Customer Review Summary for PAC SWI-RC
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 13 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
77%
4 star:
.
.
15%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
.
8%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.4
Value
4.3
Features
4.4
Design
4.2
Usability
3.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
October 5, 2014 Good service and product
Review by
Pete from Calgary, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Unit works fine and was a good price. Install takes a bit of time to program the functions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 3, 2014 Great product,value,quality
Review by
Francisco from Yakima,wa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For sure your company is the best , I will recommend you every time some need any of your products
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 3, 2014 Great product,value,quality
Review by
Francisco from Yakima,wa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For sure you company is the best , I will recommend you every time some need any of your products
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 20, 2014 Great Product
Review by
kinger059 from Dover, Oh
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The instructions are very clear and programming is simple ... This model works perfectly with my setup
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 18, 2014 pac swi-rc
Review by
mark from Centerton, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Worked great on my 03 z-71. No issues so far. Took about 20 mins start to finish installing and programing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 27, 2014 Excellent Product
Review by
blueverclear from New Orleans, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product, very easy to install. Yes support is great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 9, 2014 Work real good!
Review by
Damian from NEW CARROLLTON, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Wired it up but took a while to get it working.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 30, 2014 Great value
Review by
Banilejo34 from Bani, Dominican Republic
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This single device works perfectly with my clarion head unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 18, 2014 Great great great!!!
Review by
roger from Spencer, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I thought this project would be hard but its pretty easy. Works great with my Pioneer deck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2014 Generally Impressed
Review by
Kris from Arlington, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The PAC SWI-RC does exactly what it advertises: interfaces a vehicle's existing steering wheel controls to an aftermarket stereo system. Since installing it, I haven't really had any problems, only a few minor concerns that I believe are probably inherent to the current state of the industry.

Installing the unit into my 1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee (ZJ) wasn't very straightforward, and required a significant amount of research, and consultation with a person I know who'd installed one in his own Jeep. This isn't the case with most vehicles, which have very well-detailed instructions included with the unit, however finding the information I needed (which ultimately came from PAC themselves) could have been much easier. This isn't really a failing of the product, but of the manufacturer's website.

Once installed, however, the controls work great. I can very easily and reliably use any of the buttons on my steering wheel to invoke their respective commands, and not once have I had an issue with the product not working. I'm generally impressed with the device.

My only issues, at this point, are that I couldn't program the controls to mimic the factory ones (where the buttons on the left of the steering wheel control track up and down, and the right control volume) and that sometimes pressing buttons one after the other prevents the commands from working. These aren't the fault of the device, however, but the lack of a set standard for how steering wheel controls work. In my Jeep, one wire carries the signal, and depending on voltage, the factory radio interprets what command is being sent. While it's probably possible to make something that can easily mimic this function, it's unlikely to be cost-effective to do so, so I can't really complain.

Pros:
Reliable, easy to use once installed
Good value for money
Most vehicles have detailed instructions that are easy to access (many are included in the box)

Cons:
Difficult to install in some vehicles, and programming is a roundabout experience
Servicing the unit can be difficult, depending on where it's placed during installation
Finding installation instructions for uncommon or older vehicles can be difficult at best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 3, 2014 Perfect option for aftermarket head unit
Review by
Herb from Fairview, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I can't believe how easy this steering wheel control module is easy to install and set up. Took me all but 10 minutes to get the wires connected and the unit programmed. Very easy instructions and very detailed wire connections. Installed on a 09 Subaru Forester w/ an AVIC-x850bt. Love it. A great product by PAC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 9, 2013 Great Machine
Review by
Seacoast-NH from Hampton-NH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Love it - you can leave it in the up position if you like, so when you start the vehicle you don't have to wait fifteen seconds before you're in "backup camera viewing" mode (by which time you've already backed out of your parking spot).
GPS has topographic outlook -magnificent.
BUT
SCREEN WOBBLES when touching - it makes typing in a pickup truck VERY difficult.

USB has an issue - it asks for a name for the device and a Windows Compact Edition error window comes up when I plug my Android (Galaxy S3) in. Problem is - you touch the field asking you to type something in and nothing happens. You're expecting a QWERTY keyboard to pop up. Nothing.


Bootup time is a bit slow.
GPS will sometimes try to route you to the last route you went to - in spite of being cancelled.

WISH IT HAD A VOLUME KNOB.
WISH IT HAD A TUNING KNOB.
Because of the wobbly-touch screen (it moves back and forth like a millimeter every time you touch it) - Tuning is HARD. There's a "SLIDE" rule or something UP AND DOWN. No matter WHAT you think - you'll do it wrong. If you're on "97.5" and above you is 100 and below you is 90 - which way do you slide it? And do you slide the NUMBER (i.e. touch it) or the "ruler" next to it? Say - to get to the next channel? Answer? NEITHER. you press and hold - for a LONNNNNNNG time a HARD BUTTON on the unit until you hear a "BEEP" and it goes to the next channel. A SUCKY thing is that you can't (unlike almost all radios) set the screen or your steering-wheel button to have "next" mean "Next Channel", or "seek / scan" - "Up" on steering wheel = your next preset. Drive 30 minutes outside of your area and that's useless.

Gripes aside - TUNER PULLS IN CHANNELS including A.M. Many radios are horrible at this - not this one.

GPS is simply magnificent. QWERTY - suggestions -all good. The wobbly touch screen is annoying. Also - you have to CONFIRM YOUR ROUTE THREE TIMES!? "Select Route - 'check!'". "Yes - I want to go that way.". "YES!!! GO!" I.e. THIS CAN LITERALLY KILL YOU.

Backup cam comes on fast.

Works well with steering buttons.

Satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 1, 2012 Troublesome
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
David from Mississauga, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
When this product was installed in my 2010 Subaru Legacy GT and Pioneer AVIC 3D, it was working alright at first. After a few weeks, the volume-up button on my steering wheel became a little finicky. I found I had to hit the mute button on the wheel, and then the volume up would work again.

I had the wiring inspected by three different technicians from different shops. There were no issues. I even had the unit re-wired on one occasion.

In the end, I did a warranty exchange with Sonic Electronix, and they were amazing in helping me with the RMA and exchanging for an Axxess ASWC unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz