Showing 26 reviews for Rockford Fosgate P2D2-12

Customer Review Summary for Rockford Fosgate P2D2-12
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 31 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
84%
4 star:
.
.
16%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.9
Features
4.8
Design
4.8
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
March 14, 2014 Booming bass
Review by
Elihad from Stow Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 of these in a ported box and they just pound. I've to practically glue the trunk components together because they shake and rattle everything. In terms of durability and such they couldn't be better, I had one for about a year before getting the second and I blasted it as high as I could go with no problem. Also they look great, nothing flashy just a nice looking speaker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 15, 2014 Great Subs
Review by
Plum from Albuquerque
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
What more do I have to say? These subs are great. I expect nothing less from Rockford, they make great products. These subs are awesome for the price. I have 2 of these wired at 2ohms powered by a Pioneer GM-D9601 and they sound great. I have them in an SUV and the bass is real clear and loud. Make sure you don't under power these subs and give them plenty of power they will take every bit of it. I'd suggest doing the big 3 before getting any type of car audio. Don't skimp out and buy anything cheap. If you have the money I'd get a Rockford amp. Although this Pioneer really gives these subs some power. Can't go wrong for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 23, 2013 Great value at a cheap price
Review by
Victor from Lawton, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just wanted a cheap speaker with great sound quality. This sub was perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 4, 2013 rocking sub
Review by
dukie2tymz from dekalb,ms
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this is an A1 subwoofer..cools very nice and plays very loud ..well to me it does
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 1, 2013 I got King Kong in my Trunk
Review by
Perdue Vision from Buford, ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a 500 watt amp pushing 2 of these P2 12" subs and man do they pound. I am about to swap the ported box out with a sealed enclosure. The ported just took up too much space in the trunk so the sealed enclosure will be smaller. I am also hoping to get a very strong and clean bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 P2d212 are amazing
Review by
Easton from Little falls, mn
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love these subs I bought 6 of them on a t2500-1bd amp and its the hardest hitting system I have ever owned. The lows amazing and the highs are some of the best out of 12's ever!!! My car can literally be heard from miles away and it makes pictures fall of the wall in our house!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 amazing!!!
Review by
kordovago from morelia, Mexico
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have one of this sub in a sealed box and damn, beat very hard but clean. I'm very happy whit this monster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 29, 2013 Great Sub
Review by
Derek from apple creek, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've owned Rockford before and they are worth the money. I used to have a 1200 watt system but then i sold it. I went a while with out a sub and then bought a cheap FLI sub just for some lows with my music because i just want great sound quality. The sub made a huge difference but then i was driving it hard for a while one day and blew it. So i decided to spend a little extra and go back to Rockford. And wow you can really hear a difference. Not so much with rap music because the bass is kind of sloppy. But when it came to other genres such as rock, this thing is amazing. It actually sounds like a bass drum instead of just a sloppy low frequency. Very tight and precise sub. And it has a very stable frequency range. It plays all the frequencies pretty equal so that some lows don't play louder than others. But that wouldn't be the case if you use a tuned ported box.
The moral of the story is.... You get what you pay for when it comes to car audio. The sooner you learn that the better. And thanks to sonicelectonix.com you get it cheap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 10, 2013 Exactly What I've Been Missing
Review by
wheelsspinnin_imagrinnin from Nampa, ID
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Love these subs! The pair of these I bought 3 months ago have delivered the bass I've been craving. After matching the specs to my amplifier, I have had no issues at all with these. I spent about 3 weeks slowly breaking them in, now I see people dancing in the streets to the beat from blocks away! Plus it is always nice to get a bass massage after a hard day at work. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 10, 2013 Amazing
Review by
zach from sc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are great subs. You could hear me before you ever saw me. Def a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 9, 2013 amazing
Review by
zach from sc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are great subs. You could hear me before you ever saw me. Def q great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 9, 2013 Bass for your buck
Review by
Colt from Seminole Oklahoma
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love Rockford! Excellent subs for the money. Get them hooked up with the right amp and box and people will hear you from blocks away. Nice product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 15, 2012 Great Sub, Great Price.
Review by
Kevin from Ramona, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have owned this sub for a couple days now. Iím running a Rockford Fosgate R500-1D amp only about half power to the sub in a sealed box. this thing bumps. Its loud enough to give you quite enough bass but at the time same not over powering my speakers. My Friend had owned 2 12" P2's for about 2 years now without any issues at all and I loved them, so I got rid of my 12" Kicker L7 to get one of these. And the difference is amazing, the clean crisp bass you get from it is great. I would defiantly recommend this sub to anyone looking for great loud bass, sound quality, easy to use/maintain, great price and great looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 24, 2012 Monsters
Review by
Colt from Tha Nole, Oklahoma
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs are awesome!!! i have two inside a ported box i made at 34 htz and a 1000 watt hifonics amp and my whole car vibrates.. trunk rattles like crazy. if you buy these subs make sure they are in a ported box with air to breathe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 15, 2012 Great Sound
Review by
Tommy from Wisconsin
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had for a year and nooooooooooo problems! Hits every note! great sub! Cheap! Free back rubs in the SS10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 23, 2012 Awesome Amazing and Really great Subs!!
Review by
Phina from The ville Cali
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Thes are some of the best subs I've ever have great bass and good clean sound. These were even better then my friends DC subs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 22, 2012 Very Crisp! Great Sound Quality!
Review by
Broken from North Augusta, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm not surprised RF has been making quality product for a long time now, these are no different. I put these in a 1 cu.ft. per chamber sealed box with the Fosgate R500-1D amp and they sounded great... not even a day later someone totaled my customers truck. I dismounted them and put them in a deepwell .92 cu.ft. downfire box for his new truck and they sound even better. That downfire box makes these P2's put down some serious punch in an extended cab truck. You gotta have a truck that can hold a deepwell sub box to capacitate these subs though, as their mounting depth is 6.5in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 25, 2012 What a beast
Review by
shookie from Parker, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these and they hit SO hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 10, 2012 Rockford Is King
Review by
Tim from Coos Bay, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought 2 of these bad boys and couldn't be happier with my purchase, i have owned a few different sets of subs and the bass from these are the cleanest, i have owned a stage 2 rockford punch amp for some time now and was very impressed with it, these subs didnt fail to impress as well. I recommend these to anyone whether your on a budget or not, they are worth more than what you pay for from Sonic.

NOTE: I have been throbbing these with hip hop music since i got them and they haven't even started to smell warm yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 16, 2012 Great value subs!
Review by
Michael from Pittsburgh, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great subs here, have installed two different sets of 12"s for my friends both in sealed enclosure and wow are these subs clear! Hits the whole range of sub frequency which is truly amazing for being in a sealed enclosure. Def recommend these to everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 16, 2011 Perfect buy
Review by
uncle from toledo
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The best speakers for the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 29, 2011 Couldn't be happier
Review by
Mike from Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
After modeling several speakers in WinISD, I finally decided on a single P2 12. I built a custom enclosure, slightly larger than the recommended (2 cu. ft. - minus port volume and speaker displacement). The port is (4 inch diameter, by 8.75" in length - cardboard) and tuned at around 37 Hz.

Pros: This P2 sounds so much richer and deeper and louder than my pair of P1 10's in a sealed enclosure. The bass shakes my body, instead of the mirror like 10's would and is more audible even at low listening levels.

Cons: The speaker terminals are kind of far apart, which requires more wire in your box. RF's recommendation for enclosure size and port length are a bit odd. I also thought the trim ring was a little on the heavy side, but not that it matters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 20, 2011 WOW! Great Buy, Great Product!
Review by
Jake from Collinsville, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I threw 2 of these in a custom ported box in the back of my Grand Cherokee and hooked up to a 1200 MTX mono amp (which puts out 800w RMS at 2 ohms - perfect match). All I can say is WOW. You can here me coming from 3 blocks away. I've read reviews when people have said the subs overheat the amp. Well, I've played them for 2 hours straight and the amp was basically cold to the touch. AMAZING. Whether you're on a budget or not, I would recommend these subs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 29, 2011 Awesome subs!
Review by
Derek from Shreveport, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I own two of the model p2's before this one, wow. These subs were set up in a mustang and no lie, they shook my house! It literally knocked the pictures to the floor! I noticed one guy said his subs were overheating his amp. I had that problem too but when I took them by a specialist he said I had them wired for less ohms than my amp could handle. I am so impressed I am adding four more of these. Get a custom box built and they will hit like t1's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 2, 2011 Very Nice!!!
Review by
Edward from FishersFishers, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These new Rockfords hit extremely hard. I was very impressed. I like really tight hard hitting bass and loved this new Punch series sub so much I bought a 3rd sub and set them in a sealed box for 3. WOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 17, 2011 great!
Review by
josh from milledgeville, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
great sub and pretty cheap price. good for the people that want some hard bass without going broke. I recommend rockford to everyone i see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz