Showing 10 reviews for ScyTek Galaxy Mobile 500

Customer Review Summary for ScyTek Galaxy Mobile 500
Average Customer Rating is 4.2 out of 5 stars:
4.2
based on 10 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
50%
4 star:
.
.
40%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
.
10%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.0
Value
4.2
Features
4.5
Design
4.7
Usability
4.2
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Update

Update to my previous post: I'm not sure if Scytek read my review or this is purely coinsedence, but the mobile webpage for iPhone 5 is fixed and works great. It looks just like the 4/4S now.

VS
Latest update

The Galaxy Mobile has frequent problems being offline. When offline, you cannot communicate with the vehicle from your mobile device or from scytrak.net. By having this feature be offline, it completely voids the entire purpose of mobility.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
November 18, 2012 Update
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tom from Laramie, WY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Update to my previous post:

I'm not sure if Scytek read my review or this is purely coinsedence, but the mobile webpage for iPhone 5 is fixed and works great. It looks just like the 4/4S now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Good product
Review by
LUIS from CORONA, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is very good , easy to install , took me an hour to install , and my skytek mobile for my iPhone is great. , good response I really recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2013 Latest update
Review by
Tom from Laramie, WY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Galaxy Mobile has frequent problems being offline. When offline, you cannot communicate with the vehicle from your mobile device or from scytrak.net. By having this feature be offline, it completely voids the entire purpose of mobility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 16, 2012 Scytek Mobile
Review by
Tom from Laramie, WY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Scytek Mobile is an accessory that uses the Galaxy 5000/5100 brain. It simply uses the Scynet port to become mobile. Here are some things to note:

- The "newer" Skytrak modules do NOT have a GPS antenna. Despite what the manual says, it does not. The cell antenna works for GPS and cellular transmission.

- The mobile website works great on iphone 4/4S. It is terrible on iPhone 5; albeit still usable.

- I had to call Scytek to get the mobile portion setup. When I tried to set it up online, it errored saying "Serial Number Already In Use." I'm not sure if Sonic activates them ahead of time forcing customers to call in and getting the year free that way or what. I hope that my unit wasn't a return that somebody already set up.

- Once installed, setup, and working, the response time is very fast. The desktop website is quite thorough. It tracks very well and is quick while tracking. You can tell the people creating this website were not strong at English. But, it works.

At the end of the day, I can start the car, lock it, check the status, ect from my iPhone 5. It also receives texts when the warn away or car alarm is triggered. So, you essentially have 2 way unlimited distance confirmation. I really like the device and would purchase again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2012 Galaxy Mobile 500
Review by
Jim L. from Palm bay, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great unit I love it would recommend to anyone. Love everything about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 15, 2012 Great buy...
Review by
max from capitol heights, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This alarm system is great. Being able to start my van while still at work 5 miles away, and having it being warm when I get off the train is great. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 4, 2012 Ups and Downs
Review by
Albert G from Miami Beach, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Well, after having this unit for 6 months, there are some ups and downs. First, the remote that comes with the Galaxy 500 is not a two-way remote, it is one-way so if someone breaks into your car, it's not going to ring. I think they do offer a two-way remote but you have to charge it and it seemed like a hassle to me. The alarm is nuts sometimes too, if you have the original key fob, keep it tucked away somewhere, you may need it, the alarm went off at this giant gas station when I was going to Houston and everybody was staring, I couldn't turn the alarm off for 20 minutes, don't lose the OEM fob. The navigation is cool, I can see where my Acura is at just by going to a website. It was HORRIBLE setting up the system so keep their tech support number handy. The car can start by itself, you have to be kind of close to the vehicle for it to work, but it's a nice feature. It locks the doors so you'll still have to unlock the doors and sometimes you have to push it 3 or 4 times for it to unlock. If you lock your keys out of the car, just call a friend you trust, get them on scytrak.net, and they can unlock the car for you at least. It would be nice if the Galaxy Mobile 500 had a backup power source for the alarm, just disconnect the battery and that's it for the alarm, its just too easy to disarm. The antenna kept falling off too, but I bought Molding Tape and that solved that. So overall, there are definitely some flaws but overall I'm happy with the product and would not trade it out for something more expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 17, 2012 It works...
Review by
Shevy from Jacksonville, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
... and it works pretty well, when you get it working.
I had the unit installed and the features worked well with the remote immediately. However, I had some problems with the satellite control features. I signed-up on the site, but couldn't get my vehicle to be recognized.
The email support from Scytrak is non-existent. I loathe having to call, wait for a warm body, and be passed around until finding someone who knew what they were doing, so I put it off for a while.
When I finally got a knowledgeable warm body on the line, the problem was fixed and the system worked like a charm.
I am VERY happy with the system and plan to buy another for my other vehicle.
The transmission time from the iPhone app (actually a webpage) is quite short and the tracking feature is cool. Setting up alerts for geolocation and speed are easy and work well.

My only complaint is the lack of email or chat support on the website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 25, 2012 nice but a lot of cash spent
Review by
anthony from miami, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Awesome feature with the smart phone but this much money on the alarm then additional for a year to use the service. I dont care much for the gps tracking unless my car gets stolen or towed. I had a kill switch added since this does not come with one but you cant even use the smart phone feature unless you pay. I dont mind paying just wish i knew a head of time and i rather someone get a regular 2 way remote because after instalation and alarm you are already a lot of dollars in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 21, 2011 Excellent Value
Review by
Chipster from Memphis, Tennessee
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product works great, easy installation and the use of the iPhone is awesome. I highly recommend this system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz