Showing 60 reviews for Audio Technica ATH-M50S

Customer Review Summary for Audio Technica ATH-M50S
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 60 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
80%
4 star:
.
.
17%
3 star:
.
3%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.9
Features
4.4
Design
4.5
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
February 6, 2014 Beyond my expectations
Review by
Brad from Wausau, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Audio Technica ATH-M50 is a tremendous buy. The overall construction is light but sturdy. I read many reviews from users of other manufacturers and found frequent complaints about plastic headbands breaking. The ATH-M50 uses a stainless steel rail to support the cups. The ear cup pressure is adequate without causing discomfort after extended listening. The cord for this model comes in a 6 ft coiled or a 12 ft straight option. I opted for the straight cord because I don't like having the cord constantly pulling on me. For shorter distance listening, I simply put a Velcro strap on the cord to take up the excess. I also like the 1/8 inch plug that's screwed into the 1/4 inch plug adapter. It gives it a clean and sturdy look.

The most stunning feature of the ATH-M50 is its flat response. This headphone does not color the material in any way. Music is reproduced clearly and precisely. The dynamic range is stellar and the sensitivity is most notable.

After a couple weeks of generaI listening to break-in the drivers, I put these headphones to the test. I started with a test track called 'Red hot car' from Squarepusher. The track is very synthetic, with extreme changes in dynamics and frequencies. The response was amazing with no distortion. The sensitivity is the next admiral quality of these headphones. During an HD performance of the New York Philhrmonic , I could easily and clearly hear the minute sounds of the performers shuffling and turning pages of sheet music during quiet passages. To test vocal and DEEP bass response, I used a recording called 'River' by Natalie Merchant. The headphones pushed my low-end hearing abilities to near sub-sonic. Then to test overall response, I ran a dynamically scorching groove called 'Walk the Walk' by non else than the jazz group, Spyro Gyra.

The Audio Technica ATH-M50 certainly proved to be the perfect asset to the audiophile's music collection and I highly recommend them. I was extremely impressed by the quality of sound for such a fair price. There was only one disappointing characteristic about the headphone that I should warn you of. If you have a poorly recorded music collection and sensitive hearing, this headphone will reveal all the annoying flaws. Some listeners may have to upgrade their music collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2014 Mad deece
Review by
Carven from Detroit USA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Deez fones Ben mad deece y'all

Get em if you like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 30, 2014 Great Value
Review by
Grampa Pete from Marin County, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent product and value, in my opinion. Shuts out background well. Excellent sound, though I am not an audiophile. I purchased this product based on reviews on the web.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 25, 2014 Great Headphones
Review by
Dhwan from Brooklyn, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These headphones are very well balanced they are great headphones !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 23, 2014 Studio quality equipment
Review by
Chuck from New Smyrna Beach, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
All the other reviews say these are the best even at three times the price. I concur with those assessments. I have Sony headphones that cost the same and sound almost as good but their mechanical noises from the earpiece mounts are too annoying. My Bose QC's sound as good and block out ambient noises better than the Audio Technica ATH-M50S. But the pressurization feeling associated with QC's is unpleasant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 21, 2014 Impressive headphone
Review by
Rich C. from Riverside, California
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Tested other headphones under $400.00 range of different brands when I was at Best Buys shopping for other things and I was not impressed. I have a headphone that puts out bass ( battery powered subwoofer) with decent mid and highs but that has been put aside for a spare. That's because I got the Audio Technica ATH-M50's. After reading all the good reviews at different sites, I wanted to find out what the fuzz is all about. The first time I heard it, plugged into my computer and my mid priced receiver, I thought it needed a slightly more bass since the mids and highs are so precise and clear. So, I paired it with the Audioengine D1 headphone and Wow! It's like Frankenstein woke up after getting a jolt of electricity! With a fairly decent amp, this headphone shines above the rest. There is something magical about this headphones and highly recommend it. That is probably because bass, mid-range and treble all blend cohesively as one. Bought another one for my son after listening to mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 21, 2014 Satisfied Customer
Review by
Dan from Culver City, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am not a headphone connoisseur by any means, but these headphones give me an equal to greater sound quality to that of the old Bose, over ear, headphones I had. Very large, which is what I like about them. The headphones and cord seem very durable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 19, 2014 Best headphones ever!
Review by
Cristos from Denver, Co
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Once you hear these headphones you will love the sound. Great for any type of music you listen to. Not alot of bass but very clean when you do listen to bass. Way better than beats pro. Does have a very long cord and also the headphones do swing out a little too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 19, 2014 awesome phones, very impressed and great price for the sound
Review by
LitespeedBoy from Vancouver, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I researched headphones for over 2 weeks over the net as well as hitting local stores selling them. My criteria was under $200.00 as the limit. I wanted the best b s nd for the buck. Heard most mid to high end offerings from AKG, Sennheiser, Bose, Phiaton, vmoda, etc. I wanted durability but of course awesome sound without bass being the #1 feature. I listen to everything but mostly trance 90% of the time. Also interested in learning to mix so need to doule as DJ sets. These are great with the right balance of bass and vocals with highs not being too up there.

So far I've been super happy with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 14, 2014 Good Purchase
Review by
Hamm Hands from Raleigh, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Arrived quickly, exactly as described and ordered. I would recommend this product and seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 13, 2014 A real "BEAT" down!
Review by
audiophile! from New Jersey
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Hands down will beat those "DR." phones. I own, have owned and listened to many different headphones, ranging from $50 to $1000. These can play every genre of music with ease. The sound separation and detail was quite surprising. Plays extremely well with iPod and even better with a headphone amp. Very durable, comfortable, and isolating. Has clear detailed sound, awesome bass and yes, it cranks! Great sound guaranteed. Cannot be disregarded, especially at this price point. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 12, 2014 Excellent Entry Level Hi Fi Headphones
Review by
dlazyd from Auburn, WY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Compact for an over ear headphone with folding capability. Comfortable enough for long listening sessions. Clear, well articulated highs with no harshness. Accurate bass without booming. Benefits from an amp/dac unit. After 20 hours or so of break-in, these really shine. Love 'em.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 11, 2014 Great Sound, Great Buy
Review by
James from Richardson, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got these on sale at $100. For that price they are a steal. These are extremely dynamic and versatile headphones. They have an amazing high end, sweet mids, and deep punchy lows. They are very comfortable for long wearing periods because of the ear pads. They come with a 1/4" to 1/8" adapter, so they aren't only for professional equipment. I have a headphone amp on these ( FiiO E07K) and it doesn't make a huge difference, but I like to boost the bass on my headphone amp's EQ because these headphones have great bass potential out of the box. These headphones are very easy to drive meaning that you can use them on your iPhone or similar handheld device and they will still sound pretty good. Plug them directly into your sound card on your computer for best results. I would recommend these to my friends and anyone else looking to buy some high quality headphones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 9, 2014 Worth the money
Review by
Ford from Pasco, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I tried several different brands but wasn't pleased with the sound.
Deciced to try the M50s. The sound is high quality and overall product is well made.
I like them so much, I ordered another set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 7, 2014 Fantastic Product
Review by
Zach from Princeton, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is my first pair of over ear, studio-esque headphones, and I am very impressed. I would highly recommend these headphones as they are fantastic. Great sound quality on every level, comfortable and very easy to use. No cons in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 7, 2014 High Quality
Review by
Bailly from Tulsa, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very durable, comfortable, and high quality sound for the cost. Although, it would have been nice is the headphones had a volume dial on them. Still, I'm very pleased with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2014 Sonic Electronix review from Hungary
Review by
theblase from Keszthely, Zala, Hungary
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The seller is accurate and very reliable. I received a great product with fantastic sound and design at a reasonable price. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2014 Look No Further - Best Bang for your Buck
Review by
SuperBon from Boston, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
After doing extensive research I stumbled upon these headphones while looking for a gift for my husband who plays guitar. I tested out Beats and the sound quality and overall look & feel of this headset is better. They sound so good I am buying a pair for myself. Do pay attention to the cord though some models are coiled and some straight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2014 Fabulous
Review by
Rodney from Atlanta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great reference headphones. Perfect sound with no overwhelming bass or treble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 3, 2014 great value
Review by
unknown from unknown, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
great headphones
i took the time to look at headphones online before purchasing and found multiple sources saying that these are the beast headphones you can get for under $200, and they were right they have great sound along with a slim body and are very comfortable.
i have had them for a few months and dragged them everywhere and they still look like they did strait out of the box that is very impressive these headphones are built to last!
there are only a few things i would change about these headphones and they all have to do with the cord, first of all for me this cord is just too long and ends up bunched in a tangled ball most of the time i would like to see the option when buying of having a shorter cord for those of us who just buy these to listen to music off a laptop or phone and don't need the reach that this cord provides however i am very impressed with the thick strong quality cable that they provide, and my second and only other problem witch is more just a personal preference is i would like to have a removable cable, this would allow people to choose quality and length of the cord and this way if the cord witch for me is the most fragile part of any headphone got damaged in anyway it would be easily replaceable with any other cord
pros: price, size, sound quality, build quality,
cons: cord length, permanent cord
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 3, 2014 Good headphones for the price
Review by
Vivian from Westfield
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
the sound is pretty good, it also blocks/lowers outside noise pretty well too. The only negative thing I have with this headphone is that it is kind of tight on your head. Meaning, it squishes your head when you wear them, so after a long time of wear, it gets uncomfortable despite the fact the parts that touches the ears are foam padded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 3, 2014 Great value
Review by
Charles from Ramona, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This headset has great sound, the volume is louder at a lower setting resulting is less distortion. The over the ear feature does a great job of eliminating noise .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 3, 2014 A beautiful sound
Review by
Tao Gong from OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
M50S is very comfortable to wear, when I listen to the song, the sound is very elegant, if it is in place, the low-frequency although somewhat lacking but can accept!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2014 Great headphones
Review by
Sully from Greeley, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These headphones sound better than my sons noise canceling Headphones (a popular brand) that he got for Christmas. He wants to return them and get these instead. Can't say that I blame him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2014 Top tier budget headphones
Review by
b1b from Brooklyn, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are one of the best headphones you can get in this price range. The only gripe some people might have is that the cord is 6 or so feet long. They can get quite uncomfortable after some time but keep in mind that I sit by my computer from 8-15 hours a day.

As for the actual site's shipping, it was fast, free, and on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2014 Great Value!
Review by
Ny from Lititz, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best price I could find! Fast shipping and no problems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2014 Fantastic Deal for Real Quality Headphones
Review by
Jay from Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are no joke. I've spent a life time of using mostly poor quality headphones and finally decided to splurge on a nice set. I couldn't have made a better choice. I'm no headphone connoisseur, but these have been absolutely incredible. They're studio-quality headphones, but I use them for every day listening. They serve my needs perfectly. The sound quality is fantastic; they don't hurt after long use; they appear durable and sturdy in design, and the function is practical- easily collapsing and folding for compact storage. I haven't used them in-flight yet, but they do a great job removing outside noise. You'll be hard pressed to find better quality for such a bargain price (I paid $99).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 1, 2014 Great Headphones!
Review by
Nick from Tonawanda, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought these for intermediate user, who has had the better known PRO BEATS, and told these are BY FAR....MUCH BETTER. True Sound Quality great for in home studio! Would recommend to anyone wanting QUALITY over POPULARITY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 31, 2013 Best value
Review by
POCO55 from Ky
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I use this set with my electronic drum set and play cd's with them at the same time. They handle the combined sound and it's fantastic. I would recommend the ATH-M50 S to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 31, 2013 From Non-Audiophile
Review by
KidCorry from Corry, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would highly recommend these headphones. They are very comfortable, fairly priced, and sound better than any others I've listened to. I hear nothing but clear, crisp sound. I'm very happy with these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 31, 2013 Love the Audio Tech Headphones
Review by
TAOD from Waterbury, CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought two sets of the over ear headphones for my children for Christmas, and I loved them so much I ordered one for myself. The clarity of sound is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 20, 2013 Outstanding Value
Review by
Rob G from Washington Crossing, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would highly recommend these headphones for anyone looking to not spend a fortune, but still get outstanding sound.

Pros: Crisp, clean, highly accurate and well balanced sound. Very comfortable. Outstanding value.

Cons: The cord is a bit too long and bulky and the carrying case is nothing more than a cloth pouch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 10, 2013 Thumbs up
Review by
Amadeus from Jersey
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Detachable cable, that's what i wished it had so if it ripped got cut or etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 15, 2013 Very good Value for the money
Review by
Clyde from Oceanside, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Unlike many Headphones in this price range, these are audibly flat with no perceived coloration. Which means a very nice and accurate reproduction of the music. One caveat though, these will show every flaw within the production and editing of the music being listened to. Not quite up to par with Grado or stax, but overall a great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2013 very impressive.
Review by
Darin from La Mesa, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Simply put, the cleanest pair of headphones I've ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 22, 2013 Best Purchase of My Life
Review by
Valentin from Cicero, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would definitely recommend these headphones, they're obviously at the right price, and knowing many with Beats twice as much and still dont sound as good. These headphones are great at keeping noise out. They do require a little help from an amp or such but aside from that best headphones yet. i just dislike how long the straight cable in thatt makes it a hassle when trying to take it on the go. But still the best headphones I've had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2013 Grest sound at a very good price!
Review by
trp from Ardmore, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Having used them for a couple of months, I am very happy with the comfort of these over the ear phones even after hours of wear. Used on the laptop as well as my receiver, they do not disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 Great Headphones
Review by
Ryan from Evansville, in
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would strongly recommend these headphones. They are very fairly priced and sound better than any others I've listened to. Can't beat these
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Very Nice Design ATH-M50's Pro Studio Headphones
Review by
Capt Kirk from Orlando Fl & Nashville Tn
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
After 25 years in the recording studio business, I can only say that these ATH M50's headphones are the truest I've heard in a long time. One of the main reasons is they don't cause "ear fatigue" like all the others I've tried in the past. Warm low end, smooth midrange and really nice high end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Best pair of headphones I've ever owned.
Review by
Rodney from Baltimore, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
They have perfect sound! They sound better than the Bose I have and are much more durable. I love them! The pricing is also hard to beat compared to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 13, 2013 I Never Knew What I Was Missing
Review by
KellyAnne from Clinton, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I hear every sound, clear and defined. They eliminate outside noise and are so comfortable that I hate to take them off... Sometimes I wear them just to think. Yes, I recommend them. I've had mine for six months and I'll never buy anything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 10, 2013 Perfect
Review by
john from Buenos Aires, Argentina
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sound quality is awesome. The only con I can think of is that at the beginning the fact that the cans turn and twist in every direction might be annoying but after you understand how it works (which way it turns and so on) it's completely ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 1, 2013 Sounds good but...
Review by
mmssdd from Québec, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm no audiophile but these headphones sound good to me. I find them a bit too heavy to wear on a long period or to walk around. I don't really like the ears that swivel in all directions, I'm no DJ. I do need to turn the volume really high on my Ipod to drive them. But they do sound good. For the price it seems to be a good deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 29, 2013 Amazing Product
Review by
Roma from Montreal, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are the best headphones I've ever owned. The sound quality is amazing. Ten times better than gimmick headphones such as Beats. Perfect for any genre of music. Had them for 6 months now, and they're flawless.

Suggestion: If you're looking to buy these, spend the extra 10$ for the coiled wire if it's going to be for personal or office use as the regular wire is very long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 19, 2013 Excellent buy, a pair that everyone should buy
Review by
kurtg from Malta, Malta
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Fully recommend these pair of headphones, they offer true value for money, excellent sound quality for those who want an entry level professional set. Cheaper then other sets of similar quality from other manufacturers. Can't recommend enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 14, 2013 Good but not great
Review by
Stevo from Virginia Beach, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had two pairs of Koss UR40s (still have them and they work just fine). I bought the M50S after doing a lot of research. My first time listening to them I could not distinguish a difference from the UR40s. The Koss headphones cost a fourth what these do.

The M50S is built sturdier, and heavier on the head. The sound quality is similar to me though. The biggest difference are that the M50S are closed back whereas the UR40s are open which means with the UR40s, everyone can hear what you're listening to. In that regard I like the M50S more.

As I continue to use both cans on and off I have noticed more clarity with the M50S, but not enough to warrant 4 times the cost. I will not be returning them, as I like them over the UR40 for the noise isolation and the slightly crisper sound quality.

Another thing to note is they seem to lack bass at times. When I listen to rock it sounds great, but a lot of electronic music feels like it's lacking on the low end. I have subs in my room and cars, so it's probably just my personal preference. If you have the money go for it, but consider the UR40s before you spend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 7, 2013 Great for home use!
Review by
Nate from Pittsburgh, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros: Great sound, good quality for the price, and a much better, less-costly alternative to Beats by Dre that focus mainly on bass and nothing else. The build is great, and the quality easily matches the price. The music aspect is also amazing. I love the sound these cans make, and as a drummer, they really enhance what I can hear while playing. Great pair!

Cons: The cord is obscenely long, to the point where it looks ridiculous for me to carry it around in public. It's great for home but gets a little annoying with an ipod or mp3. I'm sure you could find ways to get around this though, but I only use it at home. It doesn't suppress outside noise as much as a few of my other over-the-ear headphones, but that difference is barely noticeable, and unless you're around stuff as loud as my drum set, it probably wont matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 24, 2013 Excellent headphones!
Review by
Zentoz from Charlottesville, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Did some research + shopped around. These headphones are comfortable, well made, and sound great. For Value/Price these are a good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 23, 2013 Great Value!
Review by
millerramos from Drummondville, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I highly recommend !! The clarity of the mid-range and depth of the bass in these phones is unrivaled!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 27, 2013 Audio Technica ATH-M50S (ATHM50S) Professional Studio Monitor Headphones
Review by
Rich from Greensboro, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These Audio Technica headphones are the absolute BEST studio phones that I have ever listened to. The clarity of the mid-range and depth of the bass in these phones is unrivaled! I highly recommend that others should test-drive these headphones against any other "comparable" phones. For the price of these Audio-Technica, I should have bought two or three pairs, because everyone in my family fights over who gets to use the Audio Technica's! There are no headphones with even 50% of the quality, clarity and range of these Audio Technica ATH-M50S (ATHM50S) Professional Studio Monitor Headphones for DOUBLE the cost!!! Get them NOW, you will NOT be disappointed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 26, 2013 Awesome!!!!! Excellent....especially for the price!
Review by
Floydian Fan from West Kelowna, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I generally don't write reviews but I must make an exception in this case. Like many others who have reviewed the ATH-M50S before me, I echo many of the same attributes. Fit, finish and overall construction are very good but the most important feature of course is the sound. I also describe a well balanced sound stage boasting well defined bass, excellent mids and a smooth, yet crisp top-end. For the price, and compared to many others well beyond these bucks, the imaging is very accurate. Lastly, the Audio Technica ATH--50S phones are just as pleasant for casual listening as they are great for studio use. Love 'em!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 16, 2013 ATH-M50S for bass amp
Review by
nomojuno from Rockwall, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought the ATH-M50S headphones to use with my bass amp for silent practicing (silent to everybody else anyway!).

The physical comfort and the pleasant sound make me forget I'm wearing them. They reproduce my bass sound very well. I can certainly overdrive them and make them break up and fatigue my ears, but that's true for any headphones.

My MP3 player comes through with great fidelity and clarity. All in all, very pleasant to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 16, 2013 Sweet cans!
Review by
Anthony from Columbus, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these headphones when my last pair of radio shack whatevers died and I needed something higher quality for monitoring mixes and just listening to music. WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED. These are solid, balanced headphones. Great lows, clear highs. Perfect for what I needed. If anything, they can get a little tight or heavy with extended use, but I also have a big head, so your mileage may vary. All in all, these are the best headphones I've used or owned and I would definitely buy them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 13, 2013 ATH-M50S
Review by
Matt from Boca Raton, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Fantastic reference headphones. They are very clean and add very little color. If you want to critically listen to your music and hear it the way it was recorded, these perform beautifully and are a great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2013 Awesome!!
Review by
GrandHustle from Curitiba, PR, Brazil
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is an awesome product!! Excellent Quality.

Best cost/performance !! Very good headphones!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 5, 2013 Nice Economical Headphones
Review by
MEH from Milford, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Purchased a pair of these headphones for traveling. They are very nice for the price. Comfortable snug fit around ears, think they just fit my husband. They do provide some noise cancellation, if I had to rate maybe 80%+. enough that you can listen to music, watch a movie, or just put on to block out excess noise. Came with a nice carry case too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 4, 2013 excellent product
Review by
Barket from Denton, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent sound quality. Perfect design. Very durable. Great value ease of use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 28, 2013 cool beans
Review by
nuke from montreal, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sound quality and comfy. Also i got a sick deal on them through this site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 11, 2013 Great headphones for the price
Review by
Jean-Guy from Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have used them for about 6 month now and I like its natural sound quality and they are very confortable. I have recommended this model to my friends. No need to spend more money on other brand that looks only fancier, but do not offer a better sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 13, 2012 Totally satisfied
Review by
gws from Pocatello, ID
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These cans came recommended by multiple DJs and producers when I asked for suggestions in the $200 price range for a casual listener. (I paid less than that.)
The voice-chat headphones I had been using seemed just fine until the M50s showed me what I had been missing from my music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz