Showing 15 reviews for Boss 612UA

Customer Review Summary for Boss 612UA
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 15 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
60%
4 star:
.
.
27%
3 star:
.
.
13%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.3
Value
4.7
Features
3.7
Design
4.5
Usability
4.1
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
March 20, 2014 It was what I expected
Review by
Moose from Merritt Island, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A typical limited feature budget player from China. It works, but for how long is the question. No problems so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 30, 2013 You get what you paid for!
Review by
Jeffrey from Vancouver, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
You are probably considering this stereo due to it's price. I feel I got my $50s worth, but it is a VERY basic setup.
Cons:
1.can't play music with the USB plug. If you want to play music with your mp3, you need to use the auxiliary. Not a big deal, but it makes for unnecessary plugs.
2. The outer lining for the holder doesn't fit around the stereo (at least for my Pontiac vibe), so it isn't flush with the
dashboard.
3. You need to hold a button for it to show the tinge, and it only flashes for a few seconds before returning to the RADIO ori AUX screen...I have no idea why they decided to do that.
4. The forward/backward button don't work for anything plugged into the aux, or at least with iPhone 4s, Samsung galaxies, and HTC ones.

Pros:
It's 50 dollars. It would have been 30 dollars to get a wireless radio that plugs into the car lighter. The axillary works fine, and that's all I need it for, so I'm happy enough with it. However, it may be worth your time to spend the extra 20 dollars for something else, unless you are looking for something minimal, in which case this is great!

I also want to mention that I never tried the sd card insert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 27, 2013 Good value
Review by
James from Friendsville, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very pleased with this unit. Good sound, plenty of power and plays my SD cards with no problems. The only thing that could be improved is to make the lights on the unit dim-able. They are too bright at night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 23, 2013 Good low cost unit
Review by
JoeS from Chicago
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
THE GOOD: SD card (no more CD's), low cost unit, sound is just as good as the stock one. song titles and album scroll across display during playback and it continues playing the song from the SD card where you left off.
THE BAD: clock is not displayed until the button is pressed for 2 seconds, setting clock to the current time is not that complicated but on my unit it only keeps time when the ignition is on (all wiring is connected correctly as the radio presets and settings all stay as set)
So for this price, I can just get a small stick-on clock and deal with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 9, 2012 Boss 612UA
Review by
juancito from San Pedro de Macoris, Dominican Republic
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good amp or plant as it is called here. I would buy another. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 2, 2012 Great, if you don't want to mess with a CD
Review by
mark from Otis, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very nice product to date. Plays tons of music off a single thumb drive. The drive actually cost more than the player! Works well in a small car with limited room to mount a system.

Fits my MGB like a charm. Need one for the other car now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 24, 2012 Nice unit. Very good price!!
Review by
Audio freak from Candler, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just recieved my boss unit today. Installed it. Didnt need the antenna adapter that Sonic recommended. But no big deal. The unit seems to work fine so far. They do great fast shipping and free installation accessories. Overall seems to be a nice unit for the best price out there. Will definitely buy more from Sonic. Thanks. Very satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 3, 2012 Good for the price.
Review by
Dave from Philadelphia, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you are looking for an inexpensive radio, this will get the job done. I would recommend this to someone looking to save a few bucks. Not as nice as a more high end radio, but not bad. I would like to see a more simple way to display the time and for the volume levels to be a little more spread out (i.e. 1 is low and 10 is loud, goes to 20+). Overall, this is a quality piece of equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 15, 2012 okay for the price
Review by
Andrew from Camden, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It definitely performs pretty well but the radio turning on every time you turn your car on does get tiredsome. And the users manual doesn't show how to set the clock. Overall though I like how it let's you set many preset stations and it has an audio jack for mp3 players and such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2012 Beautiful look and design
Review by
Serge from St-Felicien, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easy to use, looks great, low price, the only thing which I like less: the default level volume is a bit too high: 17.
Connected to 2 BOSS amplifiers, CX800 and SE450, 4 6-1/2's (CH6530), 2 12" subwoofers (P126DVC). Everything is BOSS and works well. Don't regret.
Looks great in my 32 Ford Hot rod
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 3, 2011 good price and fast shipping.
Review by
Hung from Brentwood, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It has been good sound and ease to operating for the low price. I also like the fast shiiping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 3, 2011 Truck Radio
Review by
Keith from Hendersonville TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought and installed this in my electric Ford Ranger, replacing the CD/RADIO that came with the truck. The radio works great. I installed a 2 gig SD CARD with 600 songs on it and now I never have to swap out CD's. This worked so well I going to buy another one for my Duffy Electric Boat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 11, 2011 Good media player for the price
Review by
Paul from Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I use this media player with a USB drive as the source. It works well for the price. The sound quality is decent, and the unit is fairly easy to use.

Compared to higher quality head units, you'll see many differences. I haven't been able to change directories when searching for songs on USB. That may be because I didn't read the instructions. There are no crossover frequency adjustments, and the radio receiver doesn't work as well as nicer radios - all acceptable things in this price range.

This media player looks very good, and is very simple. Everything works well - USB, aux in, radio. It's easy to use and reliable, but don't have sky-high performance expectations. This is, afterall, a cheap radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 13, 2011 Correction on clock setting
Review by
Mike from Edmonton, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just a minor correction on my previous review on how to set the clock:

Setting the clock:
================
-Press and hold the "MODE CLK" button for 2 seconds until the time is displayed.
-Press and hold the "MODE CLK" button for another 2 seconds until the hours start flashing, adjust with the volume knob.
-Tap the volume button in momentarily, the minutes will start flashing, adjust with the volume knob. You can tap the volume knob again to get back to the hours setting.
-Wait until the clock display disappears. The clock has now been set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 6, 2011 Great little stereo!
Review by
Mike from Edmonton, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I needed a small unit to replace an AM radio in an old truck, this worked great. Looks really cool (at least by comparison!); the picture on the box is misleading, it actually looks more like the unit picture on this website (more blue-ish than teal/white)...which I like!

Sound is good, it defaults to volume at 20 when you start up though. It's a bit loud when the truck is idle, but ok when you get going.

It has a clock, but is not displayed all the time (my only complaint). To show the clock, press and hold the "Mode CLK" button for about 2 seconds (tapping it will change the input which will cut off the radio).

Also, there aren't instructions on how to set the clock in the manual. Normally not a problem, but this guy is tricky and not really intuitive.

Setting the clock:
================
-Press and hold the "MODE CLK" button for 2 seconds until the time is displayed.
-Press and hold the "MODE CLK" button for another 2 seconds until the hours start flashing, adjust with the volume knob.
-Press and hold the "MODE CLK" button for another 2 seconds until the minutes start flashing, adjust with the volume knob.
-Wait until the clock display disappears. The clock has now been set!

Note: I think it takes a 2 sec hold to get to the minutes set from the hours, but a single tap might work...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz