Showing 25 reviews for Clarion NX501 (NX-501)

Customer Review Summary for Clarion NX501 (NX-501)
Average Customer Rating is 3.9 out of 5 stars:
3.9
based on 25 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.1
Value
4.2
Features
4.4
Design
4.6
Usability
3.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Excellent product

I spent several months researching DD head units to install in my 2012 Ram 1500 Express crew cab. I didn't want to spend $2k on a factory nav unit plus $200 on a lockpick. My little sister is a pro installer and recommended Kenwood or Alpine. I asked her about Clarion but she stated she never dealt with them and didn't have an opinion. In the end, I selected the nx501 based on features and price. The sirius direct connect and integrated Bluetooth made this unit at least $200 cheaper than every other manufacturer out there (besides, boss, jensen and valor but come on). Pros: -It has a volume knob -The nav is fast and accurate, route planning is quick and efficient as well -The unit has a hard nav/av button right above the volume control, this allows you to switch from the nav map to the active source so you can change stations or songs or video or whatever and then press it again to take you right back the nav map. I find this EXTREMEly convenient and well thought out. Not sure if this is considered standard. -The integrated microphone works well in my vehicle, the head unit is positioned near the top of the dash and i think that helps. My Blackberry Bold 9650 had no issues pairing with the unit and my contacts were instantly available -No issues with sirius loading as stated in earlier reviews, there was a firmware update released last year which was already applied to my head unit when it arrive in February 2012. It has lost my presets twice so I'll need to get to the bottom of that -Front a/v input is very convenient -The User Interface is fast and intuitive -Everything needed was included in the box, my sister was impressed with the packaging and included accessories. Less than $800 for sat nav, sirius, integrated bluetooth, backup camera and harnesses/adapters -Dual zone is a very cool feature although I don't get to use it often but it does work and is not as distracting as you would think it may be with having two different sources playing at the same time Cons: -Sirius has lost my presets twice so far (in 1 week) -USB Audio has somewhat limited functionality, random is available but other sorting options seem weak or unavailable. Other thoughts: -I do not own an iPod as I am capable of thinking and organizing music myself -I have had the nav unit on and routing, listening to sirius, flipped on the backup cam and accepted an incoming call all at the same time without a slowdown or hesitation from this head unit. -I would recommend this unit to anyone, everyone that has seen it has liked and can immediately figure out how to use it without much help from me.

VS
pass

Cant see the screen during the day, at times you have to touch several times on something you want to select - particularly around the screen edges. bluetooth makes an awful noise for 30 seconds after start up.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
February 29, 2012 Excellent product
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Fatty from Fairmont, wv
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I spent several months researching DD head units to install in my 2012 Ram 1500 Express crew cab. I didn't want to spend $2k on a factory nav unit plus $200 on a lockpick. My little sister is a pro installer and recommended Kenwood or Alpine. I asked her about Clarion but she stated she never dealt with them and didn't have an opinion. In the end, I selected the nx501 based on features and price. The sirius direct connect and integrated Bluetooth made this unit at least $200 cheaper than every other manufacturer out there (besides, boss, jensen and valor but come on).

Pros:
-It has a volume knob
-The nav is fast and accurate, route planning is quick and efficient as well
-The unit has a hard nav/av button right above the volume control, this allows you to switch from the nav map to the active source so you can change stations or songs or video or whatever and then press it again to take you right back the nav map. I find this EXTREMEly convenient and well thought out. Not sure if this is considered standard.
-The integrated microphone works well in my vehicle, the head unit is positioned near the top of the dash and i think that helps. My Blackberry Bold 9650 had no issues pairing with the unit and my contacts were instantly available
-No issues with sirius loading as stated in earlier reviews, there was a firmware update released last year which was already applied to my head unit when it arrive in February 2012. It has lost my presets twice so I'll need to get to the bottom of that
-Front a/v input is very convenient
-The User Interface is fast and intuitive
-Everything needed was included in the box, my sister was impressed with the packaging and included accessories. Less than $800 for sat nav, sirius, integrated bluetooth, backup camera and harnesses/adapters
-Dual zone is a very cool feature although I don't get to use it often but it does work and is not as distracting as you would think it may be with having two different sources playing at the same time

Cons:
-Sirius has lost my presets twice so far (in 1 week)
-USB Audio has somewhat limited functionality, random is available but other sorting options seem weak or unavailable.

Other thoughts:
-I do not own an iPod as I am capable of thinking and organizing music myself
-I have had the nav unit on and routing, listening to sirius, flipped on the backup cam and accepted an incoming call all at the same time without a slowdown or hesitation from this head unit.
-I would recommend this unit to anyone, everyone that has seen it has liked and can immediately figure out how to use it without much help from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 3, 2012 My Storey
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Scott from Winchester Ky.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was in a real mess trying to get great sounding tunes in my new car. I got some Pioneer tweeter and mid range speakers for the front of my car. Trying to find what I wanted in the rear was my problem, people said 2 way speakers would be fine or 3 way speakers. Well knowing what I know I went to a junk yard, yea I know I know used speakers. I found a 2009 nissan pathfinder and pulled the back speakers out. They were 6.5's what I needed but the best part of my junk yard was the Bose speakers I got. I put them in the other night and they sounded ok. When I got my Clarion NX501 put in today I fell in love with my car then. 200 watts and all the options on the deck like phone, gps, xm radio and god knows what else I'll find learning about this new deck. It is a super clean sounding deck and I was shocked on my way home, I went over the speed limit just a little and the music stopped and a voice said, your over the speed limit 2 times till I was going the right speed. It knew the road I was on and the speed limit of every street I was on. This deck and the guy from Sonic Electronix set me up for a refund with the other speakers I got and told me about the Clarion NX501, it all sounded great but I told him that I didn't want to get another deck cause if I did I would lose my steering wheel options on the car. He said don't worry cause they had a cable hook up that worked for the deck i got and the steering options would work. I tell ya if I could send that guy a dinner somewhere just to show him I love this deck and all the new toys with it. Thank you Sonic Electronix for all your help in makeing this 51 year old jam like I did in the 70's. Take care and what ever you get from them is a deal and super price. Thanks again!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 25, 2012 Excellent product
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Paul from Chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought 2 of these units - one for a 2000 Camry, the other for a 2007 Honda CRV. The installation of both went without a hitch (one with an optional steering wheel mounted volume and mode control) and the supplied modified trim kits fit exactly. However within a month one of the units experienced a corrupted SD card which made the Navigation system inoperable. Clarion replaced the card and it now works fine. Otherwise, both units perform very well and I am delighted with both the price and quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 12, 2011 Not a bad unit at all
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Kevin from Austin, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I wasn't too thrilled at switching from Pioneer F90BT to this unit, but since I sold that unit and couldn't get a good one used I decided to give Clarion another shot. (Don't get me wrong, I loved my old single DIN Clarion). I was pretty set on Pioneer due to the touch screens and other functions.

Installation was pretty easy and no major complaints lots of hook ups and the ability not to plug in a wire if you are not using it. One thing I was not thrilled about is there no VSS wire. But the built in microphone makes things go smoother. I was worried about not having the VSS wire for GPS use; some how this unit is unfazed by not having one. It locates me quickly, calculates the arrival times well and never misses telling when to exit. You honestly wouldn't be able to tell that the unit wasn't using it if unless you look at the vehicle speed on the unit than you would see it is a few mph off.

The GPS antenna is a little thicker than I would like and I suppose some cases this might be a down side but it did effect my install at all.

Touch screen is really good for an in dash head unit. My expectations were low dealing with version 2.0 on the F90BT and this was way better. Don't get me wrong, this is no HTC or iPhone, it is a radio company that is doing a touch screen. Response to touches is right on and quick; the swipe feature on the main screen is great, on the sirius screen for browsing though stations by category and trying to go back a level can be tricky. The lay out of screens is great, it is logical and all things are only about 3 clicks away at anytime. The unit boots up fast I can have music in 30 seconds after the key is on (this is an estimate). The slowest feature would be the GPS boot up which is still under 2 minutes from key on to ready to take an address.

Issues I have had. Once, the unit freaked out and the touch buttons didn't work, menu and source buttons and I had to use the reset button. Three times in the last six months randomly it reset my Sirius presets... Not sure why. Sometimes (about 4 times I have had this issue) when booting up the Sirius doesn't seem to load and required me to power down the unit and power it back on and it works flawlessly.

Down Sides: I am being really picky here, I wish it had a mute button for navigation. I do not like the new parking brake wire hook up, with it looking for a switch, it took me a bit to get this part correct.
The equalizer is pretty confusing, I normally set them up myself but I just use the preset function which are solid in typical Clarion fashion.
If you are an iPod user, the no iPod cable would be an issue, but from what I can see an ebay iPod cable would work for this unit and is a heck of a lot cheaper.

Overall, Buy it. It has a solid feel and I love the reaction time/responsiveness. If you are tired of Pioneer giving you push buttons for volume (big issue for me, I like the volume knob) and are worried about switching brands give this guy a shot. I am sure it will impress you and make you smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 6, 2014 my tuppence worth or 700 quids worth
Review by
tango 6 from london, Great Britain
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this unit is the worst purchase i have ever made from a sat nav point of view.it has sent me the wrong way down a one way street .sent me on a 15 mile goose chase.does not accept full post codes.the radio is on all the time you are using sat nav. believe it or not clarion we all do not want the radio on.then there is the clarion pass the buck help lines . and the buck stops with you .my unit is fitted to my new zafira dec 2013 .in closing the very first tom tom made is better. any comments please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 24, 2013 Worst service ever from Clarion and Naviextra
Review by
disgusted from calgary, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I don't recommend this product for the following reasons:
Clarion support is non existent. You call leave message and no one calls back.
You report a problem and no solutions are offered.
Bought this system on a friend's recommendation and had nothing but a nightmare. very difficult to set up blue tooth.
Touch controls are temperamental. constantly having to turn off unit to fix.
IPod music frequently drops off and radio comes on.
Had problems with maps, was told need to update, bought a package and wouldn't install as the SD card provided is too small, I had to remove maps in order to install new ones.
The St for streets are called saints and Dr for drives are called doctors, I contacted Clarion and was surprised to reach anyone, spoke to a Ramesh who told me not their problem should contact Naviextra. Sent an email as no phone, received an answer requesting info which I provided. Several emails back and forth and finally a month passed and got a reply from Naviextra that they cannot change the saints and doctors as product is outdated. I emailed back that the product is only 2 months old and if outdated why sell it. Received a response back that it is not their problem but Clarion. One blames the other and one takes responsibility. I called the dealer who was very helpful and offered to call them. However being disgruntled for two months I opted to return and buy Kenwood stereo which is supported by Garmin. A far superior mapping.
Buy this product if you want a headache.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 9, 2012 Clarion NX501 review
Review by
greengo from Ottawa, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this unit from Sonic Electronix over a year ago. There were no issues with shipping, Sonic took care of all the customs, duties, etc., for shipping to Canada, as promised. The installation of the unit itself was straightforward, and it fit nicely into the double-DIN space of my 2007 Honda Pilot. I also installed a Sirius SCC1 satellite radio tuner at the same time, and re-purposed my old iPhone 3G as an iPod dedicated to the Clarion, stashed in the glove box. The main things I use the NX501 for are iPod, navigation, Bluetooth cell phone interface, satellite radio, and AM/FM radio, in that order. The iPod playback is fine, and whatever album art is present on the iPod gets displayed on the screen during playback. The skip button is a bit sensitive, and you need to press directly and deliberately on the arrow, or else the track won't skip as expected (although you may still hear a 'beep'). Sometimes you'll hear a double-beep, indicating that two tracks were actually skipped. The other main issue is that when starting the vehicle, the iPod isn't always detected right away, and you have to power-cycle the HU to get it to be detected. I just updated to the latest firmware version (July 2012) from Clarion's website this past weekend, and I haven't noticed this problem since the update, so hopefully this issue is fixed. I normally just select one of my playlists and hit shuffle, so I don't do a lot of manual searching for individual songs or artists. This is do-able, but when scrolling down a long list of songs or artists, the touchscreen is a bit sensitive, and will sometimes select an item you touched, when really you just meant to scroll down with a swipe gesture.

Navigation is excellent, the only gripe I have is that the voice instructions will almost always use a 'highway' name, rather than the actual commonly-used street name. The street name is displayed at the top of the nav screen at the same time, so I'm not sure why the audio instructions always describe a highway. I've looked through the various nav options, but can't find any way to change this. I particularly like the 'quick search' feature. If I'm looking for a Thai restaurant, I can just enter 'Thai' in the quick search, and it will start listing various locations with 'Thai' in the name, by order of proximity.
I don't use the satellite radio that often, not because of any problem with the unit itself, but more because I find the audio quality of Sirius XM satellite radio quite poor. Much of the time the audio sounds like an old cassette tape recording, on a tape that's been played too often (old timers will remember the 'warble' sound of a poor quality audio cassette). The only issue I had with the NX501's satellite interface was that the button to store a preset station didn't work. However, I'm happy to report that this has been fixed in the recent firmware update. It would be nice to have a 'mute' button in the main nav screen, so that you could easily mute any iPod or music playback. When voice instructions from the nav unit are happening, any music playing back will automatically lower in volume, but sometimes as you're getting close to the final destination, you want to turn the music right off, but to do this, I need to switch to the iPod screen, hit 'pause', then switch back to the nav screen.

The Bluetooth hands-free interface works well, but the only feature I really wish it had was a way to trigger the dial-by-voice feature of my Blackberry. Without this, if I want to dial a number, I have to access my phone's directory via the NX501's interface, then scroll around to find the number I want. Not easy to do while driving, and a definite distraction. It keeps a record of recently received and recently dialed numbers, which makes searching for commonly used numbers a bit easier, but it would be nice if it tied this list to the phone's directory. For example, I have three numbers stored in my Blackberry's contact list for my wife; her work number, her cell number, and our home number. If I access her directory entry via the NX501, it shows all three numbers. However, if I select her name from a list of recently received calls, it only shows me the number she called from, not all three numbers. If she called me yesterday from work, and I want to call her today, but I know she's not at work, and I want to call her cell, I can't do it via the 'received calls' menu, and must call up the full directory, then search. My other issue is that when talking on the cell phone via bluetooth, the caller's voice only comes from the left or right channel, but not both (you can choose which channel, but why not a mono audio feed from both channels?)

Aside from my gripe about the audio quality of Sirius radio, the unit's overall audio quality is excellent. I replaced my stock Pilot speakers with Infinity speakers (2 way speakers in the rear door, and two-way component speakers up front, with the tweeters mounted on the sail panels), and it sounds fantastic, especially for iPod audio playback. You can push it nice and loud, with no audible distortion, and there are various EQ settings for tweaking the sound to your heart's content. I had originally planned on driving the four door speakers with an external power amp, but after hearing the sound from the HU driving the Infinity speakers, I was quite happy with that. I do still plan to install a subwoofer, but that's part of phase II. :-)

I only recently started using the AM/FM radio, since I found when I was installing the unit that I needed a special adapter for the Honda radio antenna. I ordered the adapter, but then never got around to installing it until recently. I've programmed in my presets, and it sounds just fine. The 'analog' radio dial representation on the display is a bit wonky; it scrolls vertically, whereas most radio dials operate horizontally, and the 'up' and 'down' buttons on the top and bottom of this dial are non-intuitive. It would also be nice to be able to edit the station names of the presets, rather than just displaying their frequency.

I haven't yet used any of the following features:
-DVD playback
-Rear seat DVD displays/audio zones
-USB audio (i.e. USB memory sticks or other devices besides iPod)
-rear view camera

I do have a license plate camera unit, which will get installed as part of phase II, with the subwoofer upgrade. I already have a portable DVD player (two screens, one master, one slave) for the kids when we go on trips, but eventually I'll get some headrest DVD units, and start utilizing the DVD playback capability of the Clarion.

In short, I highly recommend this unit. The price is right, it's packed full of features (way more than I can use), it sounds excellent, and has a great user interface. Many of the minor complaints I had have now been resolved by the firmware update, and hopefully Clarion keeps refining and adding new features in future updates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 1, 2012 Impressed
Review by
Lance from Prince George, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Install was a snap, but not for the inexperienced. approx 3hrs.
Installed in a 2011 Nissan Versa and was already familiar with dash.
The features we wanted meet all expectations. Features we were unaware of ... long trips - have to play ... we make use of.
The audible (Dave) warning has saved us the price of unit.
Large intelligent navigation display excellent.
Will avoid smaller units when I can.
Only negative - load up time excessive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 21, 2012 Awesome Unit
Review by
Dean from Apple Valley, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Clarion NX501 is absolutely the best multimedia head unit I have ever had. I have owned the alpine and pioneer multimedia units and this bar far blows them out of the water. The UI on this is amazing far more advanced than the others out there, the bluetooth works great, and the nav system is amazing. I have had this for about 6 months with no issues whatsoever. The install is about the same as pretty much every unit out there.

The only gripe I have about this unit is the fact that the unit comes with a satellite antenna nice and small for the NAV system but if you want to add Sirius satellite radio you have to purchase the additional component, which is not a problem but that component also has a satellite antenna that must be installed as well. So you would have 2 antennas on your vehicle. Not sure why they cannot just make it both in one. So I opted not to get sirius radio and use Pandora instead via Bluetooth.
Also one other thing the MIC internal or even the external (Clarion RCB199) one I purchase with this unit does not work very well. People complain they can hardly hear me.

Other than those two things this unit an awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 11, 2012 Love this deck!!!
Review by
Andre from Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was very hesitant on buying a clarion deck, but I couldnt help notice the higher end specs that it had for its price range. I was looking for something to replace my pioneer single din and provide some cleaner and louder sound. This by far did the trick. The pioneer had to be at 3/4 volume for me to get a comfortable level to listen to my music, and sometimes at max volume when I wanted to really listen, it would still be insufficient. But this Clarion has plenty of power and at am able to listen comfortably at about 1/4 volume. Max volume hurts my ears. On top of that, the clearity from this deck is crystal clear. I have aftermarket Polk speakers and a Rockford Fosgate sub. This deck provides a great sound to my system. The touch screen cant be beat. I love the scrolling feature. Very similar to cell phones and other touch screen devices today. My friend has a toshiba double din and this touch screen blows it out of the water. Bluetooth works perfectly and clearly without the need for an extended mic. Navigation is as complete and in some cases even better than my garmin, which I never even use anymore. This is easily a $1k deck for half the price. Only thing that I would say could be better is more customization on the many different screens. There are a limited # of backgrounds to choose from, and they are only for the home screen. Not a big deal, but if I wanted to be nit-picky. Also, really wanted to be able to use and SD card to play music off of. The micro-SD slot for this deck is only for the navigation maps. But I just use my ipod so it still isnt that big of a deal. Highly recommend buying this unit and highly recommend sonicelectronix.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 11, 2012 NX 501 in 04 Honda CRV
Review by
Fixit4U from Bath, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First unit I received had major issues with touchscreen and would not respond to my touch...was told by ( tech support ) to just box up the head unit & send it back for a replacement.

Now for the good...installed the replacement and I love it....FLAWLESS and works perfect....at least for a week + now.....Navigation is a key feature...Ipod/bluetooth works great also...and for some reason this unit responds twice as fast as the first unit I received....Compared to my 2 Pioneer FB90BT's with firmware updates...this unit holds it own...for the price...a super value for what you get.

Note: all second generation Honda CRV owners...the free dash install kit that was supplied...does not fit the CRV...had to use the factory CRV radio mounts and carefully remove material from the (included) Clarion face plate....great finished look....free wiring harness was fine and fit my factory plug.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 24, 2012 Good with a few gotchas
Review by
PhoenixWeasel from Phoenix AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Has great features. The onboard mic works really well. Great selection of inputs/outputs.

My first unit had a bad internal ground, so the points below I know aren't related to my unit as the replacement does the same things.

Things I wish I'd known before I bought:
1: the "custom" EQ mode doesn't affect the sub preouts

2: Sirius ALWAYS starts in "all channel" mode, not preset mode (Clarion says this is due to the scc1, but my Pioneer starts on presets...) Whoever's fault it is - REALLY? if you've defined presets why would you want to always start in all channel mode...

3: I fill my USB stick in artist folder, then album folder. 2 issues: USB input starts in first artist folder, showing album folders. Inconvenient. Secondly, if you swipe back, its sorted in oldest to newest "folder modified" order (should be either alpha, or rev modified - I usually want to listen to artists I've most recently loaded). It does start where you left off in a track between car starts (my pioneer starts the track over), so thats good.

4: It boots somewhat slow - this is really only a problem when you put it into reverse. I'm usually long gone by the time the backup camera comes on. Additionally, I get "no signal" for a few seconds when I do wait long enough. I have the same Boyo camera on my Pioneer unit and have never had that issue. Could be connection diffs between vehicles, but its still noteworthy.

Overall, this is a vast improvement over the Pioneer in my other vehicle, but it does have a few quirks as I've mentioned. Oh, and since its now a discontinued unit from Clarion, they've said they won't fix any of those issues because they're cosmetic, not critical to operations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 27, 2012 None too bad
Review by
patrick from Lenexalenexa, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First of all I do really like this product. There are lots of features, and connectability options galore, but there are a few minor problems. The first problem is that the unit does take a while to get started. The second problem I have is that the unit is not to intuitive, it has taken me a bit of time to figure it out, and not to mention updating the unit. Overall though I like it and once used to it it works very nice. Sounds good and tons of expandability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 21, 2012 Lovin this unit
Review by
george from north richland hills, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I really like this unit, i just got it installed last week and ordered it off of this website. It is off the chain and really beats out other units, especially in this price range. I played with the jvc and pioneer models near this price range and though they were more expensive, they didn't come close. Navigation is awesome, Bluetooth works well and I don't have the external mic but everyone says they can hear me really well, interface is beautiful and USB drive connectivity is excellent as well. All around great unit!!! Only thing that I don't like as much is that the lights have to be blue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 20, 2012 great deck
Review by
Scott from Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this deck for about 6 months now and it works great, a lot of great features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 9, 2011 Excellent Head Unit! Best Ever owned! A+
Review by
Mike from Livonia, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This headunit is flawless in every sense. The screen quality is top notch and is probably the best I've seen in an in dash screen. After the update from Clarion's web site this unit is flawless. Everything about it is awesome.

Pros:

-Screen Quality is amazing. Best I've seen on an in dash.
- Iphone like scrolling works perfectly after update
-Bluetooth is the best I've ever heard, people think im just on the phone.(I do own the external mic though, can't comment on internal one)
-Bluetooth Streaming works perfect and honestly sounds better then any other bluetooth A2DP I've heard, you can change the song on radio as well.
-Ipod Audio and Video is flawless, works very well. Ipod sometimes can be sluggish for a second or two, but not a big deal at all.
-Radio is great too, presets change instantly like on stock radios.
-Navigation is the best I've ever used, beating out garmin, kenwood, pioneer, tomtom, JVC.
-Navigation is fast and entuitive and very clean and sharp to look at, not boring like many other navigation units.
- Browsing through the whole unit is really fast and really has no lag issues at all, maybe before the update a little, but post update,

Cons:

-Sunlight glare is sometimes an issue, but not a huge deal.
-Boot up time is ONLY 10-15 seconds after update. Not 15-25 seconds like a lot of other people are saying.
-Bypass is a switch instead of always bypassed, again not a huge issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 3, 2011 My troubles are over
Review by
Walker from St. Petersburg, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you are having problems deciding which unit to get, consider this unit. I have had a few units, and this one I would say is one of the best for the money. Looks neat in dash, sounds great GPS is better than most, lots of options and hook ups, Sirius radio option, the list goes on. Installed it in my 2006 F-150, with box under rear seat with 2 10" JL Audio subs and a 900 watt earthquake amp, and this thing rocks. I would do this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 28, 2011 Great In Dash NAV unit. Superb
Review by
Just me :) from VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great Nav unit. I compared it to all other manufactures Kenwood eXcelon, Pioneer, Sony, Alpine, JVC. I am the biggest Kenwwod fan, but their NAV system was a let down with all the lagging. This Clarion blows them all out of the water for features, looks, ease of use, sound, etc.... I am really pleased with this unit. I have updated all the firmware from www.clarion.com, but I never had any issues with my unit like some of the others had mentioned. A major point for this unit is the backup camera connection... it's universal so you can buy any type camera you want to use, instead of a set manufacture camera. The sound is superb, and the Magna Bass EX really steps up the low end bass. The screen is by far the best i've seen for looks, and function. The internal mic for the bluetooth is all you need as well... I am told I come through loud and clear on the other end of the phone. I also love the blue lighting around the volume knob, etc... it would be nice if it could be changed to match vehicle dash colors. The NAV in this unit is the nicest i've seen and easy to use with 12 million or 15 million POI (have to look it up lol), and it's 3D and shows terrain, buildings, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 24, 2011 I like the features
Review by
Laine from Edmonton, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I like the unit when it's working properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 6, 2011 Clarion NX501 GOOD
Review by
CHARLES THE TECMASTER from Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Clarion nx501 (nx-501) love it, i installed it my self, everything working great. Updated gps working good overall. By far this is one of the best radios out there. Very easy to use and uderstand. At least for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 2, 2011 Wow, a step up
Review by
Munzy from Ajax, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a sick unit. The pre amp is by far the best out there. When I say best I mean better then anything.... by far. If you want really great sound get this unit. Oh and the screen is awesome. I have all high end stuff in my car, I had a Alpine w205 it sounded good. But now it sounds great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 23, 2011 Awsome Unit
Review by
Timothy from lubbock, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The mounting brackets and trim rings included allow for easy installation. I mounted this unit into a 2008 Jeep Wrangler. After removing the factory unit along with a metal bracket, this unit along with the install dash kit slid right in for an amazing fit.

This unit has many features which I am still learning. It has trip calculators including a regular calculator, odd but strangely useful. I am able to plug my WD external 500GB hard drive into it loaded with music and it works wonderfully (Although a little overwhelming in music searching). I can get in the vehicle with my iphone in my pocket and it automatically detects it and plays the music on it.

It also has truley enhanced the sound of my factory speaker system. My goal was to change out all the speakers but so far thats not even necessary.

Not sure what else to say but you can't go wrong with this sytem and its price. Every day I seem to findmore cool functions on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 21, 2012 pass
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
me from Houston, Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Cant see the screen during the day, at times you have to touch several times on something you want to select - particularly around the screen edges. bluetooth makes an awful noise for 30 seconds after start up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 11, 2012 It's ok
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tingo from Chesapeake, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Nice unit but there are quite a few things that I don't like about it. One, is that I find myself having to push buttons more than once to get a different source to operate. Then there seems to be a lot of lag time and when you play a disk, the song ends and there is this horrible pause. Maybe I don't have it set correctly but I don't seen in the manual where I went wrong. I would not buy this unit twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 16, 2012 CD Player Skips
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Rick from Georgetown, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I wish I could say I am happy with my NX501. This is a nice unit with lots of features but the cd player skips at high volume because of vibration. I've never owned a cd player that skips no matter how loud and bassy I play my music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz