Showing 11 reviews for Clarion NX501 (NX-501)

Customer Review Summary for Clarion NX501 (NX-501)
Average Customer Rating is 3.9 out of 5 stars:
3.9
based on 25 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.1
Value
4.2
Features
4.4
Design
4.6
Usability
3.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
February 29, 2012 Excellent product
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Fatty from Fairmont, wv
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I spent several months researching DD head units to install in my 2012 Ram 1500 Express crew cab. I didn't want to spend $2k on a factory nav unit plus $200 on a lockpick. My little sister is a pro installer and recommended Kenwood or Alpine. I asked her about Clarion but she stated she never dealt with them and didn't have an opinion. In the end, I selected the nx501 based on features and price. The sirius direct connect and integrated Bluetooth made this unit at least $200 cheaper than every other manufacturer out there (besides, boss, jensen and valor but come on).

Pros:
-It has a volume knob
-The nav is fast and accurate, route planning is quick and efficient as well
-The unit has a hard nav/av button right above the volume control, this allows you to switch from the nav map to the active source so you can change stations or songs or video or whatever and then press it again to take you right back the nav map. I find this EXTREMEly convenient and well thought out. Not sure if this is considered standard.
-The integrated microphone works well in my vehicle, the head unit is positioned near the top of the dash and i think that helps. My Blackberry Bold 9650 had no issues pairing with the unit and my contacts were instantly available
-No issues with sirius loading as stated in earlier reviews, there was a firmware update released last year which was already applied to my head unit when it arrive in February 2012. It has lost my presets twice so I'll need to get to the bottom of that
-Front a/v input is very convenient
-The User Interface is fast and intuitive
-Everything needed was included in the box, my sister was impressed with the packaging and included accessories. Less than $800 for sat nav, sirius, integrated bluetooth, backup camera and harnesses/adapters
-Dual zone is a very cool feature although I don't get to use it often but it does work and is not as distracting as you would think it may be with having two different sources playing at the same time

Cons:
-Sirius has lost my presets twice so far (in 1 week)
-USB Audio has somewhat limited functionality, random is available but other sorting options seem weak or unavailable.

Other thoughts:
-I do not own an iPod as I am capable of thinking and organizing music myself
-I have had the nav unit on and routing, listening to sirius, flipped on the backup cam and accepted an incoming call all at the same time without a slowdown or hesitation from this head unit.
-I would recommend this unit to anyone, everyone that has seen it has liked and can immediately figure out how to use it without much help from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 3, 2012 My Storey
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Scott from Winchester Ky.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was in a real mess trying to get great sounding tunes in my new car. I got some Pioneer tweeter and mid range speakers for the front of my car. Trying to find what I wanted in the rear was my problem, people said 2 way speakers would be fine or 3 way speakers. Well knowing what I know I went to a junk yard, yea I know I know used speakers. I found a 2009 nissan pathfinder and pulled the back speakers out. They were 6.5's what I needed but the best part of my junk yard was the Bose speakers I got. I put them in the other night and they sounded ok. When I got my Clarion NX501 put in today I fell in love with my car then. 200 watts and all the options on the deck like phone, gps, xm radio and god knows what else I'll find learning about this new deck. It is a super clean sounding deck and I was shocked on my way home, I went over the speed limit just a little and the music stopped and a voice said, your over the speed limit 2 times till I was going the right speed. It knew the road I was on and the speed limit of every street I was on. This deck and the guy from Sonic Electronix set me up for a refund with the other speakers I got and told me about the Clarion NX501, it all sounded great but I told him that I didn't want to get another deck cause if I did I would lose my steering wheel options on the car. He said don't worry cause they had a cable hook up that worked for the deck i got and the steering options would work. I tell ya if I could send that guy a dinner somewhere just to show him I love this deck and all the new toys with it. Thank you Sonic Electronix for all your help in makeing this 51 year old jam like I did in the 70's. Take care and what ever you get from them is a deal and super price. Thanks again!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 21, 2012 Awesome Unit
Review by
Dean from Apple Valley, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Clarion NX501 is absolutely the best multimedia head unit I have ever had. I have owned the alpine and pioneer multimedia units and this bar far blows them out of the water. The UI on this is amazing far more advanced than the others out there, the bluetooth works great, and the nav system is amazing. I have had this for about 6 months with no issues whatsoever. The install is about the same as pretty much every unit out there.

The only gripe I have about this unit is the fact that the unit comes with a satellite antenna nice and small for the NAV system but if you want to add Sirius satellite radio you have to purchase the additional component, which is not a problem but that component also has a satellite antenna that must be installed as well. So you would have 2 antennas on your vehicle. Not sure why they cannot just make it both in one. So I opted not to get sirius radio and use Pandora instead via Bluetooth.
Also one other thing the MIC internal or even the external (Clarion RCB199) one I purchase with this unit does not work very well. People complain they can hardly hear me.

Other than those two things this unit an awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 11, 2012 Love this deck!!!
Review by
Andre from Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was very hesitant on buying a clarion deck, but I couldnt help notice the higher end specs that it had for its price range. I was looking for something to replace my pioneer single din and provide some cleaner and louder sound. This by far did the trick. The pioneer had to be at 3/4 volume for me to get a comfortable level to listen to my music, and sometimes at max volume when I wanted to really listen, it would still be insufficient. But this Clarion has plenty of power and at am able to listen comfortably at about 1/4 volume. Max volume hurts my ears. On top of that, the clearity from this deck is crystal clear. I have aftermarket Polk speakers and a Rockford Fosgate sub. This deck provides a great sound to my system. The touch screen cant be beat. I love the scrolling feature. Very similar to cell phones and other touch screen devices today. My friend has a toshiba double din and this touch screen blows it out of the water. Bluetooth works perfectly and clearly without the need for an extended mic. Navigation is as complete and in some cases even better than my garmin, which I never even use anymore. This is easily a $1k deck for half the price. Only thing that I would say could be better is more customization on the many different screens. There are a limited # of backgrounds to choose from, and they are only for the home screen. Not a big deal, but if I wanted to be nit-picky. Also, really wanted to be able to use and SD card to play music off of. The micro-SD slot for this deck is only for the navigation maps. But I just use my ipod so it still isnt that big of a deal. Highly recommend buying this unit and highly recommend sonicelectronix.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 21, 2012 Lovin this unit
Review by
george from north richland hills, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I really like this unit, i just got it installed last week and ordered it off of this website. It is off the chain and really beats out other units, especially in this price range. I played with the jvc and pioneer models near this price range and though they were more expensive, they didn't come close. Navigation is awesome, Bluetooth works well and I don't have the external mic but everyone says they can hear me really well, interface is beautiful and USB drive connectivity is excellent as well. All around great unit!!! Only thing that I don't like as much is that the lights have to be blue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 9, 2011 Excellent Head Unit! Best Ever owned! A+
Review by
Mike from Livonia, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This headunit is flawless in every sense. The screen quality is top notch and is probably the best I've seen in an in dash screen. After the update from Clarion's web site this unit is flawless. Everything about it is awesome.

Pros:

-Screen Quality is amazing. Best I've seen on an in dash.
- Iphone like scrolling works perfectly after update
-Bluetooth is the best I've ever heard, people think im just on the phone.(I do own the external mic though, can't comment on internal one)
-Bluetooth Streaming works perfect and honestly sounds better then any other bluetooth A2DP I've heard, you can change the song on radio as well.
-Ipod Audio and Video is flawless, works very well. Ipod sometimes can be sluggish for a second or two, but not a big deal at all.
-Radio is great too, presets change instantly like on stock radios.
-Navigation is the best I've ever used, beating out garmin, kenwood, pioneer, tomtom, JVC.
-Navigation is fast and entuitive and very clean and sharp to look at, not boring like many other navigation units.
- Browsing through the whole unit is really fast and really has no lag issues at all, maybe before the update a little, but post update,

Cons:

-Sunlight glare is sometimes an issue, but not a huge deal.
-Boot up time is ONLY 10-15 seconds after update. Not 15-25 seconds like a lot of other people are saying.
-Bypass is a switch instead of always bypassed, again not a huge issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 3, 2011 My troubles are over
Review by
Walker from St. Petersburg, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you are having problems deciding which unit to get, consider this unit. I have had a few units, and this one I would say is one of the best for the money. Looks neat in dash, sounds great GPS is better than most, lots of options and hook ups, Sirius radio option, the list goes on. Installed it in my 2006 F-150, with box under rear seat with 2 10" JL Audio subs and a 900 watt earthquake amp, and this thing rocks. I would do this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 28, 2011 Great In Dash NAV unit. Superb
Review by
Just me :) from VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great Nav unit. I compared it to all other manufactures Kenwood eXcelon, Pioneer, Sony, Alpine, JVC. I am the biggest Kenwwod fan, but their NAV system was a let down with all the lagging. This Clarion blows them all out of the water for features, looks, ease of use, sound, etc.... I am really pleased with this unit. I have updated all the firmware from www.clarion.com, but I never had any issues with my unit like some of the others had mentioned. A major point for this unit is the backup camera connection... it's universal so you can buy any type camera you want to use, instead of a set manufacture camera. The sound is superb, and the Magna Bass EX really steps up the low end bass. The screen is by far the best i've seen for looks, and function. The internal mic for the bluetooth is all you need as well... I am told I come through loud and clear on the other end of the phone. I also love the blue lighting around the volume knob, etc... it would be nice if it could be changed to match vehicle dash colors. The NAV in this unit is the nicest i've seen and easy to use with 12 million or 15 million POI (have to look it up lol), and it's 3D and shows terrain, buildings, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 6, 2011 Clarion NX501 GOOD
Review by
CHARLES THE TECMASTER from Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Clarion nx501 (nx-501) love it, i installed it my self, everything working great. Updated gps working good overall. By far this is one of the best radios out there. Very easy to use and uderstand. At least for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 2, 2011 Wow, a step up
Review by
Munzy from Ajax, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a sick unit. The pre amp is by far the best out there. When I say best I mean better then anything.... by far. If you want really great sound get this unit. Oh and the screen is awesome. I have all high end stuff in my car, I had a Alpine w205 it sounded good. But now it sounds great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 23, 2011 Awsome Unit
Review by
Timothy from lubbock, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The mounting brackets and trim rings included allow for easy installation. I mounted this unit into a 2008 Jeep Wrangler. After removing the factory unit along with a metal bracket, this unit along with the install dash kit slid right in for an amazing fit.

This unit has many features which I am still learning. It has trip calculators including a regular calculator, odd but strangely useful. I am able to plug my WD external 500GB hard drive into it loaded with music and it works wonderfully (Although a little overwhelming in music searching). I can get in the vehicle with my iphone in my pocket and it automatically detects it and plays the music on it.

It also has truley enhanced the sound of my factory speaker system. My goal was to change out all the speakers but so far thats not even necessary.

Not sure what else to say but you can't go wrong with this sytem and its price. Every day I seem to findmore cool functions on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz