Showing 40 reviews for Sony XAV-62BT

Customer Review Summary for Sony XAV-62BT
Average Customer Rating is 4.2 out of 5 stars:
4.2
based on 40 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.5
Features
4.1
Design
4.6
Usability
4.0
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
May 13, 2011 Great Unit
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Clinton from Des Moines, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed this in a '04 F150 FX4.

Pros: This DVD player looks awesome installed. I have received many compliments on how it looks. The picture quality is really great, and the unit is easy to use. The software for the Sense Me feature is easy to use. The touch screen works well. The unit seems powerful enough for factory systems. This unit works awesome, even in the cold Iowa winter!

I also purchased the iPod adapter. I don't use iPods, but my friends like the hooking it up.

Cons: Sometimes the touch screen is temperamental, but I use the remote most of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 7, 2011 Could not be happier.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Aaron from Midwest
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this unit for a week and love it. The display is nice and bright, easy to see except when sunlight is directly on it. The screen automatically switches to backup camera when you reverse. Bluetooth music streaming and hands free calling work flawlessly. I dont know about satallite radio as I didnt get it. Pandora does work via my Iphone and Bluetooth streaming.

Cons: The touch screen can be a bit laggy and not quite as snappy and sensitive as I would like it to be.

It kind of started to freeze up today as I was watching a dvd. The video frame rate slowed way down, but the audio was fine. I ejected and restarted and it worked fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 11, 2012 Great Unit
Review by
David from Roanoke, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend those searching for an upgrade or replacement to consider this unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 6, 2012 Good value
Review by
Radiodoctordan from Easton, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This model is now in closeout and the price was excellent for a touchscreen unit with bluetooth. It does have very slow functioning for reading the ipod or usb flash drive, and the menu driven functions are kind of slow to work thru, but once the sound is set up right, it works well. Another limitation is that there are only two sets of RCA outputs, so if you have a subwoofer and a four speaker stereo, you will need to wire the four speakers as two to use the subwoofer output. The bluetooth works well as does the tuner. You can disable the advertising streaming that the unit is installed with by disabling the demo function. The senseme gimmick is basically useless, as it only streams a small number of your flash drive or Ipod songs. To summarize, this unit will soon not be available new, but is a good value at its price, but if you want a super fast processing unit, you will need to spend more money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 6, 2012 Perfect fit
Review by
Bret from Logandale, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This was really the perfect fit for what I set out to accomplish. Bought this unit for the wife's little zoom around Vibe. She had some requests in what she wanted the unit to have, most importantly the size and capabilities of the video head. After some intense searching and reviewing of several different units, this one won out on paper. Sonic had the best price and more importantly the availability. Arrived a bit late but received a courtesy notification from Sonic prior. Couldn't be happier!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 4, 2012 Great product
Review by
Lori from Belton, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased a stereo for my son for Christmas (he is 26) he loved it. It was easy to install. The touch screen was easy to use and the graphics were very clear. He enjoyed this product very much and still uses it all the time. Plus, before I bought it, I compared prices and Sonic Electronix had the best price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 1, 2012 Excellent price value
Review by
brian from Schenectady, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It's always a pleasure to buy from you guys and I will def buy again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 1, 2012 Excellent price value
Review by
brian from Schenectady, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It's always a pleasure to buy from you guys and I will def buy again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 28, 2012 Not happy
Review by
shawn from Manvel, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The unit is very slow in all aspects like when you toggle the radio station presets it takes 3-4 seconds for the info to change after the station changes. When you turn the car off the station you had it on should resume but for whatever reason it changes to a random station that isn't even in the presets unless it's by chance. I have tried countless settings to change it. The unit doesn't like the older iPods plus no video. I would not recommend this unit. I bought it to upgrade the stock head unit in my wife's civic and she hates it. The Bluetooth works great with the iPhone but that's it. Sorry if I come off harsh but I feal like I wasted the money I spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 28, 2012 GREAT BUY
Review by
DONNY from TEXARKANA, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have had this for 6 months and really have enjoyed, very nice unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 16, 2012 Great product!
Review by
Bland from Germantown, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this unit for about 6 months now. I am very pleased with the way this unit works. The bluetooth phone option works great. I could never go back to a car without bluetooth calling. The sound quality / power output of this unit is a vast improvement over the factory stereo unit I replaced in my 2000 Toyota 4runner. This head unit fits perfectly in the factory opening. My only complaint is that the screen can be a little sluggish at times. Overall I am very pleased with this unit and I would definitely buy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 16, 2012 Great
Review by
MattS from Oceanside, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great stereo, Plays fantastic. I have just a basic setup, no amps or extras like my son has in his car and my stereo sounds better than his. The rear view camera hooks up to the stereo and shows a great picture, the touch screen is nice also. It takes a while to learn how to use the controls, but when you do its great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 26, 2012 Great Head Unit
Review by
Seth from Dagsboro, DE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed this in a 2006 F150. Great touchscreen. A lot of the other brands I looked at, the screen graphics looked like they were from an 80s video game. This one has clean graphics and an awesome user interface. I use the Bluetooth audio and calling with my Droid X without any problems. I have it hooked up with a back-up camera, and works great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 5, 2012 Half-baked design, could be dangerous
Review by
Matt from Boston MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This could be really nice if they put a little more effort into designing it.

The Senseme feature only works for the first 100 songs on your flash drive. That's right. It's a great feature for marketing purposes but they put very little effort into making it a worthwhile and usable feature. I tried using a 32gb flash drive and it wouldnt recognize it. It recognized the 16 gb. You have to install Sony's transfer software on your computer to put music on the flash drive. And it takes a long time to convert all the songs to Sony's format. It took forever on my old laptop and it still takes a considerable amount of time on my new very fast (i5-2500k processor) desktop. The touchscreen interface is unimpressive, unintuitive, has an intermittent lag and has been responsible for many near accidents that would have been my fault. It is so frustrating to navigate this unit when driving. You have to look at it way too much and it never does what you want. And its very easy to hit the wrong button. Not once have I or anyone in my car watched a movie on the screen. Its just not a practical feature. Sound quality is OK to good. Definitely not exceptional. If you want sound quality at high volume you will need an external amp. I have Polk components up front, Fosgates in the back doors and 2 amped 12" subs.

If I could do it again I would buy a normal double din unit without the touch screen. I would get the bluetooth again; that's awesome. I thought I would add hd radio to this but I never did and probably won't. For the same money I spent on this I could've got a non touch screen unit with hd radio and bluetooth and added an external amp. That would have been a much better setup.

Seriously this unit very well might cause you to crash your car. Navigating this thing while driving is about on par with typing a text while driving. Sometimes worse.

-Sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 13, 2012 cool
Review by
killawalk from mt vernon, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had this radio for about six months and it's good. Only bad thing about it is the touch screen is not that great but over all the sound is banging and features are good plus the DVD reads all formats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 23, 2012 best price anywhere.....
Review by
Paulie D from New Haven
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got this unit for my e-250 van. Fantastic unit, works great and the Bluetooh is flawless and is a must have for safety. I saw the same unit at B**t Buy for almost double the price. DVD works perfect and is nice on long trips for passengers. Buy this unit you wont be sorry. Oh, back-up camera is great. Only thing missing is navigation but I have a high end garmin plus a droid so dont need it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 16, 2012 good but a little frustrating
Review by
jonathan from reseda, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this stereo about six months ago. First off the sound from the stereo is awesome. I had previously planned on buying front and rear speakers and an amplifier, but after installing this deck I wouldn't dare spend the extra money on upgraded speakers. My stock speakers (2011 Subaru wrx) sound amazing now and maintain a lot of clarity and even a smidge of bass. Enough to make my side mirrors vibrate with the right song playing.

Now on to the frustrating part the touchscreen itself is semi decent. Be prepared to have your touches ignored or mistaken for another button. It's not super common but it does happen.

Now all the music I listen to comes from the ipod, as stated earlier the music sounds great but their interface and touch screen make it frustrating to use. there is an annoying slowness to the ipod interface when it comes to diving into the menus or even just skipping forward or backward through tracks. For some reason it also keeps turning off my repeat playlist option on my ipod classic. This may sound like not picking but it makes it so that everytime I reach the end of a playlist of album the next track is the first alphabetical song on my ipod. I also failed to realize when buying this stereo that the lone usb connection is on the front whereas most stereos have a second usb/ipod connection in the rear. I believe sonys next model up has this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 8, 2012 so so
Review by
michael from Bristow, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I like every thing about this product except the touch screen is so slow to respond after touching it. I would recommend getting one with a faster processor or something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 7, 2012 Doo itt
Review by
Don from Miami, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just got an email asking me to review my product, and it works great. I have no complaints. If you are deciding between different decks, like i did, go with this one.

I don't use the sense me feature I mainly love the Bluetooth and the usb in the front is key! It sounds a lot better through usb than Bluetooth (not that the blue tooth is bad though). It sounds normal via BT but it sounds like you hook an amp up to your speakers with usb. I haven't tried or been able to play video off my iPhone though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 5, 2012 Great product
Review by
Justin from Albuquerque, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ill make this short. I recommend it.
Pros- Great picture for the dvd
Great sound through out all the speakers
Cons- Ipod/usb menu take for ever to go through, wish it was voice activated.

The way I have my system set up I have 4 speakers and 2 subs. I bought it thinking it was for 4 speakers and 2 subs. It ended up being just for 2 speakers and my 2 subs. The other outlet labled "rear" is for ur back up camera(if u buy one).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 24, 2011 Sounds great, interface could use some work
Review by
Stephen from Pell City, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The stereo was a breeze to install in my 05 mustang. The online instructions were straight forward. The harness I bought from Sonic worked like a charm and the physical adapter fit like a glove.

The stereo sounds great but the interface could use some work. It is slow to register the button presses and there is no real graphics with the music you are playing. Just some squiggly lines on the bottom 1/4 of the screen. No equalizer type interface.

The bluetooth works with my android x phone well including the ability to download phone contacts. The bluetooth sounds great. The DVD works great. The FM radio sounds great but again the user interface makes it difficult to switch between FM preset groups.

Overall, buy this stereo, it sounds great and looks good installed. I like that it has a knob for volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 14, 2011 A lot for the money
Review by
Gary from Custer, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I mostly wanted integrated bluetooth, rear camera functionality and iPod control. I'm disappointed with the Bluetooth. I could hear fine, but people on the other end of the calls said it was difficult to hear me clearly. I mounted the included microphone up on the light console between the visors, so it is less than a foot from my mouth. I don't know enough to say whether or not the problem is with the Sony, so I don't fault it at this point.

I ordered an inexpensive "PYLE PLCM10 License Plate Mount Rear View camera with Night Vision" and hooked it up to the Sony. I cannot accurately guage depth/distance with it AT ALL. However, it is good for side-to-side alignment when backing up to my boat trailer and it is good for knowing if there's a bicycle or something Behind me when I'm backing up. I just can't really use it for parking because judging by the camera, I'm way closer than I actually am. Again, I don't really fault the Sony for this. Just letting you know.

I have a 6th Generation iPod Nano which I use with the Sony. I wish the input had been on the back of the unit so I didn't have a cable hanging out the front all the time. I like neatness. As for the controls, they work, but not as I would wish. This is my first stereo with iPod controls, so I don't have much to compare it with, but it isn't a complete match of the controls on the iPod by any stretch. I often have to switch to "Passenger Control", which means control the iPod with its own controls (instead of controlling it with the Sony) to accomplish what I want. Shuffle All songs is an example. Once I've initiated that from the iPod side, I can switch out of Passenger Control mode and it works fine.

In my vehicle, the headlights are always on. So, the dimmer settings on the Sony which use the headlight status to adjust for day and night (brightness) is useless because it always thinks it is night and therefore dims the screen. That only impacts me when I'm playing a movie for the kids. The screen looks good, in my opinion. My kids enjoy being able to watch a movie on it and I enjoy that I didn't have to buy a bunch of hardware to make that happen.

The bluetooth pairing is fine. I haven't tried bluetooth audio from my phone, but I don't foresee any issues there. There are other features I haven't even tried.

Installation was straightforward. I ordered the appropriate wiring harness adapter from this site and that made things easy. It was time-consuming because I had to dismantle quite a bit to hide the microphone and camera cables their full length, but that's just how it goes.

How does it sound? Well, I still have 10-year-old stock speakers, so it sounds about as good as it can under the circumstances. I didn't really buy it for sound quality, but I definitely have no complaints in that dept.

The bottom line for me is that it does a heck of a lot for the money. It looks good, it sounds good, it does what I need it to do. If I could make one change, I would have the iPod input (or a second one) on the back of the unit so I don't have an ugly cable hanging off the front all the time. Keep in mind I drive a truck, so there's a significant gap between the stereo and the seat-mounted cupholder. This may be much less of an issue in a car where this is all much closer together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 12, 2011 Great unit
Review by
Scott from Jupiter, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this unit about 6 months ago and have been very pleased. The bluetooth works great and I use it with my iPhone for phone calls and to stream Pandora. I had a little trouble with my Blackberry which will not stream music however the iPhone syncs right up. I plan on getting headreast monitors so that my kids can watch video but I have never used the DVD player so I can't speak to it. So far, I am really happy with this unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 12, 2011 Awesome Deck
Review by
DC from Atlanta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this deck vs. others in the same category. It is easy to use and has very good output with my new speaker system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 27, 2011 Ehh...mostly great!
Review by
YoJo from Cocoa, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros: Bluetooth works great! So does the iPod control, video, and rear view camara.

Cons: Virtually no dynamic range! No loudness control either. So you have to blast it to get really great sound. At lower volumes, the bass almost disappears. The lack of a loudness control is a real loss here. Also the one USB port on the front is already having read issues aftyer just a few months. Maybe it's the 8GB drive. Perhaps a smaller one won't just quit reading in the middle of a song.

Other thoughts: I hate to rant but it's hard to get good wide ranging sounds at a volume that you can have a conversation with another person. It must be turned up. I love it when I'm alone though. 2009 Mercury Grand Marquie had to cut off the upper and lower hole edges then force the unit in but it looks factory. Get the RV camara!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 13, 2011 great value
Review by
victor from Boise, ID
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It was perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 13, 2011 Great system, especially for the price.
Review by
Zeke from Springfield, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put this system in my 2007 Toyota Highlander. I purchased it mostly for the added bluetooth capability.

The accessories that Sonic included (wiring harness & adapter) made the installation simple and seamless. It works great with the factory-installed JBL amplified speakers & looks great in the vehicle.

The sound is excellent. The radio works great, picks up stations much better than the factory radio. Turns out I use the USB port more than the Bluetooth for music; just save music on a thumb drive and plug it in. The Bluetooth works great too, and I use that extensively for phone calls.

The one complaint I have is the slow touchscreen menus. You have to use touchscreens to control nearly all of the functions. And Sony opted to scroll the menus on and off the screen, which is painfully slow. I purchased an accessory that allows me to use the steering-wheel controls in my Toyota; that works great and I'm glad I have those controls. That helps me avoid some of the slow menus.

I haven't used the DVD player so I can't comment on that. The CD player works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 25, 2011 Sony XAV-62BT
Review by
Randall from South Riding, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent head unit, great sound quality, superb features. Able to custom sound and display is highly visible even in daylight. Only downside is touch screen does not work as flawlessly as push buttons. Bluetooth connects & disconnects quickly. I would buy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 19, 2011 Minor issues but improvement over last generation models
Review by
Adrian from Canning Vale, Western Australia, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Does not play video, does not resume on certain disks, resume operation also fails when theme is changed from default. Otherwise works and sounds great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 12, 2011 great unit
Review by
jarius from Jacksonville, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I own this and I enjoy it sounds great, plays movies clear best head unit ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 9, 2011 Good unit with two problems
Review by
sunny from Seattle, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
1) Very laggy interface. I'm surprised Sony didnt chose a faster processor,
2) Terrible visualizer for music. Looks like something out of an 80's computer.

Otherwise, rock solid deck/dvd player thats reliable, easy to use, sounds great and has fantastic bluetooth audio streaming functionality. Works well with our backup camera as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 7, 2011 Great Buy!!
Review by
Aaron from Ball, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just installed the unit with the recommended Sony back up cam and it works great!! Its been a while since I installed anything like this in a vehicle so I was my own worst enemy but it is pretty basic to install. The camera was a bit tricky but again not to bad. Bluetooth connected right away and works great and dvd quality is really good. Definately recommend this unit to anyone. Price and quality = cant beat it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 27, 2011 Insanely better sound and entertainment than my stock BOSE system on my '03 Pathfinder
Review by
extralarge123 from Elmont NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The head unit is pretty solid on its own and sounds very good. All the other gadgets like bluetooth, dvd, etc, work flawlessly.

My review is mostly for the PAthy owners out there that feel that it cannot be done.

I just got it installed in my awkwardly made dash on my '03 Pathfinder. Seriously, it seems as if Nissan intended their buyers to keep the BOSE system, which was okay, in there forever. So annoying, in fact, that the dash has a weird shape and anything other than the BOSE system itself will not fit in there well. On the other hand, if you get the installer to hook it up for you and create a little plastic rim around it, you cannot get rid of the nasty eye sore that the space around this product would create in your dash.

Now, there is an after market (Metra) dash kit you can buy to keep things sane in your car. If you have a pathy, like me, best of wishes and get a "custom" fit (not really a big deal).

As for the sound, it sounds very good. Do not get me wrong, if you have a sub, you need to get it going for you with the help of an amp. On my side, I'm good with the bose speakers already installed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 1, 2011 sony
Review by
D from yuma, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this unit for my GF as a gift she loved it I was a lil scared about buying Sony products never own one before because I have always used Alpine or Pioneer but I even loved it has great options such as the Bluetooth which sounds really clear and loud 6in touch screen which looks great even with bright light I would totally recommend this to everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 27, 2011 Not good for Sirius
Review by
Jeff from Lake Mary, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this head unit because it did everything I needed it to: Bluetooth for phone use, backup camera, Sirius satellite radio, iPod, and DVD. I would say that most of the time I use it for Sirius (probably 80% of the usage).

Overall, it is a very nice unit. The video is great, and the bluetooth was flawless. The backup camera was also very nice. Where this unit severely lacked was in the Sirius radio interface, and the IPOD interface.

First Sirius - this is hard to believe - and I had to call Sony to confirm it was true because it was so hard to believe - but there is only an 8 character display for any Sirius information. This means 8 characters for the station, the genre, the artist, and the song. Not 8 characters for each of those, but 8 characters for ALL of them. It is like they only allocated the top left 1 inch of the screen for sirius, because the rest is blank and you have to choose between what you want to be displayed on a slow scroll. So needless to say, changing channels is almost impossible - if you had it set to display artist, first you had to scroll to display the channel - and then you had to go up or down to the channel you wanted - and then change it back to artist etc.

It is so absurd I thought it had to be a mistake, but it is not. One of the benefits of Sirius is the artist / genre / song information, and ease of navigation through channels - but it is all but impossible on this head unit.

So overall I would say it is a very nice unit, if you are not going to use it for Sirius. So I have a mixed review, I wouldnt want to tell someone not to buy it if they want it for the other features, but if you are a satellite radio listener - move on. Mine on the way back to exchange for another brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 22, 2011 SONY XAV-62BT AMAZING!!!
Review by
Nik from Santa Clara, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is one of the best stereos out there. easy to use, connect and install..if you are looking for something affordable that bluetooth streaming audio, picture clarity and great sound and cheap, this is it!!! Just got it installed y'day and it' s grew..Sonic Electronix also were great as I ordered it on Friday and received it on Tuesday! For free shipping that's awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 14, 2011 Great Toyota Tundra Upgrade
Review by
Thurman from Troy, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed this unit in my 2008 Toyota Tundra.

Pros:

-Incredible sound and volume improvement from stock unit
-Very COOL and user friendly controls (SensMe)
-DVD Quality is very impressive
-Bluetooth cell phone feature works flawlessly for me
-I installed a back-up camera that works well (Great for trailer hook-ups)
-Installation Kit was a snap
-Looks great

Cons:

-DVD volume could be louder- it's loud enough, but should be as loud as stereo
-USB port is a little slow, not aggravating but a little slow
-Touch screen is a little quirky, not enough to stop me from buying again though
-Can't change screen colors

OVERALL - I'M VERY HAPPY AND WOULD BUY THIS UNIT AGAIN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 7, 2011 worth it.
Review by
"mo" from virginia beach, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great head unit! Sound and picture are awsome! The only thing iv noticed is sometime when turning on the vehical the unit will come on the turn off.. no big deal just a lil anouying sometime caus i have to then turn the vehical back off then back on for it to turn on. other than that bluetooth works great plenty of great features that many of the more expensive units dont have. all in all its well worth the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 18, 2011 XAV-62BT Review
Review by
Todd from Seattle, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just put this in my 05 Canyon to replace the factory stereo. It sounds WAY better than the factory stereo. I've had it in about a week and really like it. The DVD picture is awesome. Bought the Sony rearview camera too, it also works very well. Tried pretty much everything, it all works well. It took alittle bit to get everything adjusted but I like the options. I didn't find the waiting for songs to load as annoying as some folks, not really a prob.
Pros: Sounds great, great picture, bluetooth works great, senseme is kinda cool, rearview cam good, usb thumbdrive works well, like the options for sound and visual.
Cons; Wish it had an option to load your own pics for wallpaper, also wish there was an optional clock view with bigger numbers and a little better radio reception
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 23, 2011 Do not buy if you intend to use Sirius
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Prognosis from Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this unit with the main intention of using it to listen to Sirius. The 6.1" display is great but, when you switch to the Sirius source it only uses 5 characters for the display which is completely ridiculous. That's not enough characters to fully display the channel name so don't expect to actually be able to read song titles. Also the remote is sold separately so don't expect to be able to browse channels while driving...it's impossible to do safely. If you're looking for a radio that works as a glorified mp3 player this is perfect. Sense Me works great. You can skip songs by swiping your finger. Don't expect to be able to use this for Pandora or Satellite radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz