Showing 12 reviews for Directed 508D

Customer Review Summary for Directed 508D
Average Customer Rating is 4.2 out of 5 stars:
4.2
based on 12 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
50%
4 star:
.
.
33%
3 star:
.
.
8%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
.
8%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.1
Value
4.2
Features
4.4
Design
4.3
Usability
3.9
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
March 23, 2010 Motion sensor
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Gary from Oxon Hill, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I picked this up on a whim, but it has come in handy. I can arm my alarm and leave the windows down and I am still protected. It definitely will warn you if get too close, and will set off the full alarm if someone reaches through an open window. It is Sonic's prices that keep me coming back for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2010 Very useful gadget, difficult to tune
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Dragos from Sabadell, Spain
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This tiny box makes the whole difference between an alarm that lets you know your car has been robbed, and one that scares the thief away before he even tries.

Pros:
- Does exactly what you expect: warn-away chirps when someone lingers too close to the car, and full alarm if the interior of the vehicle is penetrated. Ideal for convertibles.

Cons:
- It takes a lot of trial and error before you can get the sensitivity right.
- Very fragile. I damaged one of these while adjusting.

I am really looking forward to the next version of this sensor, to fix the cons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 24, 2014 Good product
Review by
ishwar from Winnipeg mb, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a very useful device, the extra security is a must have.
Keep in mind if your tint is very dark It might be very hard to achieve the warm away
Over all I recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 14, 2013 looks good, functions
Review by
blake from wichita, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
love this little guy, keeps the bad guys running out of town,
This has saved my vehicle from getting broken in several times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 21, 2013 Amazing price backed by great service
Review by
Anthony from Montreal,Quebec, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is amazing, really adds another layer of protection to your alarm system. Personally I think that you should only get this alarm sensor if you have a 2 way system.why? Well because this sensor is really sensitive if you want to be extremely protective over your car, but the bad thing is that if your like me and want the alarm to ring when someone is looking in your car, well it's gonna be ring false alarms all the time when people pass next to your car or a big SUV or truck passes beside you car. So with a 2 way at lease I can look and see ohh we'll it was just the 2nd sensor and not my shock sensor. This sensor is really easy to install eaven if you don't know how to do any electrical work, as long as you can access your alarm brain and pass the wire under the dash and/or carpet you can install this yourself, need some time to adjust but once properly adjusted you will love this sensor. I would personally recommend this to anybody that wants to be extremely protective over there car and want to make people get scared when coming to close to your car :) all in all sonic electonix had the best price and service.

Thank you sonic electronix
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 4, 2013 Additional peace of mind for Viper/Python premium car alarms
Review by
eoslove from Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
As Canadians, Directed Electronics vehicle security systems accessories are available only through selected installation dealers who will then order an item from their supplier. Wait times and higher costs are the result of so many middle men. This item cost us less than a third of what dealers in our area are charging and it was in our mailbox within a week of placing the order. As for the device itself, we use two, one concealed on the dash and another on the rear deck. These units have an oval field of coverage so that they can be oriented to monitor a selected area around a vehicle and not overlap fields.
Directed high end alarms have a 'warn-away' feature which is also triggered by the 508D accessory. Installation is fairly strait forward when the alarm module installation guide sheet is available--it is just a matter of plugging into the correct port. In our case where we use two units, the second unit must be spliced into the first with either a 'Y'-connector or surgery. Do not plug in more that two of these sensors as the alarm module circuitry will be compromised and damaged. Adjusting the field sensor size and sensitivity does take some practice so as to minimize false trigger events. A handful of sparrows fighting for crumbs around our car will trigger a warn away event; so will snow, rainfall and airborne sand. The movement of a car cover in the wind will also trigger an event. Parking underground or in an enclosed space will concentrate the field and air movement will then be a cause for false triggers. All of the above can be mitigated somewhat by the sensitivity settings one chooses. The 508D is easily configured to accommodate most any environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 16, 2012 Directed 508D sensor
Review by
andaluz 49 from Los angeles, Calif
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Well. I have to say, that as far as being sensitive, and doing what is supose to do, it does. On my case I had somone to install the alarm and the directed sensor 508D. One thing is that the sensitivity is to the max and when I park my car in between cars, the people of the other car triggers the alarm, giving me a false alarm, and embarrassing them with all the loud noise. I do not know how to adjust yet but I will try to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 14, 2010 Great Value for the price!!
Review by
Ronnee from Charlotte, North Carolina
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great starter system if you would like to get a good car alarm without forking alot of cash up front. The only downfall about this alarm is that there are not alot of plug-in-play ports to hook-up accessories such as if you wanted to expand this alarm to add a digital wheel tilt alarm, sensors or any other accessories. If you want a basic alarm system, this is a great one to choose. If your like me and want to add more to it as time progresses, your better off spending a little bit more money and getting the next one up. I have maxed out all my ports and if I want to add more to it then I have to buy a more top of the line alarm to suit my needs. If you want a simple alarm and maybe adding one extra accessory to it then this is the way to go. Great alarm, never had any problems and still going strong. Of course it is...it's Directed! The best car alarm manufacturer on the market!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 8, 2006 directed 508D invisibeam field disturbance sensor
Review by
jeff from sparks, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this is a great product. not only does it protect the inside of your car, it also senses motion on the outside. the fact that you can set the sensitivity on the inside and out is great. I feel much safer having this product on my car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 2, 2005 508D Field Disturbance
Review by
Luis from Orlando, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I added this sensor to my car and it does everything it says. It works like magic and I feel better now leaving my car outside, even though I know if a thief wants it, he will get it....... but a great product....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 7, 2011 Yuk. Did not like at all
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
James from Newberg, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Spent several hours adjusting to get it just right and perfect. Thought everything was good and went back inside to go to bed. Next morning while sitting at work the warn away option continually went off. Nothing was around the car. Wind was very slightly blowing but not hard by any means. I'm sending it back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 5, 2011 works great
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
maw from cave city ky
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
it works great and didnt cost to much. I put it on a jeep. and added more to it im happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz