Showing 10 reviews for Bazooka BT8014

Customer Review Summary for Bazooka BT8014
Average Customer Rating is 4.4 out of 5 stars:
4.4
based on 10 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
50%
4 star:
.
.
40%
3 star:
.
.
10%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.7
Features
4.3
Design
4.7
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
April 6, 2011 Surprising sounds for the seasoned ear
Review by
dude from london, Great Britain
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
As an electronic and acoustic engineer I have had many systems in my vehicles for the last twenty years. Every brand of subwoofers has been tested and it has to be said that products from the JL stable have been my favorite listen for some time now.
Just their shear ability to play hard, go ridiculously low and sound so musical and accurate make them a great listen, especially my favourite a 15w3v2 in a ported 3cu Ft enclosure.
On a trip of nostalgia I spotted two 8" bazooka tube's BT8014's the unamplified versions going cheap on ebay!
Although already very happy with my current alpine / jl setup, I decided to buy the two tubes not wanting to turn down what seemed like a veritable bargain.
The tubes are very tiny and lightweight due to the all plastic tube design. On removing the drive unit, the inside consists of a vented tube, a piece of loft insulation and an inductor coil which is wired in series onto the speaker wires.
With the coils in place and running from an active JL 500/1 the speakers sound muddy and underwhelming. By removing these basic 6db crossover coils, the speakers really seemed a lot more bright and forward sounding.
Two of these placed inside a renault kangoo van, not corner loaded but placed parallel vents facing forward. The sound produced was startling strong deep controlled punchy bass.
Not bad for two 8" cheapo drivers rated at 100watts running in parallel from a 500watt JL amp!
No hint of distortion and lots of clean punchy multi note bass.
Okay no match for my favourite 15" JL, but great for a good bass injection without disturbing the neighborhood.
My value rating of 5* is based upon the low price these are available at!
These days for not a lot of money its possible to buy very cheap speakers which sound great in a simple mdf box.
But for the size and shear performance on offer these 'back in the day - tubes' are still a great purchase at the right price...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 10, 2011 Great Sub
Review by
Earl from Regina Sask, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sounds good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 14, 2010 Perfect fit, great sound, at the right price.
Review by
Jrzsure from Laurel Springs, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this specific model due to available space in the back of an old jeep wrangler, and because the price was right. . It fit extremely well, and much to my surprise the sound quality was just perfect for this size vehicle. Solid, but not overpowering, but I also know I could blow the doors off whoever pulls up next to me, and tries to share their unsolicited music with me. Great sound for the price, and arrived quick too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 17, 2010 Great Value
Review by
Mona from Covington, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought the Bazooka BT8014 for my son. He wanted a subwoofer for his single cab pick-up but didn't have the room. This turned out to be a great alternative and was easy for him to install. He enjoys it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 22, 2010 Awesome sound
Review by
Scotty from Houston TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you have a Pickup Truck this is the way to go!..takes up NO room at all fits under the seat...has tremendous sound, great low end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 12, 2010 Boom, Boom, Boom!!!
Review by
Snookie G from Nati, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Perfect for my 2002 GTI
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 14, 2009 Good value!
Review by
MICKEY from SAN DIEGO,CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought a Bazooka 8 in. speaker and really liked that it fits almost anywhere and doesnt take up much space the cons on the speaker is that it keeps on rolling in my trunk i really dont know if they come with some kind of harness or straps to it but didnt see that in the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2009 Good Quality
Review by
elcritico from Laredo Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
although is not a bad a**, bass monster is fair, it distorts a little when I pump low bass with my amplifier, but its still fair sound inside the car is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 11, 2006 nice deal
Review by
t-revor from Salem, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
wonderful warm sound from this unit. all in one is great and makes for an easy instalation, not the loudest but great for a regular cab truck. hit harder then my 10's though.
also it withstood a major car accident with no damage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 11, 2005 toobtastic
Review by
Javier from San Diego, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
ZThis sub has a big kick for its small package. Great bang for your buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz