Showing 27 reviews for Hifonics HFX12D4

Customer Review Summary for Hifonics HFX12D4
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 88 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.2
Value
4.8
Features
4.2
Design
4.4
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 4 star Customer Reviews:
June 22, 2014 Good buy
Review by
McLeod from Ocala, Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would buy this speaker again...Mounted up perfectly and sounds just fine...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 18, 2014 Great sub for the price
Review by
numbers from Chilliwack, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got 2 of these and was surprised with what I got for under forty bucks each, they sound great, and look decent, however as some other people have stated, the plastic cover on the bottom is really annoying. I'd recommend using rubber cement or sealant to keep the plastic piece from rattling on the basket
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 10, 2014 Great price
Review by
Keith from New Bloomington, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My friends are happy, and that's what makes me happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 5, 2014 Kalamazoo mi
Review by
pacman from kalmazoo
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Not bad for the price. I have them in a sealed box being pushed by 1500watt Rockford fosgate punch.passive equalizer on sub. They bump.sound okay. Not like mtx terminators, but good bass for price.im just use to serious sounds. Grand prix hold good sound anyway.the bass is not deep enough even tough I can see everything outside the car shaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 5, 2014 good value for an entry level sub
Review by
Michael from 27804
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I think this sub is a good entry level sub with a great price...it does a decent job of producing bass frequencies providing its in the correct box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 28, 2014 love these subs...
Review by
dave from oklahoma city, ok
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought two of these and I installed them in my Honda Civic. Have them wired at 4 ohms and they rock my little Honda. I don't even have them in a ported box. I've had them for a month. The only downside are the wiring terminals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 23, 2014 surprised
Review by
suicide_doorz from San antonio, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
They actually sound good yet they're so inexpensive. I'm only using a 520 RMS amp and they bump, I can hear them from inside my house. A must if you're looking for some bang with out going broke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 28, 2014 great value!
Review by
raven from Duluth, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are affordable and an awesome product! They sound great in our vehicle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 18, 2014 Pounds
Review by
Fanuc45 from Louisville,ky
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the cost you can't go wrong. On Rockford 1200.1, but did not like the wire terminals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 28, 2014 Great Price Good Sub
Review by
mach1-80 from aurora,co
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have had everything from W6,TypeR,Comps,CVR,IFINITY,VEGA IT,MTX 8500,ECLIPSE,RF P3,TypeS,TypeE,Coustic, W3,and more, got these ones on EBAY $48 pair and a Boss 1600/2 As I was unemployed and needed my bass fix on a broke man budget was a sceptic.I had them about 1/3 gain to break in at 2OHM. They have better than impressed me for price.Only issues as most people have said on here is crap terminals and plastic dust covers.I Put two in a Obcon labyrinth dual slot port box with 3/4 spacer for extra Cu.ft they Hit HARD. Almost better than CVR'S. EITHER remove or glue plastic basket and DON'T over power & take time break them in. I now have them mostly up on gain just trying to fine tune the bass on my Kenwood Excelon 397 is at -6 and they RUMBLE THE S*#@ out of my 2001 TAURUS. I order another pair so I can run a triple and at $75 for three it will out perform setups TRIPLE in cost. my deck cost more than subs/amp. If you Take time hook up right break em in and tune I have no doubt they will perform beyond expectation.Would probably be best uf have extra $$$ run RF 400/2,KICKER 400/2, Alpine Mrp 500,JL 360/2 OR 500/1(not slash), other wise a cheaper 1500-2000 watts monoblock or 2ch will match best for 2 of these. Watch EBAY AS WELL can get Boss/Power Acoustik/Planet Audio Etc. in that wattages around $60 and the other Namebrands Around $100. I just scored a power acoustik BAMF 2000/1D @ $93 to run three of these should push and not overpower giving a long life(longer than I will have them)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 28, 2014 Great Price Good Sub
Review by
mach1-80 from aurora,co
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have had everything from W6,TypeR,Comps,CVR,IFINITY,VEGA IT,MTX 8500,ECLIPSE,RF P3,TypeS,TypeE,Coustic, W3,and more, got these ones on EBAY $48 pair and a Boss 1600/2 As I was unemployed and needed my bass fix on a broke man budget was a sceptic.I had them about 1/3 gain to break in at 2OHM. They have better than impressed me for price.Only issues as most people have said on here is crap terminals and plastic dust covers.I Put two in a Obcon labyrinth dual slot port box with 3/4 spacer for extra Cu.ft they Hit HARD. Almost better than CVR'S. EITHER remove or glue plastic basket and DON'T over power & take time break them in. I now have them mostly up on gain just trying to fine tune the bass on my Kenwood Excelon 397 is at -6 and they RUMBLE THE S*#@ out of my 2001 TAURUS. I order another pair so I can run a triple and at $75 for three it will out perform setups TRIPLE in cost. my deck cost more than subs/amp. If you Take time hook up right break em in and tune I have no doubt they will perform beyond expectation.Would probably be best uf have extra $$$ run RF 400/2,KICKER 400/2, Alpine Mrp 500,JL 360/2 OR 500/1(not slash), other wise a cheaper 1500-2000 watts monoblock or 2ch will match best for 2 of these. Watch EBAY AS WELL can get Boss/Power Acoustik/Planet Audio Etc. in that wattages around $60 and the other Namebrands Around $100. I just scored a power acoustik BAMF 2000/1D @ $93 to run three of these should push and not overpower giving a long life(longer than I will have them)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 9, 2014 let me see
Review by
jerry from huntsville, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought 3 of these (under $100) and put them in my car on a SoundStream Rubicon 2500.1d wired in series/parallel and im starting the break in now for the next few weeks before i put the amp to work on these subs. Looks good mounted, don't like the input terminals on the subs very rinky. And the plastic dust cap is just for looks. But it doesn't take away from the sound they produce now. But the shake i feel in my car just tuning the amp: wow. Had 2 cerwin vegas and they didnt shake me outside the car. But these will work till i can upgrade again and for the price buy as many as you want but keep the 4 ohm at the sub, it will burn it out if on a lower independence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 22, 2013 Best buy for the money!
Review by
ryan from Grand Rapids, Michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought 2 cause they were cheap and this was by far my best decision yet. Running them off a 1600w 2 channel amp they get louder then most of the kid's several hundred dollar systems at school. I would recommend these to anyone, just make sure they are in the right sized box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 17, 2013 nice item! !
Review by
sandro from Alexandria, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I really love it!! how it sounds fantastic can't complain great value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 12, 2013 good subs
Review by
Raymond from Atlanta, Georgia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I received these subwoofers last week. Have them hooked up to a planet audio 1500.1. The subs are nice, i just need more power. Next week I'm getting a boss Audio 3000 class d amp. Then I can beat them. I'll let you know how they sound next time. But, these are some good subwoofers. Buy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 16, 2013 Great bucks for your Bang.
Review by
[email protected] from Wichita ks
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great subwoofers for the cost cant beat it. sounds good, hits hard just all around good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 5, 2013 amazing for the price
Review by
zachary from daleville, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the price they are the best on the market I think there around $** now. These sub have and amazing sound and clarity for what it is but it can only handle about 500watts as a pair as I had them.but if your on a budget get them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 31, 2012 these subs are a great buy for the price
Review by
justin from exeter, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 4 of these subs in a 10.6 cubic ft ported box tuned to 32 Hz powered by a NXD5500 and they hit hard for being a cheap end sub. They have an awesome look to them, but Hifonics could have made a better basket, and changed the terminals. Overall, it is a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 1, 2012 Hits Hard Enough
Review by
GATOR-OIL from Loxahatchee, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have one of these in a sealed box and it's getting 600 watts RMS. It hits the lows really good, sometimes the highs hit hard, but it could be a little cleaner. In my single cab truck it fills the cab with nice clean bass. Just the highs could be better. Haven't tuned it properly cause I havent had the time, just wanted the system in quick for a long trip. I'm upgrading to two 15's so then I'll take the time to tune it. But even for how it is quickly tuned it sounds great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 14, 2012 Amazed
Review by
Alexander from Taylorville, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this sub in a ported box about 1.7c ft per sub and they sound great for the price, ive had rockford, diamonds, american bass, memphis, mtx, XXX, and a few others and im not saying these are better than those but price to what you get these are worth it they sound really good but im not pushing them because they can't take the power lol. For someone just looking for bass here is a good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 4, 2012 Good Subs For The Price
Review by
Ivan0072 from Pflugerville, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these about 6 months ago at a retail store, i was scared at first because of the flimsy packaging. Anyhow, these subs run at about 400w rms each, i have two of them. I am running them at about 350w each because of the amp i have and these babies hit hard! They are a good buy if you are just starting out with audio electronics or simply if you just want a cheap reliable product! :p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 15, 2012 Ok Buy.
Review by
joel from westport, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered this subwoofer for my friend to put in the back of his civic. The sub is just ok its neither good or bad it works as it should and sounds good, definitely does not shake the doors of his car, Good subwoofer for someone just getting into car audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 29, 2012 Yeah.
Review by
Yup from That place
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got two of these and they're pretty good for the price. I've had them for over a week now and they do hit pretty hard. I have them hooked up to a cheap nitro amp and it's powering them but for the kind of music I listen to these subs can't really handle it. They're great for country and rock music but not songs with deep low bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 18, 2011 Take the chance and you won't be sorry
Review by
Jeremy from Pittsburgh, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased 2 of these subs, and when i unboxed the subs, i noticed good construction and impedance was correct from the factory on both VC, cone felt pretty rigid, and the overall design was good. I wired the subs to 4 ohms using the supplied handbook with the subs...oh and by the way, if anyone from Maxxsonics happens to read this...please for the sake of humanity just put regular push terminals on the subwoofers. Spade style connectors work but are very annoying to say the least!! In any case, i put the two subs in a ported box i bought off of Sonics, the dual ported box, sounds great, very pleased for how low my budget was of less than $250, i have the 2 Hifonics subs running off of an 1800 watt max Boss Audio Onyx series Amp (Monoblock), 4 ohms-900watts roughly to both combined. I still need to find the right tuning on the amp to get the best sound but overall, I am very happy with everything and I would definitly recommend these subwoofers to anyone looking to get a GOOD not amazing sound from a small pocket, hope this helps!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 16, 2011 good quality
Review by
A.D. from Albany, Ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just bought four 12" subwoofers and they play exceptionally well and they hit real good for the price of them. If you want to get some speakers for a low price and good quality hifonics are the way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 24, 2011 Good Budget Subs
Review by
Vadalor from Boise, ID
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got a pair of these to hold me over until I can afford something bigger/better, but these performed beyond my expectation. They sound great out of my slot-ported box, the only downside is they will overheat if you let them, but with a slot-ported box it is very easy to smell the heat, and turn them down. Longtime Hifonics fan, great subs for such a low price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 21, 2011 good bang
Review by
j from silver city nm
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I owned some of these in the past n was hesitant of buying but I got them cheap so I said what the hell so I put them in a 1.25 sealed box with 225 watts RMS each n they sounded really clean and pretty dam loud for low end subs jus give them sum decent power n hook them up rite and u wont b disappointed especially if ur on a budget or get Powerbass PS-12s there on this site, they sound good i have 3 of them in a triple sealed box
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz