Showing 61 reviews for Hifonics HFX12D4

Customer Review Summary for Hifonics HFX12D4
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 101 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.2
Value
4.8
Features
4.2
Design
4.4
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
November 22, 2011 no words
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
StaS from Silver City, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've been a car system fan for many years and had alot of setups. These Hifonics Subs are more than you can ever expect from a low priced subwoofer like this one. If you are looking for a setup of two or more speakers these are the best. Great looking, powerful, CHEAP(money wise) and built to last. I have 3 of them and let me tell you they hit so hard my ears ring. Oh yea one more thing Sonic Electronix - a super glue should come with these subs cuz my rear view mirror fell right off. :)) That should tell you (buyers) that these product is worth of money. Thanks for reading this hope I helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 30, 2011 Nice sub
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Logan from crescent city
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sounds looks and is a great sub. Best for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 6, 2011 Keeps blowing me away more and more!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ricky Shade from Tampa, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub just keeps hitting harder and lower! I'm amazed and blown away! I was underwhelmed for a while there because I realized that I actually killed my previous sub by sending a very strong and very clipped signal to it by having the gain set too high for my head unit's preamp voltage. To reach the ~250W RMS the amp is rated for with my head unit, I need the gain knob LESS than half way up. Any more than that and it starts distorting, and this is not because of the sub but because I'M SENDING A CLIPPED SIGNAL FROM MY AMP. I feel like I've officially made that step from n00b to experienced installer. I had read all the instructions and guides before and never understood what they meant by matching the head unit's preamp voltage. Now I do and I know how not to kill a sub (and/or amp, for that matter).

Anyway, I had never broken in a sub and this sub is STILL blowing me away! It's hitting harder and it does better throughout the entire range. The lower notes (centered in the mid to high 30Hz range) I could barely feel at the start are now making the car have a slow, deep vibration when they hit (remember it's a sealed box). Being a 400W sub I feel like playing it full-blast at 250W RMS is good enough as 'breaking it in' and it is just finally beginning to impress me. It's hitting almost as hard as the Memphis sub that was getting a clipped signal with a few extra watts to compensate for my bass-trap trunk (thick leather seats, kills any bass trying to come from right behind you). Right now I'm keeping my rear seat's backrest down so I can feel the full effect of the sub.

I just can't wait to give it 400W. OMG. What a great sub. If 'you get what you pay for' is true 99% of the time, the HFX12D4 is the 1%, by far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 1, 2013 Its the best bang for your buck
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
David from New Lenox, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The hifonics hfx12D4 is the best subwoofer on the market if your on a budget, yes the price may scare you, you say well with the sub that cheap how could it possibly be true that it sounds to good, well take it from me, i was very unsure of the purchase i made with this sub, i strictly went off of reviews, however, this subwoofer i my home theater sub, it hits. i owned 2 alpine type R 12s, so believe me i know what it means when a subwoofer hits. but the cold hard truth is, this sub is amazing the quality is so precise you cant help but to be cautious. BUY THIS SUBWOOFER YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 11, 2014 Sound quality > Rockford P3
Review by
billy joe armstrong from Boise, id
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Title says it all although rockfords not the best sub. Hifi is 1000% less than what its value is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 5, 2014 Great product
Review by
Roberto from Van Nuys, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had these subs two of them hooked up to a crunch 1500 powerzone amp in a sealed box and they bump!! I've had them for two weeks and still working great! I had a previous set of subwoofers that hit great lows and I'd say that these subs don't hit great lows but they hit really crisp mids and highs :) I love them either way at great price I don't mind I'll probably get a third 12 that mainly hits great lows to even out :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 9, 2014 awesome
Review by
Jermaine from Rockmart, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Subs.Love Hifonics,you can never go wrong with them.And Sonic Electronix,I Salute on superb services.Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 28, 2014 Amazing, especially for the price
Review by
nanohead from Wyckoff, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My life is littered with Subs of all sizes and brands. I've probably owned 20 different ones, and currently have 4 or 5 sitting on the shelf in the garage. To me, the mostly sound the same, and I've spent $30 to $500 on subs, and they still sound mostly the same. I always like Hifonics stuff, either old school, or newer (Maxxsonics) era, especially their bass equipment.

Built a box for a friend, and decided to try this sub. WOW, just WOW. A great solid sub in general, but for the price, HOLY COW. The thing just slams, and is responsive enough that it can be subtle too. And its not even broken in yet. Powered by a Hifonics Gladiator 1000W amp, the combo is simply awesome. I can't imagine there being a bass section that is better than this.

Now mind you, this is not built like a competition sub, with cast aluminum baskets, 30 pound magnets, and spiders made of space age materials, but it also cost 35 bucks.

You basically can't go wrong with this product. Anyone who complains about the Hifonics HFX12D4 just has expectations that are completely misaligned with reality. Its a bargain, it sounds amazing, it has terrific texture and can handle subtle, as well as earth shattering bass, and it even looks decent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 24, 2014 Very powerful, ,,
Review by
fisher from Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Was hesitate to buy this,, glad I did hook up to a mofo 12, and re 10, I have 1/0 gauge from battery to cap then 4 gauge to amp,, I love it,, lights still go dim,, need extra battery it love power,, removed my crossfire xp1400d,, this is way better,,,,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 7, 2014 great product
Review by
Cwayne1 from conroe, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Could not believe the sound quality of this sub for the price.It is amazing what it sounds like for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 22, 2014 Just purchased
Review by
Connor from Batavia, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just bought this, and installed it in my 2000 accord. Don't be fooled by the price, this thing kicks. I hooked it up to my Pioneer GM-5500T amp putting out around 400 watts RMS. This sub sounds great so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 14, 2014 BIG BANG FOR A SMALL PRICE
Review by
Doc from Houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i bought 2 of them no lie they hit hard i have then in a box thats .27 too big but none the less they are still hitting hard if your on a budget and dont want to go over it then these subs will get the job done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 23, 2014 great product
Review by
tim from eureka, ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these to replace the blown subs in my daughters jeep. Great sound! These speakers really have great responce. Great value. Highly reccomend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 8, 2014 YEAH
Review by
Drew from Deatsville, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
these speakers are amazing and the price is even better. I bought two and thought they would so pretty okay since the price was so cheap but these things rattled the streets when I went to pc this and everytime I pull up at my house the walls rattle. GREAT SPEAKERS A MUST BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 16, 2014 These woofers bang!
Review by
derrick from chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased these woofers mainly because they were DVC and my previous woofers, JL audio's were not. I needed 3 so they were perfect and the right price. These speakers are the truth I have 3 bridged on a 1500 watt 2 autotek amp, purchased right off of sonic electronics. Even with the bass knob turned down and with the factory radio I have a rumble with the radio on anything past 5. I've only had them for 2 weeks so I cant speak on durability but reading the reviews helped me make my decision and I hope this review helps someone make theirs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 12, 2014 Awesome.
Review by
Andre from Burlington, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First time buying, skeptical at first but like all the other reviews said i'm extremely happy. Running it at 4 ohm about 100 watts above rms and its great low and high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 9, 2014 Great
Review by
Sergio from Greenville, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good pounding subs for a great price one of the best subs I have had for a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 26, 2014 extremely impressed
Review by
loudest 12's in idaho from sandpoint, idaho
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i bought a set of these to replace some blown woofers in my house cabinets. of course after reading reviews i was curious since a lot of people have great things to say. i'm running mine in some older sear's fisher cabinets with decent crossovers ( not sure on specs ) off of a technics 5.1/stereo and in stereo mode i get about 150 watts per channel.

first you have to rip the plastic magnet cover off the back cause i could tell it was going to rattle just tapping on it. i wouldnt compare these to my L5's in my 7 cube ported box, but wow they sound amazing! my wife was amazed, and my brother in law who thinks he's an audio engineer was thoroughly impressed. i can't speak for the sound in a car. if i had them in a car i wouldnt feed the pair more than 1000 watts at most since they sound so good at lower power. if you are reading this i would say do it. buy one or 2 or what ever cause they sound good and only cost 35 bucks. absolutely perfect for house stereo woofer replacement. i gave it a lower ease of use score since you have to rip the stupid plastic cover off right away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 18, 2014 Worth every penny, and then some
Review by
Thegreatdognate from Southern California
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Right out of the box and into another box, lol.
I have it hooked up to an alpine mrp-m500 amp with the gains corectly set then pulled back a little, as I want to have even amounts of bass in comparison to the other speakers. This sub sounds excellent, I know you get what you pay for but this is too good! The sub hits hard and clean and can handle the s*** I give it. I have the sub wired down to 2 ohms at 500watts, which is the happy max of my amp. It handles the max power without issue.
The only drawback is that poorly affixed cover on the magnet, some frequencies make it vibrate, but it can only be heard when my trunk is open and I have my volume past 70%. Solution? Tape wrap your favorite tape along the gap between the cover and the chassis of the speaker. Viola best speaker ever! You don't get this quality at this price anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 7, 2014 Not Cheap Subs!
Review by
Franklin from Huntsville, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs may be priced very low, but they kick VERY hard. Almost as good as my friend's Kickers. Of course it's not broken in yet so, I think it can hit harder than the Kickers pretty soon. Bought 2 of these, maxxlink amp wiring kit ($29.99 here), Autotek 1000.2 amp, and a Ground Shaker box ($59.99)! All with $200! Cheap doesn't mean bad. Get a good amp, wires, and box and you're good to go! Trust me, these will not disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 3, 2014 Hifonics HFX12D4
Review by
Daniel from Greenacres, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
At first i wasn't so sure if ithese subs were good or not but after buying 3 and hooking them up to a MA Audio 1800 watt amplifier i couldnt be happier, just one of them makes everything in my chevy suburban shake and the bass is so clear if in the right box buy i would recommend these to anyone who is looking for good bass and not wanting to spend that much money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 10, 2014 wonderful addition
Review by
Ryan from Newark, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a 15 inch in my Yukon and wanted more db's to pound my chest. After reading many positive reviews about this sub, I decided to give it a chance. I purchased it with the 1truck12 box and added about 6oz of polyfill to the box. The sub does not come with push terminals but I do not mind. It looks good and is built surprisingly well for a $30 sub. I wired it to 2 ohms and have the whole circuit wired to 4 ohms. Boy oh boy! I feel it in my chest now! I have significantly deeper and louder bass! 2 or more of these sub's will shake your ride and make you smile. Thanks Sonic :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 29, 2014 Impressed X100
Review by
The Sunster from Poopville, Maryland
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I thought being broke would suck, but after i bought these subs life wasn't that bad, I drive to my campus rocking the whole parking lot! I've never been so impressed with a product until I've invest my money in these things. If you're on a budget and you want loud reliability go ahead and click that purchase button because you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 24, 2014 Cheap Nice Subs
Review by
Raymond from Atlanta,Ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Man, let me tell you. These subs sound good. I have 2, in a ported box. Hooked up to a Boss audio 2800.1,turned up half way. It's jammimg, just the way i like it. Nice sub for a low pice. Get some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 27, 2013 great with one easy fixable flaw
Review by
PA Bum from Borogue, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
because of the design or the cage. the plastic cage rattles against the metal right below it. at first i had thought i had messed up my friends subs. then i realized because of the design of the cage it made it rattle. its a VERY easy fix. just go to your local hardware store and get some all purpose silicone or caulk and put it right underneath the plastic cage inbetween the plastic and the metal. let it dry. hook up your subs. problem solved! these are great subs. for the price of the subs i think its worth spending an extra 5$ and putting silicone on it.

one of my FAVORITE subs. they hit NICE AND HARD. i would definitely recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 29, 2013 Excellent
Review by
Lakeman from Delafield, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Not only does it look cool, but it sounds great. Put it in a vented box from Sonic with correct recommended volume spec. I am powering it with an "old school" Hifonics "Odin" amp with 75 watts per channel. It produces "vulgar" bass......For that kind of performance, with relatively little wattage, it is very efficient. It is similar sounding to my Alpine single coil 12 inch. Without a scope, it is hard to tell which has lower frequency response.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 22, 2013 very impressed!!
Review by
savage from College Park, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great value for a good tight bass 12" sub. I own a 97 lincoln town car. I bought two of these subs and a Belva lined box. They really hit hard!!!! I don't do sound competitions, I have hard hitting street cars. I plan on ordering two more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2013 Recommened
Review by
SSA EVILS from Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend these not bad at all for the price $30 can beat that, but if your looking into being loud and rattle other cars these aren't your subs. These are nice for little setups to have some thump, so far I ordered 4 of them blew them within 10 minutes, but I have to say nice sound quality came from them, nothing in spl loudness range these came no where close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2013 Amazing deal for the price
Review by
Mark M from Alabama
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Wow is all i could say. Got them from a local dealer in my town, pulled them out of the box, and started beating the crap outta them. Got them to add to 2 Kicker CVR 12's, and was a little skeptical at first. But as they started getting broken in, the more surprised I became with them. Seem to be handling the power quite well. Entire setup is powered by an MTX RFL 600rms, all getting the same power. Amazed at how well a $40 sub handles the power. I don't know what the RFL 600 is actually capable of, but it's pushing the CVR's and the HFX's to their limits. BUT, the only complaint I have about this sub is the dust cap, seems a little flimsy. But other than that, a rock solid sub ready for whatever you can throw at it. Will be buying again for my 8 12's setup that I plan on doing in my F-150.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 25, 2012 best for the price
Review by
BIG IRON from cenla, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 of these hifonics wired together to a 4ohm load briged to a hifonic zeus 500.2 and it hits hard. it also sounds very good. this is the very best for the price, especially if you are getting more than one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 13, 2012 yea they bang
Review by
daddys caddi from raymore mo
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have four of these in a 01 cadillac dhs and my s### bangs just crazy rattels every in my car and anything near it i putt these with a brutus elite 2500 dealers only model im pushing it at 1700 watts at 2ohm wich is 425 watts per sub man some people cant even sit in my car . it is crazzy there great and for the price so what if you blow one buy another one and keep on bangin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 11, 2012 Great subs!!!!
Review by
Alex from Canon city, co
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Well to start off I bought these subbs kinda on a whim because of there price and was more than pleased with what I have got. I would recomend these to anybody looking for a system that could beat kicker and stand with jl I have only found one problem with them and its my girlfriend has a hard time breathing so she doesn't like them as much as I do but they have handled everything I've thrown at them not to mention that there rated at 400 watts rms and I broke them in rather well by running them at about half for a month (hard I know but well worth it) now I'm running 500 watts rms through them on a daily basis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 4, 2012 suprized
Review by
brad from anoka, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I looked at these subs for awhile now my cousin got one i hooked it to my 800 watt rms legacy amp no gain in a sealed 1.25 cube foot box and it hit just as hard and my 2 duals do in a bandpass i was amazed on how great it sounded. So i bought my self 2 today will be switching out the duals for these. Get these if you are tight on money they will hit harder then kickers if you know what you are doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 29, 2012 Impressed!
Review by
Greg from Charleston, Tennessee
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was impressed by what this sub can do its definatly worth the little price tag!! Also it being a dual 4 ohm voice coil sub is very nice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 25, 2012 no complaints
Review by
dallas from Atlanta GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i got these for 35 a piece and they rock...i have 2 of them in my wifes car wired at 1ohm on a boss 2500 mono amp..and these hit so hard..if you are wondering about getting them based on the price if they are cheap...DONT..get them you will not be disappointed they are worth double the price..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 7, 2012 Unbeilevable!
Review by
-JP from Red Bluff, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A real review.. This sub is amazing! it is built good and looks pretty cool. I have it powered by the kicker dx250.1. I am giving it about 280 rms and it sounds awesome! Hits the lows and mids like a monster but doesnt really hit the highs. Well worth over 100 bt only paid 38! If youre on a budget this is the way to go, you cant go wrong. I recommend it 100%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 23, 2012 Cheap price! good quality!
Review by
w from minnesota
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great deal!... bumping just as hard as some 130$ subs. Embarassing to see these overpriced brands like kicker and pioneer get thought of as the best when these "not so famous" brands throw out better deals with better quality. I have just one of these in a sealed box and it even moves my rear view mirror a bit. For the price you cant go wrong by ordering this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 9, 2012 Extremely good for such a low price
Review by
MilitaryMan407 from Akron, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 of these in a sealed box, wired parallel/parallel to the HFi1500D at 1ohm, tuned to 780watts. These things slam for the price they are at. I was surprised! I now plan on using until I can get a chance to upgrade more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 4, 2012 hittin hard
Review by
terell from ft.worth, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs it hard.I was surprise how hard these subs hit. Buy these subs put in a ported or sealed box , hook them up and watch how hard they hit. You can't beat the price. Get this sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 27, 2012 Definitely worth the money!
Review by
J from Louisville
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just got two of these this week. I was looking for good cheap subs, and Hifonics always seems to be there. They hit hard with the autotek atx1600.2, but i think once i break them in im going for something bigger. Owned some older hifonics subs a while back and they lasted forever until i sold them. Not the best subs in the world of course, but if you are on a budget go ahead don't be scared, they are definitely worth the money and sound much more expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 28, 2012 holy shnikies
Review by
alex from Waltham, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
these two in a sealed box in a miata with 375 watts rms total input made the thing sound like the car was rattling to pieces. bought another box and put just one in there and even that is a bit much! very clear great value!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 12, 2012 Better than previous model
Review by
Max from Ridgewood, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 of the older HFi12D4 in one box and two of the HFX12D4 in another, both in parallel so they took same exact power and the Hfi burned up after 6 months While these remained unaffected.

They sound great and even though the older model (HFi12D4) looked prettier with the the chrome on the edge, and the nice pressure terminals,
This one IS better because this HFX12D4 actually outperforms them very slightly AND take more power so they wont blow on you at higher watts!

These woofers are a good alternative to the expensive competition woofers because they have a good SOUND and they are LIGHTER so the weight wont drag your car down, especially if you have a sporty car you want to keep weight at a minimal.

They re not of course as loud as expensive comps,
but they still hit hard for lower power setups and they sound deep.

I would say they are as loud as woofers 2-3X their price,
but the key to most low cost woofers like these,
is to not overpower them .
So listen for their "hit" and back off your gain slightly from their,
for longer listening sessions .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 7, 2012 Better than previous model
Review by
Max from NY, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 of the older HFi12D4 in one box and two of the HFX12D4 in another, both in parallel, so they took same exact power and the Hfi burned up at around 250W RMS (1000 divide by 4) while these remained unaffected.

They sound great, and even though the HFi12D4 looked prettier with the chrome on the edge, and the nice pressure terminals. This one is better because this HFX12D4 actually outperforms them very slightly AND take more power so they won't blow on you at higher watts!

The HFX12D4 are supposed to replace those HFi12D4 anyway.

These woofers are a good alternative to the expensive competition woofers because they SOUND good and they are LIGHTER so the weight won't drag your car down, especially if you have a sporty car you want to keep weight at a minimal.

They're not as loud as the loudest, but they are great for lower power setups as they sound deep.

I would say they are as loud as any woofers around $100 and below price range, and have a nice bassy hit to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 13, 2012 wow suprised
Review by
Terry from maricopa, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this is the best sub that u have ever owned. i just recently had rockfords and these pound wayy harder and they way cheaper. pros- decent size voice coil for a sub and gets all the lows. cons- would be nice if it had push terminals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 10, 2012 great subs
Review by
terell from ft.worth, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have these subs and they beat hard i have a 1000 watt autotek amp 2 channel. My co-worker like them.so buy these speakers, if you want good slap at a cheap price. thanks sonic eletronix .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 6, 2012 pretty good subs
Review by
disturbed drummer from Hammond LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these because I wanted to try a new brand. Never owned Hifonics before. I bought two of these and a Hifonics 1000d amp to put in my 98 GMC Sierra ext cab. I haul my kids around sometimes and had to buy a dual 12" Pro downfire box. I also bought 1" spacers to get a little less depth, and stuffed it with polyfill for more airspace. I still think the box is to small for these subs. The set up sounds pretty good, but obviously not as loud as the 3 MA Audio 12"s in a triple box I had to sell. That thing was a beast. Anyway, not bad for the money. I will say, try and get better terminals for the subs, the stock ones are crap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 2, 2012 REALLY GOOD DEAL!
Review by
Clint from Blackfoot, ID
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought 1 12" HFX12D4 and a 400w amp for the back of my 78 bronco for some cheap bass and I must say that I am very impressed with this woofer! My sub hits every bit as hard as most guys lower end systems with 2 subs! This won't blow the glass out of your vehicle but for the price, you absolutely cannot beat it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 2, 2012 hi
Review by
deltaflow from san juan PR, Puerto Rico
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I buy 6 of them and i put with planet audio mono 1ch 4000w on my town car 95 and i blow my trunk. I really recommended to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 29, 2012 Great product
Review by
Martin from Levis, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recommend this product for its power and reliability.
Very good report quality price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 24, 2012 damn good buy
Review by
matt from iola, ks
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I orderd mine from eBay. All i have to say is wow. These things pound. I have them in a prefab box with a 820 watt spl amp in my 1993 blazer and these things really beat. I have all my bass and subwoofer gain on the deck turned down and they still hammer. Haven't even broke them in yet! A must buy for any budget system!!! Or anyone who wants beastin cheap bass!!! Good buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2012 great subwoofers!
Review by
subwoofer man from erie,pa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these running off of a 1100watt amp and they sound great! After a while of bumping in your car the subwoofers will give you a headache!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2012 Great Value!
Review by
electronicx from erie,pa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these subs in my car and i am running an 1100 2ch amp into them and they are so loud i have a headache after like 1 min of bumbing. They also unleveled my trunk too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 13, 2012 GOOD SUBS
Review by
UNTIL Y.3.K from MEMPHIS TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs do pretty good. Gives a nice sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 26, 2011 Best Bang for the Buck
Review by
kSwift from Sac,Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs BEAT! I mean wow, its amazing how cheap these subs are in price compared to the sound they are able to produce. I purchased these subs awhile back as I was waiting to build a box. BUILDING THE BOX is the KEY to making your subwoofer perform at its best. Get the right box and a good amp and these subs will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 21, 2011 AMAZING!!!
Review by
Jay from Mamaroneck, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this sub not knowing much about it, but I have it hooked up to my Hifonics 1000d at 2 ohms in a ported box and it KNOCKS!, the bass is so crisp and clear, I really was blown away. Most people think I have a much larger sub. Great job Hifonics! If you are on a tight budget, do not hesitate to buy this sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 27, 2011 Not bad
Review by
Pedro from bakersfield, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For entry level subs they are very surprising, good bass response. Have them on a 400.1 amp so I'm powering them by the recommended rms power and they sound great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 28, 2011 Hooked on Hifonics? Count me in!
Review by
Ricky Shade from Tampa, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just replaced a Memphis Power Reference subwoofer with this one. If you don't know about Memphis, look them up, they make quality hard-hitting subs. Well this Hifonics HFX12D4 sounds just as good and may actually even hit harder. It's only getting maybe 200W RMS if that from my 250W RMS amp that's turned up just a notch over half way. It hits very hard, it's not broken in, and it's missing out on 50w+ RMS that I will be giving it after break-in period is over. I can't wait to hear how hard it sounds when I can give it real power. I have it in a generic 1.25 Cu Ft sealed box, it's being powered by a Directed 250d amplifier, and I have it set to hit up to around 125Hz and it handles the high notes just fine. A more than formidable replacement for the old Memphis PR sub that I was running. Hifonics was the right choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 23, 2011 Great for the money!
Review by
Kyle from Maple Valley, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought 2 of these to go in a ported box. They are currently under powered by about 150 watts or so, but they still hit pretty hard in the back of an 07 Aveo5. Would definitely recommend these to anyone looking for some pretty good bang for the money.
Only one small complaint though, One of the dust caps on the sub started to come off shortly after the break in. Fixed it with some thin compound hobby glue. Other than that I love em'. Also would have been nice to have some different terminals than the ones on there but no big.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2011 Good for the price
Review by
Tyler from Topeka, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub sounds really good for the price. It hits pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 6, 2011 great subwoffer
Review by
phatboy88 from Newark
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i own 2 of them for 2 years huckd up to 2000 watt amp briged 800 watts going to them and they pound worth the money recomend them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 24, 2011 Great subs
Review by
Biggie from Michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have these in a 1.75 cubic feet per chamber ported and let me just say wow. These are cheap and give lots of spl. I have two Rockford Fosgates and these hit harder for less then 1/3 of the price! Overall these are wonderful subwoofers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz